Adios January 2011

The Fairegarden bids you farewell.

À bientôt (French)

Sayonara (Japanese)

Euphorbia x martinii ‘Ascot Rainbow’

Auf Wiedersehen (German)

Arrivederci (Italian)

Calluna vulgaris ‘Firefly’

Hejdå (Swedish)

Vinca minor ‘Illumination’

Aloha (Hawaiian)

If anyone knows what this is…

It’s been real… (Sonny Crockett, Miami Vice, Don Johnson version)

False red yucca , Hesperaloe parviflora and black mondo grass, Ophiopogon planiscapus

…Now begone, before someone drops a house on you! (Glinda, Good Witch of the North)

Thanks, Lynn!

Onward to February!

Hamamelis x intermedia ‘Arnold Promise’

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Adios January 2011

  1. Liz says:

    Hi,

    So exciting to see the Witchhazel’s bud beginning to burst! I can imagine the perfume from here 🙂

    I hope February brings plenty of new growth to your garden!

    Hi Liz, thanks for those good wishes, and the same back to you. The Witch hazels are later this year, but there are lots of buds ready to go. January is always so long, we are glad to say goodbye to it. 🙂
    Frances

  2. gardeningasylum says:

    Oh yes Frances, this month can’t leave soon enough. Lovely darling Arnold, who usually keeps his promises 🙂

    Hi Cyndy, thanks. Arnold and Diane are ready, I hope, to lift the spirits of winter. As with every year about this time, we wonder why we haven’t planted more Witch Hazels. 🙂
    Frances

  3. That was somewhat heartfelt! At least February is short, and then on to March, by which time we will all be feeling the pressure and complaining there is not enough time to get everything done!

    Hi Janet, yes, heartfelt! February can play with our affections here, with roller coaster temperature changes, but it is short and we have several family birthdays to celebrate then. March, ahhh, just the thought of it swells our spirits. 🙂
    Frances

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Adios January 2011 « Fairegarden -- Topsy.com

  5. Carol says:

    Onward to February… oh is that spring I spy on the other side of February? I’m sure glad it is a short month!

    Hi Carol, I certainly hope so, we are ready for spring to begin showing us peeks of its lovely self. I do feel that getting January out of the way is a big first step. Check! 🙂
    Frances

  6. Les says:

    Yes, good riddance, but unlike Carol, I know that February is often the longest month of the year, especially for gardeners.

    Hi Les, so true. We have a bunch of family birthdays in February and try to have a get together to celebrate, and there is that football game thingey, and Valentine’s day that involves chocolate, so February is welcome here. The garden can delight with early bloomers like Witch hazels, Edgeworthia and Hellebores, crocus and daffodils, so it is not too bad here. 🙂
    Frances

  7. Valerie says:

    I am happy that January is behind us too. February is just as dark and snowy but it is that much closer to spring.

    Hi Valerie, thanks for visiting. Somehow, here anyway, February offers more light with a longer time until sunset. We have already noticed it staying light longer. Such a wonderful thing, that sunlight. 🙂
    Frances

  8. Chickenpoet says:

    Since the picture of the unknown
    Does not poop or pee
    My knowledge is very limited
    of what it could turn out to be.
    But the picture looks familar
    and makes me want to growl
    Many times I have tried to rid
    this weedacious predator on the prowl.
    Love, CP

    Dear Chickenpoet, so nice to see you in high form!!! I will keep a close watch on the unknown, fearing it a type of dandelion, but the foliage is so pretty with that winter purple. There are three of them growing in the gravel path of the knot garden where they can be easily pulled. I do love the foliage shape. They might even be natives. 🙂
    Much love,
    Frances

  9. gail says:

    Dear Frances, I am so ready to boot January out the door~But, I fear that Old Man Winter is still with us~Witch hazel are poised to bloom here, too. Yippee. I think the unknown plant Could be a lyre leaf sage. xxoogail

    Dear Gail, Thanks for the support. Winter is not done with us yet, but he cannot stop the march of time. The days are longer, the sun, when it shines, is warmer, the bulbs and witch hazels are moving onward. Spring will not be stopped. Lyre leaf sage is a wonderful plant, it was here already when we moved in. 🙂
    xxxooo
    Frances

  10. Rose says:

    I join you in saying a hearty goodbye to January, Frances, whatever language you choose, with a smile at Sonny Crockett’s version:) But February appears to be entering with a vengeance–a big winter storm is forecast here tomorrow. Looking forward to seeing ‘Arnold’ in bloom.

    Once again, Rose, you get the references, thanks for being such a thorough reader. Do stay warm and safe with the remains of Old Man Winter bearing down on your area! 🙂
    Frances

  11. I am so happy to bid January good bye. Another foot of snow by Wednesday, but 30 mph winds expected, hoping no blizzard of ’77. The plants are toasty at least under their blanket. It will be fun to see the plants again, soon I hope. At least blog garden plants are here to tide me over.

    Hi Donna, thanks for joining in the goodbye party for January. Do take care and stay warm while winter blasts away at your part of the country. We did notice how happy the plants had been under the blanket of snow we had before, something that has never occurred here since we have been in this house. The green never looked better and even the brown and grey leaves and twigs were welcome. 🙂
    Frances

  12. I love that Calluna ‘firefly’…it looks fantastic in January. Life of the party, almost! I have had a difficult time with Heather but I love it. See you on the other side, Frances. (of this month, I mean!)

    HA Jan, you gave me a chuckle, there, thanks! We have pulled up most all of the heaths and heathers for various reasons, but Firefly is a keeper. No other Calluna has that winter color.
    Frances

  13. I love the promise of the Hammamelis buds.

    Hi MMD, me too. Often the bud and its promise holds more joy that the actual bloom. An-tic-i-pa-tion… 🙂
    Frances

  14. Onward is right and good riddance – ‘cept it looks kinda nice in Faire garden right now. I want to grow Calluna vulgaris ‘Firefly’. I’ve not seen it locally.

    Hi Helen, thanks. There are pockets of pretty in the Fairegarden right now, the camera knows best where to look. Firefly was mail ordered from a now defunct heather nursery. It is worth seeking out, it does the best of them all here.
    Frances

  15. Marguerite says:

    Your witchhazel buds are looking about ready to burst!! oooh I’m jealous. Now is when I miss a warmer climate. We’re headed into another snow storm and you lucky duck are getting ready for blooms.

    Hi Marguerite, thanks. The witch hazels are normally already fully open by this time, they are late. There will still be cold winter weather for us, but spring is coming anyway. 🙂
    Frances

  16. Janet says:

    Think January is going out with a bang….looking at the weather maps for today…yuck!
    I saw that Euphorbia in a garden here in Greenwood and really like it. Sure wish the Calluna vulgaris would do well here, but I don’t think it can handle our summers. Hope the snow misses you today.

    Hi Janet, thanks. It seems the weather channel is on high alert for many of us. The Euphorbia is new to us as of last fall. I am loving it and hope it spreads. That genus does well here. The Callunas can be tricky. We have been more than happy with Firefly.
    Frances

  17. Sharon Parker says:

    You gave me a scare at first glance, when I thought that Fairegarden was saying “good-bye”, just when I have recently discovered you! So glad you are only bidding adieu to January. But let’s remember to enjoy February! I’ll share a favorite quote,

    “China tea, the scent of hyacinths,
    wood fires and bowls of violets—
    that is my mental picture of an agreeable February afternoon.”
    ~ Constance Spry

    The above is from Simple Abundance by Sarah Ban Breathnach

    I love your snow-topped acorn birdfeeder!

    Hi Sharon, thanks so much for being scared! Glad you read on to find out the rest of the story, and so glad you offered that wonderful quote, evocative of the best February has to offer. Let us enjoy every single day, for there is something wonderful in each, if we only look for it. The bird feeder is a Christmas gift from my dear sister in law. I love it, too. 🙂
    Frances

  18. Eileen says:

    I am so glad to say goodbye to January but not so anxious to say hello to February. They are predicting up to two feet of snow for Wednesday, yikes! Love that Firefly, I will have to check and see if I can grow it.

    Eileen

    Hi Eileen, thanks for stopping by. It seems there is some kind of huge weather maker bearing down on us. I hope you can stay safe and warm. Go to the store and get milk and toilet paper! 🙂
    Frances

  19. Lona says:

    LOL! I am so glad to be seeing what seems to be the longest month disappear from the calendar. Toot-a-lou and don’t let the door hit you on the way out!

    Hi Loan, I am with you on that! January seems to drag on longer than the other months for us. Maybe it is the after holiday let down, the cold weather with so much winter still left. Turning the page to February with the touches of spring of the witch hazels and some early bulbs makes a gardener’s heart soar, or this one anyway. 🙂
    Frances

  20. We still have one day of January left here and I fear that it is going to be a doozy of a weather day, what with the freezing rain and snow and dropping temperatures we have been promised. But February must be better; I think we will have crocuses.

    And for the first time, my baby witch hazel is blooming. I’m stoked.

    Hi Hands, thanks for visiting. Hooray for your witch hazel, there is nothing as exciting as those first blooms of the year here. Crocus help pass the time until the big spring show as well. I hope your weather is not as bad as the predicitons.
    Frances

  21. May I join you in wishing them a fond fare thee well? We’re supposed to have nine inches of snow on the ground tomorrow. I’m so excited! Not.~~Dee

    Hi Dee, please feel free to help give January the boot. Nine inches? I hope not, or if it cannot be helped, that it melts quickly.
    Frances

  22. Hi Frances

    Again you have posted such wonderful pictures. I too am looking forward to February but with the knowledge that this month can bring much colder weather and snow.

    Thanks for visiting. We will see some of our worst winter weather during February too, but there will be signs of spring in between the bouts of badness. The days are already getting longer, we can tell, and bulbs are showing. Spring will arrive, we know it! 🙂
    Frances

  23. Jenn says:

    Your pictures are beautiful! I can’t wait until Spring when we can get some color here!!

    Hi Jenn, thanks so much. Looking through the archives at the beginnings of Spring helps us remember what is yet to come, bit by bit. 🙂
    Frances

  24. Sharon says:

    In December two of my Daffodils decided they wanted to start coming up, winter put them on hold, now I looked and not only were they taller, but more had joined them. I have my bulbs planted in containers, which I’ve kept outside all winter. The tulips and crocuses are also coming up. I was given 3 colors of muscari and tulip bulbs for Christmas, just last week planted those. One of the muscari have shoots making it to the surface already, I’ve placed them outside to let them bloom at their regular time. I went to Wal-mart when the bulbs were half off and got several kinds of bulbs, I have tulips, daffodils, and crocuses to add to my growing container flower bulb garden.

    Hi Sharon, thanks for joining in the conversation. Your bulbs sound thrilling and of a good variety. Those half off bulbs can still be very beautiful, one doesn’t have to spend a lot to get a lot. The daffodils are nearly foolproof and the others are so colorful. We love them all. 🙂
    Frances

    Daffodils have always been my favorite, I have ‘Pink Charms’, ‘juanita’ and ‘King Alfred Type’ of Daffodils planted. The first two are in the container that is starting to pop up. I just planted the ‘King Alfred Type’ today, they were one of the bulbs that I got half off from Wal-mart. January has been good to me! Back in the fall My Mom visited my Aunt, and brought back cuttings from my Grandmothers blueberry tree. I cut the cuttings into sections to try to propagate them, when I didn’t have room for 4 of the hardwood part of the cuttings, I poked holes in the ground with a chopstick/dibble, dipped the cuttings in rooting hormone, then placed them in the holes. I covered the cuttings with leaves and left them alone. I checked them today, and they have rooted!

    January has certainly been good to you, Sharon! That is great news about the blueberry cuttings! 🙂

  25. Lynn says:

    Oh yes… roll on Spring.

    Hi Lynn, thanks for visiting. We are ready, even if there is still plenty of winter weather left. The signs are there and Spring will not be stopped. 🙂
    Frances

  26. Layanee says:

    I will say goodbye without much sorrow. February always seems the longest month to me though.

    Hi Layanee, thanks for stopping by. It seems that those who live in the north feel February can be cruel and creep by slowly. That is not usually the case here. With no snow cover we can see the bulbs emerge and some even bloom on warm, sunny days. Hang in there during the next round of storms, my friend! 🙂
    Frances

  27. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    What a great post Frances. I am ready to bid farewell to January too. What a month it has been. February isn’t starting out so darned good either. An ice storm is coming through here they say. UGH…. This has been a nice look back though.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. We are thinking of you and all our friends who are in the path of this latest weather system. Stay safe, warm and dry!
    Frances

  28. Ann says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more! Oregon is cold and sunny right now but bit by bit our light is coming back. I hate the darkness more than anything else so I am ready for more and more light.

    Hi Ann, thanks. More light, yes to that! There is more daylight at the end of the day that has been noticed, and so welcome here. We will get more cold and snow before it is over, but things are changing, more slowly for some. 🙂
    Frances

  29. Kathleen says:

    I’m SO ready to move on!! Although it’s supposed to be 20 below tonight so winter is still firmly in control.

    Hi Kathleen, thanks for visiting. When I saw the conditions in Denver, I gave a shudder and thought of you. Stay warm, safe and dry!
    Frances

Comments are closed.