Rose Seeds

August 5, 2009 043 (2)
Once upon a time, rose seeds were ordered, sown, germinated, planted outside, moved and bloomed.

Delighted with the results, more seeds were ordered, ten packs of them. One pack was sown on the date written on the package in the photo at right, New Year’s Eve, what a splendid way to begin a new year.


Six weeks later there was germination. As before, a packet of ten seeds resulted in three seedlings. The third seedling is trying to hide behind the leaf of the plant on the right, just above the first true leaf. It still is holding the seed case, showing as a pale cream color.


It was mentioned to The Financier that rose seeds had again germinated and were growing in the sunroom/greenhouse, after the success of the initial sowing done a couple of years before, illustrated in the first image. He asked if the seeds under the lights had been gathered from the plants growing along the wall behind the main house. No, they were purchased, was the answer. But the wheels were moving at a high rate of speed. Cog edges were smoothly meshing with ideas of what could be. We went outside to see if there were any rose hips on the existing plants that looked promising. There were.

The traits considered most promising were the tell tale signs of aging, plumpness, darker color and shriveled skins. No snarky comments, please. Eight were selected.


Using the handy dandy thumbnail as a scalpel, the hip skin was slit to reveal seeds that looked exactly like those in the purchased packets…

…except these were glistening with moisture.


Here is the haul, fifteen little yet to become rose plants, Rosa chinensis ‘Angel Wings’. In their favor is freshness and cold stratification from being outside on the stems for many sub freezing days and nights. They have been sown, the pot labeled and placed in the greenhouse under glass. On the same day, another pack of mail ordered seeds were also sown, for comparison. Now we wait.

This post will be updated as the seeds emerge and the plants bloom. Ever the optimist.

Added: Those first seedlings, that are now blooming mini rose bushes, flowered the first year from seed. They were planted outside from the greenhouse in spring in a spot in the veggie garden and forgotten. Some zucchini seeds were planted right next to them and the zucchini leaves completely covered the roses all season. In the fall when the zucchini were pulled, under those gigantic leaves, the little roses were blooming. That is when we moved them to the wall behind the house, it was a surprising discovery.

Added: Joseph of Greensparrow Gardens has offered some concise information about collecting seeds from hips on exisiting roses other than the Angel Wings type:

I hope I made it clear in my comment that the particular strain of roses you bought and talk about in that post DOESN’T need a cold period to germinate, but virtually all other roses do. That having been said, the procedure is pretty simple: The seeds need a couple things in order to sprout. First, they need to take up water — the seeds when you harvest them are dry, and dormant. So, once you have cleaned them out of the hips, they need to go somewhere moist (moist soil, moist paper towel) to soak up water. Once they have soaked up water they know: “Okay, I got off the plant into the soil. Now to wait for spring!” To make sure they don’t sprout until spring, the seeds wait until they have had ~ 3 months or so of cold temperatures before they will sprout. You can provide this any number of ways: Put them in a pot in a sheltered spot outside (just be sure mice can’t get at them) over winter, or in the refrigerator for ~ 3 months. My preferred method is to place them on moist paper towel in a zip-lock bag in the fridge. I check on them periodically, and once I see tiny roots starting to emerge, I know they are ready to get planted up and put somewhere warm to grow.
Seeds from hips that have sat on the plant over winter might germinate — I’ve had it go both ways. It is certainly worth trying — and if nothing sprouts, just pop them in the fridge for a few months.

I hope this is clear!
Joseph

For other How To posts written by Fairegarden, look for How To on the sidebar page listing or click here.

Frances

This entry was posted in How To, Plant Portrait, Seeds. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Rose Seeds

  1. gardeningasylum says:

    How exciting to grow roses from seed! I’ll be eager to follow their progress.

    Thanks, Cyndy. We’ll see if we get anything from the collected seed. The three little plants in the greenhouse from the purchased packets are doing well in a sunny window, having made the transition from the lights to the glass. So far so good! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. sequoiagardens says:

    Hi Frances!
    I have had a lot of joy from rose seeds, although my best ever seedling was lost in a total misunderstanding some years ago, when ‘please transplant into the garden’ was understood as ‘please destroy’… Species roses in particular have been successful, including R.glauca and R.rugosa. I am anxiously watching a tray of “Penelope” for signs of germination, but as they weren’t stratified it might take a while…

    Oooh, great news, Jack, thanks. I look at those shriveled rose hips all winter, wondering if it would be possible to get seeds from them. We just added Glauca last year, so we will look for likely hips on it, if it gets large enough to bloom this year. It is quite small at the moment. We have Penelope, and it still has the hips, I might stick some in a pot! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Edith Hope says:

    Dear Frances, In all my years of gardening I have never come across propagating roses from seed. I am amazed and deeply impressed.

    That you have now gathered your own seed is fascinating indeed. I shall be most interested to learn how it develops and very much hope that you will afford us regular updates. Good luck, although I suspect that it is not required as you clearly know how to proceed. Thank you for such an informative posting.

    Thanks Edith. I will try anything, what have we got to lose but a couple of dollars for the seed packets. When the first seeds sprouted, I was elated, and hooked. Thanks to the comment of Jack at Sequioia, I will be scouting for shriveled hips around the garden now to try. I do not know what I am doing, but that never stops me. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Liisa says:

    Frances,
    Such an informative post. Your ‘Angel Wings’ is lovely. I had never thought to propagate roses from seed, only cuttings. I look forward to seeing how the seeds you gathered compare with the packaged seeds. Fascinating!

    Thanks Liisa. I too had never heard of growing roses from seeds, but that must be what the breeders do. The flowers, and plant are very small, hardly bigger than a small perennial. I would love to have them all along the wall in back. That is the goal. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. Darla says:

    I see I am not the only one blown away by yet another one of your experiments. I have been teeter totting over roses for the last month. Have been a little intimidated by them in the past with a couple of strugglers in my yard. They were pruned and moved to the full sun garden with what I hope is the right mix of added umph to their new home. And just yesterday I ordered an Old Fashion Blaze Climbing Rose..I so hope you follow this experiment closely and report any and all changes…

    Thanks Darla, you are too sweet. Roses do need sun, that is most important. The Knockouts do so well here, it is just silly, you might give them a try as well. When, or if these collected seeds germinate, there will be an announcement for sure. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. lotusleaf says:

    Hi Frances! You really do some unusual things! This is the first time I am hearing of home-grown rose seeds! I am waiting to see how the seedlings look! Have a nice weekend!

    Hi Lotus, thanks. We will try anything in the garden, nothing ventured nothing gained. If these collected seeds germinate, we will be posting about it, absolutely. You too enjoy a wonderful weekend. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. What can I say Frances? I will be very interested to see how growing roses from seed works, do they come true – or will you be breeding roses next?
    K

    Thanks Karen. I was just thinking about how one would go about helping the roses have a night of passion, like the daylilies did. There are some very attractive prospects, several hybrid musks share a bed, if you know what I mean. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Frances, I love experiments. We are always trying them at the flowers shop, “Do pennies with tulips really work’ and “Do you need to strip all the leaves off the viburnum”.
    I loove forward to seeing the comparison on the seedlings.

    HA Deborah, thanks. Strip the leaves off the Viburnum???? Where are they getting this information! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Joy says:

    Frances .. you have such patience girl !
    I have next to none so I have to enjoy gardeners like you that do and watch this amazing process .. that looks like one gorgeous rose to propagate !
    Have you ever had Ballerina ? I am trying to make up my mind about “her” .. all the pictures I have seen , well it is one gorgeous climbing rose .. Fairy Wings reminds me of it too !
    Good luck with the seeds and I am curious to see how it works out for you : )

    Thanks Joy, you are giving me more credit than is due. I am not patient, but gardening forces us to be so. I check the sown seeds in the greenhouse several times per day for germination, as if looking will somehow hurry them up. lol I believe the rose at my daughter Semi’s that she bought at a local plant sale is Ballerina, from the comments received when it was shown on the blog. If so, YES, to that one, get it ASAP! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Gail says:

    Hey there Frances, I hope yesterday was as gorgeous in your garden as it was here~~I feel like we are emerging from a dark tunnel into the bright light. Yippee. But, I digress~You have the most incredible green thumb to go along with your fantastic luck at winning drawings! The rose seedlings are terrific and the photo of Angel Wings is sweet (does it have some fragrance). I love that The Financier notices what’s in the garden~He is a keeper, even if he shaved off that mustache;) My dear friend, have fun outside today~xoxo gail ps Now if that luck could get us BOTH bumped up to business class…

    Dear Gail, it was cold and very windy yesterday, and the sun was playing hide and seek. I finally had to go inside when my fingers went totally numb. Today promises to be warmer and the peas are begging to be planted. I don’t recall if the roses are fragrant, will remember to check this year. HA about the moustache, it was shocking to the kids and me when he did it. He came out of the bathroom with one half of it gone, we have a photo, what a riot. Chickenpoet was scared of him without it, it did take some getting used to. They had never seen his upper lip, and I didn’t remember what it looked like either. It was weird! LOL I will put you on the business class thingey, get Mr. I to work some magic. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Randy says:

    Frances,
    I knew seeds were how most wild roses like our Carolina Swamp Rose here at Paradise were planted by birds of course. Good post and I look forward to seeing the results.

    Did you read Mr Brown Thumbs report on Burpee seeds, seems Walmart sells them at a much lower cost and the seeds seem to be CULLs,. not the prime seeds.

    I’m taking cuttings today of a yummy Black Fig from the jobsite I’m working on.

    Thanks Randy. One of our worst weeds is the multiflora rose. I always hope the seedlings are the good roses, but they never are. They have to be left in the ground for several years to get to blooming size, then it is always arghhh. We pull them all now, always worrying that one might be a prize. Aha about Burpee. We don’t buy their stuff anyway, but the old post about the orange cosmos that grew so large explains it, from WM. We have the black fig, it is so tiny we need a magnifying glass to find it. It is still under the cage full of chopped leaves, too early to be uncovered yet. Good luck with yours. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. Barbara H. says:

    Frances, you are such an inspiration! I have been reading you off and on for a couple of years. Once I realized I could subscribe by email I knew I was in like Flynn (I think those are the words that go together….). For a long time my Yahoo reader would not show the current posting and I had given up, but visited once in a while from your comments on other blogs. Anyway, back to the inspiration part. Muhly grass, concrete balls, steps, now rose seeds! Thank you.

    Thanks so much Barbara, you are so sweet. I hope the email thing, which I just recently discovered, helps you stay current. I don’t want you to miss a thing. lol I do appreciate your readership. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. I’ve been wanting to try growing some roses from seed. I’ve collect hips then forgotten about them, one of these days I’ll get my act together!

    Do it, Dave! These little china roses have been a great success, going from seed to flower in one season. I don’t know if any others will bloom that quickly, but what have you got to lose, go for it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. Willow says:

    I have never grown roses from seeds. What a wonderful thing that would be.

    Willow

    It was a thrill to see them germinate a couple of years ago, Willow. A whole new world of growing. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. nancybond says:

    I’ve often wondered if roses could be started from seed and thought it would be a neat project. Thanks for the nudge and the confidence to perhaps try this. I wondered about rose hips and their seeds, if they had to be dried first, or could be directly sown. I guess we’ll soon know! πŸ™‚

    Hi Nancy, thanks for visiting. One way to find out is to plant some. I would not dry them, but they do need a cold period. Mine have been left on the plant all winter, that ought to chill them plenty. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Wendy says:

    Fabulous inspiration, Frances! Rosa glauca is another great rose to grow from seed. I love its deep burgundy stems, steely blue leaves, and single pink flowers.

    Thanks so much Wendy, and welcome. I first saw R. glauca last year in Chicago, and tracked one down for our garden. It is a tiny stick right now, I was lucky to even find one online. There will be seeds taken whenever some hips appear. Thanks for that advice. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Hi Frances, I’ve grown a lot of things the last 20 or so years, but never a rose. And I’ve started almost as many things from seeds, but never a rose… until this year! Sweetbay generously sent me some Rose ‘Setigura’ seeds, which I winter-sowed (they need some cold) back in Jan. I’ll report on sprouting, growth too, but it will be a while. What are the roses int he first photo? I like singles.

    Thanks Monica. The first photo is the little Angel Wings flower from last summer, grown from these very seeds from Renee’s. Good luck with the seeds from Sweet Bay, she is truly a sweetheart. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. Hey Frances, I can’t wait to see what comes from your own rose seeds. It will be so interesting, and something I’ve never tried.~~Dee

    Thanks Dee. This little rose is just darling and quite tough. I am hoping the seeds collected will germinate. I wonder if the planted pot needs to go in the fridge?
    Frances

  19. joey says:

    Kudos, Frances! Too impatient, I have never grown roses from seeds 😦 Do hope this glorious sunshine is engulfing you and your seeds.

    Thanks Joey. No patience necessary for this one, it bloomed the first year from seed! We are engulfed in sunshine this fine day, finally!!!! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. Quick comment to all the people getting excited about growing roses from seed: Yes, it is very fun, but most roses (unlike the strain you are growing) require a cold period to germinate — so they need to be sown in the fall either outside (eg: “wintersowing”) or in the refrigerator. But there is nothing hard about it! And it is very exciting to grow your own, totally unique rose.

    Oh Joseph, thanks. Do I need to put the planted up pot in the fridge? I did not do that with the packaged seeds, but might have gotten better germination with that treatment? The hips had been out in the cold winter for months, so I figured that was good enough. Do let me know! I will email you. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. Rose says:

    Amazing, Frances! I feel a little ignorant now, but I never realized you could actually start a rose from seeds. Kind of like the city kid who thinks steaks come from the grocery store:) Looking forward to seeing the progress of your seedlings.

    Hi Rose, thanks. You are hardly ignorant. I do believe most everything has a way of reproducing, whether by seed or spore or whatever else. That doesn’t mean we can do it ourselves. These seeds from Renees are foolproof, practically and bloomed the very first year from sowing. Now that is incredible. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. Kathleen says:

    This post is exactly what is so great about coming here Frances ~ you are always up to something. A lifetime learner I can tell and you’re so terrific to share your knowledge with us.
    I would never have thought of starting roses from seed either. It’s one of those things I always purchase in plant form! Makes total sense now that you’ve exposed us tho. Good luck with your experiment ~ I’m betting the ones from your own garden germinate quicker and with better results.
    ps The winter aconite bulbs were ordered from John Scheepers. πŸ™‚

    Oh Kathleen, you are so sweet, thanks. You sound like my mother, knowing that I WAS always up to something. lol When ordering seeds, I sometimes will order something that catches my eye, that’s how these seeds came to be here. Renees is a great seed company and the rose was noticed as we were perusing. It is worth sharing. Thanks about the bulbs, I use Van Engelen, the Scheepers sister company, why have I not noticed the aconites? Next fall, for sure. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. How wonderful that you grow roses from seed…a rapidly dying art in the garden, I think. As a huge rose-lover, I am very interested in seeing how your seedlings turn out :^)

    Thanks Noelle. I just happened to spy these roses on Renee’s site and was intrigued by the idea of growing roses from seed. When they germinated I was thrilled, and hooked. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. Ever the optimist? I think that you are a true gardener, what an adventurer, how many of us ever think to even try to grow roses from seed.

    What great fun. Can’t wait to see if they spout.

    Jen

    Thanks so much, Jen, you are too kind. I am impulsive, and seeds are great way to try things, due to the cost being so small. There are many many failure, with nary a single plant for some, many, of them. The roses grew, it was a miracle. Let’s hope the gathered seeds grow as well, then I will be on a mission! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. I don’t have enough sun to grow roses, but still, I’m anxious to hear the results of your rose seeds. I love inquiring minds, and you sure seem to have one

    Thanks Valerie. Roses do need sun. I appreciate your interest, maybe someday you will have some sun and can try these out. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. Tuija R. says:

    Hei! I have these too. “Roses of Bengal” are same as “Angel Wings”

    http://ruusujajarikkaruohoja.blogspot.com/2009/02/my-rose-garden-part-3.html

    Hi Tuija, thanks so much! You roses are beautiful. How interesting that we have the same ones. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. Frances good luck.

    It must be enormously satisfying to grow a rose from seed. I’ve not done it but then there’s always tomorrow!

    That seed packet is a contender in the ‘most beautiful’ competition.

    Have a good weekend

    Thanks Rob It was thrilling when those first seeds germinated two years ago. They did bloom the first year, as advertised too. The small shrubs are elegant and the blooms delicate, truly like tiny angel wings. Renee’s Seeds is a great resource. You too try to stay warm this weekend. Spring will come. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  28. There you go again…leading the way, this time down a rose-covered path. What choice have we but to follow?

    Thanks Ricki, you are too funny, and sweet. These roses from seed are simple and elegant. Do give them a try. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  29. Sweet Bay says:

    ‘Angel Wings’ is so lovely. I will have to go over to Renee’s Seeds directly!

    You will love it, Sweet Bay, it is simple and elegant, but quite dainty. Good luck with them. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  30. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    You are a miracle worker Frances. What excitement to have seeds that actually grow and Bloom no less.

    Thanks, but the miracle was that they germinated, Lisa. No one was more surprised than I was. Like getting an orchid to rebloom, I was hooked! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  31. Kimberly says:

    Frances, wonderful post! I’ve never tried to grow roses from seeds. I guess I am kindof overwhelmed with the thought…like roses are too stately to be started by seed. I don’t know, but I’m so glad you shared this info!! Looking forward to your results!

    Hi Kimberly, thanks. These roses are small and much more simple, not like the big hybrid teas and others that are more common. But they are still roses and add much to the garden here. I am hoping to have germination from the gathered seeds, but even in failure, the fun is in the journey. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  32. Lola says:

    Gosh, never thought about rose seeds. I guess all things come from seeds. That sure would be nice to watch. Keep us informed about these new babies.

    Thanks Lola. It does seem that everything has a way of reproducing itself, doesn’t it? These little roses are too sweet, I am hoping for good results. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  33. Catherine says:

    I saw these exact seeds recently and wondered what a rose from seed would look like and if they actually grew. What sweet little flowers they have, and anything that can bloom under a zucchini leaf is pretty amazing. I’ll look forward to seeing how the seeds you collected do.

    Hi Catherine, thanks. I will update if and when anything comes of this. Renee’s seems to be the only place I have ever seen rose seeds for sale, I hope she gets lots of sales from this posting, hers is a great business model. I wonder if the zucchini helped or hindered the baby rose plants. It was the last of our severe drought years and that area is never watered, the hose doesn’t reach. Maybe the leaf helped keep the moisture in. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  34. Sunita says:

    How exciting! I’ve never heard of roses being grown from seed before so I’m going to be looking out for updates eagerly. And that is such a dainty, pretty rose to be growing.

    Thanks Sunita. It is a very small plant, and dainty is the exact word to describe the flowers. I love them though and am hoping for many more plants, whether from store bought seeds or collected ones. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  35. Jenny B says:

    What a wonderfully informative post, Frances! I will let some of the rose hips develop this year and try my hand at propagating them. I look forward to watching yours develop as you keep us updated on them. In the meantime, I am going to check out Renee’s seed selection. What fun!

    Thanks Jenny. The comment by Joseph said the seeds need a chilling period, you might want to put them into the fridge before sowing. Ours have been chilled on the plant this colder than normal winter. When there is germination, we will make an announcement! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  36. Meredith says:

    Oh, how exciting, Frances! I hope the saved seeds perform as beautifully for you (and maybe better) than the purchased seeds. I’ve never attempted growing roses from seed, but I do so love the single-flowered varieties. You’ve inspired me to want to try one day!

    Thanks Meredith. It is a worthy experiment, saved versus store bought seeds. I will update whenever something happens. The singles are so sweet, there is room for them too, they are quite small plants. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  37. easygardener says:

    Amazing that they flowered the first year from seed – hard little workers they are and well worth the effort! I must admit I would never have thought of growing Roses from seed.

    It is, EG. I would have never thought of this either, but saw the seeds in the catalog and the light bulb illuminated. It was The Financier who thought of collecting seeds from our own plants, not me. What a wonder the man is. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  38. Sherry says:

    Thank you for this post. I have been thinking about growing roses from seed but was not sure…now I will give it a try.
    Sherry

    Oh good, Sherry. Patience is required, six weeks is a long time to wait for seeds to sprout, but very much worth it. Let me know how it turns out for you. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  39. TC Conner says:

    I don’t know the first thing about growing roses from seed. Speaking at a ladies garden club last Monday, someone interrupted me to announce that they knew how to grow roses from flowers. Ever hear of that Ms. Frances?

    Hi TC, in fact I have heard of growing roses from the cut flowers sold. A lady in Texas at a garden club meeting showed us how to do it, giving out stems. Mine didn’t work, but I may have not given it the best effort.
    Frances

  40. Town Mouse says:

    That should be interesting, and a learning experience. I should really post on my seedlings. I learned why you can’t buy seedlings of Chinese Houses (they want a big area to spread or they don’t grow straight up) and when you should plant Clarkias (before I did, they get rootbound very quickly… Well, I’ll try to make a post of it and will be curious what you learn.

    Thanks Mouse. Do post, your experiences would be very helpful to many readers. I have tried Clarkias several times here, not the right situation it seems, but they are very lovely. I look forward to reading your thoughts. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  41. commonweeder says:

    Frances, what an amazing story! It never occurred to me to try and save any of my rose seeds. The rugosas send out so many runners, and the R. glauca self seeds underneath the bush – and sometimes here and there. I am going to give rose seed planting further consideration.

    Thanks Pat. The glauce is new here, quite tiny still, but has been mentioned as a seeder in several comments. That is so exciting. Self seeding is the very best kind, IMHO. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  42. Anna says:

    Will be interested to see how your own seeds fare Frances. Here I have had joy in the past with both rosa rubignosa and rosa glauca – most exciting πŸ™‚

    Thanks Anna, that is good to know. Glauca is a recent addition, a very tiny little stick right now, but seems to be a good self seeder. There will be plans made for a nice group of them, they were amazing in the Chicago gardens.
    Frances

  43. Grace says:

    Hi Frances~~ Don’t you love this rose? I got a baby seedling from a gardening friend. It was maybe four inches tall last May. By October it was well over 2 feet tall and wide and had been blooming sweet, deep pink single flowers for months. And no blackspot or mildew. Talk about impressed. It sure has exceeded my expectations.

    BTW, I checked on the Spirea species. It seems that Spiraea japonica and x Bulmalda are somewhat interchangeable. Or those elusive taxonomists continue their ambivalence.My Monrovia tag definitely said S. japonica ‘Neon Flash’ but online I saw x Bumalda. Ditto for the other Spireas. I give up. πŸ™‚

    Good luck with the rose seedling experiment. Should be interesting.

    Thanks so much, Grace. These are good garden plants that just happen to be roses, I agree. Thanks too for clearing up the nomenclature. I want to have the proper names in the blog, but sometimes there seems to be disagreement among sources, or they change the names. It is hard to figure out what is right, when the powers that be cannot even agree.
    Frances

  44. I never thought to get seeds from my rose hips. What a great idea! I look forward to seeing the results of your experiment.

    Thanks Deborah. I will update when, and if anything comes of this experiment. Fingers are crossed for success. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  45. Tatyana says:

    Everything of genius is simple! You are a well of ideas, Frances! I will be watching this exciting experiment!

    Well said, Tatyana, I agree completely. It has taken a lifetime to figure that out, but we are now beginning to see the light. Simplify! It goes well with Onward, don’t you think? Thanks for the kind words. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  46. Children at a Kenyan orphanage are interested in growing roses from seed. If anyone would like to donate some seeds please send them in an envelope to Children’s Home PO Box 477 Litein Kenya Africa they have already grown several varieties of flowers for seed and got interested in pods and so the request!

  47. Sharon says:

    I just found your blog while searching for information on growing rose seeds. I actually tried gathering rose hips from my first rose bush early in this past fall. I soaked the seeds that I got from the this in water with a tiny amount of bleach overnight, then washed them with soap and rinsed them really well in a fine mesh colander. I then planted the seeds in egg cartons using vermiculite as the soil. I put the egg cartons, which I cut in half, placed in ziplock baggies then into the crisper drawer of my fridge. Last week my first rose seedling sprouted. How did yours do? I don’t know how to find your update.

    Hi Sharon, how wonderful that you got germination! I did not do the bleach and soap, and go zero results from the gathered seeds. That is why there is no update. Your success makes me want to give it another go, thanks! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  48. Pingback: Update On Rose Seeds « Fairegarden

  49. NIMA T GENSAPA says:

    Dear sir, I am from gangtok SIKKIM and I like ROSES very much. I grown roses in 10 inch uvi plastic bag, it is my hobby, I purchsed roses from KALKATA. WEST BENGAL AND NEW DELHI. I have defferent colour of roses
    (hybrid tea, floribenda)only. I wanted to learn how to make rose seeds, although I propogate roses from cuttings. Your informations given in the net is very useful to me and I am very grateful from my core of heart.
    The climate of Gangtok particularly where i stay is very cool during winter, whether the seeds of the roses can
    be germinated ? Further I wanted to learn how to hybrid of roses.

    Nima from Gangtok – India.

    Hi Nima, thanks for visiting Fairegarden and the rose seed post. My best results were from the roses themselves just droppin seeds from the dried up hips that were left on the plants over the winter. I don’t know anything about hybridizing, leaving that to nature. I suggest you try Google to find more info. Good luck!
    Frances

Comments are closed.