Easter Pysanky

april-10-2009-003-2Kept high in the cupboard, safe from little inquisitive fingers and curious cats…april-10-2009-001-2are four special Easter eggs*.april-10-2009-004-2Made by a friend’s son of The Financier’s mother when we still lived in Pennsylvania after our fourth child, Brokenbeat was born. One egg for each child.april-10-2009-005-2Carefully moved from Pennsylvania to California to Tennessee to Texas and back to Tennessee, one has cracked.april-10-2009-007-2So they cannot be given out now, since there are not four whole eggs.april-10-2009-008-2The eggs live in the cupboard, on the top shelf until…april-10-2009-021-21Easter Sunday.
~~~
The Fairegarden clan has gathered here for the holidays and they send the very best of wishes to all of you and yours on this special sacred day.
Frances
~~~
*There is much lore surrounding these traditional Ukranian eggs. The entry at Wikipedia contains the history along with links for the meaning of the symbols and instructions to make them yourself. Click here to read more.

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Easter Pysanky

  1. Janet says:

    gorgeous eggs Frances!! Will have to send the link of your blog to my sister whose husband is Ukranian. I have some eggs that are similar. The handiwork is just amazing. Happy Easter.

  2. Happy Easter to you. They’re very well travelled and rather beautiful eggs.

    Rob

  3. Phillip (UK) says:

    Gorgeous eggs. Happy Easter

  4. Victoria says:

    Happy Easter, Frances!

  5. Gail says:

    Happiest of Easters for you and your loved ones my dear! I am marveling at how these eggs have traveled the US with you! hugs and may you have some really excellent chocolate today! gail

  6. Wonderful piece of art, Frances! Happy Easter to you, your family and your beloved garden! Have a great weekend!

  7. Monica says:

    Lovely eggs, Frances! I didn’t realize you had kids other than Semi–do you have more grandkids, too? Have fun today!

    Hi Monica, thanks. I have written about each of the kids before, Chickenpoet who has two boys, G.A. and M.A. ages 10 and 9, Gardoctor-still available ladies!, Brokenbeat and his wife and Semi with LTB. Semi lives the closest to us and we see her often, usually every week.
    Frances

  8. Lythrum says:

    Those eggs are beautiful! Happy Easter to you and yours. 🙂

  9. teza says:

    For a true artist, the palate can be any shape, or any size…. I’m just grateful you chose gardening to express your artistry Frances! Wonderful eggs, and a wonderful history. Enjoy this wonderfuk weekend!

  10. Happy Easter to the Faire clan. And it is going to be a nice sunny day. How about that!

  11. Frances,
    Have a wonderful Easter with your family! Your eggs are so beautiful and what memories! 🙂

    Our sons can’t be here with us today, but the garden is glorious and we saw our first hummingbird of the year this morning!

    Cameron

  12. Happy Easter to you and yours, Frances. I know a lady down near Liverpool who does these Ukrainian eggs. They’re phenomenal.

  13. ourfriendben says:

    So beautiful, Frances! I love and collect Easter eggs (and even watercolor my own), and the pysanky are always really special. I store mine in egg cartons until Easter, when they come out in a huge bowl, except for one small pysanky that features a fish on each side. I figure that’s a good reminder and display it on my cookbook shelf all year. Wish I were talented enough to make them! And bright blessings to you and yours on this beautiful Easter morn.

  14. Gorgeous eggs! Thank you for sharing them! A happy, blessed Easter to you ~
    Karen (sis to Janet, Queen of Seaford) 🙂

  15. Brenda Kula says:

    I love Pysanky eggs! I’ve only seen them online. I’ve had this curious fascination about eggs recently (not related to Easter). I’ve been pondering getting some of those wooden eggs from the craft store and decoupaging them. Still pondering…
    Brenda

  16. linda says:

    The eggs and the memories they hold are lovely Frances.

    Happy Easter!

  17. Catherine says:

    Those are very pretty. How patient the people that paint those eggs must be! Happy Easter!

  18. Sarah O says:

    I just learned to make pysanky last week, so I know from experience how HARD it is to get the lines so lovely and straight and sharp (mine look I had too much caffeine to drink, how odd…;) . Beautiful eggs! They are so much fun to make, but making them for other people is extra fun.

  19. Kathleen says:

    I would treasure those beautiful eggs too Frances. What a wonderful keepsake to bring out at Easter even if one has cracked. I was happily scrolling thru your photos, admiring the different eggs until I got to that last one. I feel like it was just for me! lol It’s a great day now! Enjoy the holiday and your family.
    PS When I saw that first photo, I thought you had decorated the eggs (until I started reading). It seems like something you could do!

    Hi Kathleen, thanks. It was just for you. 🙂
    Frances

  20. Steve says:

    Those are gorgeous eggs and I can see why one would take care and let them move with you when relocating. What stunned me, though, Francis, is the picture at the top. The avatar-like one, so blue and abundant. I am assuming that’s your place. What a treasure you have made there, of so!

    Hi Steve, thanks. The about me photo is of the steps leading to the knot garden behind the main house. It was taken late April of last year. I am hoping to get a shot of the same scene from this year too. We seem to be a little behind the blooming with cooler temperatures this year. Spring is the best time for that part of the garden.
    Frances

  21. gittan says:

    Happy Easter Francis! Those eggs are gorgeous! Amzing that they survided (well almost) moving around like that. I’m thrilled about you moving like that as well!

  22. Siria says:

    Hello Frances…and Happy Easter to you and your family! Your Easter eggs are just beautiful and a true treasure indeed. Thank you for sharing them with us. May you have a beautiful day filled with love, laughter and time in the garden.

  23. Patsi says:

    My Mom was Ukrainian, her parents came here in 1906. She was orphaned at 5 years old so this is a tradition I never knew about.
    Thanks so much Frances.
    You have a treasure.
    Happy Easter.
    Patsi

  24. tina says:

    Happy Easter to you all too!

  25. nancybond says:

    Happy Easter, Frances — I’ve always wanted to try making these eggs after watching several videos. Yours are lovely, all the more so for the story and history behind them. 🙂 Enjoy your day.

  26. Shauna says:

    Easter Beauty. Magic. With a lovely tale.

  27. fairegarden says:

    Hi Everyone! The family visitors have all returned to their respective homes and The Financier and I are alone again, naturally. Tired but happy, I want to thank you all for the sweet and kind Easter wishes. You are just the best! 🙂
    Frances

  28. How wonderful to have such a collection of Pysanky and with flowers on them, no less!

  29. Rose says:

    These eggs are a treasure! Too bad that one of them cracked, but to have kept them otherwise intact through the years and so many moves is pretty amazing.

    I hope you had a happy and blessed Easter, Frances!

  30. Darla says:

    I’ve never seen such beautiful eggs!

  31. Hi Frances, What a heartwarming post on your appreciation of these eggs. They’re beautifully created. Do you know about the symbolism and color meanings, too?

    I also create them. I’m not Ukranian, but I’ve been making them for years. I was able to complete four to give away this Easter, prior to our leaving on vacation. I didn’t take photos, but I’m still working on a couple, so perhaps I’ll remember to get out the camera!

    Hi Shady, thanks. I know there is great symbolism to the markings and colors used, but don’t know the specifics. The Wikipedia link did provide a link for that information. I could never keep my hand steady enough to make those designs. Yours sound wonderful, and certainly should be photographed! 🙂
    Frances

  32. Phillip says:

    Those are beautiful eggs – I’ve never any decorated that way.

  33. wiseacre says:

    I’d be afraid to even bring them out one day a year. Not all eggs are meant to be cracked and I’m sorry one of yours has.

  34. marmee says:

    i remember seeing a story on these type of carefully painted eggs on television. they are beautiful and how special to have that represents each of your children. hope you had a wonderful easter day with your family.

  35. You are very fortunate to have such treasures Frances. I have seen the process and it is a lot of work. Thanks for sharing them with us. I hope you have a wonderful Easter. Peace.

  36. Tatyana says:

    How beautiful! My boys make Pysanky eggs at school. We have a small collection of them(I showed it in my last post). Of course, their design is boyish… no flowers, more geometric lines, but they use original technique. I am so grateful to their art teacher for that! Yours are precious. Thanks for showing them to us!

  37. Flower says:

    Your eggs are very special! It’s quite a process to get them to that beautiful state! Thanks for sharing! …The knot garden is amazing….I’m taking notes!

  38. dowhatyoulove says:

    I have seen shows on this type of egg decorating. It is amazing the time and energy that is put into each one. Yours are beautiful, wouldnt it be a wonderful craft to be able to do?

  39. Jenny B says:

    Happy Easter to you too! What a treasure you have–the intricate work on those eggs are amazing–thanks for sharing.

  40. Hello FRances, wonderful eggs I sure love the Easter decorations, they make me really glad. I hope you had a great Easter. xoxo Tyra

Comments are closed.