Mother’s Day Rose

April 28, 2009 025 (2)Rosa ‘Old Blush’ is a fitting beginning for a tribute to all mothers on this day set aside in the US to honor them.April 28, 2009 024 (2)This holiday is bittersweet for me.May 8, 2009 127 (2)Rosa ‘Veilchenblau’ is just coming into bloom, as are many of the other old fashioned roses grown here.May 8, 2009 004 (2)Rosa ‘Moonlight’ is a climber that is the favorite. It is not the prettiest, or fanciest or most colorful. But it does produce the most blooms throughout the year, is sweetly fragrant and carefree.May 8, 2009 006 (2)Growing up in Oklahoma, my next door neighbor was an elderly woman with a large garden. She would give me bouquets of whatever was blooming to take to school for my teachers. On Mother’s Day, she would give us different colors of roses to symbolize whether one’s mother was living or passed. White roses were for those whose mother was no longer living.May 8, 2009 005 (2)Moonlight is a white rose. That would be the color to represent the absence of my own mother. She died long ago when I was thirty years old. She was in Oklahoma and I was in Pennsylvania with three children of my own. It is a loss that can never be forgotten, even with my own joy of being the mother of four, the last born two years after her passing.April 30, 2009 012 (2)My mother was not a gardener. Her mother and sister, my grandmother and aunt were avid gardeners. The three of them shared the same favorite flower though, the rose. My mother loved red roses the most. Shown above is Rosa ‘Cadenza’.May 8, 2009 097 (2)Her favorite red rose was the hybrid tea R. ‘Chrysler Imperial’, above. Last year this rose was spotted for sale and planted in her memory. It has graced us with its first bloom of the year on Mother’s Day.
~
Happy Mother’s Day to all of the mothers out in the blogdom, and to their own mothers, and their own mothers and even to their own mothers.
Frances
~~~
Last year in a post title ‘Post Frost’ we told the story of the purchase of R. ‘Chrysler Imperial’. Click here to see that post in its entirety. Below is the portion that explains the meaning of this rose for me.
~~~
“Shown above, a sentimental purchase planted under the pines in the line of vision from my kitchen window over the sink, Rosa ‘Chrysler Imperial’. This pulls my strings on many levels. My father was a car buff. He liked all kinds of cars and especially liked to wheel and deal at the car dealerships. One of the most memorable cars he came home with was an early sixties palest green Chrysler Imperial, brand new, the top of the line, with tail fins that reached for the sky. It was a massive vehicle, impressive in its size, especially when used to give rides to a bunch of elementary school age kids to the movies. Oh baby. Many years later, as my mother was suffering from the final stages of cancer, my father bought five of the hybrid tea roses with the same name for her to enjoy. She loved the velvety petals, and the exquisite perfume
of this rose. The shared name of one of our many cars was just a bonus. When I saw this rose at Lowe’s, at first I couldn’t believe it was still in commerce. But there it was, even in bloom. It was planted about three weeks ago, and is still holding that bloom, even with the cold nights. I couldn’t not buy it, even though it goes against all our rules of rose buying, it is grafted, a hybrid tea,and not from a reputable rose grower. It is lovely.”
~~
F

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Mother’s Day Rose

  1. Brooke says:

    Oh, how sweet. I had never heard the meanings of colors on Mothers Day. Have a good day hun…..Brooke

    Hi Brooke, thanks so much and welcome. You too have a wonderful day. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  2. I would be wearing a white rose too Frances. Happy Mothers day to you too.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. We both know what the wearing of that color feels like deep inside. Mother’s Day is a sad and happy day for us.
    Frances

  3. I wrote about the color of flowers worn on Mother’s Day, too, Frances. Great minds, as they say. Your roses are beautiful and I just wish I could scratch the screen to smell them. My own mother is 79 years old and we will all gather to celebrate her today, just as I know your four children will be celebrating you today, Queen of the Faire Garden!

    Hi Carol, thanks so much for that, you are very sweet. You are also very lucky to be able to celebrate this day to honor a wonderful woman, your own mother, who must be so very proud of you and all her children. She did well with you all! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  4. Chickenpoet says:

    Happy Mother’s Day Mom. In my garden, you are the Magic Carpet Spirea. I know it isn’t your favorite; but it was one of the first flowers you gave me and it has always been beautiful, year after year. I remember Great Aunt Elizabeth’s and Great Grandma’s garden. The flowers were so tiny and so many colors. I love you and you are a great mom; I am just a slow learner. Hope you have a great day. Much love & misses. CP

    Dear Chickenpoet, thank you my love. I do love the Magic Carpet and think it is very appropriate. It is hard for me to pick favorites of anything, including children. ๐Ÿ™‚ You may be the only one who can actually remember the Oklahoma garden. It was their pride and joy, as all gardens are to their makers. You are a fantastic mother yourself. I remember watching you play and sing with M.A. while carrying G.A. and marvelling at how full of love that scene was. His thrown back head laugh was the world’s greatest music. I have been in the garden and we are now leaving for some food eating. You are in my thoughts always.
    Love, Frances

    • chickenpoet says:

      I do have to add (since Rose’s are the Mother’s day flower) the Blue Girl will always remind me of you and it growing in the corner by the back deck when we lived in PA.

      Dear Chickenpoet, that is a sweet memory for me too, my very first rose garden. Hope you Blue Girl survived.
      Love, Frances

  5. lynn says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you too, Frances ๐Ÿ™‚ What a touching post to go with your beautiful roses.

    Many thanks, Lynn.
    Frances

  6. Carol says:

    Lovely Post Frances to commemorate Mother’s Day… yours, and your mother’s. Very dear prose and beautiful rose photography. The fragrance and color in your garden must be heavenly. Happy Mother’s Day.

    Thank you, Carol.
    Frances

  7. ourfriendben says:

    Ah, Frances. What a beautiful post. My mother died at just 59 (also from cancer), and the timing was especially poignant in relation to Mother’s Day, a story I’ll tell over at Poor Richard’s Almanac today. I’m most sorry one of your children grew up not knowing his or her grandmother, but I know you’ve kept her memory alive for all of them! And yes, ‘Chrysler Imperial’ rose is a keeper.

    Dear OFB, I am so sorry to hear of your mother’s passing. That is way too young, in the prime of life really. I look forward to reeading your tribute to her.
    Frances

  8. joey says:

    A lovely post, dear Frances. It’s been 37 years since my mother died yet I feel so close both in the garden & kitchen where she was happiest … as am I. With warm thoughts and hugs for a beautiful Mother’s Day.

    Dear Joey, you are carrying forward with the heritage left you by your mother. Hugs back to you.
    Frances

  9. gail says:

    An absolutely beautiful post, my dear friend…I don’t think we stop missing our Moms, no matter how long ago it’s been since we lost them. I reached for the phone this morning to call mine to wish her a Happy Day forgetting for just that moment she was gone.

    I suspect that the Chrysler Imperial Rose will thrive in your garden, despite its limitations as a grafted, tea rose…it just will! Thank you Frances for sharing your beautiful flowers and memories with us today. xxoogail

    Dear Gail, thank you. I know that your mind must have been full of thoughts of your mother today as well. There is a spot in our hearts that only our mothers could fill. The Chrysler Imperial rose has a lone bloom, shining brightly for this special day.
    Frances

  10. tina says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you Frances. Roses are so wonderful to remember loved ones-always.

    Hi Tina, thanks and may we wish the best for your own sweet mother, Jean on this special day.
    Frances

  11. Liisa says:

    Frances,
    What a lovely post in honor of Mother’s Day. Your roses are absolutely beautiful. They bring back fond memories for me, too, as I remember strolling around in my mother’s rose garden. I was too young then to appreciate her green thumb – wish I could take a walk through it now. ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Mother’s Day!!

    Hi Liisa, thanks so much. Many times I wish to revisit the loved ones that are gone, and relive the happy times. too.
    Frances

  12. Kathleen says:

    It’s good you bought the rose Frances, no matter that it’s grafted, not reputable, etc. Some things are meant to be. You shared some beautiful memories with us this Mother’s Day. A Mother is truly irreplaceable, just as you are to your children. I hope you have a beautiful day.

    Dear Kathleen, thanks for that. The hybrid tea is blooming today, just as it should. I hope your day was wonderful in every way.
    Frances

  13. Jan says:

    What lovely roses. My dad, too, was a Chrysler man, and I remember the pale gray with aqua fins he came home with in ’57. It is so nice you have a rose in your garden to celebrate your mom. I hope you have a great Mother’s Day, Frances.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Oh Jan, that brings back such memories! The colors and tail fins were fantastic back then, weren’t they? I hope you had a wonderful day too. I did.
    Frances

  14. Catherine says:

    Happy Mother’s Day! Your roses are beautiful. What a nice way to be reminded of you Mother in your garden, and how special it bloomed for you today.

    Hi Catherine, thanks. It was special.
    Frances

  15. Siria says:

    Happy Mother’s Day Frances…. What a beautiful tribute to your Mom! Although she is not there with you, I know you have wonderful memories of her to take you through this day. Your roses are beautiful!

    Hi Siria, thank you. There are many memories and thank goodness, old photographs to help the memories stay fresh.
    Frances

  16. NatureStop says:

    Happy Mother’s day!!you have got the most amazing shots and beautiful roses blooming in your garden!

    Thanks and welcome.
    Frances

  17. Racquel says:

    What a lovely tribute to your mother Frances. Have a Happy Mother’s Day! Your roses are glorious today. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thank you, Racquel.
    Frances

  18. How absolutely beautiful! I just wish I could smell them. Happy Mother’s Day.

    Hi Happy, thanks. They are most fragrant. There is nothing that compares to the scent of a rose.
    Frances

  19. gittan says:

    Happy Mother’s day, Frances!
    In Sweden we celebrate mother’s day at our anniversary, the 31st this year. I thought it was the same day everywhere! I also would be wearing a white rose, loosing my mum in cancer when I was 31. A lovely the tribute to your mum!

    Dear Gittan, thank you. I am so sorry for you losing your mother at such a young age, mere babes we were. I love the photo you have on your sidebar of your mother, she was very beautiful.
    Frances

  20. I’m also a member of the white rose crowd (my roses are behind yours; nothing’s blooming yet, but I noticed buds on my Sally Holmes (creamy white) today. I’m sorry you lost your mother so early; it was hard for me to lose mine in my 40s, I can’t imagine what it would have been like to lose her at 30.

    Have you thought of taking cuttings off your Chrysler Imperial so that you can have own-root roses? They graft them commercially for severe-winter places and sometimes disease resistance, but I’ve had good luck rooting cuttings and letting them grow out.

    A lovely post on many levels.

    Thanks you my friend. It took years for me to move on from that loss. And your cutting idea is positively brilliant. I shall give it a try! That would be fantastic, to have a non grafted version, certainly worth doing. I appreciate this idea!
    Frances

  21. TC says:

    What a lovely heartfelt post Ms. Frances. And sometimes we’re blessed with a plant that although may not have been born into fame, nonetheless outperforms and perhaps even outblooms, all the rest. Peace to you and a most happiest of all Mother’s Days to you!

    Thank you TC. I did have a very happy day, it finally stopped raining!
    Frances

  22. Perfect blooms and the perfect flower for this post.

    Rob

    Thank you, Rob.
    Frances

  23. Brenda Kula says:

    What I enjoy so much are the stories that come with the flowers and the gardens! That first photo is particularly striking. The petals and layers look so close I feel I could touch them through the screen.
    Brenda

    Thanks for that, Brenda. I am more comfortable sharing my personal feelings and experiences now than when the blog first began. The blogdom has turned out to be a huge umbrella of friends. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  24. Lythrum says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you also!

    Thank you, Lythrum.
    Frances

  25. chuck b. says:

    Happy Mother’s Day, and Grandmother’s Day to you. My ‘Moonlight’, which I bought based entirely on yours and your daughter’s enthusiasm for it, has a cluster of buds, and so does ‘Veilchenblau’. Can’t wait to see them. I’ve been picking ‘Charlotte’ and ‘Jude the Obscure’ for a few weeks.

    Thanks, Chuck. Ever since you told me that you got Moonlight, I wonder if you are as pleased with it as we are. The fragrance and blooms never let us down. Veilchenblau is just beginning to open, with hundreds of buds. I know you will love that one. Your Jude is fantastic!
    Frances

  26. Semi says:

    What a wonderful post! Your roses are beautiful. I am so lucky to be able to spend so much time with you . You are a wonderful mother and great example for all of us. I wish I was more like you in so many ways! Love you always !! Semi

    My dear Semi, you are perfect just the way you are, no need to change a thing. I am lucky to have you so close. And talk about beautiful roses, you have them all over your free spirited garden. They, like your child, love your magic touch. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Much love, Frances

  27. teza says:

    Frances:
    Reading your post made the eyes mist over as I picked up the phone to call my Mom. My Grandmother was very much a ‘grand’ mother to me and I especially miss her when I think of the climbing roses that adorned her white clapboard house with the dark green trim…. they climbed at all four corners…. if I close my eyes and concenrate hard enough, I can smell their perfume….. a wonderfully heart-felt tribute. Happy Mother’s Day my friend!

    Dear Teza, thank you. I remember the post about how astute your Grandmother was. A house with roses at all four corners must have been a magical place for a wise woman and a special grandson. I am glad your mother is still only a phone call away.
    Frances

  28. marmee says:

    happy mother’s day frances. what a lovely way to remember your mother and your father. great story of your life…thank you for sharing it.

    Thanks, Marmee. As the mother of six, I certainly hope your family treated you like a queen. And the same for GiGi. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  29. Sunita says:

    What a lovely story, Frances. And what lovely roses! I can almost smell their fragrance.

    Thank you, Sunita. The roses are having a good year with all our rain.
    Frances

  30. Jean says:

    What a beautiful post. I hope you had a great day (and have a great week).

    Thanks, Jean. I hope the same for you, too. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  31. It is lovely Frances, and it smells so good. I know it goes against all of our rose rules, but it doesn’t go against the rules of the hears. BTW, you won the rain chain on Mother’s Day. Can’t wait to see where it graces your garden.~~Dee

    Oh Dee, that is fantastic! I have filled out the necessary info and that company has contacted me. The corner of the shed roof is the designated spot. There are no gutters on the shed and the foxglove bed keeps washing away. The rain chain will look lovely there, in full view from the deck and hopefully slow down the rain. I appreciate your support for this hybrid tea rose for I know you are an expert on roses. The suggestion was made to try and take cuttings to grow it own root. I am going to give that a try.
    Frances

  32. brokenbeat says:

    a lot of memories were conjured up after reading this post. most notably the several occasions i would follow you around the herb garden in kingsport sniffing the mints and thyme and asking questions about bugs and butterflies and the huge blooming rhododendrons behind the arbor. it was in the cards for me to be a gardener. i’m glad you passed along that desire. happy day after mother’s day from me, mashley, and gardoctor to you, semi, and chickenpoet.

    Dear Brokenbeat and all, we do carry lots of garden memories in our hearts. That was a very special place, for many reasons. I remember your interest in the herbs and flowers and never doubted that someday you would be gardening in your own place. You have created an Eden in Asheville. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  33. Janet says:

    An endearing post Frances with glorious blooms to celebrate Mothers, those here and those who live on in our hearts.

    Thank you Janet. Roses do carry those emotions well.
    Frances

  34. Darla says:

    What a touching post. I miss my Mom too.

    Thank you Darla. I am sorry for your loss. There is no one that can replace that special person in our lives.
    Frances

  35. skeeter says:

    Catching up a bit today. Your gardens are looking great! All that rain is doing things justice with wonderful growth! All looks great from the Rain drops on the blooms, new bench at Biltmore, the kids and family to the daredevil kitty to the beautiful Roses on Mothers Day! And you had me wondering why the pruning of the J maples but once completed, I see why. The Saint would not be up for pruning, I still cannot talk him into pruning that one funny cypress tree branchโ€ฆ

    Hi Skeeter, thanks. We have a different system here with pruning. I just do it. No questions are asked. HA
    Frances

  36. mothernaturesgarden says:

    A poignant post wrapped in roses, Frances.
    Donna

    Thank you Donna.
    Frances

Comments are closed.