Daylilies 2009- Part Five

June 22, 2009 033 Now is the downhill slide of the daylily season. Mid and late season cultivars are opening with a few of the early ones still producing the colorful blooms. We open with Royal Butterfly from Sunshine Hollow. June 22, 2009 039 Emperor’s Dragon, the first purchase from the first visit to Sunshine Hollow in 2000. June 22, 2009 041 Fairy Tale Pink was new last year from Champions Daylilies in Knoxville. June 22, 2009 022 Night Beacon from Sunshine Hollow. June 22, 2009 025 Demetrius was a freebie bare root from Sunshine Hollow. June 22, 2009 030 From daughter Semi is Elegant Candy. She has several of the *candy* series. June 22, 2009 034 Siloam Ury Winniford from Sunshine Hollow. June 22, 2009 036 Addie Branch Smith from Sunshine Hollow. June 23, 2009 Christopher 002 Unique Style from Eshleman’s in Pennsylvania bought last year. June 23, 2009 Christopher 004 Heavenly Treasure from Sunshine Hollow. June 23, 2009 Christopher 005 Long Jump from neighbors Mae and Mickey. June 23, 2009 Christopher 006 Rosemont Firebrand from M and M.
~~~
There will be one more post of the last of these flowers to open in our garden for 2009. The whole set will be added to a page that will have a link on the sidebar of daylilies we grow that will be available for easy viewing anytime.
Frances

This entry was posted in Plant Portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Daylilies 2009- Part Five

  1. Darla says:

    Love the candy one and heavenly treasure!!

  2. gittan says:

    They are all beautiful / gittan

  3. Rosemont Firebrand is a stunner!

  4. gail says:

    I still love daylilies and yours are beautiful….gail

  5. Randy says:

    Oh, it’s so sad that they are nearing the end of their season. Our garden feels so empty with out the big bouquets of blooms.

  6. Lauren says:

    BEAUTIFUL! Aren’t daylillies so much fun!

  7. Titania says:

    Summer, heavenly Daylily time. Enjoyed seeing your beauties. All are lovely.

  8. Holly Chase says:

    Spectacular! But how are you keeping the deer away from yours? In New England deer treat themselves to daylilies like people tucking into an all-you-eat barbecue buffet.

    We don’t have that problem (with deer) on the other side of the globe, in the Eastern Mediterranean, where most of the deer (though not the bulbs!) have themselves been eaten!

    If you’d like to see natural landscapes filled with autumn-flowering bulb plants
    join us in Istanbul and SW Turkey this October:

    http://hollychase.com/botanical-tours/

    We don’t have deer where I live in a small southern town. Other critters of all kinds, but no deer, thank goodness.

  9. RainGardener says:

    All of your Daylilies are so great. Would you believe my first one of the 23 I bought opened yesterday and I LIKE IT!!! It’s a keeper! Now I’m going to go through yours and see if I can find what it is called.

  10. Janet says:

    I am in awe of how many daylilies you have —with their names!!! My hat is off to you! I give up trying to pick a favorite.

  11. Joanne says:

    They are all so lovely.

  12. Is Heavenly Treasure one of Brother Reckamp’s daylilies? It sure looks like one of his. Such a beautiful daylily show you’ve had.~~Dee

    Hi Dee, thanks. Checking online, Heavenly Treasure is one of Brother Charles Reckamp’s, and used by hybridizers with good results. Sounds like I should give it a try. 🙂
    Frances

  13. Barbara says:

    Frances, what a wonderful collection – the colours and photos – amazing. We’re just at the bud and scape stage here – Stella D’Oro & Eenie Weenie providing 2 little dots of yellow. Is Rosemount Firebrand as orangey red as it looks? I may have to go hunting…

    Hi Barbara, thanks. Rosemont Firebrand is the most orange of the reds given us by our good neighbors Mae and Mickey. It was such a large clump that it was used to fill my daughter Semi’s hillside and is now amazing there.
    Frances

  14. Siria says:

    I love all of your daylilies. One is more beautiful than the next! I just can’t believe you know all of them by name. I have such a hard time unless I keep the tags tucked in the ground where they are planted, and sometimes they fade and get lost. I have given up on that!

    Hi Siria, thanks. Lists, charts and tags help me remember, it does take an effort and mistakes are made. I have found they seem to move around on the hill without taking their tags with them. 🙂
    Frances

  15. Lola says:

    They are all very pretty but Heavenly Treasure caught my eye. I must try to get one of these for my garden.

  16. Catherine says:

    Night Beacon is very pretty, but then they all are. Are any of these re bloomers? Or is there such a thing? I know nothing about daylilies and thought I had read somewhere that some re bloom.

    Hi Catherine, thanks. Some are rebloomers, but none more so that Pardon Me, the first one to open and the last to quit.
    Frances

  17. Good grief, that’s enough Daylilies to out Daylily the rest of us. Have many do you have? I have 4 and only 1 is in flower at the mo. 😉

    Hi YE, thanks. It sounds like you need some more daylilies in your garden. I have 70 or more, we are trying to get a current head count this year. 🙂
    Frances

  18. Frances, LOL, I’m a bit old-fashioned when it comes to day lilies, liking the last one best because it looks most like the roadside tiger lilies, my favorite. (Hey you kids, get off my lawn! There, I’m a confirmed curmudgeon.)

    HA Monica, curmudgeon label firmly attached. Get off my lawn, like we care about the grass, that’s a good one! 🙂
    Frances

  19. Rose says:

    I’m usually a pastel kind of person, but that last red and yellow one is really striking–“Firebrand” is certainly an apt name. I’ve been trying to pick a favorite (or two or three), but it’s impossible:)

    Hi Rose, no favorites need be picked this time. The reds are the spark plugs when viewing the daylilies as a whole group. That color is necessary. I am warming to reds with each passing year. 🙂
    Frances

  20. svetlana says:

    I love , love , love daylilies! Thank you very much for survey !!! Ukraine

Comments are closed.