Wordless Wednesday-Figs And Palo

August 11, 2009 001 (2)
~

August 11, 2009 002 (2)
~

August 11, 2009 004 (2)
~

August 11, 2009 013 (2)
~

Frances
~~~
(The figs were delivered to our door in a plain brown paper sack by the one who grew them, Claude, Da Mailman, after his shift of delivering the mail was over. He handed them to The Financier with the words, wash, chill, eat. Some things need no further adornment. Hemerocalis ‘Palo Duro Canyon’ is reblooming. Thanks to Tatyana of My Secret Garden for the idea of dressing up food. )

This entry was posted in memes. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Wordless Wednesday-Figs And Palo

  1. easygardener says:

    Pretty and tasty – and such good advice!

    Thanks EG. The colors are form make them almost too pretty to eat. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I have not eaten a fig other than in a fig newton. They are a beautiful fruit especially when displayed on a gorgeous blue plate with nasturtium (?) blooms sprinkled in.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. If you ever see fresh figs, very very ripe, just pop them into your mouth. Bonus points if the juices run down the sides of your mouth. yes, nastursiums. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Carol says:

    Lovely gift of figs… I prefer to eat them ripe ripe and room temperature… to more enjoy all the flavors that seem to be hidden when too young and cold. Figs always bring to mind that movie with Alan Bates… I think a DH Lawrence inspiration … where he shows the proper way to eat a fig. They are so delicious! Enjoy! Your photos are beautiful… love your blue plate color contrast with your figs. What a nice mailman you have!!

    Hi Carol, thanks. The best fig I ever tasted was quite warm, right off the tree and so ripe it nearly fell apart before I could get it into my mouth. Claude is simply the best mailman in the world. He drops off plants, produce and homemade jellies, undeliverable plant catalogs too. I will miss him when we retires soon, hope he still comes by and can stay for a visit instead of going about his rounds.
    Frances

  4. Darla says:

    Yummy and you dressed them nicely for their photo opp!!

    Hi Darla, thanks. I got the idea from Tatyana’s beautiful photos on her blog My Secret Garden.
    Frances

  5. gail says:

    Frances, The presentation is beautiful…love the cobalt bowl! I could hardly bear to eat them and mess with it…except, I know they are delicious. Mine never made it to this stage but were washed, chilled and consumed almost immediately. Have a good day;-) gail

    Hi Gail, the fig connection, HA Thanks for the kind words. The blue bowl is a handmade pie plate from a craft sale in northeast TN. I bought the pie plate and a matching dough bowl with a nice spout. Almost too pretty to put in the cupboard. Yum to figs! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. Dave says:

    I’ve never had a fresh fig. Might be something to try one day!

    Hi Dave, do try them. A fig tree is a thing of beauty too, you might be able to grow one in a warm protected spot. My neighbor Mickey has a huge tree and doesn’t really care for figs, lets the birds have them. The leaves are magnificent, biblical you know! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. ourfriendben says:

    We grow figs in containers, on the deck in warm weather and in the greenhouse over winter. But we’ve never had a gorgeous harvest like that! Fresh figs always remind me of Sir Richard Francis Burton’s description of a desirable woman’s lips as looking like “a freshly cut fig” in his translation of the Kama Sutra. At the time, my only experience of figs was a dried fruit or in Fig Newtons, and I couldn’t imagine why this was considered attractive! It was only much later that I realized that some fresh figs were a brilliant red. Who’da thunk?

    Hi OFB, figs are worth growing no matter what you have to do to keep them alive. I love that lip quote, so sensual! Anyone who has only had figs in newtons needs to seek out the fresh ones. We have a little tree, bought last year that we thought had died over the winter that has made a reappearance. Negronne, a dwarf with blacking fruit. Don’t know if we will ever see fruit if it takes until July to show up from the ground though. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. tina says:

    Yum! I’ve never eaten a fig before but a friend of mine was just telling me hers are almost ripe. Considering I don’t like fig newtons I am a bit apprehensive. They sure look pretty!

    Hi Tina, thanks. I don’t know what it is about fig newtons that you don’t like, but if it is the little seeds, fresh figs have them also. But the sweetness is out of this world. Try and have an open mind when you bite into one. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Phillip says:

    Beautiful composition Frances. I’m going to plant a fig tree at my mother’s house this fall.

    Hi Phillip, thanks. I love trees, even without the fruit. Those leaves are just sublime. Lucky Mom! πŸ™‚ Cher, HA
    Frances

  10. gittan says:

    Oh, I wish they where mine! I have a figtree but this year it’s dying =( We bought a new one recently and hope for figs next summer.

    Hi Gittan, so sorry to hear about your dying fig. Hope the replacement works out better for you. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Randy says:

    Frances,
    I don’t think I’ve ever seen figs displayed so beautifully before. Excellent pictures.–Randy

    Hi Randy, thanks. The figs were so pretty, they were almost too attractive to eat. Almost. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. Tatyana says:

    People, this is unfair! First, Karen with her chocolate cakes, then Cynthia with the blueberries, now you Frances with these decadent figs! Instead of doing a very important job of Picking, I am drooling and thinking about all the yummy things you featured in your posts!

    Hi Tatyana, thanks. I will have to go check out those other posts, cake and blueberries are among my favorite things! You were the inspiration here, you know. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Catherine says:

    They do look pretty. We have a fig tree and the figs are just about ripe. I have no idea how to cook them, so I think I’ll follow the instructions you were given. That’s the type of cooking I like.

    Hi Catherine, thanks. No cooking here, just pop them in your mouth. Very tasty too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. commonweeder says:

    Fresh figs do turn up at our markets occasionally, but none looked as beautiful as yours. No gilding necessary.

    Hi Pat, thanks. The season here is very short, and the birds zoom right in for them too. They were yummy! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. Diana says:

    Frances — You could be a food stylist in another life! They look simply beautiful in that blue saucer with the flowers.

    You are too sweet, Diana, thanks. Anything looks good in cobalt blue pottery with pretty flowers. But these figs were lovely by themselves, and tasty too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Looks wonderful – How were they? Thanks for the camera advice. A decision may take a couple more days…

    Thanks, Shady, they were great. No need to rush your new camera purchase, make sure it is the one you want. Unlike some whose husbands decided to get a different one from the one asked for, but we won’t name names here. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Balisha says:

    Aren’t they beautiful…love the way you displayed them.

    Thanks, Balisha. Glad you liked the staging. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. Joanne says:

    Hi Frances the figs look so inviting on the blue plate although I am not agreat fan of their taste. The Day lilly looks double so unusually frilly compared with ones I have grown. Thanks for your recent comment on my last post which triggered a diatribe from me, must get back to gardening though so much more relaxing.

    Thanks Joanne. Sorry to have gotten you all worked up, but I feel you to be quite the expert on health care in general and Lyme in particular too. The garden is a good place to let go of our frustrations for sure. It is my own lifeline sometimes. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. Wash, chill, eat. . .CHILL?? I tend to eat them straight off the bush/tree. Out in the hot sun with fig juice on my fingers.

    Love those figs, beautiful photos too.

    Thanks, Hands. I too love them warm from the sun, but that is what Claude said to do, so we did it. They were delicious chilled.
    Frances

  20. Rose says:

    Yum! Gosh, my mailman just delivers junk mail:)

    Hi Rose, Claude is the world’s best mailman and all around nice guy. He delivered another bag this afternoon! What a gem! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. J.J. says:

    Oh figs! i am jealous how beautiful, I;ve got to remember to plant a fig tree before next spring!

    Hi JJ, thanks and welcome. Look for a protected spot, near a building on the south side for the best chance for wintering over. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. Kathleen says:

    Yum. I want a mailman like yours. You must give him Christmas candy and such to be the recipient of such a great package???!!! Although the adornments to the figs are very pretty, I could totally blow by them just to get a bite! I have never enjoyed the experience of eating a fresh fig. I must remedy that!

    Hi Kathleen, he is one in a million. We exchange plants and goodies with each other regularly. Fresh figs are like nothing else, sweet but not too sweet. Hope you can find some, they are in season here right now, and that season is quite short. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. lynnsgarden says:

    Fresh figs are an acquired taste…I happen to love them too! But these are different colors than the Black Mission I’m TRYING to grow. So you ate the nasturtiums too? peppery tasting right? I like Palo!

    Hi Lynn, I agree. Not everyone likes them, but those that do LOVE them. I believe these are Brown Turkey. While I have used the nastursiums in salads before, they were merely a prop and were composted. Palo has risen way up on the favorite list with this rebloom. I have found the reblooming dependent on extra watering. Palo happens to be where some new plants are getting that extra liquid. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. Sweet Bay says:

    What a beautiful platter. The figs look wonderful with those nasturiums.

    Thanks Sweet Bay. Anything would look good with the blue pottery pie plate and flowers, but the colors of the figs were really attractive too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. marmee says:

    i don’t think i have ever had a fresh fig. they look wonderful and what a beautiful way to display them. we are going to plant some fruit trees this fall. i found a great site called trees of antiquity. enjoy those figs.

    Thanks, Marmee. Even without the fruit, this is a beautiful tree, the leaves are legendary, Adam and Eve you know. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. Jen says:

    What a pretty way to present figs. I’m growing figs for the first time this year. I’ve got exactly 11 fruit on my one-year old tree! They’re nowhere near ripe yet, though. I hope they look as great as these.

    Thanks Jen. Wowee to your fig production! I am amazed, you must be thrilled! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. What a lovely display…almost too pretty to eat! Kim

    Hi Kim, nice to see you and thanks. Oh they were eaten, and they were stupendous! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  28. Lola says:

    I want a fig tree in my garden but they get so big. They suggest Brown Turkey to have the best flavor. I will continue to look for a dwarf kind.
    Fig & strawberry jam. Huuuuum- fantastic.

    Hi Lola, I think these are Brown Turkey. The trees can get large but can be pruned to keep a smaller size. I ordered a dwarf variety, Negronne, thought it died but it has reappeared. Only six inches tall, but alive! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  29. Pingback: Wildflower Wednesday Mystery | Fairegarden

Comments are closed.