The Thrill Of It All


The romance of the falling fluff from the sky is over.


There is no more thrill to the flakes.


They are now simply a nuisance.


But time was when the heart raced at the forecast, the radar screen would be checked frequently to see how close was the system carrying the magic.


No more is there excitement at the thought of it.


Only heavy hearted sighs.


As we dream of warmer waves of white.

Frances

This entry was posted in weather, wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to The Thrill Of It All

  1. Frances again you have put up some wonderful photographs. But why the heavy heart? It still looks magical!

    Thanks for stopping by and those kind words. The snow is very beautiful, but like houseguests and fish, after three days it begins to smell! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. You’re fed up of the white stuff, I’m fed up of the wet stuff! I plan to distract myself from the grey dank outdoors and all the things I want to be getting on with once the soil is dryer by ordering flowering plant seed and sowing some sweet peas in the greenhouse. Hope you feel cheerier soon.

    Hi Janet, so true and thanks. So far I resisted the seed sowing inside, but will be taking cuttings in a few weeks to grow on. And maybe a few seeds. In the meantime, there is still a blanket of snow, not as deep as it was but still there, in my garden. I am ready for it to be gone! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Sue says:

    I’m still happy with winter for the most part-but I know that feeling will disappear by the end of February!
    Your photo’s have an almost “magical” feel about them. Just lovely!

    Hi Sue, thanks so much. The snow is absolutely beautiful, there is no doubt to it. But that is not they way of winter where we live, ever. The snow is supposed to come, be enchanting, then go, in a very short time span. The snow did not get that memo! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Sylvia (England) says:

    Frances, I know just what you mean, the snow we had in December was lovely for a very short time then it over stayed its welcome! Lovely pictures, especially the first one which shows the structure of this part of your garden.

    Congratulation on your mention in this months English Garden – have you noticed and increase in readers?

    Best wishes Sylvia (England)

    Hi Sylvia, thanks so much. The kind mention in English Garden was a wonderful surprise. There do seem to be a few more readers since then. We shall see it they keep coming by to read the thrice weekly posts. We had that December snow as well, it was magical and quite deep when we went over the mountain to North Carolina. Sadly, it is still there!
    xxoo
    Frances

  5. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Welcome to my world Frances. Your area always gets warmer before mine. This year you are getting a taste of the North. Hang in there. Those other waves of white will soon be on the heels of this winter white.

    You have a lovely world, Lisa, now take it back, please! I am so hoping this year is an anomoly, one time only event, but fear that your prediction may be true. One of the reasons we chose to live here was the relatively mild and short in duration winter. Old Man Winter has reneged on the contract! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. alistair says:

    I know exactly how you feel. Its like having your great aunt visiting and staying for a fortnight, youve had enough after a week.

    Hi Alistair, thanks for the encouraging words. The snow used to be a rare and cherished event here. Now, when I look out the curtains and see that it is STILL HERE, I cringe. It is supposed to melt this week. My fingers are crossed! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. gail says:

    Dear Frances, I so understand how you feel~We need to be able to get out into our gardens and experience it with all our senses~not, just viewing it from inside. It’s past it’s sell by date and worn out its welcome, but, your photos have captured its beauty. xxoogail

    Hi Gail, thanks. I know that you know that I know that you know…. Even though the temps have been warm enough to work outdoors, I cannot see the garden under this blanket of white stuff that just won’t go away. It is that much harder to accept. Maybe today it will melt enough so that I can see the earth. I need to see dirt! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Layanee says:

    I understand perfectly. It gets old fast although I haven’t even seen it yet. How many days until spring? Must count them.

    Thanks for the shoulder to cry on, Layanee! We have bits of spring interspersed with winter, usually, through the first three months of the year. Maybe we will see some plants, dead or alive, soon! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Donna says:

    lovely thoughts of white…I am tired of the cold white..ready for the warm white

    Hi Donna, thanks. Warm white does sound delicious, doesn’t it? πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Darla says:

    Oh but the treasures you will find once it all melts away..

    …and they will be that much more dear because we had to wait so long for them. Thanks for putting it into perspective, Darla. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Wimp. Not that I haven’t given thoughts to a winter home further south for my decrepitude.

    Are you trying to help me stay warm by riling me up, Christopher, with that name calling? You aren’t saying I am in my decrepitude are you? That might really give me a hot head! HA You are in much more of a winter wonderland than we are. Tennessee is our Southern winter home now! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. One says:

    Your warm wave of white is gorgeous. May your wish come true.

    Hi One, thanks so much. A sea of white flowers, and the wildlife that they attract are something to dream about until it becomes a reality. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Valerie says:

    It is beautiful to look at in small doses. Unfortunately we have to look at it for many months and this week we are in the deep freeze.

    Hi Valerie, I agree. I am so sorry for your deep freeze. Our temps have warmed back up, and yet the snow remains on my north facing slope. The sun can’t hit at the angle of optimum warmth to melt the snow and ice. I just went out to put a letter in the mailbox and had to come back inside because the shoveled sidewalk is a sheet of black ice. It looks cleared but is treacherous. I will have to go around the back and through the gravel to get to the street. Yikes!
    Frances

  14. Keep telling yourself it won’t be long now, and all that wonderful snow cover is good for the garden? Okay, maybe not. I have a low tolerance for snow when it sticks around so I feel for you.~~Dee

    Thanks Dee. I am trying very hard to find a silver lining to this cloud of snow that remains here. The plants are protected from the cold and getting plenty of moisture from it. I wonder if that Cilantro is still alive under there? We had a good patch of it before the snow came.
    Frances

  15. commonweeder says:

    We have a couple of months of white landscape ahead of us and I hold on to the thought that it is good insulation – and poor man’s fertilizer.

    Hi Pat, that is a good thought to hold onto! I didn’t know about the poor man’s fertilizer, will look into that. It will help to think of the garden snacking under that white blanket. We are not used to seeing it for more than a day or so, must adjust! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Donna says:

    I feel the same way. We are caught with the snow circling our area. It has been continually snowing for days. Pretty, yes, but an end would be nice. I loved the photos of your garden, so peaceful and renewing. If you want to see some very cold images I took a week ago, stop into GWGT today if you have time. Brrrr.

    Hi Donna, thanks for the support. I know it must be very much colder there and will stop by to check it out! We are not supposed to be this snowy, it is in the rules! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. I’m sorry you’re tired of it. Looks lovely to me.

    Hi MMD, thanks for the sympathy. It was lovely while it was coming down. It is supposed to leave gracefully and has been hanging on and hanging on and hanging on…you get the idea. It is not the way snow behaves down here. Breaking the rules!!! HA
    Frances

  18. Liz says:

    Hi Frances,

    I share your feelings on snow, I used to love it coming and wish for deep snow but the past year we’ve had too much and now I dread it coming.

    It does look beautiful though, but I can’t help looking at my photos from the past year and wish for sunny and warm days full of colour.
    They will come soon enough, and for now we can dream of the months to come!

    Hi Liz, thanks so much. What is the expression, distance makes the heart grow fonder? The snow needs to make itself a little more scarce, like in normal years, for us to appreciate it more. The photos from warmer times do help get us through winter, even before there was blogging in my life. Let us dream together! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. Melanie says:

    Oh, but it is all so lovely!! Photographs as usual are stunning!! I am still in love with this winter white πŸ™‚

    Hi Melanie, thanks. The snow is quite photogenic, especially when it first falls. It is not so lovely now, and not that white either. HA πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. easygardener says:

    I sympathise – you can indeed have too much of a good thing. Let’s hope it all goes quickly. I hate it when it turns all grey and slushy and hangs around like that unwanted visitor!

    Hi EG, thanks for the sympathy. A visitor that has overstayed is the perfect analogy for this snowfall. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. Eileen says:

    You’re right Frances, I wish it was over, but I’m afraid we are in for a lot more in zone 5. I will enjoy your postings of an early spring for me.

    Eileen

    Hi Eileen, thanks. It seems that we have moved northward to your zone 5 here! I hope our spring comes on time. We have had crocuses blooming on this date in previous years. I doubt they are blooming under that snow cover, but perhaps a warm day will wake everything back up once there is melting. That is a good thought to look forward to. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. Lona says:

    It doesn’t take long does it? LOL! I am so over it after the first one. I love to see it in other bloggers pictures from afar. It always looks so beautiful in other peoples gardens. LOL!

    Hi Lona, I am with you on that! The photos of the snowfall are full of magic. The reality after more than a week of it on the ground is less magical and sort of annoying! HA πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Janet says:

    OH SO TRUE!

    You too, Janet? I am so sorry! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. Cinj says:

    Yes, that’s for sure. On the bright side at least we have enough snow to blanket the plants against the upcoming freezing temps. I can’t wait until spring!

    Hi Cinj, thanks for stopping by. Our plants don’t know what to do with that snow cover, I hope they can breathe! Spring, please come soon, we love you! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. Lola says:

    The most annoying part of nature is lots of snow in the idle times of it’s production. It provides the constant moisture & protection that our beloved plants need in order to please us for the time coming.
    I remember your blog of long past & saw the snow covered plants of then. It looks just as pretty now as it did then many years ago.

    Hi Lola, thanks. I really like the snow, it is pretty and good for the plants. It is supposed to leave quickly but forgot to do so this time around. It is STILL HERE even with temps above freezing. Maybe soon it will leave. Thank you for those kind words and your loyal readership! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. Kathy says:

    Yes, you have to be a hardy soul indeed to take a whole winter (mid-November to mid-March) of the stuff.

    Hi Kathy, hardy indeed! You are way hardier than I am! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. Rosie says:

    To me the visual impact of your images of winter are just spectacular. What you dread, is what I appreciate. But I guess three months of winter is enough.
    Rosie

    Hi Rosie, thanks for visiting. I love the way it looks, the snow, in the beginning, as these pictures illustrate. But after more than a week, it is less than lovely and a pain in the patoot! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  28. Randy Emmitt says:

    Frances,

    I feel for you on this one! So far we have had 5 snow events and February is usually when we get snow. Lets hope for higher temps and gentle rains from here on.

    Hi Randy, thanks. We normally have the same type of late winter snows that come and go very quickly, like you. This winter is already one for the record books here. According to my journals from previous years, I should be cutting stuff back and even moving plants now. I don’t think there will be any digging, but I would like to continue the cutting, anyway. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  29. gittan says:

    Amen to that! We’ve had a thick snowcover these last two months and we’ve had enough! Even the beauty is gone it’s only sighs when it keeps falling … But these last days the temperature has raised and the snow is (finaly) melting away. Looking out the window I’m even abel to spot some grass – Hurray!!! But I believe that this isn’t the end of winter just yeat. Februari always brings some snow but I’ll keep my fingers krossed hoping that it won’t stay for long.
    Trippelkram gittan

    Dear Gittan, enough is right! It seems odd that we might have more snow in the garden in southeast Tennessee than you do in Sweden! Winter is not over for either of us, but perhaps we will both see some earth soon, before the next snow event covers it up.
    KramKramKram to you,
    Frances

  30. Rose says:

    Northeners couldn’t agree with you more, Frances. By January, I say, “Enough already!” But I like your quote from Shakespeare in your first comment better:) Your garden still looks beautiful in the snow, and actually I’m not tired of seeing snow photos on blogs–just not in my yard anymore:)

    Hi Rose, thanks. I didn’t know that was Shakespeare! It sounds more like Will Rogers! HA The photos of snow are wonderful and lovely, the snow that remains, YES IT IS STILL THERE!, is not appreciated by any around here. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  31. Cindy, MCOK says:

    Fairegarden is so lovely in the snow that I thought about how I’d love to see Wit’s End blanketed in white. Briefly & fleetingly I thought about it. Enough winter already!

    Hi Cindy, thanks. I would love to see your garden under a white blanket, too. One that would be gone in a day would be much more appreciated. Ah, like the good old days. HA πŸ™‚
    Frances

  32. Too right – we had three or four weeks – which is a lot for us – and i was so glad to see the backof it – and it ripped my guttering down !

    Hi Henry, thanks for visiting. I am sorry about your guttering, we had some damage of the same sort here. Boo!
    Frances

  33. Benjamin says:

    Heavy hearted sighs? I’d kill for a big snowstorm! We’ve had so little precip here this winter, I worry. Esp worry about snow protecting plants in looming subzero temps. Send in the snow!

    You are welcome to all of our snow, Benjamin! It is still hanging around in some places even after a warming rain, with more in the forecast. Acckkk! I hope you get some as well, it certainly does a good job of protecting the plants. Our plants never have that luxury blanket, but seemed to like it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  34. Jake says:

    Beautiful! I love snow!

    Hi Jake, thanks. It is pretty in the beginning, not so much after a week or so. To me, anyway. Glad you like it, you must be getting some about now. πŸ™‚
    Frances

Comments are closed.