Adjusting For July Bloom Day


After the summer solstice passes, the gardens enter a transition period. This is when the thoughtfully planned passing of the bloom baton can easily be dropped. Let us see how the runners are faring in the Fairegarden race to fall this year.


A crossover plant is dill, Anethum graveolens. A self seeding member of the herbal tribe, this is edible, ornamental and larval friendly.


The common weed pokeberry, Phytolacca americana wears several hats as well. A tall plant this, offering shelter and berries to wildlife after the beautiful blooms finish attracting pollinators.


The white Phlox paniculata ‘David’ is a fine baton carrier, never clumsy with the rod. Blessed rain wetted Calamagrostis x acutiflora ‘Karl Foerster’ is companionable.


The daylily hill looks even more the jungle than ever in this color accented shot. The maroon of the species Phlox paniculata was chosen as the color for the Canon SX1 IS to recognize, a simple enough task since that is the main bloomer on the growing shadier by the day hillside.


Here the color selected was the orange of a nearby cosmos, highlighted on the cones of the summer stalwart Echinacea purpurea. Phlox ‘David’ stands nearby. Okay, that is all the fooling around with the camera settings for today. Fun, wasn’t it?


The daylily season is nearly over. There is one more very late variety that has shown no flowers yet but that has several buds. One of the prettiest still blooming is Hemerocallis ‘Royal Butterfly’. This plant has been flowering over a very long period. New shoots with buds have been spotted on a couple of early season bloomers as well, reblooming is such an appreciated trait.


Rudbeckia hirta ‘Prairie Sun’ has been a bright spot in the flat garden.


Too much fine foliage, otherwise known as the dreaded little leaf syndrome in this bed, is confusing to the eye. The aptly named Prairie Sun offers a resting spot. As is forever the case, more are needed. It goes without saying at this point. The larger leaf in the top center is a clump of Aster tataricus ‘Jindai’ that is being encouraged to multiply freely. I believe it is obliging for there are small sprouts poking up near the mother ship, er clump.


Statuesque, imposing and fragrant, the late season lilies are the true stars at the moment. Seen above is the yellow/red Orienpet Lilium ‘Robert Johnson’ backed by the towering multibudded L. ‘Black Beauty’.


So easy to take for granted are the inherited with the property Lilium tigrinum. The Eastern Swallowtail is drawn to the brilliant coloration, as are hummingbirds. And people. The bulbils from the leaf axils have dropped and germinated throughout the garden. Seedlings are dug and moved to proper locations, for this is a very tall plant.


It was learned at the recent blogger meetup in Buffalo, New York from co-host of the event Elizabeth that our thought to be and sold as Lilium ‘Lady Alice’ is actually L. white henryi. I wondered why there was so much variation in the colorways of the five bulbs received from Brent And Becky’s. Now we know, thanks to the generous sharing of knowledgable garden bloggers.


A long view looking across the shed bed into the knot garden tippy tiptops shows the brightest flowers that can be seen from inside the addition whilst sitting with the laptop on the trusty lazyboy.


Belamcanda chinensis of varying hue dot the shed bed, (Added: We have been informed that these are probably crosses of x pardancanda norissii — a bigeneric hybrid between Belamcanda and Pardanopsis, thanks Joseph!) viewing as orange from afar. We find it amusing how because most all of them have freckles…


…It is the smooth solids that are held in higher regard. If the numbers were reversed, the freckles would be prized. Eryngiums offer a cooling backdrop with blue stems, leaves and seedheads.


But it is this yellow that is most prized, for it is the only one of its kind. It may have to be moved to the yellow/white garden for safe keeping.


Calla lily Zantedeschia ‘Naomi Campbell’ has faded from purple to nearly black but still stands tall and model erect. Behind her to the right is the Bongo Congo family. The drought has been broken by recent ample precipitation, but it came too late to revive the burnt toast foliage of the astible. The lack of rain for more than two months has sped the process of the warm season flowering, but…


…it was still a shock to find a fully open flowering stalk on the fall blooming Muhlenbergia capillaris grass. What is the world coming to? Or the more grammatically correct might be: To what is the world coming? Can the all knowing, all seeing Carol of Maydreams, idea-master of Bloom Day tell us?

Frances

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Bloom Days. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Adjusting For July Bloom Day

  1. gardeningasylum says:

    Oh Frances, I’m loving your camera fiddling, esp that phlox with the black and white background. To what is the world coming indeed! Autumn Minaret daylily started opening yesterday here, at least 3 weeks early. Every season is different, so I guess we just cut back and hope for rebloom!

    Hi Cyndy, thanks for that. I still have to experiment with the other colors, green is the default and so much in the garden is green, for a totally different look. It is fun though. You are right about it being different each time, but we are still surprised at the muhly grass. I miss you! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. Jen says:

    I always love taking a virtual walk through your gardens. Today the Bongo Congo family made me smile. Thanks!

    Hi Jen, thanks. The Bongo Congos always make me smile too, such a happy family. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Gail says:

    Good Morning, my dear! This may barely be coherent~the coffee is not finished brewing~I love seeing the butterfly visiting the lily and the belamcanda is a freckled beauty. I so know what you mean about the little leaf problem~it does seem that all the happiest in a TN garden plants have similar leaf shape! Aster T has spread nicely in my garden~before long there will be a good stand and you can move it’s giant leaf presence all over! xxgail must have coffee

    Good morning dear Gail, thanks for visiting so early. I thought your comment quite coherent! I am super excited about Jindai and the one you gave me is not a lot larger so may also be the shorter one? Well shall see about that, but those large leaves are so welcome.
    xxxooo
    Frances

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Your garden looks so lush now Frances. Love those lilies. I want more of them. I learned that from the Buffalo10 posts and now your post makes this want a necessity.

    Thanks Lisa, you know that I am only showing the good bits, right? Everyone needs more lilies! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. Carol says:

    Dear Francis, I can’t tell you what this world is coming to, I just take it one day, one bloom, one blog post at a time. I enjoyed the tour through your garden today. There is a lot to see at Fairegarden.

    Hi Carol, thanks for visiting, if not answering the burning question! HA πŸ™‚
    Frances-with an E

  6. Prairie Sun is such a shining star. I have difficulty with the “dreaded little leaf syndrome” in the full sun. Many big leaves will just downright burn in 12 hours of summer sun each day. I’m trying to increase the daisy blooms (shasta, rudbeckia and coneflower) to minimize the appearance of fine lines. Sounds like a face cream remedy, doesn’t it? πŸ™‚

    Hi Freda, thanks for visiting. You are so right about full blazing sun and large leaves. Jindai is a winner in that department. Fine lines, our bane! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. Linda says:

    I had to plant my muhly grass in part shade when I bought it last year. It is flopping all over the ground. Will I see any blooms this year or am I going to have to move it to full sun?
    Linda

    Hi Linda, thanks for stopping by. I have not had as good a bloom in the shade and the plants will flop more. Hard to tell if you will have blooms at all, look for the seperation on longer stems of the beginning of them.
    Frances

  8. debbie in knoxville says:

    I loved the opening shot. I have a couple of cobalt pots also and I love the contrast. Your arrangement there is very artistic.

    Thanks Debbie. The pot with the yellow coleus is new. The set up needed a shot of color, and yellow was it for sure. I am going to get more yellow for all of my containers now, it really makes a difference.
    Frances

  9. Frances, I believe your Belamcanda are actually xpardancanda norissii — a bigeneric hybrid between Belamcanda and Pardanopsis. They have a very wide color range, including the unspotted form you show. Sadly, what you find for sale labeled as Belamcanda these days is almost always just a (mostly) orange spotted form of xPardancanda.

    Hi Joseph, thanks for that. I bought a Parda that had some nice purples in it but it seems to have disappeared. The plants shown all came from seeds from a friends house so they could actually be anything. You are probably right about the naming, thanks. Hope your ironweed has settled in nicely. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. catmint says:

    Hi Frances, I haven’t visited for a while – the garden is looking wonderful as usual. Especially the dark calla. And I love that grey with the standout orange. Such fun to experiment with the camera, I am just starting to be a little less inhibited. cheers, catmint

    Hi Catmint, thanks and so nice to see you here! I will have fun fooling around with the settings, since I got a lesson in Buffalo from expert Kylee. Life is too short for inhibition!!!! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Valerie says:

    Always a pleasure to see what is growing in your garden. I have the freckley Belamcanda. Did not know they came other ways.

    Hi Valerie, thanks so much. See Joseph’s comment about the Belamcanda, he is an expert! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. steve says:

    Pretty gorgeous, Frances. That Canna blows my mind – that pitcher plant. Now I’m finally somewhere where I could think about growing one of those guys.Reminds me – your place needs a Gunnera!

    Hi Steve, thanks. That is my best canna by far, and only one out of six planted returned, so beware of that too. I don’t have enough room, or wet for a gunnera, tried it already. Steep slopes are not very moist. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Les says:

    To what is the world coming indeed! We are in a dry way as well, but have had a few first aid rains while waiting for the medi-vac to carry us to the hospital for the full treatment. You have a lovely group of batons, mine are usually in the form of annuals to get me through the long hot summer. I hope you have a great weekend.

    Hi Les, thanks. I hope you are simply using a metaphor about treatment. Finding the right mixture of plants is an ongoing struggle, this is a gap time and we are trying to use grasses and foliage in better ways. Annuals need too much watering, but look great in the containers. We are hoping for more rain today, only in the way of a thunderstorm. That’s all we get usually at this time of year.
    Frances

  14. Nice Frances, you have tons going on. What would we do without our blackberry lilies? I bought the yellow one this year, and I love it in the shade garden. My garden has a lot of phlox paniculata blooming right now. I don’t know how we’d get through summer without it.~~Dee

    Thanks Dee. Of course it looks that way since I am only showing the best bits, but there are some things in bloom. Nothing like those Buffalo gardens though! The species tall phlox saves my garden from being all green. Blackberry lilies in the shade? Mine are in the fullest of hot sun and love it. Might have to try some in the shade since we always have so many seeds to scatter though. Thanks for the idea! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. Alasdair says:

    Super pix. I’m envious. Care to exchange links? I write a garden blog in Phuket, Thailand. Might be a bit different for your readers. http://gardeninsiam.wordpress.com

    Hi Alasdair, thanks and welcome. I have put you on my blogroll.
    Frances

  16. Larry says:

    Your photos are amazing as always! Larry

    Hi Larry, thanks, so nice to see you here! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Love the lilies & Belamcandas. Be careful for what you wish – Aster tataricus spreads like a weed in my garden & every spring I have to dig up huge clumps of it.

    Hi MMD, thanks. I am hoping the aster spreads, although Jindai is much smaller than the species. That area is the old gravel driveway and asters are one of the only plants that can even grow there, much less thrive. Various asters abound, all with very narrow leaves, we need those elephant ears in there, the more the better! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. Rose says:

    My garden is on autopilot these days with the heat, but yours still looks wonderful, Frances. I don’t know what my favorite is here–all the lilies, the rudbeckias, or the orange-centered coneflowers in the black and white photo. Seeing all your lilies reminds me that Beckie gave me a seedling started from seeds you sent labelled simply “lilium.” Do you know what kind they might be? It’s really growing here, though no signs of blooms yet.

    You’ve given me such great advice and helped me identify plants over the last two years, Frances, but I can share one bit of knowledge I have–it is perfectly acceptable today to end a sentence with a preposition:)

    Another thing I’ve learned from you—I really need to get a Lazyboy:)

    HA Rose, thanks, you do need a lazyboy, preferable one built in TN! There are parts of my garden that don’t look so good at the moment, sort of between blooming or just plain done blooming. Those are the places that need rethinking for fall redo. The lilium seeds were L. regale, I thought the label said that. Thank you for the grammar lesson. Goes to show how long ago I learned the rules, although most of the time I didn’t follow them anyway. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. How true: the stingiest plants are the ones we hanker for, while the generous ones get yanked out by the handful. I, for one, am going to try to mend my ways and cultivate an appreciation for ill-deserved abundance.

    Hi Ricki, thanks for stopping by. Sort of like a continuation of the grass is always greener syndrome. It makes life easier to just go with what wants to grow rather than fussing over something that does not. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. Jan says:

    What beautiful pics!!! And what a lovely garden you have!!

    Hi Jan, thanks so much for those kind words. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. Teresa O says:

    I love walking about Fairegarden, it’s beyond beautiful. I learn something with each visit. I’ve never grown tiger lilies so when a friend asked me if I knew what those little black balls were growing along the stem I had no answer. Now I know… they’re bulbils! Thanks to your informative posts I can pass on the information.

    Hi Teresa, thanks for that, I certainly appreciate your visits and was glad to be of help. Those little black balls are just miniature bulbs and will quickly grow to blooming size plants in a couple of years. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. tyziana says:

    What a fantastic blooms and colorful!
    The hemerocallis is a show!
    I wanted to ask, since I have an orange and Belamcanda chinensis
    stained dots, derived from seed, I would be interested to know where you
    getting the yellow version because I like it very much!
    Congratulations on your garden is as always full of blooms and then
    beautiful!

    Hi Tyziana, thanks so much for visiting and those nice words. The yellow blackberry lily just appeared as a rogue seedling one year. Then it was gone for a while and has now returned. I moved it to another garden bed, hoping to get more yellow babies, but there is no guarantee with all the bee activity here, no way to insure more yellows other than to cross our fingers and hope for genetic magic! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. sequoiagardens says:

    I’ve never quite caught up after my holiday, unopened emails (many of a blogging nature) running to 80 at present. But I felt sorely in need of my Fairefix this Sunday morning. You inspire me both as gardener and photographer with your intense enthusiasm for both! Ta!

    Welcome home, Jack. It is always like that after we have been away, no way we can ever catch up. I usually just go from that point forward, onward. You are so sweet to come see me, hope you enjoyed your visit. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. Benjamin says:

    Now, do you let your dill and fennel and such bloom? Last year I did, and swallowtail caterpillars vanished before getting to full size (carted off by predatory wasps?). So this year I’ve been snipping blooms left and right, knowing I’ll lose the self-seeding that, so far, has worked to my benefit.

    Hmm, Benjamin, I have never cut the blooms off since I want the self seeding. That said, I did notice missing catts last year, although it was October and they had no chance of becoming butterflies anyway. I think I want the blooms and the catts will have to fend for themselves. We are already noticing more butterflies of all types this year over the last couple of years, thank goodness.
    Frances

  25. Grace says:

    Nice blossoms, as always, Frances. I’ve got a fair share of LL syndrome as well and as a result fell prey to the lure of a cheap but beefy horseradish plant–for container only–to help break up the monotony in a few LL affected areas. I just plopped it down and voila, instant focal point. I’m thinking I need to look for more large-leaved sun tolerant perennials. There are many for shade but the options for sun drop dramatically.

    You think they could have come up with a better name for the Calla. Naomi Campbell reminds me of airborne telephones and manic hysteria, hardly the image I see on this lovely cultivar. It looks great with the background of stone faces.

    Hi Grace, thanks for visiting, nice to see you here. Horseradish is a lovely large leaf, good idea! A couple of sun loving large leaves that we have added are Inula magnifica, now that is a LARGE leaf and the Jindai aster. You are right about more of the large ones being for shade, hostas especially. We have several hostas that become crisps in even a little sun. Sum and Substance does pretty well though not in the blazing hottest spots that need the large leaves the most.
    Frances

  26. Joey says:

    Delight in your July garden, Frances … it’s beautiful!

    Hi dear Joey, thanks so much for stopping by. Glad you enjoyed July, even with the heat! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. Hi Frances

    All looks well for late July.

    Calamagrostis x acutiflora β€˜Karl Foerster’ is on my list for buying this autumn.

    Does the Dill seed about a bit too prolifically? I’m thinking about it, for ornamental reasons.

    Hi Rob, thanks. You will love Karl, it is the perfect tall grass, very well behaved and stands up straight through winter as well. The dill seeds only a wee bit, I wish it, and the bronze fennel would seed a little more in fact, I love them both and so do the butterflies. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  28. Benjamin says:

    Swallowtails overwinter!! I had several in a container on my deck last winter, and one day in April POOF! they had emerged and flown off! I was careful this spring as I cut back the garden, always checking for a swallotail chrysalis on sticks and such.

    That’s great, Benjamin! I always wondered whether they migrated or just died. Good to know that they just hibernate during the winter.
    Frances

Comments are closed.