Something New

May 21, 2009 018 (2)Let us see what is happening outside on this beautiful May morning.May 21, 2009 062 (2)Coming outside from the lazyboy in the addition onto the deck, the first thing spied is the Asiatic lily L. ‘Buff Pixie’ that is opening its melon colored buds. Hooray, for the lily season is upon us. But what is that between the silver maple multi trunks?May 21, 2009 067 (2)Let’s take the long way up, by the pond. Yes, there is definitely something new up there.May 21, 2009 041 (2)Getting closer, the rising sun is just beginning to hit the shed.May 21, 2009 043 (2)As we travel across the lowest terrace the view becomes more clear. (If you are curious about the metal pineapple sculpture, it was written about in a post that can be seen by clicking here.)May 21, 2009 016 (2)Of course, it is the new copper rain chain that we won in a drawing from friend and fellow Okie Dee of Red Dirt Ramblings.May 21, 2009 017 (2)This was a giveaway from the charming Dee that really caught our attention. We love anything made of copper, for a start, and the shed roof has no gutter system. When there are heavy rains like we have had this winter and spring the beds around the shed take a beating. We have tried piling rocks to protect the soil from erosion but that has not worked very well, especially at this corner where the foxgloves are coddled. Since there is a continuous array of baby plants due to the biennial nature of foxgloves, they never produce extensive root systems that would hold the soil. The other corner is home to the rose seen in the opening shot, R. ‘Penelope’, a hybrid musk growing on the rebar tripod with Japanese painted fern, Athyrium niponicum var. ‘pictum’ that has naturalized at its feet.May 21, 2009 032 (2)Sturdy and well made, we anticipate the next rain event, coming soon, to see how the chain slows the sheets of water sliding down the shed roof.May 21, 2009 013 (2)Unsure of what to do at the base, this copper pitcher was found in the shed that was just the right height to fit under the last copper bowl. Found rocks were piled up against it to prevent critter spillage, it is hoped.May 21, 2009 001 (2)Inside the shed, shown warts and all, are the three leftover copper bowls. They will be put to use in an as yet undiscovered project.May 21, 2009 064 (3)Buff Pixie, isn’t that a grand name, brings this story to a close. In addition to the gracious and generous Dee, we want to thank the company that made the giveway possible, Teak, Wicker and More. We were even given a choice of styles from which to choose and this one is Copper Bowls. There are other nice ones and the price is quite reasonable if you are interested. We have seen these chains for several hundred dollars elsewhere. While I would never pay that much, I would pay the under one hundred dollar amount for this chain from this online store.
Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Something New

  1. Sylvia (England) says:

    Frances, what a lovely prize. I have seen these chains on blog before and always loved them. One day…! I do like the Japanese painted ferns they look very happy here. I hope mine do better this year, now I have got them out of pots, poor things.

    I am glad you got your back copies of Garden Illustrated, though a shame you didn’t get then all. I am happy that you were so pleased with the scans of the articles.

    Best wishes Sylvia (England)

    Hi Sylvia, thanks. It looks so good, and rain is in the forecast! Good luck with the ferns, they should do better in the ground, most everything here does. I do grow some of those ferns in the windowbox on the shed. They have been in there for years, the plantings are not changed. That is where those shown in the photo came from, the spores dropped down to the ground and grew nicely. That side faces north, as does the whole slope. I want to thank you again for those scans. The photos of Piet Oudolf’s plantings are breathtaking.
    Frances

  2. Racquel says:

    Congratulations on winning that beautiful copper rain chain Frances! It looks great on the shed. I’ll have to put a hint into hubby about procuring me one of those for my garden. πŸ˜‰ Your Rose in the first shot is gorgeous by the way, what is the name of that beauty?

    Hi Racquel, thanks, I was very lucky! Hope Hubby gets your hint. The rose is a hybrid musk, Penelope.
    Frances

  3. Brenda Kula says:

    I think I can smell the fragrance of that beautiful rose from here! That is one fantastic photo!
    Brenda

    Thanks, Brenda, kind words coming from such a great photographer as yourself. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Frances, the rain chain looks fabulous on your shed as I knew it would. Can’t wait to see you in a week!~~Dee

    Thanks, Dee. You are a sweetheart! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. Benjamin says:

    Lovely rain chain. Everyone who visits my garden comments on mine and how they have to get one. Spread the love!

    Hi Benjamin, so nice to see you and congrats on your successes! Spread the love, what an endearing philosophy. I shall try. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. That’s a lovely rain chain – I’ve not come across these before. The photos of the light hitting the shed are beautiful, it almost feels like I’m there.

    Hi Happy, thanks. The rain chains are an old fashioned way to halt the erosion at the corners. The clouds are gathering here, we shall soon see how it works. There’s nothing like that earliest morning sun. It draws me outside every single day it shines, irresistable. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. Gail says:

    Frances, The rain chain looks delightful hanging from the shed…great use of the copper pitcher, too. I am so glad you showed the long view so I could see the bottle tree! Yippee for lilies…Buff Pixie is lovely and a nice compliment to the copper and cobalt in the garden! Gail

    Hi Gail, thanks. That pitcher has been sitting the the shed ever since we moved here. Too small to use for watering, it might just help slow down the water hitting the earth at that corner as it tumbles down the cups. The bottle tree is a real focal point with the sun shining through it. You’ll see for yourself and want one too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Diana says:

    Frances – the lily is beautiful. And I love the rain chain. I’ve seen them in other gardens, but would really like to see one in use! They intrigue me — maybe you can tell me more about it when I see you next week!!!

    Hi Diana, thanks. The clouds are gathering and the wind has picked up. We might get to see that chain in action soon. Can’t wait for the fling to begin! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Joanne says:

    Hi Francis Love your rose Penelope. Similar to one I have Cornelia but I think Penelope grows bigger and perhaps has a bigger flower. I have taken several cuttings successfully from Cornelia you probably could do so from penelope too should you have a mind to.
    The morning light looks lovely with the lime green of the trees. The contrast of the Maple trunks look great. The rain chain is an amusing addition, I like the odd ornament in a garden.

    Hi Joanne, thanks for those tips. Penelope and her sisters, Danae and Jeanne D’Arc were planted together in the front yard. I decided they needed to be moved to the back and moved a couple of more times after that. In the front, pieces of them keep regrowing over and over. A pretty easy way to grow cuttings! These were not supposed to be climbers, but are very floppy and we hope to train this one up the tripod. So far she is only a couple of feet tall though. I am in love with the morning light here. The extra rain we have had has really made the foliage lush and full of life. We have several odd ornaments, you would like them. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Hi, Frances. Can I come live in your shed? How wonderful to look out and have that view. Interesting copper bowls. Are they supposed to filter water? I mean, is that their main use? K

    Hi Kathryn, yes, of course. But you need to know there is no electricity! The idea with the bowls, they have an opening at the bottom of each about the size of a quarter, is the slow down the rain, I believe. And look pretty. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Great rain chain! I love those so much.

    Your lily is such a shining star in the garden.

    Cameron
    (worn out from driving all over the place trying to find a replacement garden bench since we rearranged!)

    Hi Cameron, thanks. The lily needs some company, don’t you agree? I will have to add more this fall. It was a gift from daughter Semi and has been a champ performer. Hope you found a nice bench?
    Frances

  12. Catherine says:

    I love the rain chain, it looks just perfect there! Even your flowers match the copper!

    Hi Catherine, thanks. It does blend well with the surroundings, like it has always been there.
    Frances

  13. Phillip says:

    Your garden looks beautiful. I was thinking of you yesterday when I planted the cosmos seeds.

    Hi Phillip, thanks and how sweet of you! I do hope you get the same giants that produced those seeds, if that is what you are wanting!
    Frances

  14. Lucky you to win the rain chain Frances. I am glad you did because you have the perfect place to use it. It looks like you have in installed just right.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. I was certainly lucky to win this. They are calling for rain, so maybe we can see it work its magic soon. It looks good, even without rain. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. Lola says:

    Looking good Frances. I love that rain chain. I really like the way copper looks after awhile. So much character in the garden. I don’t know how you ever get it all done.

    Hi Lola, thanks. I hope this copper will age, but it may not. It appears to have a coating of some sort, pretty either way. Just so you know, I don’t get it all done! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. linda says:

    Hi Frances, your garden makes me drool, and your new rain chain is beautiful. You ramped it up beautifully too with the copper pitcher and rocks!

    Hi Linda, thanks. The rain chain was something I have been wanting for a while after reading about them on various blogs too. Now we wait for the rain to come. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. tina says:

    It looks fantastic! I hope it works great in the next rain-hopefully we’ll get one soon:)

    Hi Tina, thanks. We also are waiting for the next rain. I have planted some things that need watered in. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. TC says:

    I like the copper rain catchment system you’ve got rigged. But I wonder if it’s practical? Shouldn’t you have a much larger holding bin for the water? You could put gutters on the shed, and have the rain chain directly under one of the downspouts. I’m sure y’all already considered this.

    Hi TC, thanks. I really don’t know how practical it will be, but it can’t be worse than the nothing that was there for the last nine years. We do have a rain barrel on spouting of the house, new this year. The pitch of the shed roof is not that steep, and gutters are not really necessary since it is up on wooden grids at the top of the hill. No standing water or drainage issues there. It is just an outbuilding, no power, nothing fancy. Thanks for the ideas though. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. gittan says:

    Congratulations! The rain chains are tru beauties. And yours looks great on that shed. I’d love to have one myself / gittan

    Hi Gittan, thanks. I do think a rain chain would suit your garden style! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. gittan says:

    Forgot. That Silver maple of yours, spotted that face… looks great =)

    Hi Gittan, thanks. You are the first person to notice Whistling Pete, a Christmas gift from the Gardoctor. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. Darla says:

    How cool is that? And what a great addition to your gardens! Congrats!!

    Hi Darla, way cool! And thanks. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. Pam/Digging says:

    Congrats on winning the rain chain, Frances. You found a perfect spot for it. Now here’s to some gentle spring rain!

    Hi Pam, thanks. That was just the place for it, within view from the deck and lazyboy and most other places in the garden too. Some gentle rain would be welcome about now. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Hi Frances, I love the rain chain, though it reminds me that I *still* want to do a post on a green roof I helped plant last May (and I went back in November to take snow photos. Um, those thoughts are connected, because there were rain chains there). I’m sure you’ll find a use for the leftover copper cups. Copper is great!

    Hi Monica, thanks. I would love to hear about your green roof story and see those rain chains as well. I love anything copper too, and love the color it turns almost better than the shiny bright shade. Might as well, for I am not about to polish it! HA
    Frances

Comments are closed.