Muhly-Worth The Wait


Patiently waiting. Helplessly hoping. Willfully wanting.


For you. Just for you.


Your siblings have been open for weeks, broadcasting pink happiness.


But they are mere shadows compared to your blizzard of flamingo filaments.


Slowly you turned, step by step, beginning at the top and inching down the driveway.


The camera was ready. The camera has been waiting and ready. Stage left. Click.


Center stage. Click.


Stage right. Click.


Take your bow. Bravo, brava, bravi, encore!

~~~

The object of my affection can change my complexion from white to rosy red
Anytime she holds my hand, tells me that she’s mine*

The object of our affection is the perennial in our zone 7 grass, Muhlenbergia capillaris, whose opening for the season can be seen by clicking here-Muhly Grass Grand Opening. That was the warm up, the appetizer, the opener if you will. The driveway mass planting of pink muhly grass featured in this post is the entree, the headliner, the piece de resistance, the big kahuna, da bomb, the MONEY.

*Written by Pinky Tomlin. He came to national attention while attending the University of Oklahoma. He submitted his original composition, “The Object of My Affection,” to orchestra leader Jimmie Grier, who accepted it and asked Tomlin himself to introduce it to the public. Tomlin had written the song for O.U. coed Joanne Alcorn of Ponca City, Oklahoma, whom he would later marry.

~~~

Who says blogs aren’t educational?

Frances

This entry was posted in Plant Portrait, Seasonal Chores. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Muhly-Worth The Wait

  1. Good grief that’s spectacular!

    Hi Janet, thanks. Glad you think so. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. Carol says:

    Yes, the MONEY. A big show for the end of the season. As pink as cotton candy.

    Hi Carol, thanks. It seems late this year, but maybe it isn’t. November has been the showiest month for it in the past, even though I post about it in September and October. Impatient. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. gittan says:

    Oohh…. I like it, I like it, I like it, I like it, I li..li.. like it… here we go rocki’n all over the world…
    I only wish I was abel to see that amazing show with my own two eyes! Kram gittan

    Dear Gittan, thank you. I too wish you could see it, and the rest of the garden with your own two eyes! Maybe someday, a nice dream. I would love to see your garden as well. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Darla says:

    So pretty! I posted the harvesting of the loofah’s today.

    Hi Darla, thanks. I will check out that loofah when time allows! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    This symphony of pink was definitely worth waiting for Frances. Such a cheerful sight.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. It seemed to take so long for that low end to open, it actually is not open all the way but I wanted to show photos with the leaves still on the trees under the tall pines in the background. That is the view from my kitchen window, it makes washing the dishes so much more pleasant a task. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. gail says:

    My dear, I remember so clearly driving up your street and seeing the Muhly that long ago October! ~I know it’s not your signature plant, but, it’s iconic fairegarden for most of us! We also wait in anticipation of seeing it in all it’s glorious pinkness. Speaking of signature plants~Must visit when they are in bloom in 2011! xxoogail

    Hello dear Gail, thanks. I would love for you to be here when the native Azaleas bloom, late April early May. Mark it on your calender! πŸ™‚
    xxxooo
    Frances

  7. Laurrie says:

    Any garden with an entree of cotton candy on the menu has my attention!

    HA Laurrie, thanks! It does look like cotton candy when backlit, a really large portion too! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. I hope it doesn’t snow heavy on Thursday. With my new gravel drive I will be able to scout for babies.

    Hi Christopher, I hope you don’t get heavy snow yet, too. The babies show up in the spring though you might see some from last year already. Look for the telltale blue blades. It looks nothing like the mature plant. Good luck with babies! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Nicole says:

    That is one gorgeous show!

    Hi Nicole, thanks! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Eileen says:

    Frances that is one beautiful grass! I wish I could grow it in my zone.

    Eileen

    Hi Eileen, thanks. I wish it would grow for everyone, it certainly brightens up the fall garden. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Rose says:

    Oh, this is so worth the wait, Frances! I look forward, too, to seeing this piece de resistance in your garden every fall. And in case any plant breeders are reading this…we want a Pink Muhly hardy to zone 5!!

    Hi Rose, thanks. I am glad you enjoy seeing it too, but do wish you and everyone could also grow it. Maybe the plant breeders will have a breakthrough! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. chen says:

    What a spectacular performance for the closing ceremony of the season. They lit up your garden like firework.

    Hi Chen, thanks. The muhly grass brings a smile to all who see it, especially when the sun is behind it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Sweetbay says:

    No grass is half as showy as muhly. The grouping you have is spectacular. What is that bright red tree behind the muhly — a dogwood?

    Hi Sweetbay, thanks. It is very showy from now until early January when it gets cut down. Even after it turns whitish tan, it is pretty. The tree is a dogwood. The native large one is brilliant, there are a couple of pink ones that I planted that are less showy right now in the scene. The forest pansy redbud is turning yellow just in front of the large dogwood and will make the background even more colorful soon. Then all those leaves will fall. That is why I wanted to show the muhly while the leaves still make a nice curtain behind it.
    Frances

  14. Joanne says:

    Bravo just what I needed a view of your wonderful Muhly

    Hi Joanne, thanks, so nice to see you here. Glad you were cheered by the muhly. It certainly helps my mood. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. Cindy, MCOK says:

    I hope someday mine will be as glorious. They’re mere infants compared to yours!

    Hi Cindy, thanks. I am sure yours will surpass this, you have the perfect climate for it and it is a native for your area. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Your muhly is like fireworks – it makes me say “Ooooh!” and “Ahhhh!”

    Thanks MMD. It looks very nice when backlit, especially. A good compliment to the fall foliage colors. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Nutty Gnome says:

    I.am.gobsmacked!
    I have just fallen in love. Wonder if I can get it over here?

    Hi Liz, thanks. I hope you can get it over there. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. joey says:

    Never tire of seeing your stunning muhly, Frances. Pure autumn joy! Happy November πŸ™‚

    Hi Joey, thanks. A very happy November to you too. Where did October go???? πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. Valerie says:

    Such a gorgeous pink and so airy in texture. It would be one of my faves if I could grow it here.

    Thanks Valerie. It is like no other grass. The first time I ever saw it, growing wild in the dunes along the South Carolina shore, was like being struck by lightning. I have tried to duplicate, without success how that looked in natural surroundings. It is a divine plant. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. Absolutely breath taking. That is one beautiful display of Muhly Grass. No other grass even comes close and I love the grasses in fall. Thanks for the pink fireworks, they really light up the border.

    Hi Donna, thanks. I love grasses as well, but this one is special. The driveway planting was my first attempt at mass planting. It seems a good idea. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. Oh Frances! That is so whimsical and lovely you are a lucky lady! I am searching straight away to see where I can get Muhly Grass! You’re garden is Pretty in Pink!!

    Hi Melanie, thanks so much. Pretty in Pink, I like that! Hope the muhly will grow where you live. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. Jenny B says:

    One can always count on you, my dear, to educate. But I must confess, I am suffering from Muhly envy. Your pink Muhly is absolutely, without a doubt spectacular.

    You are too kind, dear Jenny, thanks! The muhly is an amazing plant, that much is true. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Lola says:

    Magnificent. Contemplated on the purchase the other day. Now I must go back & obtain it. It was already in bloom & oooohh pink & pretty. Eye candy for sure.

    Hi Lola, thanks. I am so glad you have some available to you. There seems to be many who would love that option. Hope it is still there when you go back for it! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. You know how to make northern gardeners feel left out in the cold. There really aren’t too many plants I can’t grow that I want to, but the muhly is one of them.

    Hi Kathy, thanks and so sorry! Maybe one of these days the breeders will break through the zone barrier and you will be able to grow it. Or climate change will force you to change the name of your blog! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. RobinL says:

    Indeed Frances, it was worth the wait, as always!

    Hi Robin, thanks so much. It is a highlight of fall here.
    Frances

  26. Balisha says:

    How fabulous! I love it. Balisha

    Thanks Balisha. It is a cheerful view from the kitchen window as dishes are washed. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. Jake says:

    Beautiful! It is so worth the wait!

    Hi Jake, thanks. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  28. Pam/Digging says:

    You’ve been waiting, and I’ve been waiting. And here’s the show. Yea! Go, pink muhly, go!

    Hi Pam, thanks, you are sweet. It has seemed like forever for those last ones at the end of the driveway to open. They are still not really open, but I wanted to have the dogwoods behind in full color for the photos. Yea for muhly! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  29. Janet says:

    It is because of your delectable photos that I have planted 10 Pink Muhly grasses in my landscape. I can’t wait until next year and the following years to enjoy the clouds of pink.
    Was up in Asheville last week, but forgot the name of the ice cream shop….next time. It is only two hours away.

    Hi Janet, thanks for taking time to visit! I am thrilled that you have planted the muhly, it will look fabulous in your new garden. The ice cream shop is The Hop, now at two locations, one on Merrimon and one in West Asheville on Haywood. I will add that to my sidebar, where you can always fine that info. Tell them you are a friend of mine! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  30. Les says:

    You must have one of the best displays of Muhly on the net. I may have room for one, but this plant is not happy solo, so I will enjoy yours and other’s.

    Hi Les, thanks so much, you are too kind. Not happy solo? Maybe not as showy. But if you are like me and have the must divide disease, it will soon turn into many. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  31. ryan says:

    Great photos. Les is right, you really do have the best muhly display on the internet. Thanks for showing them.

    Thanks so much Ryan. You and Les are both very sweet. The muhly is such a wonderful plant, I would like to see it grown more widely where it will prosper. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  32. Pingback: Do You Like Pink? « Fairegarden

  33. Pingback: Using More of What Works | Fairegarden

  34. Pingback: Pink Muhly Grass-Muhlenbergia Capillaris | Fairegarden

Comments are closed.