Wordless Daylilies-Part Four 2009

June 22, 2009 038Hyperion from neighbors Mae and Mickey. June 22, 2009 037 My Ways from M and M. June 22, 2009 029 Anna Warner from M and M. June 22, 2009 013 Palo Duro Canyon from Sunshine Hollow. June 17, 2009 003 Anzac from M and M. June 17, 2009 034 Free Orange from Sunshine Hollow. June 17, 2009 051 Chicago Regal from M and M. June 17, 2009 Sunshine Hollow 013 Comic Strip from Sunshine Hollow. June 18, 2009 001 Chorus Line Kid from Sunshine Hollow. June 18, 2009 005 Innocent Bystander from Champion Daylilies. June 18, 2009 007 Pandora’s Box from M and M. June 18, 2009 069 Dave Rhyne from Sunshine Hollow.
~~~
For the previous posts featuring the dayliles growing at the Fairegarden, see part one here, part two here and part three here. There will be two more posts to capture the blooms of these favorites flowers for 2009. A seperate page on the sidebar has a listing of the daylilies by name. The images will be added after all have been photographed.
Frances

This entry was posted in Plant Portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Wordless Daylilies-Part Four 2009

  1. ourfriendben says:

    I love and have ‘Hyperion’, but hadn’t seen and really love ‘Free Orange’ and ‘Dave Rhyne’. Is Sunshine Hollow a mail-order nursery? If so, looks like I’ll have to head over and pay them a visit! Now I want to see your daylilies in their garden setting—with so many, the show must be really amazing!!!

    Hi OFB, thanks. Free Orange is not the real name, it was made up for ID purposes since it was a nameless door prize on a visit to Sunshine Hollow long ago. They are indeed a mail order nursery and have a wide variety. http://www.sunshinehollow.com/gardens/mail_order_daylily.shtml If you are coming by this way, do drop in. The daylily show lasts for a few weeks beginning in June. The largest number of blooming plants is probably right now with the early ones finished and a few straggler late ones not yet open but most others flowering.
    Frances

  2. Dave says:

    Your addicted to daylilies! That’s not a bad thing! They look great.

    Dave, you have analyzed me correctly. When it is daylily season, I am hopelessly helpless to their charms. It has been a good year so far too. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  3. Rose says:

    Just gorgeous! I’m impressed, Frances, that with so many you remember their names and where they came from.

    Hi Rose, thanks. Luckily I am hardwired to make lists and charts. The digital camera and figuring out how to put the name in the picture is a big help too. A few seem to be missing in action from the original list of 25 from my neighbors, they may yet pop up somewhere though.
    Frances

  4. Lola says:

    Beautiful lilies, Frances. I can imagine how they look in your garden. I’m slowly putting some more in my garden as I only had an orange one that came with the house.

    Hi Lola, thanks. The garden show is all about daylilies right now. Finding a goo tagging system will help you keep track of what is what, along with a chart on paper. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  5. How wonderful Frances, you are a lucky girl to have all those beautiful blooms around you.
    Greetings from Tyra in Waxholm

    Hi Tyra, thanks. I am lucky in so many ways, it’s true.
    Frances

  6. gittan says:

    No words are needed! You know I druel… I think I bought Pandoras box this spring, better go and take a look. If you find any Daylily with me that you want, just let me know. I’ll be happy to send you some seeds later on. They are just about to bloom / kram gittan

    Dear Gittan, I always think of you when showing daylilies, knowing how you and your husband love them so. We can exchange seeds when they ripen, that will be so fun to see what comes from them. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Kram, Frances

  7. tina says:

    They are gorgeous! I’ll have to refer to them frequently too since I have no clue on daylilies. Comic Strip and Anzac are wonderful!

    Hi Tina, thanks. There are so many cultivars, finding a name of an unknown one is nearly impossible. That said, I did find that Nonstella is really Sammy Russell. It seems you like the reds! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  8. Barbara says:

    Frances, was just about to go outside to work in the garden (I’m trying to type without removing the finish on my desk from my sunsreen on my arms and hands) and decided to come for a quick visit for inspiration. So glad I did – the shot of Hyperion was all I needed to get my shoes and socks on – fond memories of the road trip many years ago when I went to a dig-your-own nursery – it’s probably 4 weeks from bloom….just enough time to get the rest of the bed up to par and worthy of its gorgeous blossoms. Best wishes, Barbarapc

    HA Barbara you are so funny! That sunscreen is dangerous stuff! Hyperion is a trooper, one of the daylilies that came with the property. We used to call it Elrod yellow until the true identity was discovered. Your newly spruced up bed will be delightful. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  9. RainGardener says:

    Loved Chicago Regal – it was the only one in one of my favorite colors. But then I decided I loved Chorus Line Kid, Innocent Bystander and Pandora’s Box. LOL Sure hope I do that with the 23 I just bought and don’t know what they look like!

    Wow, Raingardener, 23 at once is really jumping into the pond with both feet! While all are lovely, Innocent Bystander is a standout. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  10. Wow Frances, I am amazed that you remember all the names of your daylilies. I am not such a good record keeper. After seeing your daylily post I can see that it can be done. I will try harder. It is fun to know the names for when people ask. I will have to get pandoras box. I have a pandoras box mini hosta. I feel a collection coming on. ha…Have a great weekend.

    Thanks, Lisa. I know you are a good record keeper too. All you need is motivation. Pandora’s Box is a beauty, the first dark eyed one in the collection. I am still working on a satisfactory tagging system, tall white plastic stakes with a truly permanent marker, but there is a chart on paper as back up too. Things happen to those tags often. You too enjoy your weekend.
    Frances

  11. Gail says:

    Frances, Daylily hill must be beautiful with all these guys and dolls in bloom! I can see them now waving in the breeze (I am ever hopeful that there is a breeze)…Twenty years and counting and Hyperion is still a favorite. gail

    Hi Gail, thanks.. The daylily hill is looking its best ever. Getting the mix right and still growing other plants in there for the rest of the year has been a challenge. Progress has been made. Love Hyperion’s tall scapes and fragrant blooms, it came with the house.
    Frances

  12. Janet says:

    What a wonderful collection of daylilies. I am in awe. Love Palo…and…and…. ok, all of them. Just beautiful Frances!

    Hi Janet, thanks. Palo is particularly delightful, even if I bought him twice. LOL
    Frances

  13. Sonia says:

    Your daylillies are just stunning! I love them all. Miss Bloomers/Sonia

    Thanks, Sonia. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  14. Signe says:

    They are fantastic, all of them.

    Thanks, Signe. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. marmee says:

    just so beautiful!

    Thanks, Marmee. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. So many gorgeous daylilies. I can’t pick a favourite.

    Thanks, Happy. No need to pick, they are like our children, we love them all. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  17. Patsi says:

    What a selection of lilies !
    Just lovely.

    Thanks, Patsi.

  18. Joanne says:

    Lovely Day Lillies I feel guilty that I neglect mine so, but they always get so big and straggle over more precious things. Obviously haven’t cracked this plant.

    Hi Joanne, thanks. The neighbors for the daylilies must be fairly large to not get covered up by the floppy foliage. Tall garden phlox are good, as are tall asters. Daffodils in spring that bloom before the foliage gets big and hidden as they yellow too.
    Frances

  19. Les says:

    I want neighbors like yours. Their contributions to your garden seem very generous, but I am sure it works both ways.

    Hi Les, those neighbors were the reason we bought the house, we could tell they were hard core gardeners. But didn’t know how nice and generous they would turn out to be. I have given them some things, but they already have way more than I can offer.
    Frances

  20. lynn says:

    It’s no wonder there are so many daylily lovers out there…too many colors to choose a favorite! I came home with 8 this morning from our region’s club sale…now where to plant them..lol! Frances, I would love a view of your daylily hill as your daylilies seem to be in peak bloom! Yesterday, I had 3 Scarlet Orbit blooms on it’s first day and this morning, there were 8…I was in heaven ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks again for your wonderful parade!

    Thanks Lynn, for telling about your Scarlet Orbits, what a delightful name! I would suggest planting your new ones all together, that is what I have been working on doing, after moving them apart and about for years. They look better en masse, as does everything. I have been trying to get a good shot of the daylily hill, it is not cooperating but I am persistant. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  21. Frances, Lots of new varieties to discover. I particularly like Comic Strip and Innocent Bystander. Beautiful photos — they always say “Shoot me!” (in the nicest possible way) when they’re wearing raindrops.

    Hi Helen, thanks. Those are two good ones. Innocent Bystander is my favorite white. I wish those were raindrops rather than hose water drops. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  22. RobinL says:

    Such an incredible array of daylilies you have there Frances. I particularly like Pandora’s Box. It’s gorgeous, and because my friend and choir director is named Pandora, I think I need this one!

    Hi Robin, thanks. Pandora is such an unusual name, you need this one! I think there is a hosta by that name too.
    Frances

  23. Frances, as ever a comprehensive post with great photos. They’re stunning aren’t they.

    Hi Rob, thanks for not saying you are sick and tired of seeing these daylilies! There are two more posts ready. I might hold off on the last one until the very latest cultivars open. There are a couple that are missing in action and one that I missed due to traveling. It is for record keeping on the daylily page that will be published when complete and only updated when new ones are purchased. Then on to regular programming! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  24. Sweet Bay says:

    I have Pandora’s Box and Hyperion too and love them. I’m drooling over Anzac and Chicago Regal right now. Two more to add to the want list!

    Hi Sweet Bay, that’s wonderful, all are very good performers here.
    Frances

  25. A.M. says:

    Anzac is fabulous! I’m new to daylilies, but I already have a long ‘want list’, and that makes the grade. Thanks for sharing your beautiful blooms with us.

Comments are closed.