Dreaming Of Warmer Times


Are you tired of this cold weather, even though according to the calender winter has only just begun? Me too.


Instead of those greys, browns, toasty tans and icy whites, how about some color, warm and juicy?


Yeah. That is what we’re talking about.


This, is better than…


…This,


…And way better than this, although it is pretty, from inside the house.


We much prefer this…


…To this.


Ninety-nine point nine nine nine percent agree. Spring, we are ready when you are!

Frances

This entry was posted in wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Dreaming Of Warmer Times

  1. Stunning photos Frances! I love the first two especially . . . one red flowing into the other. Spring is a long way off for us . . . so I dare not dream of it just yet. Wishing you many many blessings in this upcoming New Year!

    Hi Carol, thanks. I was looking for reds in the files to go with the Cardinal shot and came up with this story idea. Lite posts are good sometimes. Spring, it seems far, far away from here as well. Hope that is not the case for either of us. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. Donna says:

    was ready before winter began since we had over 5 feet of snow before Dec 21….looking longingly out the window daily..gorgeous photos

    Hi Donna, thanks. That is simply too much snow, I am sorry. It is allowed until the new year, then begone!!! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Phillip says:

    It does get old rather quickly, doesn’t it? I find that my tolerance for cold weather gets lighter every year. My feet have been freezing for weeks.

    Especially when it started so early this year, Phillip! This is not the way it is supposed to be for us. May I suggest some Smartwool socks? They are a life saver for my tootsies. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. gittan says:

    Oh, yeas we are! I’m afraid that this winter will last for ever.. (seems like it) We never have winter in november, or even december! And if/when it snows it’ll dissapear(spells?)at once. Now we’ve had snow for everal weeks and it seems like we’ll have to get used to it. Last winter lasted until april…
    Now I’ll have to take another look at your green pictures, all my pictures are locked up in my computer at home nd that one wont start.
    Big hugs gittan
    And a wish for a Happy New Year!

    Hi Gittan, it has been the same for us, winter began quite early and hasn’t let up. That is soooo not our normal weather. I fear for the rest of the winter. Oh dear about your frozen computer! I hope there is someone who can free the photos, we need them to help with our sanity! πŸ™‚
    Kram and more kram to you for a brand new year!
    Frances

  5. Gail says:

    Dear Frances, Yes, yes, yes~I am more then ready for spring! Despite the extreme weather (for us) I’ve noticed a few bulbs have begun peaking/poking out of the soil! Brave little soldiers! it’s good to see your signature azaleas~What a hint of what’s to come! xxoogail The bird house is marvelous!

    Dear Gail, thanks. So ready, words cannot describe how ready we are to be done with this frigid weather already! While the snow cover is good protection for the plants, there are jobs to be done in January to make way for the bulbs. More waiting, for a little while longer it seems. Books, magazine and blogs to the rescue!
    xxxooo
    Frances

  6. Mary Silvia says:

    mmmm – I wish….Mary

    Thanks Mary. We need to close our eyes, or look at the photo archives to even remember what the warmth will bring, flowers! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Yes, it will be nice when spring comes back to us. I was just thinking last evening when I was walking Luna that it was nice that it wasn’t in the teens just the twenties and no wind. There were stars galore out. We have had such cloudy conditions I didn’t think we would ever see the sun again let alone stars. CAn’t wait to hear those little house wrens cattering and whirring the day away.

    Hi Lisa, thanks for stopping by. Yes, I agree. The temps are relative. Last week when it got above freezing we felt like we didn’t even need a coat! Since when did 37 become balmy? The sun is such a blessing. The cats and I lay in the rays, soaking up the goodness by the windows. Our Carolina wrens are living under the deck, they are smart! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Carol says:

    One must not get too eager for Spring… there is much to learn in the dark days of Winter… like patience. It makes Spring so much better that it follows after Winter. Can you imagine not having winter?

    So true, Carol. We have lived where there was very little winter, in Southern California and Houston. We do need four distinct seasons to follow the changes of nature. But in the past, Southeast Tennessee had a more mild winter with many above freezing days and little snow. We have been transformed into the frozen tundra this year. Hope it is a temporary fling. I like looking for bulbs sticking their heads up.
    Frances

  9. Eileen says:

    So soon we forget what spring is like! Thanks for the reminders, gives us lot to look forward to.

    Eileen

    Hi Eileen, thanks for dropping by. I find seeing what the garden looks like in the warmer months is a tonic to fight this cold weather. Need to do more of it! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Desiree says:

    Where I am, we’re right into our summer (very hot, dry and windy!). We don’t have the massive contrasts from season to season that you, in the northern hemisphere experience. I know it’s icy and probably decidedly miserable for you right now, but it’s so, so beautiful – and, when spring does arrive, you have so much more to look forward to than we do. Your colours are so much more vivid, the growth so much more impressive. I guess that’s in part due to your seasons being so much shorter & so everything seems to be speeding on fast forward. I doubt you’d have quite as much breathtaking beauty to enjoy without those icy, snowclad months before the arrival of your spring πŸ˜‰

    Hi Desiree, thanks for visiting. You have nailed it, the differences in each season, with each year different from the ones before make for more interest in the weather patterns. The snow falling is what fills my photo archives for the winter months. Everything is transformed, the ugly becomes beautiful, ugly being a relative term. It certainly brings appreciation for the colors of spring. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Rose says:

    Oh, yes, I’m in that 99.99%, too! We’ve had the snowiest December on record, and while it provided lots of lovely photo ops at first, I’m ready for it to all melt away and see something green again. Though I must admit your Muhly grass even looks pretty covered with snow. Love the birdhouse!

    Hi Rose, thanks. I thought you might agree with that last shot. Too sweet and lucky I was to capture his venture into the great world outside the house for the very first time. The muhly in snow is wonderful, it has frozen solid into an upright state, almost like a wall of concrete with fluffy bits. But…enough already. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. Janet says:

    One taste of snow and I am done with it, COME ON SPRING! What a cute bird house.

    Hi Janet, thanks. Yes, the snow has lost its enchantment here as well, although I know it has helped keep the garden plants warmer and more moist. Winter has only just begun, I shudder to imagine what the rest is going to be like. My sister in law has given me several bird houses, including that one. I love them all, but seeing birds in them is thrilling to the core! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Layanee says:

    No, not quite yet. I need one month of winter…for the bulbs and the energy level, of course. Love that birdhouse.

    Hi Layanee, yes, the bulbs and lilacs need that cold spell, but hovering around 32F should do it, we don’t need to go down to teens or gasp! single digits to accomplish the chill period. Birdhouses are so fun, my sister in law has given us some great ones. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. Les says:

    Superficially I am ready for spring, especially after being dumped on by a snowstorm. Realistically, I know if I am already longing for spring and it is not yet January, how will I make it until March?

    Yes, Les, that is the way we feel here as well. How are we going to survive if this sort of weather keeps up? We need those warm snaps to help moderate. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. Kat says:

    From September to December this year just flew by for me. I’m hoping January-March does the same. Thanks for the ‘sunny’ post.

    Hi Kat, thanks. The end of the year goes into turbo speed, but we find that after things settle down from the holiday rush, time slows to a crawl. Must find a better way to occupy the daylight hours than yearning for spring. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Marguerite says:

    Love the gorgeous reds but I have to admit I love the snowy picture as well. Winter has its own charms – although it’s awfully hard to garden in it.

    Hi Marguerite, thanks. I love the snowy pictures too, it does make the garden a magical place. Then it should have the good manners to pack up and leave after a day or so. It is still on the ground here, unheard of for this area.
    Frances

  17. carolyn says:

    You call that winter, Frances?! Come on up to Chicago and we’ll show you what winter’s like πŸ™‚

    I heard a jokester on the TV talking about “how cold” it was in the South -said he saw a beagle trying to jump start a rabbit. Heh, heh.

    Spring is due to arrive here on Friday -a balmy 50 degree day which will probably last one day only.

    I was in North Carolina for Christmas and the day before it snowed I saw Pansies in bloom. I felt real Spring-like.

    Those azaleas look mighty cheerful. Reminds me of the Azalea trails in Mobile.

    Hope you get your wishes for an early end to winter.

    Happy New Year and be on the lookout for Rabbits – 2011 is their year by the Chinese zodiac.

    Hi Carolyn Gail, thanks for the offer, but no thanks! Those rabbits are already eating every single one of my strawberries, stronger measures will have to taken. Fence the strawberry patch! We too were in North Carolin for Christmas and saw a foot of snow. What a winter already, spring must be just around the corner then, right? A very happy New Year to you and yours! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. Patsi says:

    Thanks for the color !
    Yep…we’re all getting enough snow.

    Hi Patsi, thanks for checking in! Enough with the snow, and cold for us, thank you. We want our normal winter back! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. Ginny says:

    I’m afraid that winter has just begun for us. It’s usually pretty mild in my part of North Carolina right into December, though this year we had THREE December snows. Then January and February seem so dark and dreary and never-ending. I’ll be looking at all those spring photos and dreaming of warm weather!

    Hi Ginny, thanks for stopping by. I will have to do some more archive searching to help get us through until spring decides to return for real. December is not usually a bad month for us either, but this year is quite different. We still have a thick layer of snow on the garden, which is unusual but actually a good thing for moisture and insulation.
    Frances

  20. Ditto.

    I’ll be happier when the daylength increases.

    That snow that hit the eastern states has been all over the news here. It’s been a fierce start to winter in many places. My sister who lives just north of Oxford had a foot and a half of snow ten days ago. Hopefully winter won’t last too long.

    Hi Rob, thanks for visiting. We had been hearing about the snow in the UK then it hit here and moved on up to New York. What a winter is right. Hope this means it will be shorter in duration. Is it my imagination or is the angle changing of the sun? Things seem to be in sunlight now that were shady just a few weeks ago. Hope so!
    Frances

  21. Your snow, although it’s cold, is still much more beautiful than the sloppy rain and mud here. I did appreciate the photos of the berries though! Happy New Year Frances, stay warm!

    Hi CV, thanks. It is better than mud, that is true. The gravel paths were originally put in due to the massive amounts of clay mud sticking to our shoes. Now we like that they aren’t slippery when covered in snow and ice. Our weather has changed. Glad you liked the berries, I thought they were cheering. A very happy New Year to you and yours! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. Weeping Sore says:

    The reds on the cardinal and strawberries are breathtaking! Your comparisons of the seasonal changes, and your seasonal preferences had me laughing. Your persistant optimism in life and growth is heartening.
    I look forward to visiting your blog next year as you illustrate your insightful posts and share your positive outlook. May you have an abundance of life and growth in the new year.

    Hi WS, thanks for those kind words. I try to keep it lighthearted here on the blog, but am an optimist in real life too. The world is our oyster! May your 2011 be the best year ever. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Oh no! It’s almost torture to see those juicy red berries when there is nothing available (certainly not in the sterile grocery stores) to satisfy the instant cravings they caused! Love the contrast with the cardinal, though.

    Hi Eliza, thanks. Seeing the berries is painful, I agree! We are hoping for a banner year, surrounding those precious berries with rabbit fencing this time. Aren’t the cardinals the perfect bird for winter? That splash of color makes the cold much more bearable. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. Your post started toasty warm in red, then you smacked us with the the next two. LOL. They are really great images and I am sitting here chilled to the bone wishing for spring to roll back around. But, I have this feeling we are in for a long cold winter. At least your spring will hit first. Can’t wait for you spring flowers to bloom. I will still be showing ice and snow I am fearing. We have had snow in May, so sad to say.

    Hi Donna, thanks for stopping by. I do so hope spring comes soon, or at the least when it usually does in March. This winter started off the gate with a bang instead of a whimper. We are ready to say goodbye, although as you say, it probably won’t leave anytime soon.
    Frances

  25. Sweetbay says:

    Love the yellow azalea and snow-covered muhlies and the baby House Wren getting ready to leave the nest. I heard the rest of the winter is supposed to warmer and drier than December.

    Hi Sweet Bay, thanks for that good weather forecast! I sure hope it is true! While the snow is pretty, we are not used to it hanging around like an unwanted guest. May we both get that warmer remainder of winter. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. You know, as much as I sputter and mutter about winter…I’ve discovered I really need it, Frances. I need the time to regenerate, research, renew my inspiration, (save up some money for new plants, etc) and just take a resting period like most of my beloved plants. Plus through the delights of indoor gardening AND visiting other bloggers, I do get a yearround gardening fix. This post cheered my soul immeasurably, actually. Happy New Year to you and your family, and all of the Faire Gardens…

    Dear Jodi, thanks for the kind words and may you have the best year in 2011 ever! I understand the need to recharge, we need it as well, just for a shorter period. It is all what you are accustomed to. Now I remember why the blog began in December, the perfect way to reach out to other gardening/writers during the down time. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. One says:

    Beautiful shots! It’s been drizzling the whole morning and I was about to complain…till I see your post. So many of you are waiting for Spring. I just need to wait for a few hours to see sunlight and hope that it won’t be scorching hot. Let me direct some sun rays over to your area. May you have a Pleasant Winter and a Great New Year!

    Hi One, thanks for the sun rays! They are so welcome on cold but clear days. May your 2011 be the best ever! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  28. Lola says:

    Your post was so invigorating. Yes, it is much better to see blooms & new growth rather than the grays & browns. This is Mother Nature taking care of her business which we do have to accept. I think the end results are always a joy.

    Hi Lola, thanks, glad you liked it. Just a bit of fluff to end the year. This is when the photo archives are perused again and again, looking for a cheer me up and inspiration. This is also when a gardener gets very impatient for spring to come, even though winter has only just started. Anticipation is sweet. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  29. Andrea says:

    Hi Frances, since most of you are already tired of snow and winter, i am inviting you to be here with me where we are enjoying perennial summer (in your temp standards), if not personally, at least in my blogsite. Snow is alien to us and maybe to you perennial colors all year round is also alien to you! Happy New Year, may your winter be shorter and warmer.

    Hi Andrea, thanks so much for the invite, we will be taking you up on it! May you have a most wonderful 2011 in your tropical paradise. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  30. We gardeners are such an impatient lot! I am in the minority, in that like the garden by the time December arrives I need some rest. Mind you, I rather resent the lack of snow – it reveals the untidy aftermath of all the frost etc, the leaves I failed to clear up before the ice set in, everything looks dull. I am taking refuge in seed catelogues.

    Hi Janet, thanks for visiting. Yes, guilty as charged, impatient when it comes to the garden for sure. As soon as the holiday fun is over, I want to be out there, no matter the weather! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  31. Hi Frances i dont mind the cold or the snow or any storm that is to come but we have had a few days now of aftermath grey and dreary, and it is only human to pine for those days of spring sunshine…and yes i know we must be patient! Have a wonderful new year!

    Hi Michael, thanks for stopping by. I like how wonderful fresh new snow is and the insulating effect on the garden, but, of course there is a but, it should have the good sense to leave before wearing out its welcome. A very happy new year to you and yours. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  32. Thanks for the lift. Happy New Year to you!

    Hi Ricki, thanks and the best year in 2011 to you and yours! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  33. Grace says:

    Time to dig out all the photos we took last July and August and revel in the wonderfulness of it all!

    Hi Grace, so true! This is when all that filing with some kind of theme pays off in finding something to stir the imagination. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  34. Hear, hear! and Amen! on the spring wishes πŸ™‚ I think it’s unanimous πŸ™‚

    Hi Toni, thanks and welcome. Glad you are on board with the ready for spring crew! πŸ™‚
    Frances

Comments are closed.