Wordless June Blooms

June 11, 2009 033 (2)
~
June 8, 20092 016 (2)
~
June 10, 2009 011 (2)
~
May 24, 2009 007 (2)
~
June 13, 2009 036
~
June 2, 2009 more 016 (2)
~
June 8, 2009 027 (2)
~
June 10, 2009 047 (3)
~
June 8, 2009 036 (3)
~
June 8, 2009 012 (3)
~
June 2, 2009 more 005 (2)
~
June 11, 2009 014 (2)
~~~
Just a few words to explain that the monthly event known as the Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day, the brainchild of the delightful Carol of May Dreams Gardens, has become such a blockbuster that there are almost more postings of what is blooming in gardens around the world than can be read by those interested in such things. Imbedding the names of the plants in each photo, the important information, will hopefully make for speedy reading so more blogs can be visited by all. We have chosen plants to showcase that may not be featured in other posts. Enjoy the flowering of the planet in the month of June, 2009.
Frances

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Bloom Days. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Wordless June Blooms

  1. Darla says:

    Great post. Of course you have posted plants that will not be seen anywhere else….

    Thanks Darla, it was a collection of oddballs, I mean that in the nicest possible way. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. We seem to share yellow blooms, and that Stachys, too. Those are beautiful flower pictures!

    Hi Carol, I saw your yellow theme, nice. Wish there were more of the stachys, wonder if it seeds?
    Frances

  3. gail says:

    Just lovely…The borage photographs so beautifully…I saw this plants in Chicago and wondered why I didn’t grow it, what a great blue! You have chosen delightfully wonderful plants! I don’t know the last one, punica? Have fun today. gail

    Hi Gail, thanks. I only have one borage, bought at Mouse Creek. It is so easy to grow from seed, must add that to the seed list for next year. Punica is pomegranate. That plant was bought at the grocer’s mid winter as a houseplant. It is in the ground in a protected spot. After seeing them in Austin last year, thought it might grow here. Happy bloom day, your post was fantastic, as always. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Diana says:

    Frances — I love your “odd balls” and enjoyed seeing them even more than things I recognize. My favorite it the shot of the Rudbeckia — that’s a great photo. I’ve never seen the Spigelia here, I wonder if we can grow it … Guess I’ll have to go check now!

    Hi Diana, thanks. The last shot, Punica, or pomegranate was seen last year at the fling at the David garden. It was greatly admired and I hope it overwinters here. I think you can grow that one. Don’t know about the Spigelia, it is a woodland native here. A gift from my mailman, Claude, from his property.
    Frances

  5. Kanak says:

    Hi Frances, so true about the blockbuster thing. And embedding the names is a great idea, when you’re posting ‘oddballs’ as you say. But so beautiful…the borage, punica granatum…ALL of them. I’m still gasping at your photography.

    Hi Kanak, thanks so much. This seemed like a good way to do bloom day, and show some different flowers that grow here. I might do that every time each month.
    Frances

  6. Les says:

    Always the dilemma – what to show, what to hold, what to save for another day.

    Hi Les, Ha! Like the song, know when to hold ’em…. You are very clever. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. donna says:

    I need to check your profile again. Surely you’re a professional photographer and a professional gardener. The photos are out of this world beautiful. This is the second blog I’ve read this morning that featured butterfly weed. It’s one of my personal favorites.

    Hi Donna, thanks for those kind words. I am not a professional anything, just a point and shoot on auto. I did once have a landscaping business though. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Janet says:

    Good morning Frances, love the photos, as always. I have never seen a Hypericum in that color, very nice.
    I am envious with your ability to put text on top of the photo. I guess you have something like Photoshop? Happy Bloom Day

    Hi Janet, thanks. My old photo program has a tab for add text, that is used for the watermark and the names. Don’t know what you have. It came on our first computer, a Dell, many many years ago. It is my favorite program and gets installed on whatever computer I have. Vista hates it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Monica says:

    Wow–I have a very very similar shot of borage on my own blog today. I’m going to guess, though, that you didn’t go on the Ann Arbor Garden Walk, LOL! Also love the Mexican hat, which I seem to call Mexican sunhat. I got some int he seed swap and t’s maybe 6 inches tall. Noogie!

    Hi Monica, oh noogie to baby Mexican hats! Maybe we can save seed from ours, the one plant came from High Country Gardens last year, first bloom now. I only have the one borage, love it and it deserves a noogie too. Must get seeds for it, or maybe save some. I was reading up on the winter sowing, well in advance of course, trying to figure out what to try. Borage?
    Frances

  10. commonweeder says:

    My borage is blooming too, but I think that is only bloom I have in common with you. It’s still been cool here in western Massachusetts, but all the rain this week has moved things along. The roses are beginning!

    Hi Pat, you will catch up soon, it sounds like. And hooray for your roses, it’s about time, I say. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Rose says:

    Gorgeous close-ups, Frances! I agree it’s hard to read all the Bloom Day posts, but this was a great idea to embed the names in the photos. Of course, I didn’t want to miss yesterday’s daylily post, so I had to read that, too. I really have daylily envy, now. I like your process for naming the unknowns–I think I might have a few “non-Stellas,” too:)

    Thanks, Rose. Bloom day has gotten so large, that is wonderful, but trying to read all the posts is impossible with so many. As for the daylily names, we have several with made up names, but I know what they are when reading the name, so that is all that matters. Consistency, you see. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. Carol says:

    Lovely Post Frances… your borage shot reminds me of the sugar coated flowers I made once for a tea party… I miss that plant. Must grow again. Gorgeous photos! The Callirhoe is quite poetic… mallow lovely.

    Hi Carol, thanks for stopping by. I need more borage too, it grows well from seed so we will be on the lookout for it.
    Frances

  13. tina says:

    Wow! I haven’t even heard of half of these beautiful plants. They are all wonderful Frances. Especially that purple St. John’s Wort. Wow!

    Hi Tina, thanks. I bet you have if I told you the common names. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. Frances,

    Instead of oddballs, how about unique? πŸ™‚ Those are all so pretty.

    I had so many intentions of planting borage and it’s another that I never got to!

    Cameron

    Hi Cameron, that does sound better, thanks. I only have one borage, need more. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. Dreamybee says:

    I need some borage, but I think it’s kind of hard to find out here. I’ll have to remember to check the nurseries next time I go out. That Rudbeckia…is that real?? It looks like someone took a glue gun and stuck a little Christmas ball right in the middle!

    Hi Dreamy, I believe borage grows best from seeds. The Rudbeckia shot came out better than I expected. The light was just right. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Racquel says:

    No words were necessary Frances, your gorgeous blooms speak for themselves. πŸ™‚ You took some beautiful photos for GBBD, thanks for sharing!

    Hi Racquel, thanks. I thought it would be easier on those trying to read so many wonderful bloom day posts. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Oh, the Sweet Pea is just breathtaking! Mine are languishing & I doubt I’ll see a bloom. I’m in serious envy over that Spigelia – it’s a wowser.

    Hi MMD, wowser, HA! The sweet peas just now started blooming, that is so late, even though they were planted mid February. Better late than never. The Spigelia was a passalong from Claude da mailman. He is a sweetie. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. Catherine says:

    No words needed for these pretty flowers. I love the Mexican Hat.

    Thanks Catherine, I love that one too. New last fall, first time bloom, love it.
    Frances

  19. Jen says:

    You even have Mexican hat in there – ole’! I especially love the spigelia against the white feathery stuff – is it astilbe? Everything looks fab.

    Hi Jen, thanks. Ole’ back at ya! The mexican hat is new last fall, the bloom is very different than what the catalog showed, I love it. That is astilbe, we have it everywhere, such a good filler and loves to be divided.
    Frances

  20. Kim says:

    Frances, I really enjoyed your garden photos. I’ve been thinking about that Stachys, do you recommend it?

    Hi Kim, thanks. I am loving that Stachys, it was used in Chicago at the Lurie too. If you can find some, I would buy all they had. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. Randy says:

    Frannnnncessssss! You are getting good with that camera! Those photos are stunning! Just absolutely stunning!

    Thanks Randy, you are so funny. Remember that I take hundreds of photos to get just those few. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. These are marvelous Frances. They even have names. You are so good about that. I love the borage. It looks so other worldly. Happy GBBD.

    Hi Lisa, thanks and same to you. I like to know what is growing here, so I don’t buy the same thing over again by mistake. The borage was quite photogenic in the morning sun. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Pingback: Garden Bloggers Bloom day | AnneTannes Kruidenklets

  24. nell jean says:

    Some I grow, some I don’t, but none are in my post, which features a single surprise. Happy Bloom Day.

    Hi Nell Jean, thanks. I will be over to see your surprise when time permits. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. Barbara says:

    Frances, time for a new camera – looks like you’ve got this new one aced. Photos are spectacular – the moment my Rudbeckia hirta is in bloom I’m getting out there to take a close look – had no idea the centre was so absolutely geometrically perfect. Wonderful

    Hi Barbara, thanks. I have a new camera, just don’t know how to use it! The bare eye doesn’t notice those things about certain flowers, does it? Or at least my poor eyesight doesn’t. Loading the photos on the computer is always exciting. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. Another beautiful display. I especially liked the borage (I’m glad others are showing off its beauty; it’s a humble plant that doesn’t get enough appreciation), ‘Fragrantissima’ sweet pea, and your still-closed Rudbeckia.

    Thanks, Pomona. The borage is especially popular today. It was portrait ready and it shows. I only have the one plant, must plant more next year.
    Frances

  27. VW says:

    My favorite was the hypericum. I’d like to find some for my garden, though I’m not sure if it’s hardy here in zone 5b.

    Hi VW, thanks. I am not sure if it is hardy there, maybe in a protected spot. It dies back to the ground here by late winter, but regrows nicely.
    Frances

  28. gittan says:

    Oh, a dark Hypericum! Didn’t know there were any like that. Have you noticed the smell from the Hypericum foliage late wintertime?

    Hi Gittan, thanks. There is no foliage in the winter time for this shrub to smell, it dies back to the ground in winter. I love it for the berries, dark red. We used them for my daughter’s wedding bouquet. Not from my plants, however. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  29. Tessa says:

    All just lovely, Frances! I’m a sucker for blue and love the Borage at top :). I’ve always wanted to grow it. I’ve heard it is easy to grow- did you start yours from seed?

    Hi Tessa, thanks. This plant was purchased, but I have grown borage from seed before, very easy.
    Frances

  30. Semi says:

    The mexican hat is so cute in that butterfly weed. Did you grow it from seed? Da mailman is sweet, benefits of a small town. I loved the poppy pic, it reminds me of fantasia.
    love, semi

    Dear Semi, thanks. You should see the mexican hat, it is too cute, it was ordered last year from High Country Gardens. The poppy was from seed sown last year in the knot garden. There was also a creamy light yellow one that was a good shot too, but I was trying to keep the post short. Maybe it can be used another time.
    Love, Frances

  31. Your gardens must be very lovely right now, to host such spectacularly beautiful specimens. I really love borage, and used to have it growing in my herb garden. It stopped reseeding itself and I have forgotten to re-establish it. Now that I have beaten back the irises, maybe I need to attend to that. There is plenty of time for it to bloom.

    The rest of this collection is just beautiful. When I saw your aesclepius blooms, I knew you would just HAVE to come see mine because they sport a honeybee, and then you called with your great bumblebee picture.

    As always, I have enjoyed my visit.

    Hi Hands, thanks for those kind words. I did enjoy your bee very much too. The effort must be made to make sure we collect seeds from the one borage plant, there needs to be more of those in coming years.
    Frances

  32. ryan says:

    I was going to do a wordless comment, but it doesn’t really work without the great photos. Thanks.

    Hi Ryan, that would be a first, a wordless comment. I look forward to one with photos. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  33. Kathleen says:

    oh yes, you have some unusual varieties here Frances. They’re all wonderful. I am kicking myself for not ordering Spigelia this spring. I wanted it for a container as it’s not hardy in my zone then decided against it (thinking I didn’t need to haul anything else to the basement come fall). Your photography is rapturous. That rudbeckia hirta shot is the creme of the crop. Great idea to keep it (practically) wordless. Another way to speed thru Bloom day is to forget it (like I did!). Layering the names on the photos is perfect for such a post as this. Kudos again for thinking of it.

    Hi Kathleen, thanks. Bloom Day has gotten so large, with so many posting, it seemed a good idea to make it quick here. I appreciate your kind words. The Spigelia is probably not a good candidate for a container, the bloom time is short and it needs to be in the woodland anyway. Sorry it is not hardy there, are you sure about that? πŸ™‚
    Frances

  34. Hi Frances

    That Hypericum is really nice. I’ve not seen it before.

    Borage is such a ‘cottagey’ plant. I wish it would bloom all summer.

    Rob

    Hi Rob, thanks. I used to grow borage when herbs were my passion, in the other TN home. It needs to come live here, for the insects it attracts and that blue color. Yummy. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  35. Sweet Bay says:

    Gorgeous images Frances. I especially like the Rudbeckia hirta and sweet pea pictures.

    Hi Sweetbay, thanks, glad you enjoyed them. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  36. Jan says:

    I can’t believe you still have sweet peas! These are among my favorite flowers and I wished they lasted longer here. After seeing your borage, I have got to remember to put some in my garden.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Hi Jan, they are really late this year for some reason, even though we planted the seeds early, in mid February. They only now are starting to bloom. It is so hot, seems too hot for sweet peas, but there they are. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  37. Jean says:

    Great idea to be brief so we can visit everyone’s blog. And I love the photos. Have you started using that new camera yet? πŸ˜‰

    Hi Jean, thanks. Shhh! Don’t want The Financier to know we aren’t using the new camera yet. He bought a case for it while I was in Chicago. Is he trying to send me a message? πŸ™‚
    Frances

  38. Ohh I love the variety you have, such lovely flowers! Kim

    Hi Kim, thanks. So glad you like the variety, we do have that! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  39. mothernaturesgarden says:

    The Mexican hat is so cute.
    Donna

    Hi Donna, isn’t it though? I might have to get more of those, or try to save seeds. It came from High Country Gardens.
    Frances

  40. joco says:

    Hiya Frances.

    I recognized the Borage and the California Poppy. That’s about it. The others are all new to me. How do you do it.

    Hi Joco, thanks. I am not sure how to answer, other than just to say I have bought a whole lot of plants in my lifetime and I’m not that young. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  41. Patsi says:

    Oh my goodness…what flowers don’t you have ?
    The ‘Mexican Hat’ must be loved by butterflies.

    HA Patsi, well there must be some I don’t have not everything will grow here, but a lot of thing will, and if they will, they get a home. πŸ™‚ I haven’t seen any butterflies on the Mexican Hat just yet, and it is even in the middle of the butterfly weed. Maybe those cones open up?
    Frances

  42. Beautiful, Frances! I think I like the Asclepias and Mexican Hat photo the best. Neither of these are blooming in my garden just yet. It won’t be long though!

    Hi Kylee, thanks. You grow them both too? Small world. HA I am loving the Mexican Hat, new last fall. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  43. Lzyjo says:

    Everything is just beautiful! You and Gail have the best hypericums!! I just love California poppies and winecups. They are on my must buy list!

  44. Chandramouli says:

    As always it’s a pleasure to watch the blooms in your garden. I love the hydrangeas – they look lovely and the potato blooms too!

Comments are closed.