Guessing Game-A Guest Post

May 11, 2009 new 059 (2)Hi everyone, it’s me, Beverly Sills Iris. Well, no it isn’t really. She is a lot prettier than me.May 11, 2009 new 013 (3)Frances is busy fooling with her new camera so I thought she needed some help writing a post. This will be a little guessing game you might enjoy. Are you curious as to who is speaking to you? Look up.May 11, 2009 new 004 (2)Here I am, above your head. Let me introduce myself. I am Manny Mantid, a copper Praying Mantis purchased many years ago at an art gallery in Johnson City, Tennessee. I like to hang out in the garden and watch the comings and goings of the gardener as she bounds up and down the hills here. I have a new lookout perch. Can you guess what it is?May 11, 2009 new 057 (3)I am trying to give you some hints.May 11, 2009 new 006 (3)This should give it away.May 11, 2009 new 058 (3)That’s right. It’s a bottle tree. This is a project that has been in the works for some time. Cobalt blue glass has always been a favorite of Frances’ and she has quite a nice collection of antique glassware. During visits to craft stores blue bottles would sometimes be spotted on sale for a dollar or two and she would buy a couple here and there over the years. Individual wine bottles were also collected, for the wine was palatable and the bottles desirable. All that was needed was a stand of some sort to hold the blue light catchers.May 11, 2009 new 009 (3)Copper pipe, one half inch diameter, was chosen as the tree material. Three ten foot pieces and four five foot pieces were purchased at the big box. There was a weathered ten foot pipe already in the garden resting between uses.May 11, 2009 new 014 (3)The ten foot pieces were cut into four and six foot lengths with the power mitre saw. Safety glasses were a must for the little slivers of metal flying. The intended stakes were three pieces of four foot three-eighths inch rebar. All but the center ten foot piece were bent one foot, fifteen inches, and eighteen inches from the end with the help of The Financier. Copper pipe of this smallest diameter bends surprisingly easily. The unbent ten foot center piece was surrounded with the three six foot bent pieces and secured with black electrical tape. The four pieces of five foot length were then placed around this assembly and also taped with electrical tape. The final three four foot lengths were added and taped. There was a template made from a foam meat tray to mark where the rebar needed to be hammered into the ground. The rebar was placed right through the foam in the desired location two feet deep. The copper pipe tree was slid over the rebar. To hide the electrical tape, extra copper screening that was leftover from the shelf liners being used on the orchid shelving unit to deter slugs and snails was snipped, wrapped and secured with copper electrical wire from which the white insulation had been peeled away.May 11, 2009 new 055 (3)Copper end caps had been purchased to make for a neater look, but most of the bottles would not fit on the pipe with the caps in place. The topper is a tri colored glass canister with the metal hardware removed. The bottle placement still needs some tweaking, however.May 11, 2009 new 001 (3)For when the wind blows or there is severe weather, hanging around up here can be a wild ride!May 11, 2009 new 050 (2)Another thing that needs mentioning is how grateful I’ll be when the aborvitae hedge grows a few more feet and hides the appalling satellite dish. A little privacy would be appreciated. May 11, 2009 new 027 (2)I hope you enjoyed playing this little guessing game. It wasn’t that hard, was it? Thanks for letting me tell you about my new perch. I think Frances has a plan to correct the leaning problem with some rocks. She really has been preoccupied though….May 11, 2009 new 022 (2)…trying to figure out the new camera.
Manny
~
Sweet Tina at In The Garden has a list of bottle tree posts on her sidebar if you wish to see more!
~~~
All photos in the post were taken with the new camera, the Canon Powershot Sx1 IS-without tripod

This entry was posted in Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Guessing Game-A Guest Post

  1. Janet says:

    Thanks for sharing some of the capabilities of your new camera. I looked up what they had to say about it online. Great camera. Of course it takes a great eye behind the camera to really make it worthwhile. Yours is truly an artistic eye. Thanks for sharing more of your beautiful garden.
    ps- I love the bottle tree!

    Hi Janet, thanks for the encouragement. I am feeling a little overwhelmed with the new camera right now. The old one is such a third arm for me and the new one feels awkward and difficult. Only way to fix that is to keep using the new one so we can get better acquainted. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. Meems says:

    Good morning, Frances,
    Pre-occupied is a gardener’s middle name I suppose around this time of year. So much so I haven’t been blogging much. Happy for you with a your new camera.

    Typically I’m not a big fan of bottle trees but I have to say copper and cobalt in your setting with Manny on top works quite nicely. I especially like the antique bottles you’ve used. It makes a very nice addition to your garden. Well done.

    Have fun with your new camera!
    Meems

    Hi Meems, good morning and thanks for taking time to visit. I NEED to go outside right now! As soon as the sun comes up, the strings are tugging to get me out of the lazyboy and into the garden. Hard to keep up with the blogging that way. πŸ™‚ The copper will weather to a lovely patina, I am pleased with the result and do have it standing more upright for the moment anyway. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. ourfriendben says:

    Beautiful bottles, Frances!!! I love the satellite dish peering over the hedge like an alien praying mantis! And the coy way Beverly Sills is peeping around the corner too.

    Hi OFB, thanks. Beverly just had to get into this post, with her girlish ways. HA
    Frances

  4. gittan says:

    Goodmorning Frances, hurray for the new camera! Great pictures and I do love your new tree / gittan

    Good morning to you dear Gittan, thanks. I got the Astrantia seeds out of the fridge and into the greenhouse. I am going to try some into the ground outside too, that might work better. Hope your day is great. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. I’ve wanted to have a bottle tree since I first saw one on Pam’s blog (Digging). Unfortunately blue bottles are hard to come by here. Love yours, it’s very pretty. Happy snapping with the new cam, Frances!

    Hi YE, thanks. How about some nice German wine? The small blue bottles on my tree are from Riesling. Not my fave, but I wanted those bottles! HA
    Frances

  6. tina says:

    And your post has joined the ranks too Mr. Praying Mantis! And it is a pretty popular feature so you’ll probably get lots of visitors! I love your perch on your bottle tree! So unique and I am hoping for some privacy for you soon too:) Nothing but time and growth..it will come…it has to!

    Dear Nothing But Time, thanks for adding us. WordPress allows us to see the google search terms every day and the records for them all. I didn’t even think about that aspect, but it will be fun to see who visits. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    You are giving the camera a workout, Frances. Congratulations on a job well done. I have one of those metal art insects. He shows up in photos once in a while.
    Donna

    Hi Donna, thanks. The metal art is always fun, non breakable is such a plus in the garden. And when you have to move. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Hi Manny Mantid, Frances is smart to play with her new camera before Spring Fling! I love the combo of copper and cobalt blue glass–cool! I wish I had such a nice place to perch. ~The Iron Ant (watch for me in an upcoming blog post!)

    Hi Monica,, er Iron Ant, nice to make your acquaintance. I look forward to reading your story. Frances has to play with the camera so when The Financier asks how the new camera is doing, she can say she used it. HA
    Frances

  9. Darla says:

    What a fun post. Cool yard art, (I call it).

    Thanks, Darla. Glad you liked it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Dave says:

    I suspected a bottle tree! I like the blue bottles and how you used one’s that are all alike in color.

    Hi Dave, thanks. I have been collecting blue glass for my entire adult life. The discovery of little blue wine bottles was an epiphany. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Do you really “bound up and down the hills” Frances, or does Manny Mantid exaggerate just a little? Regardless, that’s quite a bottle tree, one that sounds like it has been in the works for awhile!

    Hi Carol, thanks. You are quite astute. I have been toying with the design of the bottle tree for several years, just never put it all together. The copper came to me in a dream. I begin the day bounding, by noon I am just climbing, by afternoon is it more of a crawl. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. Randy says:

    Good morning Frances! Fantastic bottle tree! Don’t work yourself too hard and don’t worry in time you’ll know every detail of that camera. πŸ™‚

    Hi Randy, thanks. The camera is still a mystery but we will continue to plug away at its secrets.
    Frances

  13. keewee says:

    Frances, it looks like you are getting the hang of your new camera. I like your bottle tree.

    Thanks Keewee, it will take lots of practice and more studying of the user manual to understand what makes it tick. I am a slow learner. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. layanee says:

    You have a few weeks to play with that camera before SF! Have fun with it and we will reap the benefits!

    Hi Layanee, thanks. I have not decided if the new camera is even going to make the trip. It is big and heavy and needs the tripod. All minuses for airplane travel.
    Frances

  15. Rose says:

    Good morning, Manny. I do like your new perch–cobalt blue is my favorite accent in the garden, too. And I must tell you I have a special fondness for mantids; I’m hoping your relatives come to stay with me again this summer. Please tell Frances her photos are beautiful!

    Hi Rose, thanks. Have you seen any egg cases around? They are distinctive looking and will be full of little mantids ready to eat! We both love that color too.
    Manny

  16. April says:

    I love the copper bottle tree. Unfortunately in these parts, we have idiots that steal anything and everything copper and scrap it! Major problem here. They steal it off air conditioners at homes, schools, hospitals. Anywhere they can get it. So I am leary of using anything copper for fear of some idiot trying to steal it!!!! I have some lead for the copper stealers!!!!!

    Hi April, thanks. We have those idiots here too. I had to think about placement. Luckily our back garden is fenced with large evergreens on all sides, not visible from the street or even from most of the neighbors. I hear you about the lead, too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Barbara says:

    I’d been trying to read your blog through the Picks section – and alas was booted out – so glad I came back my on my normal route – the photos look great! If the light is the same as it is here right now – beautiful but contrasty x 10 to the power of 400 – you’re really biting off a tremendous number of variables while learning how to operate your new camera. Hopefully, you’ll get one of those ‘idiot lighting’ days brightish, but cloudy – as my photography teacher used to call them- I think you’ll be amazed at what you’ve learned so far when you’re not having to constantly consider the changing whacky light conditions.

    Hi Barbara, thanks. Sorry for the issue with Blot, it happens sometimes. I need idiot lighting conditions for all my photos. I always use auto. HA I also need a photography teacher! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. Racquel says:

    Looks like you are having fun playing around with your new camera Frances. πŸ˜‰ I love your new bottle tree, cobalt blue bottles are fabulous on it.

    Hi Racquel, thanks. Those blue bottles really shine all day. They are in a spot at the end of the veggie bed, good sun there. The camera needs a lot more use to feel comfortable. Lots.
    Frances

  19. Catherine says:

    I love the first picture, it looks like the iris is peeking around the post.
    I enjoyed learning about your bottle tree. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one around here!
    Your pictures are looking great! It’s fun having all those new features to try out, and looks like you’ve figured them out πŸ™‚

    Hi Catherine, thanks. Beverly was being coy, wasn’t she? There was an artist’s studio in Asheville that had blue bottles on all kinds of old metal pieces, the best use was on an old farm tractor rake of some kind with the bottles on each tine. Way cool. I am a long way from figuring the camera out, but thanks for thinking otherwise. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. Sunita says:

    What a fun post! Thanks Manny. Looks like Frances is having fun with her new camera too. Lovely! Some great photos coming up, I can tell!

    Hi Sunita, thanks. She is working on it, but it is hard to not grab the good old camera that she knows how to use. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. gail says:

    Frances, Love the bottle tree! The copper is perfect with the cobalt blue bottles. You can and do anything you put your mind to! …My projects languish! Speaking of projects…I must off to finish planting herbs and annuals in their containers! The days are not long enough to accomplish everything…after dinner I am ready to sleep~~blogging suffers! (Did you say you pounded the rebar two foot into the ground? We don’t have two foot of dirt/clay here before we hit limestone!…) have fun in the garden…talk with you soon! gail

    Hi Gail, thanks. It does look pretty together while the copper is still shiny. It will dull and still be pretty though. I also have languishing projects, I just don’t post about them. This one went really quick. I was surprised. Your containers sound great, that is a good combo. I too am spending quality time outside now that the rain has stopped. It is a jungle out there! πŸ™‚ We do have rocks, but they are smaller than yours. The bottle tree is at the end of the veggie bed, where the failure fig tree was planted. Deeply cultivated soil there.
    Frances

  22. DP says:

    The bottle tree is so great! I especially love the praying mantis. You have some great man-made structures in your garden. Makes it even more fun!

    Hi DP, thanks. I have been collecting stuff for a long time. Manny has always been a fave. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Pam/Digging says:

    You know I love bottle trees, Frances, and yours looks great. Those bottles are really fancy! I like your how-to, also. Now that you’ve posted about making a bottle tree, I’ll bet you get plenty of folks, as I do, wanting to know how to make one too.

    Hi Pam, thanks. I wanted to join the club! It will be interesting to see the statistics for this post as time goes by. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. Patsi says:

    Your glass and copper is a nice addition as a garden accent.
    I’ll have to take a look at what new camera you have….not as if I could be helpful. ha

    Thanks, Patsi. Do please, I need all the help I can get! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. Brenda Kula says:

    I think that iris is the prettiest I’ve ever seen, Francis! And if that isn’t enough, I’m totally enamored of your bottle tree! So unusual with the antique look of the bottles. This is so gorgeous!
    Brenda

    Hi Brenda, thanks. Isn’t that a wonderful color?
    Frances

  26. skeeter says:

    You sure are having fun with that new camera πŸ™‚ What a fun post! Manny Mantis is awesome! I also like the bottle tree. The Saint will not let me have one. He says I am trying to Redneck the yard as it is. lol I say he has no since of inspiration or wit about him. One day he may come home to a bottle tree standing tall in the front yard! πŸ˜‰

    Hi Skeeter, thanks. These poor husbands, they need to learn it is better to just obey! HA
    Frances

  27. Lythrum says:

    I love the bottle tree, the blue bottles are so vivid. Good job with the new camera. πŸ™‚

    Hi Lythrum, thanks. That blue color looks wonderful anywhere in the garden. I love the blue pots too. The camera is still a mystery to me, however. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  28. Lola says:

    Hi Manny Mantid. You are such a grand fellow & to sit atop the gorgeous bottle tree. Love that copper. Glad you are around to see all that goes on with that new camera. It does make for some great pics.
    That rose is so pretty. A great tribute to the missed parents. I’m sure they approve.

    Hi Lola, thanks. I do have a good spot to see what is going on around here. And that is lots, at the moment. And I thank you for the nice thoughts on Mother’s Day.
    Manny and Frances

  29. The bottle is tree is so beautiful! I collect cobalt blue bottles and this a great way to use them in the garden.

    Hi Jackie, thanks. I still have lots more bottles, maybe will switch them out from time to time.
    Frances

  30. Jan says:

    Love your new bottle tree. Looks like you love your camera, too.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Hi Jan, thanks. Love the bottle tree, like the camera, we are still just dating. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  31. VP says:

    Hi Frances – thanks for your question over at my place. Here’s my answer, just in case you won’t be wandering back to have a look.

    I’m assuming you mean you got lots of flowers on your beans, but no beans are forming. Hmm that’s a little tricky. It sounds like your beans aren’t being pollinated. Are they being visited by bees, or is it too cold for them? Even if they are visiting, they may not actually pollinate the plant, but steal the nectar instead.

    However, this is where it gets tricky as beans have been shown to be self-pollinating. Darwin found 40 beans on plants that were covered up and 135 on plants that were open to visiting bees.

    It might depend on the variety you’re growing on how successful they are at self-pollination.

    This is a very long winded way of saying I don’t really know, but lack of pollination appears to be the key!

    I’ve had a follow up thought since I posted that up too. How long have your beans been in flower? If it’s only recently, the beans may not have had time to form yet. If it’s been a while, then I’ll stick with my first thoughts on this.

    I must admit I’m not much of a bean grower, so let’s see if I get any other answers!

    Hi VP, thanks for the quick response. For follow up: There have been flowers and lots of them for about a month? or so. I have tons of bees here, but have not seen a one go near these beans, they are planted on stakes in the strawberry patch. One other thing, since they first germinated, black ants have been all over them. Could that keep the bees away? Are the ants taking all the nectar? The whole veggie area has many of these ants, carpenter ants I believe because it has old roots of an ancient, by US standards, privet hedge decaying below. The ants have not harmed any of the veggie plants and help break up our clay soil. I am not going to use pesticides there and if they are the culprits so be it. They do not hinder the bean formation of the peas or green beans. Anyone know what might be the cause for no broad beans given these conditions? We have also had a ton of rain. All help appreciated.
    Frances

    • VP says:

      Hi Frances – aaaaah ants. They steal nectar too, so I’m wondering if the bees aren’t touching your flowers as a result of that. If they’ve been in flower for a month you should be seeing lots of beans by now.

      Daft question I know, are you sure they’re ants and not blackfly? Because they like broad beans very much indeed. And ants could be there too as they ‘milk’ all kinds of aphids for sugar. If you’ve got blackfly, then you need to pinch out the tops of your beans and destroy them. If any blackfly remain you can jet them off with a water spray.

      Hi VP, thanks for the extra effort here. I do think it is the ants. I looked very closely at them today and saw thousands of tiny baby ants all around the flowers. Arghhh. I have read about blackfly, but have never actually seen any here. We do have our share of pests though. Sounds like these bean plants are ready for the compost bin.
      Frances

  32. I thought the Iris did wave at me, peeking from behind that bar, but I never expected to encounter a mantis. Don’t be offended, dear. I like you and Frances did an awesome tree for you πŸ™‚ Isn’t she an awesome gardener? I’m sure you’d agree with me on that.

    Hi Chandramouli, thanks. You sound like a very nice person. πŸ™‚
    Manny

  33. Liz says:

    What a great post Manny – I think you look very elegant perched up on your fantastic bottle tree and that cobalt blue really sets you off well – very handsome!!!

    Frances has taken some great photos with her new camera – very impressive!

    Hi Liz, thanks for that. I am considered quiete a looker among mantids. πŸ™‚
    Manny

  34. The only possibilities I can think of in the broad bean dept. is that they are cool-weather flowers and maybe it’s too hot for them already? They finished a month ago here. Or possibly it’s lack of some mineral, like calcium, which I’ve recently found can make a big difference. Don’t know in this case though.

    As a fellow bottle collector, I applaud you for finding an excellent use for a lot of bottles at once! V. elegant version of a bottle tree.

    Hi Pomona, thanks for those ideas. We did have some hot weather at an inopportune time. But it is most likely the ants pilfering the nectar, or something else. Maybe they are eating the baby beans.
    There are so many flowers it is ridiculous, and nary a bean forms on any of them. A total waste of good garden space. Out they go! I have been wanting to do something cool with these bottles for many years. I still have many bottles and will have to think of something else for them. This is as large a tree that I want at present. If only I could weld…… πŸ™‚
    Frances

  35. Oh, a copper bottle tree? Yummy! That will look great with Frances’s new copper rain chain. Manny, enjoy the ride. I love blue bottles too.~~Dee

    Hi Dee, I was thinking the same thing! They are both in the same sightline too. I am too excited about the rain chain. It has been shipped! Thanks again, my dear. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  36. Steve says:

    Those cobalt blue bottles are sort of stunning in color. How appropriately-named. Those bands of glass around your Mantis are very cool, as are the pictures of them. Nice perspectives, Frances.

    Hi Steve, HA! Sort of stunning in color? I fell in love with this color of glass from the first spotting of it in an antique store in Eureka Springs, Arkansas. Seriously, thanks for the kind words, especially coming from one with such an artistic eye.
    Frances

  37. Fantastic bottle tree! Looks like you’re doing great with your new camera, too.

    Cameron
    (I’m back)

    Hi Cameron, thanks and welcome back. The new camera is still a stranger to me, but I am trying to get better acquainted with it. I look forward to seeing shots and hearing about your trip. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  38. marmee says:

    what a beautiful pink iris…i think she will like sitting by your new bottle tree…the blue glass is great with the copper holding it. i love copper in the yard anytime, anywhere…i am guessing manny does too.

    Hi Marmee, thanks. Beverly Sills is a unique color of iris, so very feminine. I am partial to anything copper as well. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  39. Kanak says:

    Hi Manny Mantid, you’re a looker yourself…and a guest post is fun. And if Frances is pre-occupied with her awesome new camera it’s good for all of us…we’ll drool more at all the spectacular shots that’ll be coming. The blue of the bottle tree is wonderful. Loved them all.

    Hi Kanak, thanks for that. Frances has a lot to learn with the new camera, it is slow going. I am happy atop the bottle tree, a good lookout spot. πŸ™‚
    Manny

  40. Jerry says:

    Nice site. I like the Cobalt Blue bottles I have been planning on buying some for a while. You can’t get them cheap on ebay or anything. I can find them new for about 30 dollars delivered for 12 Cobalt Blue Wine Bottles however. So I will buy them. I just started my garden blog the other day. I did a few postings in a couple days last week. I will write some more later. You can see my blog at http://www.GardenFace.com just a name I came up with. Myself I don’t bother with putting copyright on each and every picture. Just the notice at the bottom of the page I think is enough. If someone wants to heist a picture on my page for their own site then sobeit lol. I am not alarmed by it. I don’t think my photography is that great. Though check out my posting with the two ladybugs. That picture is nice. Someone might want to steal that one. But I am not worried about that either. I own the high resolution picture and if somebody likes my ladybugs that bad then I am happy that I must be such a good photographer to have them take the picture lol. At any rate I saw some other blog last night that put big copyrights on their pics too. Too each their own. I just find them distracting a little. I have to think what articles I can post tonight. Maybe I will do a posting with pictures on Metal Yard Art. Like your praying mantis. In fact I know a company on ebay that I was coincidently looking at buying a praying mantis. If you are reading this how many inches is your praying mantis? I don’t have a perspective on it. I think the one on ebay isn’t that big. I might put it on a sign. Sit it on top or something. Its the little things that ad up to making it very interesting. Soon I plan on buying 10 or more Garden Face molds to make cement faces for my garden placed here and there. Interesting little places so when I am watering this face is looking at me with it’s special odd garden look. Mysterious in some way. I better get going. Sorry for writing so much. Bye and thanks, Jerry GardenFace.com

    Thanks Jerry and welcome. Lots to digest here, but I will address a couple of things. The blue bottles are wine bottles recycled from our enjoying the contents first. I just saved them over a long period to have so many, many more than what is on the bottle tree. The copyright on the photos was added after I had been blogging about a year. Unscrupulous thieves have taken my entire posts without my permission and posted them as their own. I have contacted those people and asked them to stop. One way to identify my posts is with the name in the shot that cannot be removed without a lot of effort. It is not that the picture is high quality, it is that it is mine. Like you say, to each his own as far as the marking. The praying mantis is about 18 inches from tip to tail, standing maybe a foot tall with the legs. I did check out your blog, it looks like you are on the right path. Good luck to you! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  41. Jerry says:

    PS I do like your name FaireGarden.com. That was a good idea. Like I said I have GardenFace.com but I wanted to mention I also registered CalmGarden.com. Don’t bother going because it is nothing yet. I am just holding onto that page for now. When my yard gets nice enough I will take pictures of my place and put them on CalmGarden. That is the name of my garden. I think I will write a post on GardenFace that talks about how we should all name our gardens and put up a sign or two with the name on it. If you don’t have one you should go to Ebay and make a custom metal sign that says Faire Garden on it. I will put a posting up showing my CalmGarden sign maybe tonight if I think about it. You can see what you can do with a nice Faire Garden metal sign. It looks good. In fact let me see if I can do the posting now so you can see it. I just rattled on more on my site. It may not interest you but you can do a cursory glance at it. Thanks, Jerry GardenFace.com blog

    Thanks Jerry. I already have a sign that says Fairegarden, made of concrete, a gift from a fellow blogger when she visited my garden. I will check out the metal one when time allows.
    Frances

  42. Jerry says:

    I just noticed you replied to my posting here. I see you have a wordpress blog. My socalled blog is just a website I created with Adobe Dreamweaver and also Adobe Flash. I should try and add interactivity also like this. I will have to check into it. About your blue wine bottles. I wouldn’t mind finding some Cobalt blue wine bottles at a dollar store or something. I could just pour out the wine and the bottles are worth a dollar easy to me. Let me know if you know where I can get cheap wine with blue bottles. Thanks, Jerry GardenFace.com

    I am very happy with the hosting by WordPress. They have loads of features and it is free. I did buy the domain name if I ever want to self host, and to keep someone else from using it. In Tennessee, where we live, wine is only sold at liquor stores, our bottles came from when we lived in Texas and it was available at the grocery.
    Frances

  43. Jerry says:

    I never knew anybody would steal a posting and put it on their page. What a sorry person that would do that lol. I still won’t worry about it. I am sure they don’t want to take my postings. If they do more power to them. They won’t make a dime from it anyway. We can’t let them spoil our sites in any way. Maybe the person that heisted yours was some freak occurance. I don’t know how you found it amongst thousands of websites but you did. Maybe through a Google image search. I don’t know it is up to you. About your praying mantis. Let me go check and see how big the one I might buy on Ebay costs brb…it is 10.5 x 6 at 18gauge. Lets see what yours is again. Ok yours is 18 inches tip to tail you said. Yours is bigger. This one costs about 18.95 delivered. With tax maybe right under 20 dollars. Maybe kind of small for the money and light in metal but I may getit anyway someday. Seems a little steep though.

    Hi Jerry, I would like to suggest that you click on the name at the top of my blog to get to the current postings to comment instead of this old one. The way to find if someone is using your material is to google your blog name. That mantis sounds like a good deal to me.
    Frances

Comments are closed.