Lisa’s Painting

!cid_7_1_0_9_0_20090831200659_01a36e80@sbcglobal_net (2)
This most amazing and beautiful painting was done by the very talented Lisa of Artsy Endeavors. You might also know her from her garden blog, Greenbow.

February 27, 2009 007 (7)
Here is the photo that I sent to her to paint from. She is a master with paints. I have tried many times to paint and it always looks like a kindergartener’s work, using their non dominant hand.

June 1, 2009 SF1 041 (2)
Lisa has been a loyal reader and has left a comment on very nearly every single one of my three hundred and sixty-three published posts (ah the wonders of WordPress statistics), including the very beginning ones that were of rather poor quality. She always has something nice and complimentary to say. I do so appreciate that, then as well as now. I had the extreme pleasure of meeting her in person at the Chicago Spring Fling. Click here to see more people photos from that fun event. This photo was taken at the camera magnet, The Bean, at Millenium Park. My traveling companion and good buddy, Gail of Clay and Limestone and I ran into Lisa and her laugh a minute sister, Tena in the lobby of the hotel after we had stowed our suitcases and wanted to explore downtown Chicago. We ate, we shopped and we got to know each other well before meeting the other blogging attendees. Special times with special friends. Thanks, Lisa, for your treasured friendship.

In the photo above, from left: Me, Tena, Gail and Our Lady of the Brush, Lisa.
Added: Lisa sent me a digital photograph of the painting that is shown at the top of this post. I added the watermark since it is her image.

Frances

This entry was posted in Photography, Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Lisa’s Painting

  1. gittan says:

    Oh, that’s beautiful! I understand why you’re so pleased with that painting. Also nice to have a friend that’s been following all your posts like that. I’m also one of them who’s unable to draw or paint anything. My youngest daughter has that talent and I wonder where that came from =) Have a great day / kram gittan

    Hi dear Gittan, thanks. Lisa’s painting makes me so happy on so many levels that I cannot even begin to express those feelings. Good too that your daughter has that talent. And not to worry, all typos are corrected, the wonders of WordPress!
    Kram, Frances

  2. Darla says:

    Oh I knew right away that was your photo!!! Lisa did a fantastic job with this…..certainly a treasure, now to find just the right place for it…

    Hi Darla, thanks, she really did. I do not have the painting, she sent me a photo of it. I am thrilled she used it from which to paint. She is so talented, and really nice and fun too! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Racquel says:

    Wow she did a great job! I have no artistic ability either, so I always admire those who can paint & draw. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks Racquel, she is very talented. I have tried all my life to draw and do enjoy the effort, but the results are never good. Lisa has the gift for sure. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. lotusleaf says:

    The painting gives the essence of the photograph, which itself is a thing of beauty.I enjoyed your witty and informative post on para- words.The flower in your picture can also be a parasol.

    Hi Lotusleaf, thanks for that. Don’t you think many flowers are like parasols for the wee folk? Thanks too for leaving your URL so I could add you to the blogroll on my sidebar! I did not realize you had a blog and appreciate your continued visits. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. I love that painting! I need to check out Lisa’s other artwork!

    Hi Carol, thanks for visiting. Lisa’s art blog is a wonder, she is so talented. A well rounded individual. I mean that in the most complimentary way. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. Lisa is very talented, as are you with the original picture. I also could not draw a straight line to save my life, but I think that artistic ability manifests itself in other ways. Photography, flower arranging, and gardening are all artistic endeavors as well. (But I still wish I could paint).

    Thanks, Deborah. Thank goodness there are many outlets for creativity. Like singing, drawing and painting are things that I enjoy, but do not do well, unlike my friend Lisa. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. I know what you mean about feeling like a kindergartener with a paintbrush – but the act of actually painting is just as rewarding as the outcome. Keep trying.
    As for Lisa’s talent – she definetely has a gift. A great interpretation of one of your best photos.

    Thanks for the encouragement, Heather, I agree. I love to hold the brush and choose and blend colors, but it never looks like much. Lisa does have the gift. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. tina says:

    How wonderful she painted your photograph. A super good job indeed.

    It is, Tina. She is quite talented. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Pam/Digging says:

    Lisa is very talented. She made a beautiful painting from your prize-winning photo.

    She is, Pam, and she did make something even more beautiful. So talented. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    blush Blush BLUSH…I am glad you liked the painting Frances. Your photo was a true inspiration it is so crisp and conveys the excitement the bee must have felt when finding the lovely hellebore ready for it to sup. Thanks for the link love too.

    My thanks to YOU Lisa, for sending me the photo. You are so fast! My own attempts at art take forever, and look like, well not good. As for the photo of the bee and hellebore, lucky timing with the light conditions, the camera on auto does all the work. I just point and shoot. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Gail says:

    Frances, Wow! I sort of knew Lisa painted, but had no idea she PAINTED! What a delightful and wonderful painting. She captured your photo beautifully! Talented artist, loyal blogger and fun to be with! Thanks for the link love~~the photo of the four of us makes me smile and brings back the best memories. gail

    Hi Gail, isn’t it fun to think back to our Chicago trip and all the good friends we made there? And the gardens. And the food. It really was a blast, and I was so happy to share it with you, my friend. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. Hi Frances, what a lovely painting! I only started following Greenbow after meeting Lisa at SF… and only realized she painted when I was at Greenbow Headquarters on my way to MOBOT. I was truly amzed and humbled–she has some wonderful work! Lucky you to have botht he original hellebore and its painted likeness!

    Hi Monica, it really is wonderful. Lisa sent me the photo of the painting, and I love looking at it. Lucky you to see Greenbow gardens and art studio, not to mention Mobot and all those other great gardens. You traveling gal, you! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. nancybond says:

    Lisa’s work is spectacular — what a lovely painting! She has captured the very essence of your lovely photo, Frances.

    I think so too, Nancy. When she emailed me the photo, I just couldn’t believe the likeness. In a million years I could never do that, or even come close. Awesome. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. LindaLunda says:

    So pretty!
    Love bouth the photo of the heleoborus… and your new painting.
    Linda

    Hi Linda, thanks. Lisa sent me the photo of the painting, and I love looking at it. She is such a talented woman! Like someone else I know! :-)))))
    Frances

  15. Janet says:

    What a treat to have Lisa put paint to canvas,using her talents, showcasing your photo. Great work Lisa and again, wonderful photo.

    Thanks Janet. When Lisa asked to paint the photo, I sent her an enlarged shot so she could see the details better. She really make the most of it! I am thrilled with her work. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. autumnbelle says:

    It is indeed a treasure to have a dear friend who is an artist to personally painted your award winning photo for you in addition to giving you all the support in blogosphere. It is also great to have you Frances, who can appreciate a good friend when she sees one. Cheers to you all!

    Oh Autumnbelle, you are too kind, thanks so much! Lisa has been there since I very first began blogging and most all of the comments were by my family members. This painting she has done and sent me the photo of is icing on the cake of her friendship. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Rose says:

    Isn’t this beautiful?! I haven’t visited Lisa’s art blog in quite awhile; thanks for reminding me–she is such a talented artist.
    I had an art teacher in grade school who said I drew “lollipop trees”–not a compliment. I’m always in awe of anyone with artistic talent.

    It is wonderful, Rose. Lisa is quite the talent and as nice a person as she is a gifted artist. Hmmm, lollipop trees, sounds like my own artistic style. We like to think of it as Primitive. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. commonweeder says:

    How wonderful to have a friend who can turn one of your gorgeous photos into a great painting. So much talent – and friendship.

    It truly is a joy, Pat. The friendship and the painting she did. All good. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. ourfriendben says:

    I loved your original photograph, and love Lisa’s interpretation as well. What a thrill to see the one again and the second for the first time! My passion for watercolors is abiding, and my talent elementary, but that’s never kept me from enjoying myself, despite my second-grade teacher’s bitterly informing me that lions were NOT purple! (Hey, what did she know?!) My own mother told me that I should really be a kindergarten teacher, since I loved all the various arts and crafts that were taught in kindergarten and my talents were at exactly that level. Thanks too much! But fortunately, I paid no attention to any of them, went on to do the things I actually can do (think and write) for a living, and still paint, sing, play, knit, bead, quilt, and etc. very badly, but with great joy, for my pleasure.—Silence

    Hi Silence, thanks for adding to the conversation here. It is a shame when some teachers dampen the spirits of budding artists. The Financier had a similar experience and lived most of his life thinking he had no creativity, which was very wrong. We all have creativity, with some it shines brightly from the beginning, for others the layers of self doubt need to be peeled away to allow it some breathing room. It sounds like your light is beaming! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. Paint me surprised as I never knew that our Lisa could weave her paintbrushes about so expertly. Absolutely lovely!

    Hi YE, isn’t Lisa something? She is a gifted artist and a good friend.
    Frances

  21. marmee says:

    lisa did a wonderful job capturing your photo…how nice! are you going to hang it somewhere?

    Hi Marmee, thanks. Lisa is a wonder. I only have the photo of the painting, not the painting itself, but do enjoy looking at it on the laptop full screen! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. lynnsgarden says:

    You both have just proven what I always knew…gardeners are true friends of the heart! Thanks for sharing πŸ˜‰

    You are so right, Lynn. Gardeners and garden bloggers are the best! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Robin says:

    Lisa did a wonderful job painting your prize winning picture! It is beautiful!

    Thanks Robin, she really did. What a talented lady! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. RobinL says:

    I am hoping that you have the honor of owning this lovely copy of your prize winning photo. It’s great! Lisa is very talented. My “apricot” rose is budding, and looks suspiciously orange for now. Good thing I like orange roses! But hopefully it will look more apricot once it’s open?

    Hi Robin, your rose sounds beautiful, orange or apricot, both are great IMHO. I own a photo of Lisa’s lovely painting, and am happy to have it. Lisa is very talented indeed. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. Dave says:

    That’s a very nice depiction of your photo!

    She did a great job, didn’t she Dave? I am so impressed with her abilities.
    Frances

  26. Jenny says:

    The painting is beautiful and a lasting memory for a lovely photograph. What a great idea. Lisa is multitalented. You are the second person this week to move to WordPress. Did you have help with the set up or can anyone do it with ease?

    Hi Jenny, it really is. Lisa is amazing. Actually, I moved to wordpress a year ago. I did not have help but the forums were of great assistance. I did end up buying the upgrade to be able to change the css code. I then had to teach myself how to change the css code. Trial and error, as with everything else. If you go with the straight themes with no changes, for free, it can be done by most anyone.
    Frances

  27. Catherine says:

    She is talented! I’d love to be able to paint too, instead I’m in awe of people who can.

    Hi Catherine. Lisa is the money! I wish I could paint, and sing while we are wishing, but like you am in awe of those with talents like that. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  28. Phillip says:

    Lisa is very talented – that is a beautiful painting.

    Hi Phillip, thanks. Lisa is quite the artist. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  29. What a treat to receive such a special gift! Now I feel worse than ever about missing Spring Fling. I’m glad you had such a wonderful time… I hope I can make such a gardener-reunion someday! πŸ™‚

    Hi Shady, thanks. Lisa sent me a photo of her rendition of the photo and I was blown away by its beauty. Do try and attend the spring fling, next year in Buffalo. It is always wonderful to meet the other bloggers. Bring throat lozenges, for there is non stop talking! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  30. Joanne says:

    Congratulations you both captured a lovely picture.

    Thanks Joanne, glad you like both. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  31. James says:

    Hi Frances
    That picture is exactly the sort of thing that should be exhibited at the Emsworth Village Show. To answer your question on my Blog: an online presence is all that is required. The very lovely organiser, Emma T, would probably be a bit disturbed if people started turning up on her doorstep carrying misshapen vegetables.So all you Trans-Atlantic types should be sending in pictures of artworks and amusing fruits. It can be accessed here http://emsworthvillage2009.blogspot.com/
    (I don’t know how to make that turn into a clever embedded link)

    Thanks James. I will check out Emma’s info to get the scoop on what might be required to join the fun.
    Frances

  32. Anna says:

    What a talented lady – you will no doubt treasure her painting πŸ™‚

    Thanks, Anna. Lisa has painted a wonderful work of art. I treasure the photo of it that she sent to me. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  33. Patsi says:

    Haven’t been by to see Lisa in a long time.
    So many gardeners πŸ™‚
    She is most talented !
    Lucky you.

    Hi Patsi, thanks. Lisa is multi talented and equally nice too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  34. She’s good isn’t she.

    How big is the painting?

    Hi Rob, she is that. I really don’t know the size of the painting, Lisa sent me the photograph showing the painting taking up the whole shot, no perspective on size.
    Frances

  35. Sweet Bay says:

    How wonderful that Lisa painted your photograph. The painting (and the photograph of course too) is beautiful!

    Hi Sweet Bay, thanks. Lisa is so talented. I do appreciate the photo she sent of the painting very much. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  36. Siria says:

    Frances ~ you may not think you can paint, but you are so creative and talented in so many ways! The painting of your photograph is spectacular. Lisa is so very talented! I remember that photo from an earlier post and recall how incredible the picture was. It’s amazing that you caught that little bee in mid air on its way in to the Hellebore.

    You are so sweet, Siria, thanks. Lisa is the artistic talent I can only aspire to, and a nice person to boot. She really captured the essence of that determined little buzzer. πŸ™‚
    Frances

Comments are closed.