Jump Starting Spring


Impatience has taken hold and won’t relax that death grip on the Fairegarden psyche.


The bevy of beauties bought at the grocer’s were rounded up and taken outside for a photo shoot.


The Iris reticulatas incorrectly labeled as crocus, the actual crocus and the little daffodils were grouped and captured, long views and macros.


Sunshine and the blue sky that accompanies it would have been nice, but it wasn’t present.


The Narcissus ‘Little Gem’ illuminated the scene sufficiently.


The blue nose and mouth pot next to the bulbs wrapped in bright paper collars shows life under the mush of Dianthus and Violas.


A new red stack o’ pots begs the imagination with planting possibilities amid the Phormium ruins next door.


Then it’s back into the safety of the greenhouse with you.


To join the others waiting for spring. This is a December order from our dear friends at Annie’s Annuals in California, who will ship live plants to a starving for green gardener as the plants become available. (Verbascum bombyciferum ‘Arctic Summer’, Thalictrum rochebrunianum ‘Lavender Mist’, Erygium venustum and Eryngium tripartitum, all bought for full price in case you were wondering.)


To help make the time go faster, there is actual gardening happening in the greenhouse. Reading the tips from our own post from last year, click to view it here-How To Take Salvia Cuttings, thirty-six cuttings were taken and struck into a flat with bottom heat of the delightful and impossible to find for sale Salvia elegans ‘Golden Delicious’.

Ladies and gentlemen, start your engines (or dream about engine starting if your climate is not ready).

Frances

This entry was posted in Seasonal Chores. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Jump Starting Spring

  1. Donna says:

    Love the blooms and especially the iris…the early dwarf iris are one of my favorite early spring blooms that I am blogging about today..we have spotted a heron and smelled a skunk and these are definitely early signs of an early spring…that’s my story and I’m sticking with it!!

    Hi Donna, thanks for visiting. I will check out your post and hold my nose while doing so! The Iris reticulatas are up here, the ones in the ground, but need a couple of weeks at the least before blooming begins. These are good signs of spring creeping ever closer. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. I am dying for spring. I am anxiously awaiting my daffodils to show up. Lovely photos! I do like Annie’s Annuals too.

    Hi Karin, thanks for stopping by here. We yearn for spring and will try to cheat to speed up the coming with store bought bulbs that will be planted into the garden later. Annie’s really helps feed my addiction! In a good way. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Carol says:

    Patience. That’s the key word here. I dare not start hoping for spring for at least a few more weeks, or at least until the ice melts.

    Hi Carol, yes, with a coating of ice, spring seems far away. But things are stirring underneath it, you cannot stop the passage of time, although ice comes mighty close to doing so! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Spring can not come a second too soon for my liking!

    I hear that, Helen! Things are happening here, two steps forward, one step back with snow in our forecast all next week. The bulbs are popping up and the witch hazel is blooming. There is no stopping it now. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. Layanee says:

    You will be the recipient of spring long before I am but I can always pick up some cheerful potted bulbs can’t I? Good idea. I am off to the store!

    Hi Layanee, thanks for visiting. Yes, we are normally ahead of your northern gardeners here, but there will be potted bulbs for us all! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    We haven’t any pretty pots of bulbs showing up in our grocery as yet. I can’t wait.
    P.S. Love that new red pot. You could cram some blue or white crocus in there and they wouldlook pretty. Have a great weekend.

    Hi Lisa, thanks and you too enjoy your weekend. One would think that your grocery and other stores would have a nice array for Valentine’s Day. That is the idea for the display here, I am assuming. Flowers and chocolate, yes to that! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. Oh, I so needed a post like this, when our world is a winter wonderland of deep, white snow. Thank you, dear Frances, though now I’m tempted to rush to the florists and gather me more bulbs, as I don’t have any spring bulbs in bloom right now.

    Glad to oblige, dear Jodi. Seeing the brilliance of blooms when the view outside is less than colorful is a tonic. I might need more, since these are past their prime. They will get planted outside in March and will bloom happily on schedule next year, I hope. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. What a fabulous shock of colour for a grey day. I love that salvia, such a saturated red. Sorry about your Phormium, I lost one too, and have replaced it with a tough carex instead. I knew I was pushing my luck when I bought it, but hey, these things have to be tried occasionally!

    Thanks Janet. We knew going in that the Phormium was an annual here, it was 75% off so not a huge loss. Leaving the mushy leaves keeps the squirrels from digging the violas out of the pots. Even the varmints don’t like mush! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Gail says:

    Dear Frances, I could spend the day in that first photo. Were I to tire of purple (Unimaginable!) I will pop over to hang with the salvia. Yes, my day will be full and satisfying. xxoogail ps Love the red stack o’pots

    Dear Gail, thanks so much. That has all the makings for a calender photo, methinks. I fell in love with the red pots while checking out at a local nursery recently. It was right by the cashier with a half off tag. I couldn’t resist! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Janet says:

    I first thought you had some kind of little micro-climate for those pretty daffodils to pop up already and bloom.

    HA Janet, yes, my microclimate is in the greenhouse/sunroom! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Eileen says:

    Great look at spring Frances! I’m afraid it will be awhile before we see any of this beauty around here.

    Eileen

    Hi Eileen, thanks. This beauty came from the grocery and lives in the greenhouse for a while longer. Your store might have some things for sale for Valentine’s Day. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. Alistair says:

    Those spring bulbs especially the Iris Reticulata have really got me going now.

    Hi Alistair, thanks. Those Iris reticulatas are the bee’s knees, aren’t they? πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. My Kids Mom says:

    Sunshine and a blue sky can be had… at Photoshop!

    Hi Jill, HA, good one! I am not that clever to take one photo and blend it with another, although sometimes there is some tweaking of contrast. One of these days the sky will be blue, I feel it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. Soon and very soon spring will come again. I’m glad you have a few beauties to take pics of on this cloudy day.~~Dee

    Hi Dee, thanks. It will come again, that lovely spring. I hope you are staying warm and dry during the interim! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. Lona says:

    Good morning Frances. I love your grocer finds. Some beautiful color for us flower deprived gardeners. The daffodils look so wonderful. Well we are half way through winter here today so spring will arrive before long.Until then I will feast my eyes on yours and other gardeners blooms.

    Hi Lona, good morning to you and thanks for visiting. Those bulbs were just the thing to brighten a dreary season. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Zoe says:

    Lovely blast of colour – like jewels in a treasure chest!

    I have some snowdrops, and Iris reticulata ‘Pauline’ blooming alongside some cyclamen coum. You have inspired me to dig the macro lens out and take some shots for my new blog!

    Hi Zoe, thanks, so nice to see you! It sounds like your spring is well on its way, hooray! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Donna says:

    I enjoyed the shot of color on this cold, dreary, gray day. We had sun this morning and I even photographed the sky just for proof, but just like that, gone. It was nice to see your ‘stunt’ plants because I am guessing you still have a nip in the air and these little performers had to be tough as garden stand-ins.

    Hi Donna, thanks. The bright colors are almost surreal in the outside landscape, stunt plants, yes!!! Love it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. Lola says:

    Oh, what beauty in this cold tempered world of late. I really like the blue & red pots. My mind is in a whirl thinking what I could put in them.
    Only a couple Grape Hyacinths blooming I found as I blundered around.
    I think strange as my peach is in bud but not my apple.

    Hi Lola, thanks. Those red pots are a source of inspiration, it will be fun to decide what will go into them over the course of the changing seasons. Hooray for blooming grape hyacinths! I love those little blue guys, so cheering. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. Haha, I like your “instant garden” and can relate — I’ve been tempted to walk around in the rain trying to weed instead of unpacking all the boxes we just moved.

    Hi Eliza, thanks. Gardening draws us out in any weather. Congrats on your recent move! The weeds will wait for you, as you know. Have fun in your new place. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. Sometimes, we just need a little something, and blooming bulbs are just the right little something at this time of year.

    Hi MMD, thanks for dropping by. Yes, those colors were just the thing to cheer us, and prepare us for the real show to come in a few weeks. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. nellie says:

    I had to go back and look harder at your photos once I saw that you are in Tennessee. Only then did I see that the plants were all in pots. How cheery they look. We have robins on the ground, and a skunk was out today. Oh, and the goldfinches are showing signs of gold. Come on Spring.
    nellie

    Hi Nellie, thanks for visiting and welcome. We are in the southeast corner of Tennessee but it is still winter here. Bulbs are showing all over, none blooming yet, but the witch hazel has some open flowers. Robins have been hanging around the pond too. The goldfinches might be beginning to change, I will have to look more closely at them. Thanks! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. nellie says:

    I’m trying to “follow” but don’t see any way other than to subscribe. I guess I can copy and paste your url in my blogger dashboard to follow. email “subscription” won’t work for me right now.
    nellie.

    Sorry, Nellie. That follow thingey is associated with blogger blogs, courtesy of Google. Fairegarden is a wordpress blog, but you can follow me on facebook or subscibe. Subscribing means that you will get an email notifying you of the new posts. Right now I post Monday, Wednesday and Fridays. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Patsi says:

    Ahh can’t wait ’till spring.
    Love those pots !

    Hi Patsi, thanks. The red pots are fun, even empty. We yearn for spring, soon, just a few weeks, right? πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. easygardener says:

    The grocers may be hopeless at recognising a crocus but they have a neat line in wrapping paper. It is a little warmer here but still too wet and unpleasant to stay outdoors. I have just bought 3 shrubs – in denial that I have anywhere to put them. I have got to get outside and face reality!

    Hi EG, thanks for stoppig by. The paper wrap really makes the photo pop, the yellow wrappers of the daffs shines like the sun that wasn’t present. Hooray for your denial, it is a good time for shrub and tree planting now. Soon the perennials and spent bulb pots can go in the ground too. Time marches on. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. commonweeder says:

    The flowers are cheering even if you had to buy them and just give them a little taste of the outdoors. I am forcing a lot of bulbs for the first time and they are not turning out as I expected. I will need to do some research.

    Hi Pat, thanks for joining in here. I have never had success forcing my own bulbs, but the store bought ones do make for an early spring. Groceries, you know. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. Oh I can’t wait for the daffodils and irises to be blooming in my yard..I’ll have to wait at least another month or two…so nice that you have a greenhouse!! We are covered in snow and I could use a greenhouse right now! Happy gardening!

    Miss Bloomers

    Hi Miss Bloomers, thanks for joining in here. Those early bulbs really help spring begin here too. They are showing now outside, it is only a matter of time. And weather. The greenhouse/sunroom is a blessing. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. Town Mouse says:

    YES! Even I finally broke down and shopped my garden shed for annuals. I wasn’t going to do it this year, but I just have to… Hope it isn’t too late…

    Very fine photos, probably better without sun & blue sky.

    Hi Town Mouse, thanks for visiting. Good for you, shopping in your shed. We all do what we have to do. You may be right about the lack of sun and the photo. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  28. Oh such pretty colour – thanks for sharing

    Hi Heather, thanks. It was the bright color, compared to the dullness of the garden around it that made us take notice. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  29. Nancy says:

    Ah, Frances, you give me hope. Here at home in eastern PA I had 13″ of snow last week, followed by freezing rain. Even the squirrels in my backyard are figure skating. On the bright side, my seed order is in; my grow lights are set up.I am SO ready.
    Nancy

    Hi Nancy, thanks for visiting. Having lived in central PA, I feel your pain. Snow, snow and more snow, followed by cold. Seeds help pass the time. And lights are THE MONEY. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  30. Cindy, MCOK says:

    Love those iris, daffodils & crocus … such a bright pop of color on a dreary winter day!

    Thanks Cindy. To think that colors like those ever appear in the garden reminds us of the miracle of spring. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  31. Central's Spec. Ed. Science Lesson says:

    We enjoyed the visions of spring!! We learned daffodils are yellow. The language of sign for the word yellow is like the “hang loose” wave, with your thumb and pinky pointed out and the other three fingers down. You shake your hand back and forth: “yellow”!! Thank you for another great science lesson.

    Dear Class, thanks for reading. I am again glad to hear that you learned something and am happy to learn the sign for yellow. I love it.
    Love,
    Frances

Comments are closed.