Miscellaneous Spring Bulbs 2010-The Best Of The Rest


Continuing the cataloging efforts here at the Fairegarden, may we present the spring bulbs above and beyond the daffodils and tulips already shown, the best of the rest. In no particular order they are as follows:

Hyacinths potted from Walmart

Hyacinths mixed bag

Hyacinth ‘Gipsy Queen’ ( I don’t know why this is spelled like this)

Muscari latifolium

Muscari ambrosiacum

Muscari ‘Valerie Finnis’

Muscari armeniacum, came with the property

Muscari macrocarpum ‘Golden Fragrance’

M. Golden Fragrance and M. armeniacum

Puschkinia scilliodes var. libanotica alba

Anemone blanda ‘Blue Shades’

Fritillaria meleagris

Fritillaria uva vulpis

Erythronium ‘Pagoda’

Leucojum aestivum ‘Gravetye Giant’

Ornithogalum umbellatum, came with the property

Convallaria majalis

The entire collection of bulbs photos and the lists can be found 24/7 on the page on the sidebar titled Plants We Grow-Spring Bulbs.

Frances

This entry was posted in Plant Portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Miscellaneous Spring Bulbs 2010-The Best Of The Rest

  1. Patsi says:

    Have some Convallaria majalis or something bells…can’t recall at the moment.
    Always have to have have Hyacinths. Spring is sooo sweet !!

  2. Frances,
    Very nice selection, gives me a place to look when I want to order bulbs for the fall. So were you disappointed with muscari golden fragrance?
    Poured down rain on the way home last night, got home and we missed the rain…

    Thanks. I did not find the golden fragrance to be as claimed in the catalog, but still loved the little flowers. They need to be planted close to nose level, along a wall, I believe.
    Frances

  3. Steve says:

    The Fritillaria are somewhere on the other side of charming, Frances. Man, what an understated but still-gorgeous little thing they are. The Leucojum also – now that’s a daggone cutie! Nice stuff!

  4. Hi Frances,
    I love the color spring blooms bring. You have a nice assortment. I want to try fritillarias. I think our zone is borderline for them.

  5. Kat says:

    I love the fritillaria. They are so delightful. This was not a good spring for my daffodils, they had a tough time with heavy rains. Still enjoyable though.

  6. Jenny B says:

    How can you not love all these blooms. Fritillaria uva vulpis is so sweet with it’s twin blooms twinning around each other. Beautiful!

  7. deborahelliott says:

    What I admire about you, Frances, is how you keep up with the names of all your plants! I’m afraid I have a tendency to forget if I don’t write it down somewhere, and I have been too lazy to do that. I have started keeping plant tags, though, and I am going to try to do better, now that I’m blogging!

  8. Ooh, you’ve reminded me how much I want to add F. uva vulpis to my frit collection (am I right in translating that as “wolf’s egg”?) I enjoyed your fined-down version of Gipsy Queen, too, love it when hyacinths lose some of their girth.

    I also enjoyed your catalogue of plants because it is so like mine: obsessively categorized plants next to “bag of mixed hyacinths from WalMart” – only mine are from the hardware store. We may also be the only two remaining people who retain the final “ue” on “catalogue”.

    Thanks Pomona. I figured the uva was egg, didn’t have a clue about vulpis or why it would be wolf. So funny about the very expensive rare bulbs and the Walmart mix. I want people to know they don’t have to spend a fortune to have pretty things in their gardens. As for the spelling, let’s just say I never use spellcheck. 🙂
    Frances

  9. dirtynailz says:

    Frances, muscari of any type and pushkinia get my vote. So rewarding and they demand so little!

    Cynthia
    DiggingRI

  10. Sweet Bay says:

    Very nice collection. I love the two-toned Muscari latifolium and Fritillaria uva vulpis.

  11. Sunita says:

    Frances, your post has me yearning for cooler weather in Mumbai. Maybe then I could at least dream of growing a fraction these beauties . So very beautiful! But I’m afraid envy doesn’t sit well with me so early in the morning!:P

  12. Nice job of catalogignel I just have two questions. How do you keep the grape hyacinths from taking over the world at Fairegarden. And just exactly what do you do to make fritillaria bloom and thrive? I have planted it three times and got a big fat nothing every time. Very frustrating, because I think it is just beautiful.

    Thanks Hands. It takes quite a bit more effort than a regular post, but having the names and photos in the sidebar will help me and others, I hope. The grape hyacinths are taking over the world here. I let them. When planting something new where those millions of tiny bulbs are in the ground, I just toss the bulbs back under the shrubs where of course they grow as if well planted. The fritts can be tricky. Uva vulpis has proven to be the toughest of them all. I do plant many bulbs in one hole so they have a fighting chance against the other stuff. It took three tries to get the meleagris going. Keep trying. 🙂
    Frances

  13. Katarina says:

    You’ve got a lovely selection of spring bulbs. Very, very beautiful!

  14. ‘Gipsy Queen’ is playing my tune! As Pomona says, she is more graceful with the passing seasons–but I will give her a whirl.

  15. You have a great collection, Frances. 🙂 I must go back through the photos already… as I have an overabundance in the picture file! ha. Have a great weekend!

  16. What a show Frances! Love the Fritillaria! Lovely, Lovely!

Comments are closed.