Marching To The Bloom Day Beat


The spectators are filing into the Fairegarden gallery, waiting for the Garden Bloggers Bloom Day procession to begin, led by Grand Marshall Carol of May Dreams. The early birds who like to get a certain front row center seat are already in place.


The late comers have to stand outside the fence, peering over the lavender. Oh boy, here comes the first wave!


If there was a beauty contest for the daffodils, N. ‘Audubon’ might be the winner.


Muscari macrocarpum ‘Golden Fragrance’


Mahonia Γ— media


Edgeworthia chrysantha


Fritillaria meleagris


Puschkinia scilloides var. libanotica ‘Alba’


Magnolia ‘Jane’


Spiraea thunbergii ‘Ogon’


Here comes the caboose! Golden Alexander, Zizia aurea has been blooming nearly every month of the year, even under the snow.

***

Here are the results for the Hellebore Show voting held last week:

Princess Verdette-Winner No Freckles


Centerfold-Winner Light Freckles Class


Pinky-Winner Freckles Class and Best In Show


Winner of Best In Show goes to Pinky of the Freckles Class. Congratulations to all the Hellebores, you are all so very beautiful. Thank you to all who voted and those who did not. We love all readers! To see the show post, click here-Hellebores On Parade.

Frances

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Bloom Days. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Marching To The Bloom Day Beat

  1. Randy Emmitt says:

    Frances,

    Your Golden Fragrance looks like it is doing well. Ours is now two years old, not grown any, but at least it is alive and blooming. That daf is a stunner, did I plant the same one this year, senior moment….

    Hi Randy, thanks for stopping by. The Muscari is cute but has not increased at all here either, nothing like the little blue ones that came with the property anyway. Oh well. I know what you mean about senior moments, even writing down every purchase, but where did I plant them? I do write that down too, usually. HA πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. Lovely blooms Frances and lovely light!

    Thanks, Carol. I kept waiting for the sun to shine for most of the shots and finally gave up. It will be sunny today. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Carol says:

    I love a good parade! Especially who flowers and gardening are involved.

    Thanks, Carol, for leading the way! πŸ˜‰
    Frances

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    All of your blooms are marvelous Frances. I really like that spirea. I don’t think I have ever seen that one. I love seeing what is blooming in your garden because I know in a week or two my garden will have much of the same. That is of plants that we have the same. It is like getting a preview. Happy GBBD.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. Think of us as your movie trailer! HA πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. You have a wonderful collection of spring blooms Frances, and you capture them so beautifully. I love the way I always meet new plants on your blog – this time the Zizia aurea, which isn’t even in my RHS encyclopaedia!

    Thanks Janet. I am surprised the Zizia aka Golden Alexanders isn’t in the RHS. I first saw it at the Chicago Botanical garden then discovered it grew in the wild here in southeast TN.
    Frances

  6. Donna says:

    Frances, your spring line up is making a good show. I especially like your daffodil Audubon and gladly would have voted it best of show. Spring has graced you with some very pretty contestants, so it is a bit hard to choose. It will be a long while until I have blooms to show, and I am enjoying seeing them all over world today. Quite a few I could not grow and some I am unfamiliar with, GBBD is such a fun meme. Have a wonderful GBBD.

    Thanks Donna. Audubon is gorgeous, no two ways about it. Your own blooms will come soon, I hope. GBBD is a grand way to meet new garden bloggers and new plants! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. Lovely blooms! Isn’t it great to have spring return!

    Thanks Cameron. It is wonderful to see everything growing, although there is worry in the back of my mind about a late killing frost. Things are leafing out too soon here, it is too early, winter is not over, I fear.
    Frances

  8. Eileen says:

    Great show Frances! I am so envious of all you have blooming. We are supposed to warm up the nexxt few days so maybe I will get something poking through.

    Eileen

    Thanks, Eileen. I hope you get some spring beauties bringing a smile in your own garden soon. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Donna says:

    Frances,
    You have some lovely specimens and little treasures in your parade. I feel like I need to go to the nursery after reading your post. πŸ˜€

    Thanks Donna. HA, this post makes me want to go to the nursery! I want, make that need a few more things. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Darla says:

    Ms. Frances you have a grand early Springtime show going on!

    Thanks dear Darla. The spring is a little early here, but we might as well enjoy it! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. It’s such a relief, isn’t it, when Spring has finally sprung. It’s good to see your garden is bathed in colour once more. Love the daffs, they are one of my fav flowers.

    Yolanda XX

    Dear Yolanda, thanks for visiting, so nice to see you here! We are pleased to see the color back, even if it is too early for it. Fingers crossed that there are enough sheets and frost cloth in case old man winter decides to give us a fond farewell! πŸ™‚
    xxxooo
    Frances

  12. Alistair says:

    Lovely Spring flowers Frances,still a few weeks off before I can show some of these beauties in our garden.The Fritillaria meleagris is a favourite of ours flowering from late April over here in Aberdeen.

    Thanks Alistair. Your spring will be marvelous, I can imagine large swathes of the Fritts! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Spring has sprung for you Frances! Lucky girl!! Your shots have brightened my day πŸ™‚

    Oh thank you, Melanie! I am so happy to have brightened your day. My computer is on the fritz and I am glum about it, virus is suspected.
    Frances

  14. Sweetbay says:

    Ooo, I like that Muscari.

    Hi Sweet Bay, so nice to see you here! The little Muscari is a cutie pie! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. Masha says:

    You have so many lovely blooms. I love the magnolia, and that pansy looking over the rail.

    Hi Masha, thanks and welcome. I loved the little violas looking over the rail, too. You should see it in person, like it is overlooking the entire garden. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Carolyn says:

    So beautiful Frances… we’re still dreaming over here but your blooms gives me hope.

    Hi Carolyn, thanks. Keep dreaming, spring will come to you soon! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Becca says:

    Beautiful foliage and blooms.

    Thanks, Becca! πŸ™‚

  18. Gail says:

    Dear Frances, I never pick the winners in your flower contests! Not sure what that says about me! But, I do think that you have a winner in this Bloom Day post! Most Floriferous has to go to Golden Alexander! It is surely happy on your hillside. The yellow hyacinth is wonderful (and with fragrance) and I adore the edgeworthia….Wait, I love Ogon, and that daff, Audobon and then there’s the pretty …You see, it’s a delightful show! xxoogail

    Dear Gail, I never pick the same as the majority of votes either! Maybe because I can see the flowers in person and don’t have to rely on inconsistant photography. HA That Golden Alexander has been a big surprise with the winter blooming and even being evergreen. That is a huge plus, I am tired of disappearing plants! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. Town Mouse says:

    Ah, I just love that Fritillaria! Tried to grow it, no luck. Of course, everything else looks luscious as well. Happy Bloom Day!

    Hi Town Mouse, thanks. The Fritts are just beginning, that one was much earlier than the rest. Happy Bloom Day to you!
    Frances

  20. ricki says:

    This reminds me to plant more of those checkered lilies. Mine seem to have disappeared…or maybe you are just way ahead of us.

    Thanks, Ricki, for stopping by. That lone Fritt was way ahead, the rest are barely poking out of the ground.
    Frances

  21. Christine says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous, but I agree that daffodil, N. β€˜Audubon’is the winning bloom!

    Hi Christine, thanks. Audubon is really something, such contrast with the colors. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. Holley says:

    Just gorgeous. Those sweet little violas seems to be waving – glad they didn’t get missed!

    Thanks Holley. I agree, the lttle violas appeared to be waving and watching. They were the inspiration for the parade theme. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Lovely Lovely Flowers.
    I was wondering what you might have instore for us on bloom day and I have to say I am nicely surprised πŸ˜€

    Thanks! There were many blooms from which to choose, thank goodness and finally! I wanted to show those that were more unusual or short lived. Glad you liked them. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. So many beauties! It must have been very difficult for the judges! Your hellebore are stunning but that Audubon daffodil is amazing as well. Happy bloom day!

    Hi Karin, thanks and Happy Bloom Day to you as well. Audubon is a beauty and very photogenic, I agree. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. I love previewing all the plants that will be blooming in my garden in a few weeks. Love that daffodil.

    Thanks Carolyn. Your spring is coming very soon! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. Rose says:

    So glad I managed to get a front row seat for this show, Frances! Seeing all these spring previews from warmer zones is getting me all excited for the Midwest shows in a few weeks. Congratulations to the hellebore winners!

    Thanks for watching, Rose! Your own parade should be starting soon, it looks like spring is arriving early this year. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. patientgardener says:

    I do like that Scillia, shall put it on my list for next spring

    Thanks Helen. I am not sure to which bulb you are referring, perhaps the Puschkinia? It is a beauty. πŸ™‚
    xxxooo
    Frances

  28. Wow. Our magnolias don’t bloom until around Mother’s Day! Glad everything is so springy already in TN. And, as always, the Fritillaria is my favorite.

    Hi Monica, thanks, so nice to see you here. We are probably two zones south of you, but even for us, spring is coming early. Too early possibly, but there it is! The Fritt is so sweet, I will be adding more each year of those and spreading what is already here. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  29. I’ve got zonal envy looking at your garden. What bounty and variety!

    Thanks Linda. I know your own garden is quite bounteous as well. Spring will come, I promise! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  30. Layanee says:

    I guess ‘Audubon’ is not just for the birds. It seems to be a must have. All are glorious though and keep marching in the parade.

    HA Layanee, you are so funny, thanks! Audubon was an impulse purchase after most of the bulbs online were already sold out. It was more expensive than I would normally pay for a daff, but has proven to be worth it. They are being divided to spread the wealth. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  31. Lola says:

    Lovely, lovely blooms. Spring is here. So much going on here it boggles the mind. Flowers doing great, veggies coming up.

    Thanks Lola. Spring comes so fast after we have waited and waited so long, doesn’t it? Hooray, and please, no late killing freezes! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  32. Nicole says:

    Your post looks like early spring: lots of buds and blooms emerging. I love the magnolia.

    Hi Nicole, thanks. It is feeling very much like spring right now here, warm and sunny days. It feels good. Jane is a beauty and much loved. πŸ™‚
    Frances

Comments are closed.