The Big Picture


The quiet of solitude in the face of the vastness of the universe.


The awe inspired by the beauty everywhere.


Nature is omnipresent, powerful.


Serene.


To find our place in it all…


…Let us come back down to earth.


Closer to home.


Looking at our surroundings, the mystery and miracle of it all…


…And where we belong in the scheme of things.

***

Welcome to 2011, where all things are possible!

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to The Big Picture

  1. VP says:

    Happy New Year Frances! What delightful pictures to add to my dreams for 2011. Those dreams include seeing you and Gail again πŸ™‚

    Hooray, dear VP! What a fabulous dream to have, too! Thanks for visiting, which led to us meeting in Malvern last year. I do so hope to see you again. πŸ™‚
    xxxooo
    Frances

  2. gardeningasylum says:

    Good morning Frances – lovely pictures – one from Buffalo? – and poetic words to start the new year!

    Hi Cyndy, thanks, yes, the lovely pond from the museum in pouring rain. That is one of my faves. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Donna says:

    what a wonderful post to start my day..thx for the inspiration…you take such incredible photos…enjoy today and 2011…Happy new Year

    Hi Donna, thanks so much and happy 2011 to you. What a wonderful comment to start my day! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Charlotte says:

    Wonderful pictures at the beginning of the year! Look forward to many more in 2011!

    Hi Charlotte, thanks. I believe there will be a few more pictures in 2011. I look forward to seeing yours as well. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. Carol says:

    Happy New Year! Those are beautiful pictures.

    Hi Carol, thanks. A very happy new year to you as well! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. TufaGirl says:

    In deed the miracle of it all. Lovely photos to inspire the beginning of my day. Thank you.

    Thanks TufaGirl. The beginning of the year is a time of dreaming big. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. Nutty Gnome says:

    Stunning photos and inspirational words Frances – thank you so much. You’ve cheered up a rather bleak day.
    Have a very happy 2011 πŸ™‚

    Thanks Liz. I am happy to think of you being cheered. Have the best year ever in 2011! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Layanee says:

    All things are possible. You are right and believing that is the first step. Happy New Year Frances.

    Hi Layanee, thanks. Yes, you have to believe things are possible to be able to make them happen. May all your dreams come true in 2011! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Les says:

    Thanks for showing pictures from my church. It’s where I go when I need a little solace as well as when I need to celebrate. Happy 2011 to you as well.

    Thanks Les, I am glad you enjoyed seeing the photos. Looking up is often a tonic for what ails us. May you have the best year ever in 2011.
    Frances

  10. commonweeder says:

    Happy New Year Frances. These photos are just magnificent – and the turning of the new year is the perfect time to remember to hold on to the big picture.

    Thanks Pat, and happy new year to you! This is the time of year when I try to sort through things in my mind without that distracting actual gardening! HA Oh how I long to be digging in the dirt, when it is not in a frozen state. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    What a thought-full post. Can you imagine being able to balance on something so small? Aren’t cats amazing.?.

    Hi Lisa, thanks so much. It hurts my backside just to look at Kitty on that post. He is kind of spilling over the sides! HA
    Frances

  12. Barbara H. says:

    Thank you, Frances. I told my sister the other day that we are in the dead of winter, a time for contemplation. Looks like you and the cat are on right top of that concept! The pictures, as always, are lovely and inspiring – more so with the words you’ve added to them.

    Hi Barbara, and my thanks to you for those kind words. We are forced by circumstances beyond our control to sit back and do some quiet thinking. For many of us, that means thinking about gardening, what else would we think about? HA πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Gail says:

    Dear Frances, Luscious photos and the perfect prose for a crisp day when we are all dreaming of warm days and gardens! Do I see a photo from Buffa10!? I am SO hoping we get to see VP and Victoria this summer! xxoogail Kitty looks so comfy on his perch!

    Dear Gail, thanks. Yes, that is the wonderful pond from the museum we visited in Buffalo. This summer is VERY full of promise, I agree! Kitty looks a little like Jabba The Hut on that fence post. HA πŸ™‚
    xxxooo
    Frances

  14. Dave says:

    Happy New Year Frances! Great pictures!

    Happy 2011 to you as well, Dave! Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. Happy 2011 Frances, and thank you for sharing those lovely images.

    Hi Janet, thanks to you for visiting. I am glad you liked them. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Oh my gosh, these are gorgeous and I love the words you wrote to describe each image. I hope to believe that all things are possible in 2011. This is an inspiring and insightful group of words. It is such a treat dropping in almost each morning for a day brightener. I am glad I subscribe.

    Hi Donna, how kind you are with this praise, thank you. The beginning of a new year is so full of promise and hope, it is hard to be glum now. Going through the photos with the intent of illustrating a point can be fruitful. Images trigger all kinds of ideas. I am glad you subscribe too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Nancy says:

    Ah… from the sublimely beautiful to the wonderful. Nothing like a Cat to ground one in reality, while inspiring one to wonder what he’s contemplating….

    Hi Nancy, thanks so much. Our boy Kitty always helps to keep our feet on the ground when our thoughts are soaring high. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. Your post is a great way to start the new day and new year. Magnificent photos! I came back just to enjoy them again.

    Hi Patsy, thanks so much for coming back! I appreciate your kind words. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. I love this post, it speaks such truth. The images are fabulous too.

    Hi MMD, thanks so much. I appreciate your kind words. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. Happy New Year to you, Frances! Your cat has definitely found his place in the scheme of things.

    Hi Ricki, thanks and the same good wishes to you and yours. Mister Kitty is comfortable in his own skin, and in the garden! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. Catherine says:

    I enjoyed every picture, each one has it’s one feeling about it which made me want to look at them longer.
    I hope you and your family have a very happy and healthy new year!

    Hi Catherine, thanks. I am glad you felt the big picture vibe in this post. Now is the time to think about things, since we can’t garden in frozen soil. May you and yours have the best year ever in 2011! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. Teresa says:

    Beautiful images Frances, I especially love the cloud photo. happy new year to you and yours.

    Hi Teresa, thanks and the same good wishes back to you and yours. These are some of my favorite photos too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Tatyana says:

    Wonderful images! Very uplifting! Thank you Frances and all the best in 2011!

    Hi Tatyana, thanks so much. May you have a wonderful year in 2011! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. Clementine Moonflower says:

    Your pictures are beautiful beyond measure! I love this theme from macrocosm to microcosm that goes along with the photos. Great post!

    Hi Clementine, thanks. I am glad you enjoyed this look from large to small. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. Barbara says:

    Your photographs are an inspiration just to see. thank you for sharing your gift, your artistic eye with all of us

    Hi Barbara, thanks. I appreciate your kind words, you are too sweet. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. Town Mouse says:

    Ah, what a perfect thing, after the first day back at work. Thanks so much, and best wishes for the new year.

    Hi Town Mouse, thanks. May 2011 be the best year ever for you and yours. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. gittan says:

    Ah, beautiful pictures that I really enjoy a day like this when Mr. Winter still holds us in his grip, the sun won’t shine and snow keeps falling outside my window…
    Kram gittan

    Hi Gittan, thanks so much. Falling snow is so beautiful, but it would get tiring after a while, we are learning about that this winter here as well. Stay warm, my friend! πŸ™‚
    Kram
    Frances

  28. Phillip says:

    Great post and wonderful photos!

    Thanks Phillip. I am glad you enjoyed it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  29. Rose says:

    Beautiful photos, Frances, and such a thought-provoking post! So lovely and inspiring, I almost hate to make light of it, but the last photo made me smile and made me think–sometimes I think my place in the universe is to be head maid to my four-legged friends:)

    Hi Rose, thanks. Do feel free to make light of it, or any post on Fairegarden. Nearly all of them contain some tongue in cheek attempts at humor. Kitty on the post is supposed to be funny. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  30. All wonderful photos! My faves are the top two and the last one. I always love oceans, clouds and of course, cats. Happy New Year!

    Thanks Helen. I love oceans and clouds too. You cannot take a bad photo of either! Kitty is quite photogenic as well. a very happy 2011 to you and yours. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  31. Very beautiful photos.

    Thanks and welcome. I am glad you enjoyed them. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  32. Lola says:

    Beautiful pics as usual Frances. I so enjoy seeing more of our universe through your lens/eyes.

    Thanks Lola. I am glad you enjoy the views! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  33. makarimi says:

    Stunning photos…so peaceful. Wish be there to feel the nature. Thanks for dropping by my blog.

    Hi Makarimi, thanks and welcome. I also grow orchids, so had to peek at what was going on there! Good stuff! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  34. Linda says:

    Happy New Year Frances. The photos and words are beautiful and powerful, what a wonderful way to start the new year. Thanks!

    Hi Linda, thanks so much. May you have a wonderful year in 2011! πŸ™‚
    Frances

Comments are closed.