Third Blog Anniversary


O


N


W


A


R


D


Yesterday, December 7th was the third anniversary, the Blogaversary of Fairegarden. I have only one thing to say about that. Onward.

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Third Blog Anniversary

  1. Congratulations Frances! You are clearly still very much a force in the blogging world!

    Thanks Janet. Blogging is still something I am very much excited about. It has changed since that day in 2007, considerably. There are so many more wonderful blogs about gardening now from all over the world, windows opened and fine folks to meet. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. Sylvia (England) says:

    Frances, congratulations. I started reading your blog nearly 3 years ago and I have loved every post. Thank you for what must now be many hours of pleasure, not forgetting the times I am gardening and think of you!

    Best wishes Sylvia (England)

    Hi Sylvia, thank you for being such a loyal reader! And for many other things as well! You have been a dear to me. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Carol says:

    Congratulations on your three years of blogging. You are one in a million! Literally, probably, because so many bloggers barely last a few months. I look forward to many more years of reading about the comings and goings at Fairegarden!

    Thanks Carol, high praise from one of the pioneers of garden blogging! Yours was one of the very first garden blogs I ever read, after discovery that people were writing, and good writing too!, about gardening, with photos and for free. It has changed my life, for the better! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Randy says:

    Frances,
    Wow we are looking forward to another 3 years! Stay warm I know you are getting the cold stuff like we are!

    Hi Randy, thanks so much. You have been such a help with the identification of birds and butterflies. Your photos are the best! We are so very cold, too cold for early December. I worry what the rest of the winter will bring. Poor little birdies!
    Frances

  5. Happy Anniversary. I hope I last that long, but only if I am still enjoying it like you. Carolyn

    Hi Carolyn, thanks so much. Yes, you need to enjoy doing it or there is no point to it. I did have to make some adjustments though. For the first few months I posted everyday, then came to realize that was simply too much and found that three times a week works best for me. For now anyway.
    Frances

  6. Happy Anniversary Frances! I am not yet two and found your beautiful Fairegarden early on . . . your posts with stunning photos filled with light and wisdom have never failed to inspire a younger blogger, to keep moving onward too. I am certain there are many many others you have inspired with your exceptional blog. Many Happy Returns to the Day and Year! Stay warm.

    Thank you, Carol. If there has been any inspiration to others, the efforts are well worth it. When the blogging began, I had no idea that it would lead to meeting, in person and online, so many wonderful and dear people, like you! Stay warm yourself! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. Les says:

    A bouquet of hearty congratulations to you!

    Thank you very much, Les. I appreciate your readership! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Congratulations FFF, onward and upward, they way we like our plants to grow, so grows your garden and blog. L, H.

    Thanks Helen, you are a dear! Onward says it all. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Valerie says:

    Congratulations Frances. I look forward to reading many more of your wonderful posts in the future.

    Hi Valerie, thanks for that. Don’t forget, there are plenty, over 500 older posts still hanging around out there to read. HA πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. gail says:

    Happy Blogaversary Dear friend! Could a gardener on a slope in a small town in Tennessee have imagined the places she would go and the people she would meet when she hit the publish button? I hope the next many years are as filled with adventures as these last have been! Thanks for your encouragement and friendship over the years! xxoogail

    Dear Gail, thanks. You have been a shining light in my life, all thanks to blogging! Yes, who could have imagined a trip of a lifetime to England as a direct result of it? May we share many many more. πŸ™‚
    xxxooo
    Frances

  11. lotusleaf says:

    Congratulations, Frances! I love to resd your posts. This post is very innovative. Have a wonderful blogversary!

    Hi Lotusleaf, thanks so much for your sweet words over the years. I appreciate you! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. Congratulations Frances! Thank you for taking us all on this journey with you! Your blog is a continuous inspiration to me! Thank you!

    Hi Melanie, thanks so much for riding along! Inspiration is what all of garden writing is about, IMHO. The highest compliment to be paid. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Barbara H. says:

    Well, I never! Never would have guessed that’s it’s only 3 yrs, that is. It was in 2007 that I retired early, moved across the country, and in my little spare time discovered the blogging world. I guess I thought you had been doing it for much longer. You are such a clever, creative gal – dispensing beauty and information with each post. What a lucky gal I’ve been to be reading you! Congratulations and many thanks, Frances.

    Hi Barbara, funny thing, I feel like it has been longer too. HA I had to do the math to see if it wasn’t four years rather than three. I am so glad you have visited, with your witty comments, thanks! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. Janet says:

    Onward indeed. Here’s to many more! Did you see my orchids? Keeping my fingers crossed.

    Thanks Janet. Yes, those are some mighty fine choices and I know how difficult it was to only pick a few. Good luck with them all and especially the Paph, my personal fave orchid. But a warning, they are highly addictive! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. Darla says:

    A huge congrats to you Fairegarden! (and the gardener behind it all)

    Thanks so much Darla, you have been a welcome visitor for a long while! I do appreciate you. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Dave says:

    Congrats Frances!

    Thanks so much, Dave! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Happy Blogiversary Frances. Just think if you didn’t blog we would not have met either and gotten to know you and the whole Faire clan. I think the resident gardeners have been blessed too by the personal interaction that spills out of the virtual world of cyberspace.

    Hi Christopher, thanks. We too have been blessed to meet you and your family. It is nice to be able to see your mountain on the way to and from the kids. Thanks for the friendship, it means alot to me! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. commonweeder says:

    You and I are practically blog twins. Congratulations. I have certainly grown up in blogdom learning from your posts and beautiful photography.

    Yes, Pat, twins! HA Thanks for your loyal readersip and comments, my friend. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. Steve says:

    My warmest Congratulations, Frances. You deserve every nice thing said about you. I admire your tenacity with your blog, to say nothing of the incredible pictures and tales which accompany them. I sure hope you keep with it and please me endlessly – which is what you have done so far. Thanks!

    Dear Steve, you always make me smile with your comments, thank you for your support! I do so appreciate you and your own talents with writing and photography, let alone design! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. Kimberly says:

    Congratulations! Exciting!

    Thanks Kimberly, much appreciated! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. Donna says:

    Congratulations! I have been a reader for quite some time and have enjoyed each and every post. I am looking forward to your next many years of blogging. Your photographs are always a joy to behold. And I always come back to read the comments. Such insight and great comments and replies.

    How sweet of you to say such kind things, Donna, thank you. Putting the posts together is so fun for me, but equally as fun are the comments from readers like you. I am glad you read them. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. Leslie says:

    Congratulations! Onward indeed!

    Thanks Leslie. Yes, let us march ever onward! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Happy blogaversary! I remember how I gasped the first time I saw your blog!

    Thanks DP, goodness your kinds words are making me blush! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. Happy third Blogoversary Frances. I love your posts, and am always impressed with your creativeness, and blogging stamina too!

    Hi Curbstone Valley, thanks so much. Your kind words are inspirational to me. It does take stamina sometimes to write the posts and put the photo essays together, but it is very enjoyable labor. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. I love those shots – brilliant! Congratulations on your blogaversary. You’re such an inspiration.

    Thanks MMD. No one has commented on the photos supposedly portraying the letters. I admit, it is a bit of a stretch on some of them. One has to squint. I appreciate your kind words, my dear friend. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. Your ‘terrible twos’ behind you, Happy Third Blogaversary!! Onward, Frances ;>)

    Hi Diana, now that made me laugh out loud, thanks! Rightio, onward! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. My Kids Mom says:

    You started a garden blog in the winter? Must have been bored and itching to get your hands in some virtual dirt!

    I know, Jill! What was I thinking? It must have been lack of gardening that got to my head. I had a bunch of photos in files of the garden, just for me, thank goodness. It was an impulsive decision and I am so glad it was made! Scary as anything, but it turned out for the best. It was trial and error, I knew nothing about computers, or html code, except for photos. People were so kind and helped me alot. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  28. Catherine says:

    Congratulations! I haven’t had much time for blog reading lately but I always enjoy your creative posts!

    Hi Catherine, thanks so much. Our real lives can get busy. Hope winter allows for more blog reading. I hope for me as well. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  29. I remember your first comment to me, Frances. I think it was you, & Cosmos…or Tangled Branches–can’t remember which…who left messages after I joined Blotanical. (Now I don’t see much of those two), but you–you’re here to stay;-) It all seems so fuzzy now. It’s been 2 yrs since I joined Blotanical, but I did start blogging in late 2007. I just didn’t ‘know’ anyone back then! Until you, and the rest of this great gardening gang, came along;-) Congratulations on 3 yrs of garden blogging. You are well loved.

    Hi Jan, thanks so much. How sweet of you to remember that! There have been friends we don’t hear from anymore that are missed, but life sometimes demands our full attention. So glad you began blogging too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  30. lifeshighway says:

    Congratulations Frances! It is so good to see bloggers continuing on with their craft. So many die on the vine, lonely and dejected.

    Onward Ho

    Thanks Life. There are ups and downs to the blogging thrice weekly, but I still love doing it. And so Onward we will go, Ho! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  31. Anna says:

    Many, many congratulations Frances ~ long may your blog flourish and to quote my school motto ”Onward and Upward”.

    Thanks, Anna. I appreciate your kind words and encouraging motto! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  32. Eileen says:

    Happy anniversary, I am always amazed at how long some people have been blogging. It is work and creativity, not just a hobby. It is really a job!

    Eileen

    Hi Eileen, thanks so much. I appreciate your readership! Writing and blog is a great creative outlet and a good way to share what is happening in my garden with anyone who is interested. And let’s not forget the making of new and cherished friends. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  33. Tatyana says:

    Happy blogiversary Frances!!! Your blog is a real inspiration! Thank you for the beautiful pictures, posts and thoughtful comments!
    Hugs,
    Tatyana

    Thanks Tatyana, I appreciate your kind words. The word inspiration really makes me feel that the effort is worth it. Hugs back to you! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  34. joey says:

    You’ve only just begun! Forge on and continue to delight us, dear Frances. Oh, Happy Day πŸ™‚

    Thanks dear Joey, you are so sweet. I see lots more blogging in the future, I hope! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  35. dowhatyoulove says:

    Happy Anniversary! Isn’t it amazing how fast time goes in the online world? Sometimes it feels like I have been doing this forever, and other times it feels as if I just started.

    Keep having fun sharing your beauty!

    Thanks so much. I know exactly how you feel, being new and feeling like it has been done forever at the same time. It is still quite enjoyable to do so. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  36. Diana says:

    Wow your blog 3rd anniversary. congratulations.

    Hi Diana, thanks so much. I appreciate you.
    Frances

  37. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    You go girl. I always enjoy reading about your garden. Happy Blogaversary. 3 years is a long time. I wish you many more happy years of blogging.

    Dear Lisa, you have been the most loyal and steadfast of readers, even from the very beginning when it was mostly only my family. I thank you for your encouragement and am so glad we got the chance to get to know each other for real. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  38. Happy Blogaversary Frances, Onward and upward. You keep writing them and we will keep reading them.

    Thanks Sunny. Your words are music to my ears! I do love your blog and posts too, many are bookmarked and have been sent to family members. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  39. carolyn says:

    Onward and upward, Frances! Congrats on three years. It was such a pleasure to meet and welcome you to my garden during SpringFling Chicago two years ago. Hope someday to make it down to yours.

    Hi Carolyn, thanks so much. It was certainly a pleasure to meet you and see your lovely garden. I am constantly reminded of that as I gaze upon the painting you so graciously offered as a door prize that I was lucky enough to win. It is hanging right at eye level on the wall facing the lazyboy, a source of great inspiration and happy memories for me. I do so hope you come to visit someday. The welcome mat is out! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  40. Rose says:

    Congratulations, Frances! I found your blog a few months after I started blogging, and I’m so glad I did. I’ve learned so much from you, and seeing your lovely garden is always a treat for the eyes. Not to mention, it’s always entertaining. Besides your “think” sign, I think you need an “onward” sign in your garden!

    Thanks dear Rose. I always enjoy your thoughtful and supportive comments and am so happy to have met you in person in Chicago. An Onward sign!!! That is exactly what is needed. Maybe I should speak to the metal workers in the area? Or perhaps a google search? Thanks for that idea. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  41. dirtynailz says:

    I must add my congratulations to the long list, Frances. I just love reading your blog and seeing your beautiful photos. You are a creative inspiration to gardeners and garden bloggers everywhere.

    Cynthia

    Thanks Cynthia, I do so appreciate you and your kind words and loyal readership! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  42. Desiree says:

    As a newcomer to the world of blogging, you shine brightly as an inspiration to me. I’ve visited your blog many times since discovering this alternative universe (Yes, I know – it seems I’m a late bloomer!). Each time, I have been utterly captivated by the quality of your photographs and have loved reading your posts.

    Congratulations on your onward success, Frances!

    Hi Desiree, thanks and welcome to the wonderful world of garden blogging! This is indeed the finest of alternative universes, full of the most friendly and supportive people, most of whom share our love of all things garden. I appreciate your kind words. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  43. Helen says:

    Congratulations! Your blog stands out there as a morning star in the blogosphere. Keep it up!

    Hi Helen, wow, thanks for those kind words. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  44. Onward and Upward, Frances! Way to go. You jumped into blogging with both feet and have been fun to read as well as informative and entertaining. Continue! πŸ™‚

    Thanks Shady, for those cheering words! It was quite a leap that cold December day, I had no idea what was going to happen, but how fun it has all been. Continue I shall. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  45. One says:

    Congratulations, Frances!!! Thank you for sharing beautiful photos and wonderful ideas!

    Thanks One. I am so glad you have come aboard as a reader. I do appreciate you! πŸ™‚
    Frances

Comments are closed.