July Mish Mash Sparklers


Hooray for the red, white and blue!


The red, Hibiscus moscheutos ‘Kopper King’ foliage,


white, again Kopper King flower and


blue, Salvia farinacea ‘Victoria’.


And hooray for purple and orange!


Purple Cuphea lanceolata ‘Purple Passion’


Cosmos ‘Cosmic Orange’


Orangey Skipper (Sachem? Thanks Randy!)


Orangey Bulbine frutescens


…in a blue pot.


Hooray for creatures great, Hazel, and…


…small, Praying Mantis baby.


Happy Birthday USA and hooray for Monica the Garden Faerie for Mish Mash Mondays!

Frances

This entry was posted in cats, mish mash monday. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to July Mish Mash Sparklers

  1. gittan says:

    Happy 4th of July Frances. And thanks for another great mish mash post / kram gittan

    Thanks Gittan. The mish mash posts are so fun, I love the freedom to just throw things together and see what comes out of them. πŸ™‚
    Kram,
    Frances

  2. Valerie says:

    Frances: I enjoyed as usual the visit to your garden. My hardy hibiscus is just leaves yet and no buds. They will come in a few weeks.

    Thanks Valerie. I was unsure about the hibiscus, it was new last year and some comments at Dave’s Garden said it was so late to return. That was not the case here. This is a good one.
    Frances

  3. Hi Frances – another great selection of blooms from your garden. Particuarly like the bulbine frutescens in the blue pot – that’s a great colour combination. Happy 4th.

    Hi Heather, thanks. We have been wanting Bulbine for several years and found it on a trip to Orlando. It will be taken into the garage to see if we can overwinter it here. Happy 4th back at ya! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Your mish mash is delightful today Frances. I hope you had a great 4th.

    Thanks Lisa. I hope you did too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. Good morning, Frances. Hope you had a delightful 4th. The bulbine is so unusual and not so common. Nice look.

    Hi Freda, thanks and the same to you. The Bulbine is a prize. We found it in Orlando when we were there for spring break. I hope to winter it over in the garage. Wish us luck! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. Randy says:

    Frances,

    Never heard of Purple Cuphea lanceolata β€˜Purple Passion’ it is really something. Your skipper seems odd to me, likely a male Sachem.

    Hi Randy, thanks. The Cuphea is from a packet of seeds from Baker Creek. I am just guessing about the skipper and will check out your guy. A link to you has been added along with the ID. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. Joanne says:

    Lovely sparklers Frances. The purple and orange combination is great and I adore the Stargazer Lily I can just imagine the smell.

    Thanks Joanne. The daylily hill with the phlox and species double daylily is giving plenty of pizzazz at the moment. The lilies scent the evening air. All good. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Rose says:

    A great way to celebrate the Fourth, Frances! Red, white, and blue looks even better when accompanied by yellow and orange:) Love that little baby mantis; I have yet to see one here this summer.

    Thanks Rose. We do like to mix the colors in the garden. We saw a whole bunch of baby mantids about a month ago, now they are hiding out until fall when they will emerge as gigantic aliens. Fall, we can almost see signs of it already, hard to believe.
    Frances

  9. Hooray for orange and purple–my favorite color combo. And aren’t V. bonenarsis (which I never remember how to spell) soooo cute? Also, love the cat shadow. My orange cosmos are blooming, too. Love them. (I think they were from you in the seed swap.) πŸ™‚

    P.S. Have fun in Buffalo and think of me wslaving over a 100-page technical report for NHTSA!

    Thanks Monica. The orange and purple are so pleasing to me too, and enough good things cannot be said about the tall Verbena. Great about the cosmos, they might get really tall, or maybe not. The first year here they were eight feet, but subsequent volunteers have been around four feet. We will raise a toast to you and your report while in Buffalo! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. I’ve never seen a bulbine before Frances – its little flowers are every so cute and photogenic. I wonder if that would be hardy in the UK? πŸ™‚

    Hi Rosie, thanks for visiting. The Bulbine is quite tropical, zones 9-11, no temps below 20F, -6C. We are hoping it will survive in our unheated garage over the winter.
    Frances

  11. Happy [belated] 4th, Frances! Your gardens are so amazing. Just makes me smile every time I pay you a visit. πŸ™‚

    Happy 4th to you too, Kate. Thank you for those sweet words. I am glad you enjoy your visits here. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. Jake says:

    Tons of blooms but that Hibiscus is awesome!

    Jake

    Hi Jake, thanks. New last year, the Hibiscus has proven to be a good playmate in the white/yellow bed. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Randy says:

    What an explosion of color you have going on in your garden Frances!

    Hi Randy, thanks. Every color is represented here, the more the better. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. commonweeder says:

    I love that lily! And that is a cute little mantis.

    Hi Pat, thanks. Isn’t he a sweetie? πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. What a riot of happy colour, Frances, just what I needed tonight. Hope you had a wonderful Independence Day holiday and glad to see your garden is blooming so joyously. (Hi Hazel)

    Thanks Jodi. Even with terrible drought here, most of the garden denizenss are shining brightly. Hazel says whaddup to the catchildren. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. and Hooray for your Sparkling post! I enjoyed my visit. πŸ™‚

    Hi Meredehuit, thanks and welcome. Always nice to meet another grandmother. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. kimberly says:

    Hi, Frances! Happy belated 4th! Your mish mash is beautiful! I’m a lily fan of any kind, but find myself always gravitating toward orange. Your orange cosmos and bulbine are beautiful! I have a yellow bulbine, which is nice, but I like the orange better. (sigh…the grass is always greener…!)

    Hi Kimberly, thanks and the same late wishes to you. I love orange as well, but an all yellow bulbine has piqued my interest. Greener grass is right! lol πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. Tiny says:

    Those are some Awesome photos, very very Beautiful images…Nothing else I can say…
    Keep’em coming…
    .
    .
    .
    .
    My Recently Launched Gardening Blog:
    http://www.totallyterrafirmacom

    Please feel free to register and leave any comments or thoughts that you might have…
    And Remember – The Good Earth Provides The Soil That Ultimately Feeds The Soul…

    Hmm, Tiny, this comment is so generic that it seems like spam. I will leave it for now since your blog appears to be legit, but might decide to spam it later. You might want to try and make a more appropriate comment for every blog post you visit if you want to generate real readership, instead of a copy and paste one size fits all. Just a suggestion.
    Frances

  19. Purple & orange! My all-time favorite combo! Happy Independence Day, Frances!

    Hi Ricki, thanks. Purple and orange are a perfect pair, especially for the harsh sunlight of summer. Happy 4th, if late, to you as well. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. Grace says:

    Hi Frances, Gorgeous photos. I’m still waiting for my Stargazers so getting a peak at yours is a real treat. I finally gave up on ‘Kopper King’ because as much as I love the foliage I couldn’t get it to flower. They’re stunning.

    Hi Grace, thanks so much. The Stargazers come at such a wonderful time here, during a transition period. I need more of them! Naturally. Kopper King is in full blazing sun, but I actually like the foliage better than the flowers, which only last a day and become a wet napkin looking blog when finished. HA. πŸ™‚
    Frances

Comments are closed.