September Posts Not Written

September 11, 2009 043 (2)
This is a photo driven blog. Usually. Most of the time a group of like pictures is assembled, cogitated upon and words flow through typing fingers. On rare occasion a topic is chosen and snaps are taken to illustrate the high points, like the instructions for a project. The hypertufa balls seen above were a good example to show the finished product of how to make one of these. Click here if you are interested. Photos were also taken during the making of the object next to the pepper plant for a future how to post. Does anyone at all realize that this is a gourd? It looks like a pear. With hair. This project is still in the refining stage.

September 8, 2009 009 (2)But time has a way of moving forward faster than stories can get written within a relevant time period of photos being taken. The highly invasive purple Perilla fructans, banned in the state of Tennessee as having no manners, was photographed in bloom. The flowers are so tiny and so similar in color to the calyxes as to be easily overlooked. Some of these self seeders are allowed to hang around long enough to produce next years crop and then some before being yanked and tossed onto the brush pile. No compost for these guys. But a little slide show of how they add nice foliage interest would have been a noble endeavor. Not to be.

September 11, 2009 001 (2)
This shot seemed blog worthy in a photography tip sort of way. Something interesting about backlighting could have been imagined, probably. Or the story about the beloved pineapple metal sculpture could have been repeated. It still may, but click here if you want to hear it, the first telling in one of our earliest posts.

September 11, 2009 048 (2)
There are some groups of images that are filed away to be used in the dead of winter, sorted by genus. A nice little treasure trove. Salvias have had their portraits taken at peak bloom to be researched and written about. Many new ones have been added this year thanks to the wide selection at our favorite nursery Mouse Creek, enough for several posts when there is little going on outside in the garden. This shot of Salvia nemorosa ‘Blue Hill’ wants to be used away from the family, showing an independent streak.

September 8, 2009 025 (2)
Updates of previously written about plants are enjoyed by the faithful readers. Like the little mini Dutchman’s Pipe, Aristolochiaย fimbriata now sporting a seedpod. Click here to find out more.

September 16, 2009 018 (2)
Last year a post was written in the fall about how plants needed to die well. As before, click here. This year the title should be softened to Fading Faire. Someone actually thought that our water source, our well had dried up by the title of Dying Well. An understandable mistake with such a heading. The Monarda ssp. is a fine example of attractive aging, another possible title. This post may still get written as that trait has been the focus for choosing many of the new introductions to the Fairegarden in recent months.

September 11, 2009 004 (2)
Then there are the odds and ends, a couple of shots with potential that get forgotten as the garden moves ever forward. This lone butterfly shot, a buckeye most likely, could be used in a whiney-pants post about the dearth of butterflies so far this year. So far because a glimmer of hope lives in our hearts that they will come, late but welcome.

September 16, 2009 027 (2)
It is fun to write about late season fresh flowers that spring up after those plants have nearly gone dormant like this Echinacea tennesseensis ‘Rocky Top’

September 16, 2009 046 (2)
…or this reblooming Lavandula ‘Hidcote’.

September 18, 2009 020 (2)
A post about what grew on the arbor this year was considered. A volunteer pumpkin that arose from the mush of last falls decor that was tossed into the pile of weeds as the ground at the far end needs built up to be more level for seating has been watched as it tries to scale the heights. Tendrils reach for the top crossbars but cannot hang on. A pumpkin would not grow to maturity up there anyway, cool as that would be. Several up in the air have already fallen to an early grave. Most of the climbing vines have been pulled to earth to allow for at least one nice specimen to develop to be used in an arrangement inside but this one climbing the windchime just won’t give up.

September 18, 2009 019 (2)
Another arbor resident, the Cobaea scandens grown from a seed started mid winter in the greenhouse/sunroom has nearly covered the entire structure and continues with flushes of flowers. The roots will be heavily mulched in hopes, a long shot but why not, of wintering over.

September 18, 2009 044 (2)
Sometimes a favored photo will be used just as eye candy for a bit of poem or prose with no relevance to the written words. The wildling morning glory wrapped around Hisbiscus ‘Kopper King’ would be an image so used, for what could be said about this serendipitous match?

~~~
Post ideas come and go like rain through the drains. New images supplant those unused as the garden changes daily. Like hanging onto bits of fabric for a quilt or yarn for knitting a blanket, these photos were pieced together to make a narrative. Thrifty is nifty.

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to September Posts Not Written

  1. Joy says:

    Frances no matter how many times I come here, I always see something different, or grasp an idea that I would like to try in my own garden.
    I am 100 % for EYE CANDY any time !!
    Joy

    Thanks Joy, that is so sweet. My garden is nothing if not diverse. We all love eye candy, garden variety or other. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  2. VP says:

    How I wish I’d thought of this idea for a post. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have a stack of photos and loads of ideas humming around in my head demanding to be written, but they won’t happen because then I’d permanently be at this computer instead of living life!

    As you say, thrifty really is nifty – that’s one of the reasons why I started my photography blog, so a number of non-gardening related shots could at least see the light of day ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I also have a list of about 300 ideas for posts – how many of them will get to see the light of day I wonder?

    Go ahead, VP, do it anyway! Nonstop rain had me going through the photo files to clean up a bit. Way better than cleaning the house. Ideas for posts are always popping into my head, often while driving the gas guzzler for some reason, then are quickly forgotten. I need a secretary to jot this stuff down. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

    • VP says:

      I have to confess I keep a notebook with me to capture those ideas! I can come up with at least 5 from just going on a trip to the shops ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

      Hi VP, that’s what makes your blog so interesting, the notebook! Such a good idea, especially when out and about. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Frances

    • VP says:

      Yes, I think I’d have gone crazy without that notebook by now. Once my idea have flowed my pen onto the paper, I get a bit of peace and can get on with the task in hand, rather than continuing to write the piece in my head all the time!

      Many thanks for your compliments, both here and on my blog. Just nipped in here to congratulate you on your deserved heap of nominations, but couldn’t resist continuing with our chat ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks to you VP, for continuing. I love to visit with you too! I like the thought of letting the ideas sit as ink on a sheet so we needn’t worry about forgetting them. Good luck with the voting! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Frances

  3. Janet says:

    And what a narrative it is. Love the photos of the seed pods, I think they can be so sculptural. I have ideas that float around in my brain for posts…that quickly evaporate when I sit at the keyboard. It is kind of like going to the grocery store without a detailed list and having a brain-suck as soon as you walk in.

    Thanks Janet, you are too sweet. I have started writing drafts with just the title to help me remember topics, but it’s usually the photos that speak the words to me. I am awful at the store, even forgetting to get stuff that is clearly written on the list. Especially if it is at the top, my eyes glaze over it until I get home and don’t have that thing that was needed the most. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  4. Dave says:

    To me it’s amazing how many pictures get taken with the digital camera that never make it to the blog. The odds and ends that get forgotten about for posts since they have no clear cut subject. I think I need to put together a few similar posts!

    Right Dave! There are too many pictures to use, and some too good to discard. Then what to do with them? I look forward to seeing your odds and ends. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  5. ourfriendben says:

    It happens to us, too, Frances. So many post ideas, so little time! Loved this ramble through yours.

    Thanks OFB. Time does seem to move so quickly and it is easy to get backlogged. Nice to know it’s not just me. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  6. gittan says:

    I Love your photos (and post) as allways! Wondering why we have so many photos and so many ideas for posts and not enough time??? I’ve planed to write interesting posts, using all those pictures, during the winter, wonder how that will end =) I probably post about other things instead (knowing me) Now I’ll better go back to my fathers house to continue the cleaning and the refreshing of the garden and house before the sale / kram gittan

    Thanks Gittan, and don’t work too hard getting things ready. Having the photos already into files by genus is a new way of keeping them organized. Before they were by date. I think this will work better, less shuffling through many folders to find all those sedum pix! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  7. Charlotte says:

    Oh my! You’ve done it again Frances! Fabulous!

    Thanks Charlotte, not sure what I have done, but appreciate the exclamation points. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  8. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I hope all that cogitating doesn’t hurt. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I enjoy all your posts as you take us up, down and through the garden. I will be interested to see what you have been doing with those gourds and concrete. I wonder if I could grow Dutchmans Pipe?? I think they say our zone is favorable but I never see it for sale here. It must not survive our winters.

    HA Lisa, sometimes it does hurt! Thanks for following along the paths with me, a good workout. The gourd idea has not proven to be a good one, but we haven’t given up perfecting the technique. Better hurry before the cold weather comes though. I have never seen the Dutchmans Pipe for sale here either, and I think it is a native here even. Maybe it is hard to keep in a pot. The seeds were a little tricky to germinate. It might be found online somewhere. I am hoping this little one will winter over, but saved that little seed head just in case it doesn’t.
    Frances

  9. Gail says:

    Ditto what they said! Is Ditto allowed to be used outside of quoting Patrick Swayze from “Ghost”? Frances, you’ve written a charming post~~and so true! I can’t help but notice how soaked the arbor wood looks~sigh. Btw, I love the salvia against the blood grass…gail

    Oh poor Patrick Swayze, I watched videos of him dancing while stuck inside with all this rain. The SNL one was so funny, but whatever he was doing it struck me how he was a graceful human being. Everything is soaked, but best of all is the soil. I have been moving and dividing like mad on the daylily hill. It is seldom this wet down deep like it is now. Thanks about the salvia, the blood grass makes everything sing. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  10. Sunita says:

    Why do butterflies in others gardens always look more beautiful? That is a very pretty one, Frances.
    That pumpkin really is an ambitious one, isn’t it?
    The photo of the independent Salvia really is striking! Especially with that background.

    Thanks Sunita, your butterflies are so beautiful too. This pumpkin is crazy, taking over a huge piece of land, right on top of the Vinca major at the base of several evergreens. The salvia is good friends with the blood grass. The red makes the blue stand out nicely. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  11. Joanne says:

    Oh Frances I needed a fix from your lovely photos after an intense few days at the Lyme Disease Conference and frustrations with journalists and the medical world this is just what I need to get me going that and a bit more gardening. Thank you.

    Hi Joanne, thanks, glad you’re back and hope the garden will give you sustenance.
    Frances

  12. I love all the photos, and also write to accompany photos, generally. That’s why “story” posts take me so long and why I haven’t posted about planting a green roof (May, 2008!) or MOBOT yet… I too plan to do that over the winter when there won’t be much else to talk about…

    Oooh Monica, I look forward to reading these future posts of yours. It does take more effort to tell a certain story and then use photos to illustrate it. Thanks for the kind words. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  13. Rose says:

    Frances, my brain’s a bit foggy this morning, and I can’t think of anything creative to say other than I enjoyed this post so much! I do think another post on “Aging Well” would be great, whether you talk about flowers or humans:) I have a whole group of photos from August I meant to do a post about but haven’t had time, either. Oh well, it will give me something to write about in the winter to avoid another “whiney-pants” post about the cold:)

    Thanks Rose, those kind words are always appreciated. The aging well topic is one I do hope to write about. Those dead things are not usually the photos my camera wants to take, we have to retrain the eyes to see the beauty. August is full of good photos for me as well. Maybe this winter. And sometimes we just have to be whiney pants. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  14. autumnbelle says:

    I was wondering what you all will be writting this winter when you came up with this post. I joined Blotanical during your summer where thare is so very many blooms to see. Will there be any winter blooming plants? Like in China, there is the plum blossoms.

    Hi Autumn Belle, thanks for visiting. The pretty flower posts do slow down, but there is still lots of beauty in the winter garden, just more subtle. We have orchids for the dark days of winter, and seeds growing in the sunroom/greenhouse too. Witch hazels and hellebores, crocus and the odd little flower out of season help as well. But these shots from summer will be a welcome splash of color to get us through those short days and long nights. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  15. Scott says:

    Hi Frances, Your blog is an example of fine, thoughtful prose tinted with abit of whimsy and superb photography taken with experienced skill but an undercurrent of a true gardeners loving eye. Thank you.
    Scott

    Wow, Professor, those are very kind words. Thank you. And welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  16. What a great way to honor the garden and possibility.

    Like many other readers, I found myself especially enchanted with the story of the self-starting pumpkin “with high hopes.” It almost sounds like the makings for a children’s book.

    Thanks Alexa. That pumpkin deserves to get its story told, and will. I check the one large fruit daily to make sure nothing has happened to it. Today I found a second fairly good sized one on the vine. Hooray! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  17. Jen says:

    Frances, it is such a visual and complete treat to visit your blog.

    I do so look forward to my time spent in Faire land.

    Jen

    Thanks so much, Jen. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  18. Patsi says:

    Clever and entertaining post.
    We tend to look for the plants that are big and bright but overlook the small or simple.
    You brought me back down to earth…
    Just lovely.

    Thanks, Patsi, you are sweet to say such nice things. The camera certainly teaches us to look with different eyes at the garden. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  19. Lola says:

    What a fantastic post. I continually marvel at the beauty that you still have in your lovely garden. Such an assortment that is candy for the vision. I never tire of it.
    I like the Echinacea tennesseensis “Rocky Top”. Do you think it would grow here? I sure would like to try it. Will you get many seed from it?

    Hi Lola, thanks. I am tickled that you like visiting. I don’t really know if Rocky Top will grow anywhere that E. purpurea will, it does have a tap root and is a new resident here. I will gladly send you seeds if any are left by those hungry goldfinches. So far there are few left on any of the Echinaceas. It seems those seeds are the most favored by those pretty birds, but I will check for you. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  20. joey says:

    Another delightful post and visit to your Fairegarden, Frances … you certainly have a gift for sharing! Happy Autumn ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks so much dear Joey. I am so glad to see you back. Happy Autumn to you as well. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  21. Only September posts, Francis? Then it’s not so bad as I have non written post all year round. It always cracks me up when garden bloggers complain they have nothing to write about as I have always far too much to write about. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Hi YE, it probably has been happening and I just didn’t pay attention. Many days of solid rain had me into the photo files trying to get them better organized. The previous months had already been done with little thought to subject matter. Nothing to write about has never been a problem here either. The photos help with that. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  22. Pam/Digging says:

    Meta-blogging! I loved reading about how you create your posts and how you decide which images (of so many taken) to use. You and I are very similar in our methods, which is not surprising as we both have photo-driven blogs.

    I don’t know what that means, Pam, but thanks! The photos tell us what to write, don’t they? It would be much harder without those shots. If there are good ones of something, we can think of something to say about it. We bloggers are never at a loss for words, as the times we have gathered together proves. A cacophony of talking! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  23. Mary Delle says:

    Frances,
    Your photos are always amazing and your prose does just flow like water. Very enjoyable. By the way, I may just borrow that word ‘wildling’ for the morning glory. Mine also have the habit of wandering about to find new stems to entwine. Sometimes their choice is just right.

    Hi Mary, thanks so much. I do appreciate those kind words. I did not invent the word wildling, even if I did, feel free to use it as you wish. The volunteer morning glories are wonderful. We pull most but leave a few to add to the glory of fall. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  24. wiseacre says:

    I know how the photographs overwhelm the ability to keep up with them. Seems everyday I get enough for a couple of posts. I do have an advantage though. I don’t have your gift of words. Surprising how having nothing much to say makes it easy for me to post so often.

    Hi Wiseacre, you are so sweet, thanks. Your photos are always amazing. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  25. It’s a good thing to have too many ideas & too much about which to write. It means that the well isn’t in danger of drying up. I’m always fascinated by other bloggers’ processess, whether they start with a photo, or write & take photos to illustrate, especially as I’m pretty evenly split between the two.

    Hi MMD, thanks. No danger of the well drying up, I have always been a talker, much to the consternation of teachers and family alike. With the garden always changing, there is plenty to discuss too. Most of my posts begin with the photos, although sometimes I snap with an intent for a story. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  26. September posts not written. Seems well written to me.

    I continue to be jealous of your Cobaea scandens!

    Thanks Rob. The Cobaea has been a vigorous vine, with most of the flowers up high where they cannot be seen. I love the leaves and tendrils too, a beautiful plant all around.
    Frances

  27. Catherine says:

    I have pictures that seem like they’d be great in a post, but no idea what about. Just pictures that seem pretty at the time. Sometimes one post idea is started only to become a completely different one. It sure keeps the brain active!!
    I love all of your pictures, that third one with the pretty backlighting definitely deserved to make it into a post!

    Hi Catherine thanks. When the photos are loaded onto the computer is when the weeding begins. Sometimes there are nice ones that get saved for future use, then forgotten. It seems a waste to not post them, but new photos keep coming into the camera all the time somehow. I agree about the brain, blogging really keeps us challenged! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  28. Beckie says:

    Frances, I do enjoy your posts! Whether story, demonstrating a point, or meandering through a wealth of lovelies, your post brighten my day.

    I too have so many posts in my head, but no time to write them now. I look forward to snow bound days of endless time where one can sit and write and download summers’ bounty of photos to the heart’s content. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hi Beckie, thanks so much. It makes me so happy to think of your day being brightened. I look forward to seeing your snowbound posts, they make my day! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  29. Kathy in Napa says:

    Frances, have not commented for awhile, but read and view avidly ..may I infer that your blog – move awhile back was prompted by the ability to post larger photos ? My own tentative experiments in blog-dom (all private thus far) have produced a lovely infrastructure, but small photos. Words of wisdom ?

    Kathy in Napa

    Hi Kathy, thanks for your loyal readership and nice to see you. When I moved from blogger to wordpress, it was not for the larger pictures. I did not learn how to do that for several months afterwards, and had to pay extra to be able to make changes to the style sheet, font size, color, and then the changing of the spacing to allow for the larger photos. I believe there is a way to make the photos larger on blogger now, but you will have to ask someone else how, I haven’t a clue. I don’t even remember how I did it on wordpress. The support team helped me and all those emails are gone now. Sorry to not be of more help, but good luck with your own blog! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  30. lynnsgarden says:

    I love the last paragraph! So true! My lack of blog ‘writing’ is just due to time restraints…there’s never enough time in the day! I so admire you for your great narrative..not to mention amazing photos. My fav in this post is the contrast of the salvia and red grass ๐Ÿ˜‰ Btw, CONGRATS Frances, for the win in the photo contest! I just saw it last night…awesome!

    Thanks, Lynn. There is always that time thing, isn’t there? It’s a wonder any blogs get written, and yet they do. Thanks too for the congrats, last month’s topic of on your knees was perfect for most of my shots are taken in that position. It was a second place, but quite an honor. I don’t believe this month’s grass winner has been named yet? ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  31. Frances, This post is an example of why we keep coming back to Faire Garden. It felt like a companionable rainy afternoon with you โ€“ and I even had a cup of coffee in my hand as I enjoyed it.

    Thanks for the tip about organizing images by genus — you’ve reminded me that I can attach tags to my photos in iPhoto, something I rarely take the time to do. With over 12,000 images on my computer right now, plus more archived or on disk… Well, let’s just say, it’s a pity I didn’t do it 12,000+ photos ago. I have begun to create folders for different story ideas, to get me through the winter. Otherwise you’d only get stories about how I killed another houseplant!

    Congratulations on all your Blotanical nominations — not unexpected, and all well deserved.

    Hi Helen, thanks so much, you are so sweet. Getting a handle on all those photos, wow 12,000 is alot!, is so difficult. When I first began blogging, in December of 2007, I would spend hours looking through the files to put together posts, very time consuming. I now am better with the organization, but this this genus thing will help quite a bit when searching for a remembered shot and want to use it again. Many thanks about the blot nominations and hearty congrats to you as well, much deserved and good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  32. Liz says:

    This may be a thrify post, but it’s one I’ve thoroughly enjoyed! I’ve had a lovely browse through your photos and feel quite refreshed! Thank you. I do so love your blog! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks Liz for those kind words. I am loving learning about your tea house! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  33. Hi Frances from the GWA, as another photo driven post writer, I loved the title of this post. I have a lot of September posts not written too. I think I’m a bit harried and tired sometimes. You photos are fab as always. Love the butterfly. Aren’t they the most photogenic creatures?

    Hi Dee, thanks, wish I was there with you, I am there in spirit! With a growing family and trying to do it all, no wonder you get tired. Your posts and photos are always a delight. That little buckeye is one of the very few butterflies here and the only one who would stay still long enough for me to even get situated to click him.
    Frances

  34. Racquel says:

    What a clever idea for using some of the numerous photos you probably take on a weekly basis in the garden. I know there are tons of my shots that just never make it onto the blog. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thanks Racquel. I hate to waste anything, even good pictures, but sometimes even they get lost in the forward progress of the garden. I am trying not to hang on to so many and use what is current, not the easiest task but still fun. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  35. tina says:

    When I started blogging and as I’ve gone along it seemed so many blogs were photo driven and many liked this over words, but mine never was photo driven and honestly, I most enjoy the words with supporting players-the pictures. I realize I am in the minority but we each have to do what works for us and my blog has worked well so I stick to it-at least I’ve tried to:) I’ve always enjoyed your words and have always, always learned so much from you. Remember I am the one who likes those housekeeping posts?:)

    My new garden is done and planted and oh my aching body! We are headed to NC this weekend and guess what I’ll be doing? Like always gardens are planned around specimen plants and I plan to get a a new one at We-Du Natives-almost makes the pain of making a new garden worth it! Ouch! It gets harder as I get older for some crazy reason. Stay dry and enjoy.

    Hi Tina, do enjoy your trip to NC and that fabulous nursery! Hope you make some great discoveries there, and know you will. As for your blog, you have it all, Tina, wonderful words AND photos. Thank you for being a friend and reader for so long. Ibuprofen is our buddy as we age and still try to do too much in the gardens. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  36. teresa says:

    As usual your garden looks great! Lucky you to catch that hummingbird photo. Not an easy feat with their speed! I finally had one in my yard the other day. Yay! First one I have seen this year. I swear they only show up when I am not around. Enjoyed your post!

    Hi Teresa, thanks. I didn’t know the hummingbird was in the shot, or it hopefully would have been better focused. Hooray for your hummer! They give the garden so much joy. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  37. Oh, Frances, you not only know how bloggers’ minds work, you turn a collection of partially formed observations into a well-formed and marvelous post. Good on you!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

    Hi Annie, so nice to see you. I don’t think I know how the minds of others work, I barely can understand my own. But thanks for those supportive words. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  38. Yes I do have lots of post that are still waiting to be published or maybe not. I seem to store a lot of back lit photos for some odd reason. I guess that must be a really hard thing to shoot. Looks good in the camera but doesn’t transfer well to the puter.

    You’ve made some excellent points and these pictures are good and made me want to click through for further info or instructions. But I’m so dog gone tired from my trip that it will have to go on my wish list of to do things. I want to make those balls.

    Hi Anna, love that term, puter, what my grandson LTB calls it. The backlit shots are favorites here too, but often are a little washed out. Glad to hear you are back home safe and sound. Rest up and we will wait to see what you have to show us. The balls are very easy and fun. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  39. Sweet Bay says:

    Someone needs to paint that butterfly!

    HA Sweet Bay, someone already has a photo of mine waiting, but she might be open to more! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

Comments are closed.