Late April Mish Mash


Sometimes there is no theme, no clever story to tie together diverse images other than time of season.
(Cercis canadensis ‘Forest Pansy’)


Wishing to share and put these shots to use, may we present them in their scattered glory.
(Rosa ‘Penelope’)


Some are for the gardener’s use.
(Taxus cuspidata ‘Nana Aurescens’, three of these just added to the zen garden)


Actually several fit that category.
(Strawberries to be)


A little memory helper about what we moved, when and why it was done.
(Heuchera ‘Caramel’ recently moved to the back slope)


There is a lot to be said for buds. So filled with promise, allowing the imagination to time travel into the future with robust flowering of perfection. No insect damage, weather spoilage or human error can marr the vision. Once the flower has opened fully, there is only one path left. Like being number one, there is no where to go but down.
(Papaver orientale)


The same feeling can be applied to the new leaves of spring. Still young and pliable, full of color, whether green or other hues.
(Acer palmatum ‘Peaches And Cream’)


Speaking of hues…
(orchid Slc β€˜Jewel Box-Scheherazade’)


…the warm pink light of earliest morning plays a game of artistic shadow on the wall.
(Yes, it is potted in wine corks)


The light is a magic wand, transforming the mundane into magnificent.
(Sedum, Hylotelephium erythrostictum ‘Mediovariegatum’, I hate the new name)


Fresh greens illuminated.
(Erica carnea ‘Westwood Yellow’ , iris and daylilies, among others)


Fresh life ready to meet the world.
(Eastern Swallowtail on white Phlox subulata)


Creates hearts a’flutter.

As always, a big hug and heads up to Monica the Garden Faerie for thinking up Mish Mash Monday.

Frances

This entry was posted in mish mash monday. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Late April Mish Mash

  1. James A-S says:

    I very much like the idea of Mish-Mash Monday.
    Actually, I find that that is the ruling theme for many of my days and pretty much every one of my blogposts.

    It is a nice theme, James, and your delightful posts are proof of that. Thanks for visiting. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. Randy says:

    Frances,
    The greens there are inspiring my Monday morning. Glad to see butterflies in your garden. I trust you got ample rain over the weekend? We got a fair amount at least the rain barrels are full again.

    Hi Randy, thanks. Two inches showed in the rain gauge, more than enough to refill our rain barrel as well. We have seen a few butterflies already, not large numbers and normally without the camera in hand. The hummingbird has been back for about a week. He came to where the feeder is usually hung, hovered there staring in the sliders as if to say, where’s the grub? We got right on it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Les says:

    I hope you had a good time obtaining those wine corks.

    Thanks Les. We have been collecting them for over twenty years and have made several craft projects with them, bulletin boards and a wreath to name a couple. We got a lot of them from a wine tasting seminar we attended many years ago. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. I like your mish mashes and Monica’s too. I also hate the new sedum name. Ugh, what a mouthful. You’re right, everything is promise in spring waiting to be fulfilled.~~Dee

    Thanks Dee. At least they are returning the mums back to Chrysanthemum from the dreaded Dendrathema. Now if they would fix those asters and forget about the sedum change, we’ll forgive them. Promise is synonymous with spring, isn’t it?:-)
    Frances

  5. A nice mish mash of petals and foliage. The phlox subulata has been fabulous this year. The welcome rain has really sent the flowers into their performance now.

    BTW–The Archaeologist is surveying between Bryson City and Cherokee this week β€” I don’t think he’ll go into Asheville, but I told him about The Hop in case he gets the chance.

    Thanks Cameron, on the comment and The Hop mention. The moss phlox and many others have more flower buds than ever seen before, thanks to that good rain. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. Great swallowtail photo! I really enjoy the ‘Forest Pansy’ this time of year!

    Thanks Dave. I was lucky to see it when I had the camera in hand this time. Forest Pansy has been quite ornamental this year. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. Rose says:

    What a beautiful photo of the redbud–now I can see why ‘Forest Pansy’ is such a recommended cultivar. Those red leaves are just as pretty as the lavender blooms that precede them. I love the promise of spring, too, and the butterfly is icing on the cake.

    Thanks Rose. Forest Pansy is good, but is also prone to die for no reason. This is my third tree after two deaths. My neighbor Mickey has planted many of them, losing about half over the years. Not sure what is going on with them, but they are worth replacing. Seeing butterflies is like icing, and how I do love icing! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Robin says:

    That is a lovely Mish Mash post! The poppy bud and the Eastern swallowtail made me smile. I can’t wait to see the butterflies again!

    Thanks Robin. We had very few butterflies last year, so I hope seeing them so early is a good omen for the rest of the warm months. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Jen says:

    I would call it a stunning snapshot of a garden that has come into it’s own. Oh that Cercis, with the light streaming through the leaf. My favorite tree, and I do so miss them unfurling their leaves in the spring. All those nursery pots of Cercis lined up in the garden center. They were always my special babies.

    I love the light, you have captured it beautifully.

    Jen

    Thaks so much Jen, coming from an excellent photographer like you that means a great deal. I can imagine a lineup of those trees, my neighbor Mickey has a group of five planted near the street. We always slow down to admire them, especially when the leaves are new and shiny.
    Frances

  10. turling says:

    The Papaver orientale is quite stunning.

    Thanks Turling, that was a favorite shot of mine as well. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Frances, What do you mean? The theme is Cool Things in the Garden! The photos are, as usual, stunning. The first especially tickles my fancy. I don’t know if I mentioned it, but I thoroughly enjoyed the Frog and Toad books you blogged about a while back. The Cookies chapter was my favorite.

    Thanks Monica, maybe it could have been mish mash cool things. Next time. I just reread Cookies, loved the surprise ending! HA Pure and simple genius. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. Hello Frances. The Forest Pansy is one of my favourite shrubs. Its on my list of wannabees – along with many other things. I just love its little burgundy shaped leaves and its autumn colouration. Speaking of colours – the morning light is just right for taking the photos and showing them in their true colours and I’ve never seen a peaches and cream acer before. It looks lovely.

    Hi Rosie, thanks. The small trees really shine in the spring with their new leaves. Well, everything does. We nearly lost Peaches and Cream to a very late frost a few years ago, down to one sad stem. It is slowly regrowing and we are so glad. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Gail says:

    Hello Frances, I love spring and the fresh colors, buds popping and the light….Isn’t the light perfect. The pink wall is delightful as are the sweet blooms in your garden. Where was I when sedum got a new name! That is an unpleasant mouthful; we’ll have to call it hylo! I saw my first Spicebush Swallowtail butterfly but s/he flitted off without letting me get a decent photo. Great idea with the wine cork planting~~I have two large bags I was going to use for a cork board project! gail PS I’ve been noticing all the flowers poised to bloom next week;-)

    Hi Gail, thanks. The light is special at this time of year, and if it has rained recently, the photo ops are the best. I have never noticed the wall looking pink before, a pleasant surprise. I still have many corks, ideas swirling about ways to use them. You are right about next week. I am hoping the azaleas all open before then, but it will be close.
    Frances

  14. ‘Forest Pansy’ makes my plain old redbud pale by comparison. If only it would blush with shame, I might get the look without the worries and babying. Then again, maybe it is your photography that is showing it off to such divaish advantage.

    Thanks Ricki, so nice to see you. Forest Pansy has had so many images taken, with nearly all of them not good enough. We finally got one befitting this beautiful small tree. It is a little finicky to grow, this is our third one after the first two died for unknown reasons. The one shown was severed by a falling pine limb, we thought for sure it would die with the huge wound it suffered, but it continues to live anyway. The Edgeworthia was to be its replacement. We decided at the last minute not to remove the Cercis, planting the Edgeworthia close by, just in case it lived. And it did. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. joey says:

    Indeed, scattered glory, dear Frances. All photos are lovely but the 1st made me gasp!

    Thanks Joey, your own photos are so wonderful, I am always in awe of them, and you! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. nancybond says:

    That orchid is stunning! All the photos and blooms you’ve shared are beautiful, but the colour of that orchid is something special.

    Thanks Nancy, that is an amazing color, almost neon in intensity. The camera cannot truly capture it, in any light.
    Frances

  17. Perfect light as ever for those shots.

    Really like the sedum. The swallowtail, well goes without saying.

    Thanks Rob. The conditions were good that day. It was a thrill to see the butterfly, even more so since I had the camera with me. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. Anna says:

    Enjoyed your mish mash post Frances. I was surprised and pleased to see my strawberries in flower at the allotment this weekend πŸ™‚ Great photo of the oriental poppy – I wondered what colour is waiting to burst out.

    Thanks Anna. Hooray for strawberries! We are hoping that there are enough for both the critters and us this year. Our poppies are all orange, passalongs from neighbor Mae. We did buy a pink one that might be blooming this year, I hope. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. How beautiful. I really like your shot of the Cercis, what a great color. I’m sure the leaves turn green later, but right now what a treat.

    Now I know why I just don’t really bother with the scientific names much. I mean, if they are going to keep changing them willy nilly, what’s the point? Oh, I know, it is useful to be able to communicate what it is with other gardeners, but I have enough trouble just remembering what I have planted where. . . for example, last year I transplanted an aesclepius into the rain garden and totally forgot I had done so. I was contemplating putting a new liatris variety in that spot, decided to put it elsewhere and then a couple of weeks later the aesclepius put in a spring appearance and I said to myself, “Whew! Dodged a bullet there. . .”

    Anyway, your place is quite wonderful, I always enjoy my virtual visits. I have not forgotten about the white hosta, either, although I may have to wait until next year to acquire it.

    Hi Hands, thanks, so nice to see you. The Forest Pansy leaves stay fairly purple with green hints through the summer. Those name changes are annoying, what is wrong with Sedum, a perfect name. As for the Asclepias, they are so late to emerge, I put stakes where they are. We still have several not showing yet. Hope you can find the white hosta, it is a good one.
    Frances

  20. gdoc says:

    Happy birthday mother! The garden looks amazing!

    Thanks dear Gardoctor. It was great seeing you and everybody this weekend. Glad you were able to get the garden tour. Good luck with those tomatoes. πŸ™‚
    Love,
    Frances

  21. Janet says:

    I tried getting a photo of Forest Pansy and it isn’t easy…yours is lovely. I like the lighting in your photos in this post…everything glows.

    Hi Janet, thanks. There have been hundreds of shot of the redbud, trying to capture what the eye sees in the morning light, it is very difficult as you say and this shot still doesn’t not accurately reflect what it really looks like. It was a very nice sunny early morning that day, everything was pink for just a few minutes and I was shooting like crazy. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. Nice collection of photos, Frances. πŸ™‚ It’s looking very late-Spring like over there!

    Thanks Shady. We’re getting there. One more winter of spring to go tonight, blackberry winter they are saying, then we should be out of the woods weatherwise. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Mishmash is perfect for my brain today. Much easier to flit from photo to photo than attempt to sustain a single thought. Love the ‘Forest Pansy’ foliage, how I wish it were hardy here. Your new little Yew is very cute.

    Thanks MMD. Mish mash is perfect for a bunch of pictures and a brain that isn’t cooperating. I believe Cotinus would give a similar look in your space. Those little yews are so bright, I am wondering if the foliage will stay that color. Probably not, but they are like stars in the garden of zen. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    A marvelous mish mash post Frances. I do love those poppies no matter at what point in their formation. Your capture of the pink light of morning is great. I could almost feel the warmth of the morning sun… aaahhhhhhh…..

    Thanks Lisa. It looks to be a good year for the oriental poppies, lots of buds. There is nothing like the morning sun after the dark of night. No wonder the ancients worshipped it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. Wow – those pictures are amazing – especially the red bud. Who knew their leaves were translucent? I think I’m going to have to become a morning person – I’m missing so much by not seeing my garden in the sunrise.

    Thanks Kelly. With the right angle of the sun, all leaves will show like an x-ray. Capturing it in pixels is a whole other ballgame, I have been trying for years and this still is inadequate. When I was younger, I never saw my garden in the morning sun either. It is a different stage of life. We also go to bed quite early now. Thank goodness for the DVR. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. Racquel says:

    So many beautiful images this Mishmash Monday. I haven’t spotted any flying flowers here yet, need to keep my eyes peeled now. πŸ™‚

    Hi Racquel, thanks. There have been several sightings, the camera needs to come outside with me more to try and capture them. But those early season butterflies are very frenetic, they rarely stay still long enough even with a quick trigger finger on the shutter. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. easygardener says:

    Very enjoyable pictures. The freshness of everything in the garden is so wonderful at this time of year. It is all upwards at present – I am ignoring the other side of the hill at the moment!

    Thanks EG. Fresh is the perfect word to describe it. The tulip petals in the knot garden are downhill, but still sweet. I am deadheading them, one of the few must do jobs here.
    Frances

  28. What a feast for the eyes, Frances! Of course you had me at ‘Forest Pansy’, which I was just sighing over last night in Nan Ondra’s book on Foliage, and wondering if I could coerce into being hardy here. I DO have a cercidiphyllum, which is wonderful, but not quite the same thing.
    Love what you wrote about buds being so filled with promise. Exactly so. I was smiling to myself at the buds around the yard yesterday (when not cussing at the Lysimachia Firecracker, which I’m attempting to remove). I know spring is more or less unfurling for you as it normally does, but everything is so early here and it’s both awesome and a little unnerving. What will late summer bring, we wonder?

    Thanks Jodi. Isn’t that a great book? Nan’s photos and prose are true inspiration. I have that same Lysimachia. It has been pulled many places, other spots it is allowed to run wild and free, and run it does. lol We cannot figure out what summer will bring with the oddball weather patterns, but are prepared for a wild ride. Yahoo! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  29. Layanee says:

    Letting the photos tell the tale is not a bad thing and yours are so pleasing to the eye. Also liked the walk in the previous post. Everything is well on its’ way to perfection in your garden.

    Hi Layanee, thanks so much. Sometimes we just are too tired to think up something clever or catchy. Mish mash if perfect for those times. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  30. gittan says:

    I love mish-mash posts! And if you wonder why… it’s because all my posts are mish-mash, LOL!!!

    Thanks Gittan. I love your posts just that way. πŸ™‚
    Kram,
    Frances

  31. Town Mouse says:

    Thanks! What a great combination of different wonderful things (kind of like eating leftovers, which I, for one, really love).

    Oooh, what a great analogy! I love leftovers as well. Thanks for visiting. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  32. I think the theme is “What is growing in my garden right now”. I love the picture you captured of your unopened poppy bud and the sunlight shining through your sedum leaves. So much beauty in your garden this spring.

    Thanks Noelle, you are so sweet. The poppy buds last so much longer than the flowers on those oriental poppies. Once opened, the petals just can’t hold it together. I love that sedum, it isn’t used as much as it should be.
    Frances

  33. Catherine says:

    Even after your cold winter and cold early Spring your plants are sailing right past mine. Roses are still small buds and no buds at all on the Oriental Poppies yet. No butterflies either so far. It looks beautiful there!

    Hi Catherine, thanks. We did have that spell of ninety degrees at the end of March, sort of a turbo charge to the garden! It has cooled back off here and we seem back to normal, experiencing blackberry winter at the moment. That should be the last cold snap. I know your garden is already gorgeous. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  34. Tammy says:

    Beautiful photo’s. You have a retaining wall just like mine:

  35. Sweet Bay says:

    That looks like one happy butterfly. I love your shots of Penelope and the ‘Forest Pansy’ leaf, they are really beautiful. The sedum too; at first glance I thought they were some sort of fancy miniature cabbage.

    Hi Sweet Bay, thanks. That sea of phlox kept the butterfly in the same area so the camera could follow him/her that day, lucky for the photographer. The light was kind to us, such a beautiful day. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  36. As usual, totally amazing photos. That orchid is yummy, such a rich color. I love the way you capture light in the photos. And that butterfly….so beautiful.

    Hi Helen, thanks. If only that sort of light was available every day…. it was pure magic for about an hour, everything was pink! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  37. What a fun post! I enjoyed seeing what’s going on your way. It’s exciting to see butterflies. I have that kind of phlox, but I’m not sure when we’ll start seeing butterflies. The nights are still pretty cool.

    Thanks Sue. We were surprised to see the butterfly, it was a warmer day and sunny that day. Haven’t seen any since, but must be vigilant! πŸ™‚
    Frances

Comments are closed.