Final Plants And Pals From Buffa10


Buffalo, New York has it goin’ on.
(Cottage District garden)


Community spirit is rebuilding a once proud, then humbled and now rising like a Phoenix city to new heights.
(Park area next to Urban Roots Community Garden Center being built by students)


Creative artistry was everywhere…
(Bench support at the same park as mentioned above)


…In places public and private.
(Appropo to the setting martini glass sculpture in Gordon And Brian’s garden)


Exciting, new to us plantings were found.
(Centaurea macrocephala in Brian and Gordon’s garden)


The third annual Garden Blogger Meet allowed for the renewing of friendships begun in Austin, thanks to Pam of Digging.
(Her sign says I Dig Gardening. We all got a little sign like this, thanks to Cindy of My Corner Of Katy, mine said Pray For Rain)


Rain or shine, the gardens we saw were glorious.
(Erie Basin Marina)


The Buffalo Botanical Garden conservatory was glamorous, inside and out.
(According to the Buffalo Botanical Gardens website:

The tri-domed glass, wood and steel building was designed by the premier conservatory designers of the time: Lord & Burnham, Co. from New York’s Hudson Valley. The construction methods were based upon the famous Crystal Palace and Kew Gardens Palm House in England. When it was built in 1897-1899, it was one of the largest public greenhouses in the country (at a cost of $130,000). Today there are less than a dozen large Victorian conservatories in America and this is one of two with the tri-dome design (us & NYBG in the Bronx.)


This is the vision we would like to see in the Fairegarden of the native Veronicastrum virginicum, as seen in the outer gardens of the Botanical site.
(Not shown in the photo is the fencing holding up the floppy plants)


Some things in Buffalo were ahead of our Tennessee spot, some were behind us.
(These daylilies were so full of buds and promise. Ours at home were nearly finished. The name had pirate in it, does anyone know the rest?)


Inside the glasshouse, an over zealous photographer stumbled upon this happy couple inside an ivy covered pergola.
(Heather of Heather’s Garden and her husband, Lee look so sweet together)


This is the view from inside.
(It is actually a fountain that was not running at the time)


Following a delicious lunch under the tent, there were shopping opportunities.
(Lockwood Nurseries would have a siphon attached to my wallet if it was nearby. The selection was exceptional.)


Perusing the plant offerings was painful since we had traveled by air to Buffalo from Tennessee, with a change over in Charlotte.
(Small plants can be packed into a suitcase and checked at the airport. But the selection was a four foot tall Astible chinensis ‘Purpurkenze’ that we had been searching for a source online after seeing it used in the Piet Oudolf designed gardens, with no luck. It simply had to come home with us as a carry on. We are happy to announce that it made the trip intact, without the flower stalk being cut or broken. It is now growing in the black garden next to Panicum ‘Heavy Metal’, as suggested in the Piet book.)


This new friend is responsible for persuading me that the Astilbe had to make the journey with me, Joseph of Greensparrow Gardens.
(Joseph’s new favorite plant that went home with him, by car, to Michigan is Vernonia lettermannii)


Fun people, plants and art…
(Seen in the Shadrack garden)


…lively architecture and fine dining sum up the experience of Buffa10. It will be a hard act to follow.

My other posts about Buffa10:

Plants And Pals From Buffa10

More Plants And Pals From Buffa10

The Page:
Garden Blogger’s Meetups

Frances

This entry was posted in Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Final Plants And Pals From Buffa10

  1. Frances I forgot to send you this link – 10 minutes from St Andrews http://www.camboestate.com/HOME.aspx

    enjoy ………:) Rosie

    Thanks Rosie. After watching the British Open on TV, we are thinking of how cold it will be, even in July which would seem to be the warmest month of the year. All ideas are welcome on how to handle that! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. What an impressive conservatory!

    I’m glad the Astible chinensis β€˜Purpurkenze’ made it intact. Is Heavy Metal a grass?

    Hi Rob, thanks, the entire trip was impressive. Gardens, architecture and people were all exceptional! I have added the word Panicum to Heavy Metal’s name, it is indeed a lovely grass. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Les says:

    I have been enjoying your and everyone else’s posts from Buffalo, but I would love to see a picture of you holding the Astilbe on the plane, that sounds like a hoot. When I went to England, several in our group snuck plants home in their suitcase, but that was before 9/11.

    Hi Les, thanks, wish you could have attended as well, would love to meet you. Someday! The Astilbe was in two plastic bags, the lower parts of it, tied securely so the soil would not fall out. Then it was put into my purse like carryon, left open at the top, then put into another shopping bag that was part of the swag with the Buffalo Botanic gardens printed on it. I was able to lay it flat to go through the screening machine although it stuck out past the plastic bin. The security said ‘nice plant’. On the planes the bag was placed next to the window sort of behind the seat in front, out of the way and barely noticeable. Again, the flight attendants said ‘nice plant’. I believe the beauty of the Astilbe bloom won them over! No plants from England came home with us, not worth the $10,000 fine. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Barbara H. says:

    What a wonderful trip! Thanks for the memories…

    Hi Barbara, thanks. Glad you enjoyed the trip! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. Valerie says:

    Gardeners are a crazy lot I think. We just have to have more plants and can’t go home without buying something new. I have the Astilbe Chinensis growing in the shade and Panicum Heavy Metal in the sunshine. Have to look at Piet’s book again. Thanks Frances.

    Hi Valerie, thanks. Gardeners may have different priorities than regular folks! HA I know that Astilbe will grow in shade, but it does better for me in hot Tennessee sunshine, like the grasses. We get enough rainfall, in more years anyway to keep it looking pretty after blooming. We have found the Visions Astilbes to be of tougher stuff about dryness than the arendsii, chinensis is said to also be more tolerant of dryness. Piet used Purpurlanz rather than Purpurkenze, but close enough! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. gardeningasylum says:

    Isn’t it nice that when a plant is meant for you, there’s usually someone there to encourage the decision – congrats on getting it home intact!

    Hi Cyndy, thanks. What’s the term, enabler? HA πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. DL says:

    I live near Buffalo and am there often, but I do not stop and ‘see’ all the small details in my busy life. It is so refreshing to see a tourist catch these special treasures.

    Hi DL, thanks for visiting and welcome. Lucky you, being able to see all those gardens, and shop at Lockwoods! As a tourist, I was blown away by all that Buffalo has to offer! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Gail says:

    It was a memorable trip~I am so glad folks are still posting photos (yours are terrific captures) ~there are places I missed and ideas still to cogitate on! How to have those delightful concrete pillars is one, the massed veronicastrum is another. xxxgail

    Thanks Gail, I too am glad to continue reading about Buffa10, especially about Sunday’s events that we missed. They have a sturdy metal fence holding up those Veronicastrums so now I don’t feel so inadequate about the floppiness of mine. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Frances, I love how we all saw different things in the gardens. For instance, I never noticed the martini sculpture in Gordon and Brian’s garden. And of course I love the photo of the two of us in the arbor. If it’s not too much trouble could you send it to me? We don’t have many decent photos of us — for a handsome man Lee doesn’t photograph well and he’s actually not making a face in this one. Thanks for capturing one of my favorite memories for me! –Heather

    Hi Heather, thanks and welcome. As soon as this shot was loaded on the computer, I was so excited for you to have it, you both look so happy! I didn’t see the martini on anyone else’s blog posts either, it didn’t stand out much in the pouring rain. It was a pleasure to meet you both! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Rose says:

    After reading so much about Buffalo, I am so impressed with this city, and not just its gardens. It’s great to see a city revitalize itself as Buffalo has done. The architecture is amazing. Glad you managed to get that astilbe home safe and sound. The garden center looks fabulous, though I already have a few here that seem to have been siphoning off my cash:)

    Thanks Rose. It was gratifying to see what Buffalo has done. Getting the community gardeners to pull together for the good of all was simply amazing. That nursery was above and beyond what we have here, except for our dear Mouse Creek of course. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Linda says:

    I have Crimson Pirate daylily. It has been in bloom since late May, and I live in zone 8. I bought one tiny clump of this last year and now it has really grown.

    Hi Linda, thanks for the suggestion. I checked out Crimso Pirate. While beautiful, I don’t believe it is the one in the photo.
    Frances

  12. Jenny B says:

    The Buffalo Botanical Garden conservatory is amazing! Victorian architecture at it’s very best. I would have loved to have been able to see it in person, but I am so glad you were able to give us such a beautiful posting of it as well as the other plants and people you saw. Pam looks as though she had a great time, and I am sure it was a welcome respite from our heat.

    Hi Jenny, thanks. That was an incredible Victorian greenhouse. There was lots of Vict. architecture all over town. It was a time when there was lots of money to spend on such things for Buffalo. Pam was so relaxed both at Chicago and Buffalo. It is nice to be just one of the tourists rather than in charge like she was in Austin. We did have a sweltering day on Thursday that was even hotter than Austin, or Tennessee! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Frances, I now wish I’d taken the time to lug a plant through airport security as well! I love all the different photos. I think I took a pic of the tag with that daylily, so I’ll try to remember to look it up tonight. I have a few ‘Crimson Pirate’ daylilies here but they look different than that one. But heck, maybe mine were not what they were supposed to be.

    Thanks Jean, you are a responsible photographer! I took some name tag shots, but not this one for some reason. I could be totally wrong about the pirate name as well. We saw so many daylilies in so many gardens, among other things, and my memory is more faulty than it used to be. Don’t tell my kids that! HA πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. Catherine says:

    It sounds like a great time. The yellow Centaurea is one I haven’t heard of either, it’s pretty. Great job getting the Astillbe home with out breaking the flower. I didn’t know you could bring a plant as a carry on, that’s good to know for next time we go on a trip πŸ™‚

    Hi Catherine, thanks. I am intrigued by the yellow Centaurea, seeing the need for more yellow in my garden since it grabs the eye so well. I don’t know if there are any rules about plants on planes, but no one questioned me on this trip. I do know bringing plants in or out of the country is a big no no without phytosanitation papers.
    Frances

  15. commonweeder says:

    I have so much enjoyed reading everyone’s BUFFA10 posts, and seeing all the photos. It’s like having a giant family photo album. One way or another I think Buffalo will show up in my blog from time to time, for quite a time.

    Me too, Pat. We are like family now! Meeting yet more garden bloggers is the goal of each get together. It is addictive! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Ha ha! So glad the astilbe made it home safe! Beautiful flowers will win anyone over — even airport security people.

    Thanks Joseph, for insisting that I take this plant home with me. I would deeply regret not having at least trying. I also resisted the very strong urge to divide it when planting. That can wait a year or two, especially since it had been so dry here.
    Frances

  17. Joey says:

    Thanks again for the newsy/lovely update, Frances.

    Thanks to you for visiting, dear Joey. Glad you have enjoyed the reports. They are done now, although we still have several more photos that might sneak into future posts. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. Pam/Digging says:

    What a nice summation of the entire Buffa10 experience, and I do look happy to have Cindy’s little sign, don’t I? What a fun trip–so great to visit with you again, Frances. See you next year!

    Thanks Pam. Most all of the people pix are so happy, I love seeing the smiling faces! Yes, until next year, my friend. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. steve says:

    “a siphon attached to my wallet……….” LOL, Frances. Too funny. Those lilies are fabulous, good lord.

    Hi Steve, thanks. The lilies were the most amazing plants in ALL the gardens. I have placed fall bulb orders and even bought some out of bloom on sale at the big box. More more more, ad finitum! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. kimberly says:

    Frances, what a great time you had! And kudos to you for bringing home the astilbe! The photos you share are truly spectacular..beautiful event! The conservatory IS fantastic! Wow! Thanks so much for sharing these photos and your experiences.

    Hi Kimberly, thanks, it really was the best of times! Maybe next meet you can come too, I would love to meet you. Start saving pennies now. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. Linda Zoldoske says:

    You do such great work with a camera! The result for the viewers is almost like being there! Thanks!

    Hi Linda, thanks so much. That is very sweet of you. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. Tatyana says:

    The trip was unforgettable: lovely gardens, old and new friends, plus a bonus – some plants brought home! Thank you for posting about this event, Frances. Greetings from Alaska,
    Tatyana

    Hi Tatyana, thanks. Hope you are having fun in Alaska, a very beautiful spot. I believe next year’s meet is in your neck of the woods, looking forward to meeting you! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Patsi says:

    Would love to go on a garden tour but always working weekends…when on vacation it’s a must.
    Thanks for the tour and introducing some bloggers I never knew about.

    Hi Patsi, thanks for stopping by. What a shame that you always are working on the weekends when the garden bloggers meetups occur. Maybe you can work it out to come to Seattle next year? Hope so, for I would love to meet you! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. ellada says:

    Hi,
    I loved the tour, It was fantastic.
    A beautiful sculpture, that I like a lot was the third picture.

    Hi Ellada, thanks and welcome. The third photo is a really cool way to support a bench, isn’t it? This area was made from metal, concrete and stone. Very strong and organic and artistic all at the same time.
    Frances

  25. More wonderful insight into the plants and people. You were certainly brave to carry-on your astilbe! Glad it made it home. I’m working on the yellow centaurea for a scene in my garden…miles to go, so to speak, to get enough of it to make a difference!

    Hi Cameron, thanks. I will go the extra mile for plants! HA You would have loved the Centaurea in this garden, it was a huge planting, a real statement at the entrance. I would love to grow it as well. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. Gill says:

    what a neat idea meeting up with everyone. The place you visited was just stunning.

    Gill in Canada

    Hi Gill, thanks, so nice to see you here! Meeting other garden bloggers has proven to be a brilliant idea, sparked by Pam at Digging in 2008. Now we wouldn’t miss one of these meets if at all possible. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    These are beautiful impressions to be left with. So glad to be able to see the trip through your eyes.

    Thanks so much Lisa, you were missed at this shindig. Maybe Seattle?
    Frances

  28. Jean says:

    Hi Frances, me again. I checked out my photos and I don’t think I have one of that daylily. I have a shot of a similar daylily at the Shadrack’s (I don’t know if you took that photo there) and it was called ‘Spades’. It had very dark petals but your’s look a bit rounder. Sorry!

    Thanks for checking, Jean. Most of the Shadrack daylilies had nice name tags as well. I believe someone took a photo of the tag for this one and I will wait for them to find it. No biggee really, but it was a pretty one.
    Frances

  29. izziedarling says:

    This is so beautiful, I swear it makes me cry. Unbelievably gorgeous … thank you for the virtual gift. πŸ™‚

    Hi Izzy, thanks and welcome. Glad you enjoyed this post.
    Frances

  30. I do enjoy your images Frances – your pictures are taken from such interesting angles.

    The day lily is definitely not Crimson Pirate,(I have one) but I did wonder if it was one called Pirate’s Lady?
    K

    Hi Karen, thanks so much. That is a high compliment from such a gifted photographer! I will check out Pirate’s Lady, thanks for the tip. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  31. Buffalo does look like it has a lot going on! I love conservatory, it is awesome!

    Hi Monica, thanks for stopping by. The conservatory was a highlight among so many. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  32. Such a lovely time. So glad I got to see you again.~~Dee

    It was Dee, thanks. I was happy to see your sweet smile again as well. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  33. How did I miss that martini glass sculpture? (I visited Gordon & Brian’s garden twice.) I love your shot of Pam, it captures the mood of Buffa10 perfectly.

    Hi MMD, thanks. Pam does look so happy to be there, as were we all. The martini glass was subtle in the rain, perhaps a sunny day would illuminate it better. Looks makable for an amateur welder! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  34. Hey Frances,

    I just wanted you to know I added your blog to the soon to be launched North Carolina Nursery and Landscape Association blog roll for NC Blogs!

    http://www.tarheelgardening.com/wordpress/

    I also wanted to make sure you received my new link for Gardening With Confidence’s blog

    http://www.gardeningwithconfidence.com/blog.

    Thanks!

    I hope you are doing well!

    H.

    Hey Helen, thanks for that. We are fairly close to North Carolina and do own a business in Asheville, so I guess that makes us dual citizens! I had updated your url on my blogroll already. I have been going through that behemoth of blog links and am making the click open a new window, something I learned in Buffalo. I am on the Gs, there are a lot of those. I am well, thank you, hope you are as well. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  35. Cindy, MCOK says:

    Frances, how did I miss seeing the yard art in that first picture? I’m so glad you captured it. It’s going to take me weeks to look at all the posts about Buffa10 but that’s fine by me … it will remind me of what a wonderful, special time we had.

    Hi Cindy, thanks. There was just so much to see there, how could all of us see it all? Thank goodness for these posts to help us remember the great fun and see what we might have missed. I have spent quite a bit of time trying to read them all but still haven’t. The lists of posts by topic is a big help too. Such fabulous organization, still goin’ on! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  36. Pingback: More Plants And Pals From Buffa10 « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.