Thanksgiving Magic-2010

Let’s play a game.

One of those word association games.

Saying the first word that comes to mind when you see a photo kind of game. So far, what have you imagined?

Indoors, outdoors, outdoorsy indoors?

Nature? Lazy cats?

Magic?

Lots of magic?

Thanksgiving magic?

These are the gifts made to give to the Fairegarden clan for Thanksgiving 2010. Each door is unique, and it was thought that they could be named, perhaps with the first word that pops into the brain. But they should have been numbered or something. Still, any and all ideas are welcome. Some were made with specific people in mind, followers of a certain college team might choose the door painted with those colors. Or not. I had my eye on the third one from the right. It even sat inside on the hearth in the addition for a while, and looked mighty magical, like a fairy could easily be hiding just behind it. The Hop door was already happily installed at the newly opened Hop West on Haywood Street in Asheville, North Carolina, on the outdoor patio, given as a Hop-warming gift on a recent visit there before the holiday. We so missed having you with us for Turkey Day, Brokenbeat and Mashley.

The door shown at the end of the cavalcade is the unpainted, not yet cleaned up product, just unmolded. It is the same one that was indoors for a test run in the addition. After much trial and error, more so than usual, it was found that modeling clay shaped around the edges did the best job of making the shape desired from the leaf casting mix. There will be a how to make these doors post written when the weather warms up. These were made during the summer and painted, the funnest part, in the early fall. There is a thick coat of water based polyurethane over top.

Previous Thanksgiving presentations can be seen below, with a link to each post.


After Thanksgiving 2009 Muse Day Hypertufa containers were given.

november-25-2008-023
Thanksgiving Came And Went Painted leaf castings were given.

These holidays are about family for the Fairegarden clan. There is some food involved, but it is mainly about being together. We hope your own celebrations, whatever they involved, brought gratitude in mass quantities.

Frances

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Thanksgiving Magic-2010

  1. Ellada says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you.
    Well !!!! The cats are so cute.
    And I love the gift of the Fairegarden clan, it’s really beautiful.

    Hi Ellada, thanks and a very Happy Thanksgiving and days afte to you and yours. The doors were well received! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Oh yes, much gratitude and love flowing here yesterday. Recovery is happening today. tee hee. I hope you and yours had a great day. Love the little fairy doors.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. For us, yesterday was sort of quiet since they hordes came later in the evening. Today, it is chaotic craziness and we love it! It will last the whole weekend. They all liked the doors. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. One says:

    They are beautiful. Very creative of you. I think your image is reflected on the doors.

    Hi One, thanks so much. I hadn’t noticed that, will have to check it out, unless you were speaking metaphorically! Yes, I am in the marbles/windows. Good catch! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. gail says:

    Dear Frances, My dear, you’ve been very busy. The fairy doors are excellent! I do think I can also see you in the marbles! How very cool! Have a good day and let the fiesta begin! xxoogail

    Thanks dear Gail! I didn’t realize my reflection was in the marbles, thanks to One for noticing! It is still under control here, thanks to the kids getting older I think. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. Carol says:

    Love the fairy doors. I have one in my house, in the corner by the fireplace hearth where I can keep an eye on it, to see if the garden fairies sneak in to warm up a bit by the fire. If I’ve seen any, I’m not telling! Sworn to secrecy…

    Hi Carol, thanks. I remember your sweet door, and the one we saw in Buffalo at the hosta guy’s garden. I think one for inside AND one for outside is a good idea. They might both lead to a secret tunnel in and out! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. Gosh, Frances, you do keep busy. They could have been Christmas presents, but I bet you do even more for Christmas. Beautiful and out of the ordinary. I think I love the leaf ones even better.

    Hi Kathy, thanks. These are actually to be considered as early Christmas presents, a Thanksgiving tradition. The leaves were nice. It is getting harder to find new things to make! πŸ™‚
    Frances

    I just read the cast leaf post. You have wonderful family traditions.

    Thanks Kathy, for reading and for the nice words.

  7. I love those doors! They are truly magical. What a great thing for your family.

    Hi MMD, thanks. The family was happy to get them. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Frances, what a glorious tradition!!Adopt me?

    Hi Mary Ann, thanks! We consider you family already. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. How lovely that in these days of mad consumerism you take the time to create unique gifts for people instead. Happy Thanksgiving Weekend, enjoy your clan around you, look forward to learning how to make the doors in due course!

    Thanks Janet, you are very sweet. That is my motivation, making something that will last and that has memories attached. Garden stuff that can be left outside all the time is the best, doesn’t take up space in the house either. Hope your weekend is the best as well. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Cindy, MCOK says:

    I want leaf castings! Those are just the coolest. A fairy door would fit right in here at Wit’s End, too!

    Hi Cindy, thanks. You can make them yourself, they are easy peasy. The doors too. All you need is mortar mix and concrete strengthener, sand and leaves.
    Frances

  11. Victoria says:

    I’m reading this at the end of a very tiring day at the end of a very tiring week. I’d like to give thanks to you, Frances, for sprinkling a bit of fairy dust on a freezing Friday evening here in London.
    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours, love Victoria xxooxx

    Dear dear Victoria, I am glad you got a little magic from across the pond, but am sorry you are so tired. May you become rejuvenated over the weekend. The family is still here, noisy and fun. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. Eileen says:

    Frances, what a fantastic gift, you are so ingenious to think of something like this.

    Eileen

    Thanks so much Eileen. I have seen a few doors like this around and about and have wanted to try making them for some time. Trial and error helped figure it out. The family liked them. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Such lovely gifts, Frances! I’ve been away for several days so I’m a bit late, but no less heartfelt in my wishes that you had a blessed, joyful, fun (and noisy) Thanksgiving.

    Hi Jodi, thanks very much. We did, are still having that joyful, fun and noisy family time. It continues with a mass travel to view the latest Harry Potter film tomorrow, after much football watching. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. Nutty Gnome says:

    Hi Frances. I love the faerie doors, but I absolutely adore the leaf mouldings!
    Have a great weekend with your family – oh, and enjoy Harry Potter ….we all went en masse last weekend πŸ™‚

    Hi Liz, thanks. I just found out some of the leaves have broken, soccer ball incidents! Might have to make more of those next year. We are so looking forward to the movie, tickets bought online to avoid the lines at the theatre, we hope! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. You are one busy lady. I like your tufa creations. I am sure they will be most appreciated and loved. I too like to give hand made items for the holidays. Your Thankgiving tradition is really special, as I never thought to make items to give for Thanksgiving. Lovely.

    Hi Donna, thanks. The concrete projects are done over the summer, leisurely and fun. That way they are well cured by November when they are gifted. We began giving things at Thanksgiving since we are not always together at Christmas with inlaws also tugging at the various family members. We have been trying to scale Christmas way down every year, it is easy to get out of control then.
    Frances

    It really makes sense. The in-laws were a problem here as well in previous years. I am not as organized as you to start in summer, but with tufa, I guess you almost have to. I am going to post some of the gifts I made last year. Maybe others will do so as well. With all the creative gardeners out there, ideas would be plentiful. I love Christmas time and it gets out of control every year.

    Summer is the best time to work on winter projects! HA There is no rush and that is good since trial and error, with plenty of error is part of the process. I look forward to seeing your creativity, and everyone elses! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Town Mouse says:

    What a great gift! I love gifts that can be tucked away outdoors; most people have more than enough stuff inside, but there’s usually a spot left outside.

    Hi Town Mouse, thanks. I agree, at least at my house, there is enough decor, but in the garden? Plenty o’ room! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Rose says:

    What fun, Frances! These little doors are so cute, and I think I spy and orange and blue one that would be perfect for my Illini:) I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Hi Rose, thanks. Good catch on the colors of the doors. They were intended for family members that root for teams of those colors! We did have a great family get together, hope you did as well. πŸ™‚
    Frances

Comments are closed.