A Walkabout For No Reason


There is no reason for this post.


These are just some images that were snapped recently…


…of the garden.


There is no how to, no advice, no whining, no meme, no cats.


There is just the garden.


There are some flowers in the garden.


There are some leaves in the garden.


There are some fungi in the garden.


There are containers in the garden.


There are butterflies in the garden.


There are changes afoot in the garden.


It’s a good thing there is sturdy footwear. In the garden.

Frances

The photos:

1. The long wall behind the main house. Japanese blood grass, Imperata cylindrica ‘Rubrum’, Nasturtium ‘Spitfire’
2. The yellow/white garden. Phlox paniculata, Rudbeckia fulgida ‘Goldsturm’
3. The garage side. Sambucus canadensis ‘Aurea’
4. Top of the daylily hill. Rudbeckia lanciniata
5. Bottom of the daylily hill. Persicaria amplexicaulis ‘Firetail’, Dixie wood fern, Dryopteris x australis, Hosta ‘Sunpower’, Acer palmatum var. dissectum ‘Crimson Queen’
6. Edge of Fairelurie. California poppy, Eschscholtzia californica ‘Rainbox Mix’, Dianthus chinensis
7. Blue pot in driveway corner in front. Yucca ‘Color Guard’, volunteer Perilla frutescens
8. The remains of Ferngully. (Click here-Ferngully for the whole story.)
9. Hypertufa trough container. Northern maidenhair fern, Adiantum pendatum, Ajuga reptans ‘Silver Beauty’
10. The flat garden. Verbena bonariensis, Hairstreak.
11. Bench in the knot garden. Lilium stem.
12. Wall end by the lower deck. Vince Camuto-Saffron, curry, size 7.

This entry was posted in Seasonal Chores, wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to A Walkabout For No Reason

  1. Nice shoes, they are such a lovely colour accent in the garden, lol.

    Hi Deborah, thanks. Wouldn’t a nice swath of these be perfect on the daylily hill? It was the color that attracted me but putting them on my feet, soft as buttah! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. Good Early Morn to you Frances, Lovely goings on in your garden. Beautiful light in all of your stunning images. I especially love the one with maidenhair fern and your silver beauty. Hope you have a good weekend. ;>)

    Good morning sweet Carol, thanks and the same back to you. It was a pretty morning with a slight haze. The photo doesn’t show how wonderful that trough looks to my eyes, or the rest of the garden for that matter. In early morning that is. Before everything begins to wilt from , well early morning is lovely. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Carol says:

    There is a gardener in the garden. And she’s done a fantastic job tending the garden. And her new shoes are the color of tomatoes! Pretty!

    Hi Carol, thanks so much, you are so sweet. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    It was delightful strolling through your garden with you for no apparent reason except to enjoy the hard work you do in your garden. It is fun to getting garden glimpses. I promise I will be careful when typing your name Frances. πŸ˜‰ I just read your comment over on Carol’s Frass post. I giggled all through that post and through the comments.

    Hi Lisa, thanks for coming along. And thanks too for watching those fingers when typing my name. Carol’s post was hilarious, I agree! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. Gail says:

    Good morning my dear friend~That Ferngully fungi you’re showing us~It reminds me of the shelf fungus we saw in Buffalo~Wasn’t that a interesting planter! The Japanese Bloodgrass looks perfect~Love the fiddlehead peaking up and boy oh boy are those great sandals! xxxgail ps It’s finally really raining:)

    Good morning Gail, thanks for joining me. When I saw that fungi, the first thing I thought of was that Buffalo fence planting. I do hope this turns out to be that sort so I can stick some little sedums or semps in there. The bloodgrass is turning more red with each passing day, fall is coming to a town near you! It is raining here a little as well. Needs to rain harder to penetrate the tree canopy, parts of my deck are dry under the tree. Come one rain! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. Layanee says:

    Who needs a reason other than serenity now. I really like those shoes.

    Hi Layanee, serenity now is a good all purpose mantra. HA Thanks for the compliment about the shoes and for not saying they look like tomatoes. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. Joey says:

    All looks August grand, Frances. (adorable walkabout shoes) Happy weekend gardening πŸ™‚

    Hi Joey, thanks so much. Have a great weekend yourself! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Laurrie says:

    Best garden tour in a while! Everything looks so composed, and the best part was having no reason whatsoever to be out there wandering around. I think I have gotten lost in your lush spaces, and someone must come and get me now, I need to come in. Wait, one more look ….

    Hi Laurrie, thanks so much. Getting lost in the garden makes all that hard work worthwhile. Thanks for wandering around with me today. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Why does your blood grass always look so much more amazing than mine?

    Hi Joseph, that question cannot be answered without more information! HA It is starting to turn much more red here, like it does as fall approaches. I don’t know if it is day length, temps, or what, but that turning is a sure sign of seasonal activity. Backlighting helps the images look their best. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Darla says:

    GREAT post!

    Hi Darla, thanks so much. Glad you enjoyed it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. John says:

    What a beautiful garden you have.

    Thanks John.

  12. Barbara H. says:

    Gosh, poor us – no cats, no purpose – just beauty in every photo…

    Thanks, Frances!

    HA Barbara, thanks for that. Glad you enjoyed this simple post, without cats. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Tatyana says:

    Nice images Frances! I like this idea of posting just pictures of the garden. There are so many photographs that we take and don’t use, but they can tell us a lot about a place and the atmosphere around it.
    I was thinking of you while writing today’s post about a slope garden here in the Northwest.

    Thanks so much, Tatyana. Sometimes my brain is just tired from gardening in the heat to think of many words. The pictures can speak for themselves, anyway. I will take a look at your post as soon as possible! Slopes R us, for sure! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. Turling says:

    The fungi are fantastic.

    Hi Turling, thanks. I am hoping they keep getting bigger and bigger! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. Jen says:

    I’ve missed being here! But I see things are as beautiful as ever. You make it look so easy.

    Hi Jen, thanks. So nice to see you here, we missed you terribly! Easy? No. I spend many many many hours working in the garden. There is nothing else I would rather be doing however. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. You never need an excuse for a walkabout, or to show off your garden. I love that blood grass.

    Hi Monica, thanks. Showing off the garden is what Fairegarden is all about. The raison d’etre for the blog. The blood grass is taking the stage, slowly but surely. It is very photogenic, backlighting is essential. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. You are so efficient. I was going to question what plant was in image three, and you had it listed below. That was so thoughtful of you for us readers. Beautiful photography and composition, as always.

    Thanks for those kind words. I have learned that it is best to identify the plants in the photos, if the identity is known. It helps readers and it helps folks doing a google search on those plants come here to see an image of it. When I read blogs, books or magazine articles I like to know the names of the plants so I figure others do as well. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. A walkabout the garden reminds us why we do what we do. Beautiful plants, beautiful garden, and a wonderful stroll.

    Hi Meredith, thanks. It isn’t just about the work, is it? Admiring and enjoying the fruits and flowers of our labor is essential. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. Cool fungus! Love the Japanese blood grass.

    Hi MMD, thanks. The blood grass is turning redder right before my eyes. It means that fall is coming, for good or ill, it is still coming. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. goodtogrow says:

    I’m a big fan of “no point” posts on Friday, haha. That said, your photos are gorgeous, and that’s all that matters!

    Hi Liza, thanks so much. Sometimes we just let the photos do the talking. Thank goodness they have a lot to say. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. Lola says:

    Your garden is so lovely. What are the little black looking berries?
    Great shoes.

    Hi Lola, thanks. The berries belong to the gold leaf American Elderberry, Sambucus canadensis ‘Aurea’.
    Frances

  22. sequoiagardens says:

    I*’m not saying a word lest I put my foot in it.

    HA Jack, good one. Thanks for stopping by.
    Frances

  23. Randy says:

    Frances,
    So sorry to not have been around much to comment. Really enjoyed our walk in your garden and beyond.

    I walked down to the bottom of our road today and discovered we have wild grapes on our property, unfortunately they are growing into the road and will have to be cut back or re routed.

    Hi Randy, thanks. We are always glad to see you, no apologies ever necessary! Those wild grapes can get away from you and totally smother large trees in a short time, sad to say. They are cool and the birds, of course adore them. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. You have to have a reason for a walkabout? I have plans to move your/my bloodgrass to a wetter spot. It just sits there now. I thought it was supposed to invade things and I’m thinking river of bloodgrass in my little valley’s crotch.

    Hi Christopher, you crack me up! I know the bloodgrass is on invasive lists in some states. It is so the opposite here. I have had to divide and plant it myself in every location it is growing here. We lost some last winter for the first time ever. Maybe wetter and more protected from cold would be best on your mountainside. It does like to be mulched during winter I have found. That river will be amazing. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. Rose says:

    Those are some pretty snazzy gardening shoes, Frances! Sometimes it’s nice to walk around the garden without a special purpose, especially without thinking of weeding or deadheading–enjoyed the tour this morning.

    Hi Rose, thanks. It is hard to just enjoy the garden without getting in there and getting dirty. Nice shoes keep me on the paths! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. Jean says:

    Lovely photos (and shoes). Do you use a macro lens? I’m thinking about that butterfly photo. I could never get one that close. I’ve been lusting after a macro lens for a while. πŸ™‚

    Hi Jean, thanks. I am just a point and shoot gal, no changeable lenses on my camera, but I do shoot on macro mode in the garden for all shots. I really was that close to the butterfly. That’s the only way I can get a good image, and it’s nearly impossible! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. Wonderful tour! Great shoes.

    Thanks Cameron. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  28. gittan says:

    You don’t need a reason, it’s lovely anyway! My camera is filled with pictures and I really long for my computer to come back home so I’ll be abel to show them all: Well maby not all of them, I don’t want to scare away my visitors with hundreds of pictures “lol” Kram gittan

    Hi Gittan, thanks so much. I do hope your computer returns home soon so you can view your photos large and in charge! (Even if you don’t post ALL of them). πŸ™‚
    Kram,
    Frances

  29. I liked the first photo best. Nasturtiums fail for me, if the blackfly don’t get them, then something else does.

    Hi Rob, thanks. We don’t have the best luck with the nasturtiums either. The foliage is nice, but there are no flowers on the ones along the wall. We do have a batch blooming in a sunnier, very dry spot. Maybe that is what they need.
    Frances

  30. Valerie says:

    Frances: I like looking at your garden no matter what the reason.

    Hi Valerie, thanks for those kind words. I am glad we don’t need a reason to walkabout the garden. πŸ™‚
    Frances

Comments are closed.