Good Morning


The day begins early here at the Fairegarden, well before the dawn during the longer nights of winter.


Let’s turn off the flash to get the real view of the brilliance of the new day.


This is the beginning, full of promise. Blink and you can miss it.


It happens so fast, every second changing the watercolor miasma sky.


The puce gives way to gold…


…gives way to grey until the orb pops up above the horizon. But there are other such orbs around and about, including this delightful birdseed sun gifted us from visiting friends recently. Thanks Jane and Ed!


The feathered Fairegarden residents are attacking only the black oiled sunflower seeds on the back so far.


Hello! And good morning to you! A pair of Brown Headed Nuthatches, first seen this year have claimed this sun as their own.


Wires were used to hold this feeder in place since past experience has shown that as the seed is eaten from around the embedded twine, the shape will fall to the ground to be carried off by villian varmints, the squirrels. Yes, I am looking at you!


Totally unrelated to any of the above, an impulse purchase that same day from the big box store while we were checking to see if the potted bulbs were on the nursery shelves yet, they were not, brought a new fish for the pond to replace the dear departed Casey who was found floating face up after we returned from holiday travels.


The mourning period has ended and renewal begins. The orange colored goldfish Fido remains alone in the pond, but not for long. The plastic bag with Walmart aquarium water is lowered into the cold pond water to slow the shock of the temperature change for the new kid.


But ho, impatient and impulsive, the new koi jumps right out of the bag into the pond! We admire your spunk, and you will henceforth be referred to as Rooster, for the bright cockscomb on your head and black and white feathers, er, scales. Fido will teach you the ins and outs of the watery environs of the rocks. Good morning and good luck!

***

Seeing the happiness emanating from the morning sky, I was reminded of this old favorite from years gone by. It still plays in the mind’s eye as each day begins anew. Hope you enjoy it!

When all the faces are filled with joy
Life’s a holiday,
whoa yeah
Now I’m feeling more and more this way
As morning leads the day I say oh boy
Now the darkest night has run to hiding shadows
Sunbeams come a dancing in the aisle
Here comes her majesty and royal sunshine
Arising in the wind of heaven’s child
Good morning to you
Good morning to you
Good morning to you
Good morning to you
Here we are in our places
With bright, shining faces
And in our eyes is the new day
Good morning
Good, good, good, good morning
Good, good, good, good morning
Good, good, good, good morning
Yeah

Written by Bob Winkleman of the Steve Miller band for the album Number 5, released in 1970. Side one of this album is incredible still. Just sayin’.

Frances

This entry was posted in weather, wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Good Morning

  1. What lovely pictures! A superb sunrise, thanks for sharing it.

    Hi Nigel, thanks for visiting, so nice to see you here. It was a lovely day all around. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. Carol says:

    and good morning to you, Frances. I enjoyed watching your sun come up, as it is view I usually see from behind a windshield most mornings as I drive to work.

    Good morning Carol. Thanks for sharing that. I can now more easily picture you heigh-hoeing on your way to work! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Randy Emmitt says:

    Frances,

    Cool birdseed discs and the brown-headed Nuthatchs, we do not get them at our place. I did the backyard bird count yesterday, the results are on my blog. Have a great week!

    Hi Randy, thanks. Good counting, there! I wish you could help me identify some of the large birds that hang out in the treetops just out of range of my binoculars, big black blobs. They are probably vultures of some kind but I can’t get a good enough look at them and don’t know their calls. Need to rectify that. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. debbie in knoxville says:

    I loved that album but have not thought of it in years – make that decades! Thanks.

    HA Debbie, thanks! I had not thought of it either, until the sunrise triggered the memory. Decades, yes. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. Eileen says:

    Beautiful morning photos Frances. It looks like spring is fast approaching in your area.

    Eileen

    Hi Eileen, thanks. Things are happening out in the garden at record rates with the sustained warm weather we have been experiencing. Winter cannot be done with us, but the flowers are not waiting! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. Valerie says:

    I have noticed in the early morning here that the sky is full of wonderful colour. Unfortunately it is in the minuses Celcius and not for roaming about outside. I am happy to see you are well ahead of us and have something to show. V

    Hi Valerie, I am glad you are seeing brilliant skies, even with the cold temps. I am a morning hardy soul and will bundle up with camera in tow for a pretty sunrise, except in pouring rain. The bulbs are popping up higher each day, many in bloom. Spring is coming, ready or not! πŸ™‚
    Frances
    ps, I am ready.

  7. Good morning to you Frances. It was nice watching your sunrise. Helen

    Hi Helen, thanks so much. I hope you have the same over in Raleigh, where you see the sun well before we do! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    A great song to start the day with. I had forgotten all about this song. I used to listen to this band. Fun… I hope Rooster likes his new environment. Have a great day Frances.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. Brings back memories, doesn’t it? Rooster has survived, which prompted me to dash back to Walmart for four of his siblings to add to the pond population. You too have a lovely day. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. gail says:

    Frances, How absolutely wonderful! I miss full sunrises and thank you for sharing yours with us today! It’s a wonderful start to my morning. The doors and windows are all open, there’s a strong breeze that’s making the chimes sing and coffee in hand I can pretend it’s my view! xxoogail PS Welcome to your new home Rooster!

    Thanks dear Gail. I wish you were here to share it with me, too. This weather can’t last, but isn’t it wonderful? Rooster has been joined by four more Roosterettes! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Rooster really is a looker. Hope he is happy in his new home, he will be pretty to watch. Your sky shots are so colorful and do make for a great start of the day.

    Hi Donna, thanks. I am hoping he becomes less shy after acclimating to the pond conditions here. Anything must be better than the aquarium at Walmart. The sky that day was a technicolor dream coat. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Donna says:

    Frances I love the morning sky as you describe it…lovely…good day and good luck with Rooster….he is a handsome fish and I am sure he will acclimate quite nicely

    Hi Donna, thanks so much for those kind words. Rooster has been joined by his mates in the tank at Walmart. All are hiding out now, but I hope a few or all survive to live here at bit longer. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. Alistair says:

    Stunning dawn pictures Frances, Time for me to get more adventurous with the camera now.

    Hi Alistair, thanks. Do get out of your comfort zone! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Layanee says:

    I love watching your dawn arrive. You are an early bird even in the cold mornings of late winter. Kudos to you.

    You are so sweet, Layanee, thank you. I love when the daylight more closely matches my waking hours. It is getting there. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. Steve says:

    I agree with Donna. Provided he makes it through his first day, Rooster is what we fishermen call a “keeper”. I use the “fisherman” title as a firm “appreciator” of the little guys. πŸ˜‰

    Gorgeous pics, Frances, as always. I like that life seems to offer you such richness that you want to share it photographically. Please keep it up.

    Hi Steve, thanks, that is good news for Rooster! I chose him because of how active he was in the tank. He was bouncing all over inside the bag on the ride home even. He has company now, as I bought a few others to join him, all active as well. Fingers crossed that they can learn the ropes from our older fish Fido. Life is wonderful, I appreciate that you are willing to follow along here. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. Beautiful sky shots. Not having to get up super early to shoot a sunrise is one of the few upsides of winter.

    Hi MMD, thanks. Always but not forever up well before sunrise is my life right now. In winter, it seems like the day is half gone by the time the sun lights the garden. I like spring and summer better. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. commonweeder says:

    It is a good morning. Our sunrise was in a pearly sky with snowflakes in the air, but I can smell spring. March is only a week a way. I love the photographs of your birds.

    Hi Pat, thanks. I am so glad it is good where you are as well. March is only a week away? Hooray! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Sharon says:

    Your fish seemed happy to join the pond! I have a fish tank in my plant room, I originally set it up to give moisture to the room, Now I’m finding with all my seeds and indoor plants, that it is convenient to also use to water my plants with. I have no fish in it, and would need to get a thermastate and a better water filter before adding fish. which I’m thinking of doing cause I got some lotus seed, and might try growing one in my fish tank. Your fish reminded me of the lotus seed. Often time you find lotus in ponds.

    Hi Sharon, thanks. Your fish tank idea sounds perfect. I love lotus, but my pond is much too small for them, they are a large plant.
    Frances

  18. Lona says:

    What a gorgeous sunrise Frances. Those birds love those sunflowers. My birds will dump out all the rest of the seed from a feeder to get to the sunflower seeds so I quit buying the mixed seed. LOL! What a pretty seed cake though. Your new addition to the pond is a pretty one. I wish I could have them but if the stray cats do not get them the raccoons will so I will never have them in a pond I guess.

    Hi Lona, thanks. The birds here prefer sunflower seed too, no one has touched the shaped sun of the other kind of seed. I suppose it will melt and fall apart with heat and rain, but is still pretty now. We have had fish losses in the past and ended up covering the pond with black plastic netting. Not attractive at all and the birds couldn’t get a drink so we took it off. The fish have to be wary and hide deep down in the rocks when hungry critters go fishing.
    Frances

  19. This was so lovely to read. I adore your sunflower seed orb. Also, Rooster is a dynamic fishy. You know, I’d never heard that particular song. I kept thinking of Hello Sunshine.~~Dee

    Thanks Dee. It was a pretty bird feeder and the perfect gift, much appreciated. Rooster was feisty, a good attribute for a pond fish around here. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. Catherine says:

    What a gorgeous sunrise! It seems like winter sunrises here are so much more colorful than the summer ones.
    We’ve lost several fish this winter which is really unusual. I think our big clean out last spring disrupted the ecosystem and hopefully it will readjust. You chose a beauty!

    Hi Catherine, thanks. I agree, the winter sunrises are more brilliantly colored here as well. I am so sorry for your fish loss. It is hard to tell just what does them in.
    Frances

  21. Lola says:

    Loved the early morning pics. I have seen some similar. I love the early mornings. For some reason that seems to be in the past. Now evenings produce better health feelings.
    Tomorrow will be a good day as the “Taters” & cool season veggies will be put to rest in the cool earth. I hope they will be happy & give me lots of their babies.

    Hi Lola, thanks. I am a morning person, have the most energy early in the day. Good luck with your veggies! May they give you lots of meals. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. p3chandan says:

    Such a lovely morning sky with brilliant orange hues to start a beautiful day!

    Hi p3, thanks and welcome. It was a good and beautiful day, as most of they have been here recently. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. debsgarden says:

    A great reward for getting up early! Your rooster is a lovely fish. I hope he lives a long and happy life in your pond.

    Hi Deb, thanks. We get up so early, waiting for the sunrise is part of the routine. I like that the wait is getting shorter now. I appreciate your good wishes for Rooster. He was joined by a few of his siblings a few days later. Hope they all can adjust to pond environs. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. Cat says:

    Just when you think the sunrise/sunset can’t get any more gorgeous it just keeps unfolding! Spectacular shots. I’m not likely to catch sunrise very often so enjoy when others do!

    Hi Cat, thanks. It was a special morning, with colors from the sky paintbrushing the garden. Glad you enjoyed it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. joey says:

    Lovely, Frances … from morning to night, your Fairegarden is a delight!

    You are so sweet, dear Joey. Thank you! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. Gorgeous photos, Frances. And I love little Rooster! We want to have a pond here in frozen Connecticut — my son and I were wondering, how do the koi, or goldfish, survive under the ice? Thank you for a happy post!

    Hi Cindy, thanks for visiting. We keep the pump running during the winter months, disconnected from the frog spitter, just bubbling in the water to keep it from freezing. That is enough to keep the ice from covering the whole pond, even in single digits. I am not sure if that would work for your pond. You might ask others in your locale who have ponds, or a nursery that sells pond stuff how they handle it. Good luck with yours! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. Pingback: Moving Right Along « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.