Moss Free Bird-You Cannot Change


Moss grows with abandon on the north facing slope that is Fairegarden.


Not like the moss in England that we saw at Hampton Court Castle, but still green in the wintry depths of greys and browns.


Mr. McGregor’s Daughter has been thinking about moss recently as well. The color really does grab your attention.


It grows on the soil, on rock and on the old bricks that are used to line the paths in the knot garden.


The moss pays no nevermind to snow and ice.


It creates a miniature landscape on an old concrete block.


After noticing that the moss was even trying to colonize the metal barrel rings…


…An idea was sparked. We had poked and prodded and shaped some old rusty chickenwire left over from squirrel barricade duty into an impressionist style bird. The reddish brown was completely invisible in the landscape. The thought was hatched to pad the shape with moss and wrap nylon fishing line around to hold it in place.


Perhaps the moss would even adhere and grow on the metal mesh. There was soil added along with the velvety velour.


It was worth giving a go, who knows what will happen? Already our feathered friends are enjoying having a soft landing perch while they wait their turn at the feeders. And what we have here, gentle readers, is a Free Bird.

Frances

This entry was posted in Projects, Seasonal Chores. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Moss Free Bird-You Cannot Change

  1. Sue says:

    How creative! I love it!

    Hi Sue, thanks. It makes me happy to see it as we gaze upon the bird feeders. That bright green in winter is a tonic to our soul. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. I love moss, so strokeable. Hope your new mossy friend thrives!

    Hi Janet, thanks. I love moss as well. In winter it reminds us that there is life in the garden still, it is just napping. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Donna says:

    Frances how clever…I have always loved moss and let it grow where it wishes especially on brick and along my older trees…so beautiful!!

    Hi Donna, thanks. I have seen mossy forms of flora and fauna before, but they were too expensive to come home with me. I love that this one was free. There will be more, I hope! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Randy Emmitt says:

    Frances,
    Very cool, have you just made it or has in had time to weather in? I like it a lot!

    Hi Randy, thanks. I just made it. I am hoping it will fill in, or at the least stay green. Don’t know what it will do in summer, but the spot is more shady when the tree leafs out. It can be moved to a shadier spot if needed. It is on the daylily hill, might look good with daylily blooms around it, or they might be too tall and hide it.
    Frances

  5. Layanee says:

    I think you have a beautiful bird forever at your feeders. I adore moss. It grows with abandon here also.

    Hi Layanee, thanks. I am glad to hear you have, and love your moss. In winter, when there is no snow cover, it shines like emerald jewels in the landscape. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. Moss Rocks! I love those glass balls too. I want a bunch of them for my fountain area.

    Hi Helen, thanks. The glass balls came from a seashell shop in Charleston, SC. They are fishing floats in a previous life. Moss rocks rock! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    It is amazing how moss seems to thrive under the snow. It is the first thing to perk up and scream green when the snow melts away. I love the way those purple things grow out of the moss by the head in your one photo. I would love to have a mossy area in my garden.On the north side there is a little. It washes into this area from across the street. I would love to have one of those Free Birds in my garden. Have a great weekend.

    Hi Lisa, thanks for joining in here. The green of the moss around Athena was blinding as the the snow melted. I don’t remember it ever looking so green before. It really does love the snow. My bird form is very poor, I know, but at least it sort of looks like a bird. I am sure you could make a fine one! You too have a wonderful weekend. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. gail says:

    Dear Frances, Love, love, love your mossy free bird and not just ’cause I love moss! It’s a great shape and very inspiring. (Chicken wire is affordable and all the big box stores carry it! Is that a 4 foot piece of rebar staking it up?) The mossy photos are lovely… and seeing the Hampton Court waterfall is a delicious reminder od our trip to the UK gardenbloggers meetup! xxoogail ps The grotto was gorgeous.

    Dear Gail, thanks. If only my hands were stronger, I could shape things better, but will learn with each project how best to use tools, etc. It is a 4 ft piece of rebar. I might need to wrap it with something, it has chicken wire around it already. The memories of our England trip will last a lifetime, helped along by photos. πŸ™‚
    xxxooo
    Frances

  9. Frances, I love your moss. We have some here too although not as much. I want to smear it on my concrete bedding blocks to give them some age. I may do that this spring. The problem is it gets so dry here.~~Dee

    Hi Dee, thanks. The moss is finally growing on our bedding blocks here, but the fact that they face north helps alot. In dry summers, the moss kind of browns up, winter is its best time to shine. Good luck with yours, perhaps buttermilk?
    Frances

  10. That’s great! I hope the moss does start growing on its new frame (love the idea of the birds perching on it, too).

    Thanks for the music videos as well, I’d never seen/heard that Phish version.

    Your comment was in the spam filter, there may have been others for previous posts that got caught in there, sorry! I appreciate your noticing the videos. I might spray some buttermilk on the free bird to help get things going. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. That is brilliant! The bird looks great and gives the same effect as a topiary without all the work. I might have to try that.
    Thanks for the link love!

    Hi MMD, thanks and just returning the favor for some mossy linkage! I agree, way easier than topiary. Let us hope the moss takes a hold and grows enough to cover the fishing line. Winter is the best time for it.
    Frances

  12. Janet says:

    I like moss. It has such interesting form and is most surprising when the little spore heads pop up. Your bird is pretty cool….Free Bird indeed. hahahaahaha

    Hi Janet, thanks. I love all of our moss, there are various kinds if one looks very closely. They will be sporing soon. Glad you got the joke. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Rose says:

    Love your ‘free bird’, Frances! I’m sure the birds visiting your feeders must appreciate this comfy resting spot as well. Very creative–I think Lynyrd Skynyrd would be impressed, too:)

    Hi Rose, thanks so much. The birds do like it, and might be adding a little fertilizer of their own to help it grow! Happy to hear your understand the joke. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. Alison says:

    Another moss lover here. That moss bird is so creative. Here in the PNW we don’t (currently) have any snow on the ground, in fact, I’ve been out the last couple of days pulling weeds and cutting back. My eye, of course, is drawn immediately to anything green while out hunting for weeds to pull, and I had to keep reminding myself not to pull the moss!

    Also, that is a lovely picture of the slope with the moss and the grasses growing out of it, with the face plaque and the stone stairs.

    Hi Alison, thanks for visiting and joining the conversation. Your weather sounds similar to ours. We work out there whenever weather allows us to, then are stuck inside when it doesn’t cooperate. The green of the moss was astonishing when our snow melted. It had never looked so green.
    Frances

  15. Benjamin says:

    I’ve been thinking about ordering moss, since it doesn’t seem to be going on its own. This simply confirms my desire for moss. I’m both angry and happy with you, Frances. πŸ™‚

    Hi Benjamin, I am sorry. The moss is welcome here, and was a surprise the first winter after we moved in. Because the slope faces north, I think that affects how prolific it is, and the age of the property. Old cement blocks were covered in moss and I spread it all over. The spores must be in the soil where there has been no mulch applied to cover them. Perhaps you can find some soil that contains some moss and spread it about?
    Frances

  16. patientgardener says:

    I have lots of moss in my garden where there should be lawn. I was only thinking today that I might deepen the borders in this area and have lots of woodland moisture loving plants instead or maybe I should go for a Japanese moss garden!!

    Hi Helen, you are lucky! It sounds like the moss is trying to tell you to do the woodland there. A moss garden would be sublime. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Lona says:

    Hi Frances. I love the moss on the slope with your face statue.So pretty around the rocks. I like the bird idea and it looks good now to me. Have a wonderful weekend.

    Hi Lona, thanks for stopping by. We love seeing the moss in the bleak colors of winter, green is so soothing to the eye. You too have a great weekend. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. Lola says:

    Gotta love that moss. It does give us green in winter. Really like that third pic.
    Hope your bird works. That is an ingenious idea.

    Hi Lola, thanks. That third pic is the view from the lazboy in the addition. It was tweaked and retweaked for years to get it like that. I see room for some more tweaking, too. Of course. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. Les says:

    We have a lot of people come into the garden center looking to rid their lawns of moss. I cringe a little every time I hear this, but I listen patiently before trying to talk them out of it. When I go over what will have to be done to change the conditions that promote moss, they usually settle for enjoying it, or at least tolerating it.

    Hi Les, thanks for adding in here. Education to the lawn loving public about the benefits of moss, it is so beautiful! must be a hard row to hoe. Thank you for for what you are doing for moss-kind. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. Carol says:

    How creative. I don’t have that much moss in my garden, but I hope for more as it continues to age from farm field to suburban lot to whatever it is becoming now.

    Hi Carol, thanks. I am not sure why we have so much moss here, we also had tons of it in our other Tennessee garden. North facing and shade, moisture but good drainage seem to be the conditions it loves best. Here’s to more moss in your future! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. cheryl says:

    ooooo Frances, I love your mossy bird. I have a huge metal dragonfly in my garden and I just may take the hint.
    I dug up all the grass paths in my garden two years and let moss take over. It’s a shady garden so there’s no problem with it growing. Even the neighbours are use to seeing me scraping it off the side drive to transplant elsewhere πŸ˜‰
    I also love the glass balls in your water. I’ve been buying gold, silver, and clear Christmas balls to toss into The Pond. They give the effect of giant bubbles bobbing along. The reflections when the lights are turned on are very pretty at night. πŸ™‚

    Hi Cheryl, thanks so much. Your mossy path sounds divine. I am glad to hear you have plenty of it and good luck with the dragonfly. The sparkling balls in your pond sound wonderful. What a beautiful garden yours must be. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. I love that moss bird and I just may copy you, I have the perfect spot for one out behind the pond.

    I love macro pictures of moss, it is a universe in and of itself.

    Hi Hands, thanks. Feel free to copy all you want, I am honored. You are so right about the moss macros, they look alive! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Jenn says:

    Who knew moss could be so beautiful! The pictures are stunning.

    Hi Jenn, thanks. When the last big snow melted, seeing the green moss was nearly blinding in brilliance. That is where our green comes from in winter. We are thankful for every scrap of moss here. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. Pingback: *I Can’t Art* « Fairegarden

  25. Pingback: Miracles, Mystery and Wonder | Fairegarden

Comments are closed.