Palo, I Barely Knew Ye

June 17, 2009 Sunshine Hollow 005 (2)It has been written that daylily season is upon us at the Fairegarden in southeast Tennessee. Full swing, whole hog, all out, wide open throttle. That can only mean one thing, time to go acquire more of these spendid flowers at our nearby farm, Sunshine Hollow. We wrote about the trip made last year here. The drive out into the countryside is delightful. Wildflowers abound. The butterfly weed, Ascelpias tuberosa punctuates the roadside Queen Anne’s Lace and Black Eyed Susans that provide islands of color amongst the grasses. June 17, 2009 Sunshine Hollow 001 (2) As the gas guzzler turns right off the gravel road the newly replanted growing fields are alive with blooms. This is a welcome greeting after last year’s devastation by starving deer. The hope of finding one or two new daylilies to add to the large collection of seventy varieties and counting swells. June 17, 2009 Sunshine Hollow 013 (2) The drive to the office takes us by the viewing gardens planted with not only daylilies but roses, dahlias and many butterfly attracting plants and flowers. Upon arriving at the covered space there is a chattering group of women having lunch, a church group is here to take the garden tour. Dave, the owner is busy feeding them and directs me to the few potted daylilies available for sale. The focus of the business seems to have shifted to mail order and garden tours. We follow the paths and locate the object of our quest. A couple of stand outs jump into the car’s welcoming arms, er doors. Above is Comic Strip, still awaiting placement back at the Fairegarden. June 17, 2009 Sunshine Hollow 014 (2) The above plant tag read Pink Goodie. Knowing that was incorrect but still attracted to the colorway of orangey brown, this beauty joined Comic for the ride home. A photo was taken and sent to Dave for identification. The reply came quickly. June 22, 2009 028 (2)It cannot be, the colors are different, we begin a reply to his email. Last years photos are located and studied. The Sunshine Hollow website photos are located and studied. It is true. We have purchased a plant that we already have, one of our favorites, not a forgotten orphan planted in the back wilderness. Name tag intact and planted front and center in the orange butterfly bed, now blooming, Palo Duro Canyon, the first. Also blooming still potted under the deck, Palo Duro Canyon, the second. Sigh. Again sigh. We send Dave another message, thanking him for the ID and explaining we have bought one we already have. He responds that it happens all the time, for people are attracted to certain colors and will buy them over and over, whether in clothes or daylilies. Palo, we love you so much that it is okay to have two of you, really it is. Sigh.
Frances

This entry was posted in Plant Portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Palo, I Barely Knew Ye

  1. tina says:

    Oh, that is a bummer. But, on the good side, it means another trip to the daylily farm for that second new daylily!

    Hi Tina, thanks for the sympathy. Those were honestly the only two that caught my eye there. But there are other farms around including one that I am visiting with a girlfriend on Thursday. It is a rare trip that finds the gas guzzler without new plants on the ride home. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  2. Gail says:

    My dear, He’s a beauty and will look good planted with his clone! Just in case…I have the perfect spot for him!

    Comic Strip is a great looking daylily…We used to have a local grower here, but Betty and Rubin retired; so now we order new daylilies on line.

    gail

    HA Gail, thanks for the offer but he will get planted in the ground here. But you will be getting pieces of many when you visit, have no fear. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  3. Charles says:

    The Daylilies are beautiful

    Thanks Charles, and welcome.

  4. Carol says:

    Being attracted to colors and forms or styles can and does help create a wardrobe that is interchangeable and well … in a garden there are some plants you cannot have too many of… looks like your Palo is one of those. You have a lovely collection of daylilies Frances, and you have created a stunning collection of portraits that will last far longer than just the day’s bloom. I so enjoy each time I visit your garden.

    Hi Carol, thanks so much for that pick me up. When I discovered that the trip resulted in the purchase of one I already had, it was quite disheartening. Palo the second will be placed in a worthy location. I do appreciate your kind words about the garden and blog as well, thank you.
    Frances

  5. Randy says:

    THAT-is-a-gor-g-ous daylily. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one like that before. I don’t think you could have too many Palos.

    Thanks Randy, Palo is quite a looker with those unusual colors. But it would have been better to have a different one since they can be divided and spread after a few years’ time. Oh well.
    Frances

  6. Jean says:

    Palo is beautiful so in my opinion, it’s worth a second one. I hope you didn’t have to drive far though. There are three daylily farms just a few miles from us!

    Hi Jean, thanks for the support. It is not far, but since they are not really offering potted daylilies anymore I will sadly not return. There are plenty of others though. Loved your Chanticleer posts! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  7. What a rotten bit ‘o luck! you must be inconsolable, not.

    With seventy or so varieties a duplication must be inevitable.

    Beautiful daylilies.

    Thanks, Rob. Inconsolable, no, mad at myself, yes. I spotted it from afar and went right to it. When I looked at the name tag I knew that it was mislabeled, never dreaming it was our friend Palo. Still lovely though
    Frances

  8. ~~Rhonda says:

    LOL! BTDT! For sure. We love daylilies. Each year on our anniversary weekend (leaving this Thurs) we go nursery hopping. We search online for daylily farms and go shopping. ๐Ÿ™‚ The past two years we bought ‘Angel Artistry’ from the same place! ๐Ÿ™‚ But it’s so beautiful that we don’t mind having it twice. I enjoy your pictures! Thanks so much for sharing! ~~Rhonda

    Hi Rhonda, thanks. That sounds like a great way to spend an anniversary, even though you were struck with the same mind numbing awe of the daylilies and bought the same one, too funny! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  9. Semi says:

    Rotten luck, with palo. He really is a beauty, but so is Comic strip. I am so glad to see them in bloom. I need my camera back!!! Love semi

  10. Catherine says:

    I love Comic Strip, really pretty color. Palo is very nice I can see why you bought him again, even if you didn’t mean to.

  11. Lola says:

    It’s sad you have a duplicate but always room for one more.
    I purchased one last Fall called “Double Talk” & can’t find any info on it. It’s a shorty but I like it. Hasn’t bloomed this yr yet. Will have to document it when it blooms. Just the other day “Joylene Nichole” jumped into my son’s car, refused to get out so home we went. Must put her into the ground if I can find some coolness. I may have to wait till Fall to put her in her spot.
    I do like all you lilies. To me they are very pretty.

  12. Racquel says:

    Palo is a vibrant beauty, I’m sure having a twin won’t be so bad. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Diana says:

    Frances — there is a lot to be said for good taste … and good, consistent taste at that! Though I can empathize with your desire to expand your beautiful and vast collection. There’s always tomorrow, or next weekend!

  14. Cindy, MCOK says:

    Shoot, there’s enough difference between the two pictures, I can see why you didn’t twig to its true identity. I’m sure you’ll agree with my rule: if you buy something you already have, you have to buy a pot of something new on your next nursery/daylily farm/etc trip. It upsets the balance of the universe if you don’t.

  15. Beckie says:

    Funny story, both because you just had to have the misnamed one and secondly because you already have it. But never fear, it is beautifull enough to have morethan one and in a couple of years you can divide each giving one away and saving one for you. Comic Strip was worth it just for the name and bonus-it’s a beauty too! Have fun on your next outing. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. gittan says:

    That’s a bit irritating when it happends! My husband is one of those people who most surtain world bring home all the ones we allready have if I haven’t been with him at the nursery. He allways find some daylilie what he think we must bye, and I have to tell him that we’ve got that one at home “LOL” Picked at the nursery some year before by him! I must say that Palo is a beauty! I love orange flowers! I’ve found out that there shall be a lady in the small town where Nathalies boyfriend’s from who’s selling American Daylilies. I have to find out more about that =)

  17. Don’t you just hate that Frances. At least you know you are consistent with your likes.

  18. Dave says:

    Can’t get enough of a good thing right? With all the daylilies in your garden you were bound to buy a duplicate eventually!

  19. Rose says:

    With over 70 varieties of daylilies it’s not surprising you chose the same one again–that just shows Palo must be a standout to draw your eye to him. And he is a beauty, so a second one was worth the drive out!

  20. Chandramouli says:

    Palo is handsome! Ahhh! I’ve never seen so many varieties of daylilies except at yours and Jamie and Randy’s!

  21. Joanne says:

    70! That’s a very serious addiction. Funny the more you collect of a particular plant the more you want to get(excepting ground elder of course). Lovely photos.

  22. Patsi says:

    True, we are attracted to certain colors.
    That’s a very artsy looking lily. Love orange and peach for any flower.

  23. joey says:

    A daylily addict has a fine addiction, Frances … please say so since, like you, I am one.

  24. Siria says:

    Oh Frances ~ so sorry you bought one you already had, but it is stunning! I can see why you picked it. I think I need to find a daylilly farm near me. That would be so much fun!

    Hi Siria, thanks for the sympathy. It was irresistable with those cute orangey brown flowers. Going to a daylily farm to see the plants in bloom is quite enjoyable. Surely there is such a place nearby to where you live. Go for it! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

Comments are closed.