December Musings


The final page of the calender has turned.


It is the beginning of the end.


With each day a new beginning, still.


The strength, solace and energy the garden provides has not diminished.


The sustenance it supplies is startling in its simplicity.


Serenity satisfies the soul.


As surely as the sun rises in the East…


…The beauty of life abounds.


It is as it should be…


…The flame will not be extinguished.

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to December Musings

  1. gittan says:

    Dear Frances, lovely pictures as always! So Uncle Frost have found his way to Tennessee again. My garden is completely covered in a thick layer of snow! I can hardly believe it… there’s nothing normal with snow in November in SkΓ₯ne (my part of Sweden) There’s nothing normal with snow any time of year in SkΓ₯ne so this year is really strange! Today it’s -10 C and I’m felling a little bit cold. It’s sure nice to se those pictures from your garden on a day like this. Dubbelkram gittan

    Dear Gittan, thank you. The frost returned while my family was all here, giving the camera bugs among us some fun time, if cold! Snow for you? A very good insulator for the garden and a pretty and bright blanket to reflect the sunshine, if it appears. Too bad you can’t see the plants though. Do stay warm and cozy!
    Doublekram to you too,
    Frances

  2. Carol says:

    Good morning on this beautiful first day of December. Your pictures show that if we bundle up against the cold, there is a lot of beauty on a frosty morning in the garden!

    Hi Carol, good morning to you! December is it, with weather to match the vibe. Sun plus frost is a shutterbugs dream, if one can take the cold. One other family member was coerced to go out and capture the sparkles with me, making it twice as fun. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Very lovely Frances! I especially love “The sustenance it supplies is startling in its simplicity.” the following line too. Beautiful photos that so perfectly mark the month of December. Keep Warm and may your creative fire always burn bright! ;>)

    Hi Carol, thanks. The denial of winter is over with the changing of the calender and weather like this. May your fire also keep you warm and happy! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    It is always fun to get out in the garden even during winter. Your pictures show us ways to enjoy the frost and cold. I am already thinking about how I am going to decorate the first pages of my garden journal for next year. I love having time to contemplate what might and will happen this coming growing season. Love that sunshine.

    Hi Lisa, thanks, the sun is always welcome! Thinking of you decorating your journal brings a huge smile. There is nothing like thinking of what could be ahead, we have total control over it! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. Lovely – and so true, there is always beauty in the garden, even if in some seasons you have to look harder for it. I love your bowl of fire!

    Hi Janet, thanks so much. Oh so much beauty to be seen out there. I hope everyone will bundle up and have a look for beauty outside, with or without camera. We do love the firepot. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. Valerie says:

    Well said Frances.

    Hi Valerie, thanks. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. We had a heavy frost a few days ago, and all the plants looked beautiful. I admired them from inside my snug house, but failed to grab the camera as I knew I should. Glad you braved the cold. Carolyn

    Hi Carolyn, thanks. If I see frost and sun together, the camera is always grabbed, for I know the sun will melt the frost here very quickly, just a matter of a few minutes and it is gone. When there is no sun, the pictures are too dark and indistinct. There is one magic moment that I am always trying to capture. Now if I could only find my fingerless gloves! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Those frost crystal images are stunning. So sad to see the year’s garden fade, but like clockwork, it will return again. I was chilly just viewing your photos. Brrr. How cold did it get? Here in the Falls, we are 34 degrees, not to bad as today will be 51. Yesterday was so warm, I needed no coat. πŸ˜€

    Your bottle tree will keep the pop of blue in the garden, even as you last pansy fades. But, good to see the happy face for one last time this season.

    Hi Donna, thanks. It was 28 that morning, but quickly rose to the 50s once the sun got higher in the sky. That is why the moment of photo taking is so fleeting, to get enough light for the shot with the frost still there. I am glad you are warmer too, makes for a nice garden stroll. The bottle tree is a joy to see. It was moved from a less visible spot last winter to the shed, to help keep it upright, I can see it from the lazyboy! The violas will hunker down on cold days but perk back up on warm ones here, such happy faces, as you say. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Indeed, the garden never ends, it just turns the page. We often like a fire in the garden during cool weather. It becomes a base as we play, walk, admire, and enjoy the garden in all its winter glory. BTW F, you have great hips!

    Hi Helen, thanks, HA! Well said, the page has turned but the story continues to be told. We are lucky to have such a climate in which to garden. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. I’m glad I’m not the only one who finds beauty in the frozen bloom. Your images and garden are as lovely as ever.

    Hi MMD, thanks, one are not alone! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Janet says:

    We are due to have a big freeze tonight, may go out early with the camera to see if I can come close to your wonderful photos. I love the sparkles on the grasses.

    Hi Janet, thanks. I wait for the sun to hit the garden then dash out quickly for the shots. The muhly was simply stunning, but the camera could not capture it, it was alive with glittering sparkles. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. Tatyana says:

    So many points of interest in your garden, Frances, even in December! I love the muhly and the red berries especially. Stay warm!

    Hi Tatyana, thanks so much. The muhly is still showing lots of color even though it is now December. The little rose hips are from the seed grown R. chinensis. Small and sweet. You too stay warm! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Rose says:

    So lovely and so eloquently said, Frances. Gardeners are truly eternal optimists. Even with the frost or under the snow, there is beauty to be found.

    Thanks Rose. It is still quite beautiful, but in a more subtle way. We don’t always have to be smacked in the face with flowers to see beauty in the garden. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. Lona says:

    Hi Frances. I love looking at your grasses this time of the year. I have just got to find a little room for a couple somewhere in my garden. The frosty glistening touches do make for pretty pictures and the fire looks so inviting. I do not know where the months fly off to anymore. Have a wonderful week.

    Hi Lona, thanks so much. There is a grass for you and every garden since they come is so many shapes, colors and sizes. The movement they add is unbeatable. It is difficult to capture the sparkle of the frost, the sun helps. You too have a great week, December already! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. Lovely words to accompany the images, Frances.
    Rosie

    Hi Rosie, thanks so much. I am glad you enjoyed the post. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Hi Frances! Very picturesque. We didn’t receive hoarfrost this year… just – PLUNK! – right into cold Winter weather! For now, all we have is a light dusting of snow in SE Iowa. But that’s enough for now. πŸ™‚ happy Winter to you!

    Hi Shady, thanks. The cold did seem to come here all at once too, right when my family was here, dadburn it! But the sunny days with the frost are so full of beauty, it seems best to simply bundle up and enjoy it! A happy winter to you as well. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Town Mouse says:

    Brrrr. I’m already getting a little tired of riding my bike when it’s so cold in the morning… Great photos!

    Hi Town Mouse, thanks. So bundle up and stay warm on that bike! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. lynn'sgarden says:

    Dear Frances,
    it’s been a while…glad to see you again and all your beautiful photos and musings. My fave are those rosehips…WOW!!! Last rose bloom was this past weekend for me too. that’s pretty good for NJ! Happy Holiday season to you! πŸ˜‰ Hugs, Lynn

    Hi Lynn, thanks, so nice to see you too! I am glad you have had such nice weather to have blooming roses, but it is probably done now, if what is one the news is any indication. Same here. Cold. The happiest wishes of the season to you and yours, my friend. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. goodtogrow says:

    Such a nice post!

    Hi Liza, thanks so much. I am glad you enjoyed it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. Janet says:

    Hi Frances, after further investigation I am convinced what we have at the top of the street is Chinese Lespedeza. Sericea Lespedeza — on the invasive list– http://www.invasiveplantatlas.org/subject.html?sub=3033
    I would say that the winter ‘foliage’ is nothing more than stems and seeds. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for the followup, Janet. I was disappointed that the pretty plant was not a native, and even worse, highly invasive. Oh well, we will admire it from afar, but NOT be adding to the garden here. I appreciate your diligence! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. joey says:

    Right on … a true gardener’s flame will never be extinguished, dear Frances. Happy December πŸ™‚

    Dear Joey, thanks so much and a very happy December to you as well. I like that, the gardener’s flame never being extinguished, so true! πŸ™‚
    Frances

Comments are closed.