Blogs Are Not Dead


To me, anyway. I have been hearing and reading a lot about Social Media these days, you know them, Facebook, Twitter, and assorted others of the same type and idea. It has been written and said that these modes of human exchange, fast paced and ΓΌber-current are pushing older forms of communication out the door, like the horse and buggy of yesteryear, passΓ©, old hat, obsolete. I say, it depends on what you are seeking to gain from the interactions.

Keeping up with friends, making new friends, sharing interests right down to what you are eating, when you sleep and how you brush your teeth is all fascinating stuff to some. Facebook especially is a wonderful forum for ideas to be exchanged and photos shown to a larger group. I like the photos part. But, of course there is a but and it is a big one, the limited character use by these forums tamps down creative writing and thoughtful musings and the most important aspect, inspiration. To me, anyway.

Long ago, I yearned to read about gardens, gardeners and gardening online. Garden blogs were discovered and they were heaven sent to an obsessive like me. The Home and Garden sections of the big newspapers had become way more home than garden. HGTV gave up on programming for real gardeners, instead focusing on instant makeovers that were totally inappropriate, heavy on outdoor sofas and giant outdoor kitchens that would be ruined in our Tennessee climate if we even wanted such things. But back to the Garden Blogs.

The first garden blog I ever read was from a link sent to me by good friend Laurie for the now defunct Sign Of The Shovel by Michele Owens. Laurie sent the link and one word: Enjoy! And it was more than enjoyable, it was a revelation. There were links on her sidebar to other blogs, and each of those blogs had links to even more. I read them all, and some are still posting today like Carol of Maydreams and Kathy of Cold Climate Gardening. Michele joined up with Susan, Elizabeth and Amy to form Garden Rant. They all provided plenty to read during the short day, long nights of winter, plenty of ideas to think about, new plants to try, even the impetus to try writing about gardening myself.

I had already been taking photos of the garden with the new digital camera since 2002. The shots were in folders by date and gazed upon endlessly. When the idea came to start a garden blog, using these photos and lessons learned from the trial and error of a lifetime of gardening, we jumped into the arena in December of 2007 with Fairegarden. Around the same time there was a new directory of garden blogs started by a chap in Australia named Stuart. It was called Blotanical and there could be found other like minded folks from all over the world. Thousands of them. Blotanical has grown over the years and the number of garden blogs is staggering. There is a blog on every aspect of gardening in every climate and situation. Endless information is being presented everday in entertaining ways, with brilliant photos and well written narrative.

The quickie interaction of Social Media is fine for making plans or advertising your product or ideas, or catching up with friends and family, but for in depth garden-aholic offerings, the longer blog posts will get my internet browsing hours. I am not in a hurry, but want to learn something useful, see something beautiful, laugh at something funny or be moved by prose unbridled by number of character usage. Call me old fashioned, I am a grandmother it is true, but there are a whole lot of people my age so don’t sweep us under the rug of over the hill just yet. We still have clout and some of us still even have money to spend, maybe on plants.

Oops, sorry, the theme went off on another tangent. Back to the blogs. They still matter, they are still being read and enjoyed, they are still being written. Thank goodness for them. I just wanted to get that off my chest. Thanks for listening. πŸ™‚ Regular programming will resume shortly.

(The image is Eryngium yuccifolium with Chinese Elm, Ulmus x hollandica ‘Jacqueline Hillier’ taken June 24, 2010.)

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Blogs Are Not Dead

  1. Hear, hear
    πŸ™‚
    K

    Thanks for the support, Karen. This might offend some people, but I felt like I needed to say it to the world. We are seldom controversial here, and I am old hat, I know, but people work hard making their blog posts interesting and of good quality. I don’t want to see them fall by the wayside as technology rushes forward. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I am with you on this account Frances. I don’t want to know when you brush your teeth but I dote on the information you share about your garden. The color, the feel, the new plants, the dead plants, the wishes, dreams and schemes. Blogs are definitely not dead or dieing to me.

    Thanks Lisa. As one of my earliest readers, I so appreciate your loyal readership and friendship after meeting you in person in Chicago. Not dead. Nope. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Donna says:

    I personally have not embraced the social media scene with Twitter and Facebook. It is more time consuming than blogging to the extent that one’s comings and goings are documented all day long. Plus, like a voyeur, you peer in on others all day long. Every now and then there is a witty or interesting upload, but generally it seems to consist of the mundane. Your blog was actually the first non interiors blog that I read and enjoyed, followed by the good work of the garden fairies. Siobhan actually got me garden blogging.

    I do think that blogging and other social media types fall into age groups. Those that enjoy blogging generally seem to be an older group, whereas, FB and Twitter, although spanning generations from very young to old, seem to have entranced the young. But, again, they are more quick paced and now oriented. Blogging, like all other forms of technology, will eventually go the way of the dinosaurs. But, for now, the ride is fun.

    Thanks so much, Donna. I believe you are right about the age groups and the need for speed. The older I get, the slower I wish things to go, savor each moment of life. I want to gaze at the photos, think about the words, not rush to the next tooth brushing episode. I like to think, if I am a dinosaur, what would I be? Triceratops? I have always loved dinosaurs. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Me too – things like facebook and twitter meet different needs, but I love to read about and see in to other people’s gardening and gardens. I love the inspiring writing, the beautiful photography, the information on plants, pollinators etc. I’ve not been blogging for long, but I have learnt so much and “met” so many great people. Definitely not a dead medium, long live the garden blog!

    Thanks Janet. It is a different world, the garden blogs. Long may they live! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. Well said, Frances! H.

    Thanks, Helen.

  6. Carol says:

    Thank you for the link, Frances. I have been blogging for awhile, ’tis true, and though I also am on Facebook and Twitter, it is on my blog that I express myself the most. Then I use the other social media to promote what is on the blog.

    Thanks for adding in here and to the blog world, Carol. You use the social media well, a good role model! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. I completely agree Frances! The social media sites serve a different purpose not to mention way too much drama, plus if you post photos on FB; FB owns them. I have only been blogging for a year but the community of garden bloggers is amazing. Their is such a diverse group of personalities and expertise from all around the world.

    Thanks Karin. I love the international aspect of the garden blogs, how much we are alike even though climate and cultures are very different. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Sylvia (England) says:

    Well written Frances. I do love the international aspect of blogs. We can pass ideas and information between gardeners as never before. Reading how one person grows (or fails) with a plant can be so helpful, especially when that plant is their native, our exotic. Gardening blogs have enriched my life in a way I never expected. I didn’t have any gardening friends but now I do.

    Thank you to all those who take the time to write their blogs, I as a reader appreciate it. Best wishes Sylvia (England)

    Thanks Sylvia, you have been a good friend! Enriched our lives, exactly! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Hello Frances, you had me worried with the horse and buggy analogy – blogs are still relatively new to me…and I haven’t even really been as far as Facebook or Twitter yet! But I think your sentiments capture what attracts me to blogs – they are so much more than little sound-bites! Well, mine has been more like dead air lately – but that’s another story!

    Hi Heidi, thanks for visiting. Perhaps horse and buggy is a little harsh, but sometimes I feel like the slower pace of blog reading, especially garden blogs is being replaced by the instantaneous aspect of Facebook and Twitter. Sound bites is a good analogy! WordPress has assured me that the blogs will be out there for people to read long after the blogger is gone, and interesting thought. Can the same be said of the 140 blurbs of those others?
    Frances

  10. If they are dead, why are people still reading them after they check their Facebook?

    Maybe they are just dead to people with short attention spans…

    Cheers, Frances!

    Hi Susan, thanks for weighing in here with good points. It does appear that people are still reading, but things have changed since the advent of the social media, so much more available for our eyes to see, but still the same number of hours in a day. And there is the garden to take care of… πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Layanee says:

    Very well said Frances. There is only so much time in the day and I would prefer to spend it in the garden or reading about other gardens with a grandchild thrown in here and there just for fun.

    Thanks Layanee. I am with you, the garden and grands can make for a very full day! Thank goodness they sleep later than I do so there is blogging time! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. To me, blogs are mini, individual, unique magazines. Some offer stunning photography, others good advice, others touching essays, and others a peek into the garden shed, so to speak. All are fascinating and if I had unlimited time, I’d read them all. I pop in & out on Twitter & Facebook, but they are like potato chips, while blogs are like a 7-course meal.

    Hi MMD, well put. Time is certainly an issue with all of the computer time spent reading whatever, short quips or long blog posts, especially once spring has sprung in the garden! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Darla says:

    Oh blogging is much more my style…the fast pace of society, I just don’t get it….maybe it’s the country in me.

    Maybe that is it, Darla, slowing down country style suits me too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. Sweetbay says:

    This is controversial? lol I agree that what many blogs put up is better (x 50) than what many if not all gardening magazines put up, because there’s no photo or space constraint and the blog is a continuing narrative. The only drawback to blogs is that they take time to create, and it takes time to create and maintain a network among bloggers. Well anything worth anything usually takes time.

    Hi Sweetbay, HA. Perhaps not controversial to some, lol. You are so right about the quality of many, and the time it takes to put them together. It is enjoyable still for me to put a blog post together, whether photo heavy or text heavy like the one today. Worth it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. Barbarapc says:

    Hi Francis, It’s good to be back to visit! Was semi-creeped out to learn that lawyers were visiting facebook pages to see if prospective jurors met their criteria – e.g. a woman who liked Erin Brokovich was removed from the jury list involving a company’s product and a personal injury claim. The more information you put out there, the more it’s going to be used in ways you don’t want. I’m going to leave tweeting to the birds, and when I want a good garden read, I’m coming back here with my good cup of tea.

    Hi Barbara, welcome back! I agree about being careful what you put online, wherever it is. Nothing is truly private on the world wide web, no matter what settings you use. Birds are good at tweeting. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Lisa Blair says:

    Garden blogging will definitely live on. I remember stumbling upon my first garden blogs, and I thought, “I have to do this!” I have been at it since 2006. I love reading and viewing all the things that other gardeners share.

    Let us hope so, Lisa. I love the interaction of garden bloggers along with learning new things about gardening. It is addicitve! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. entangled says:

    Thanks for writing this, Frances! Every time I think of giving up blogging, I read something like this and resolve to keep on.

    So far I’ve resisted Facebook, but feel pressured to join by the sheer number of people/organizations using it as their only online communication.

    Thanks for visiting, Entangled, and for hanging in there! I know how it can seem to be overwhelming sometimes, including Facebook and Twitter. Stepping back from the computer is often wise. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. I think blogs are wonderful and so not dead. I don’t learn anything new from social media. I enjoy the interaction, but I don’t learn a single, new thing. Too short. Thanks for writing on this.~~Dee

    Thanks for reading, Dee. I agree that the social media are more for connecting, but feel that I have connected to many through their blogs, comments here and on Blotanical. Sharing the extreme interest in gardening makes for interesting conversations anywhere! Gardeners are all related through the soil. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. Cindy, MCOK says:

    Those folks who proclaim that blogs are dead tend to be the same ones who feel that their opinion is the only one that matters. Closed minds, closed hearts … we wouldn’t be friends with them anyway!

    Hi Cindy, thanks for adding your opinions here. Why not tell us how you really feel? HA πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. gail says:

    Frances, I’ve concluded that most of the generalized blogging research is not applicable to garden bloggers. We are unique~ our interest in and passionate feelings about gardening, plants and connecting with other gardeners does not seem to wane… I cannot imagine not being involved in this marvelous, supportive and creative community. xxoogail

    Dear Gail, I agree that garden bloggers are unique and full of passion! The support and friendliness of this community was such a pleasant surprise. One meets the nicest people on garden blogs and at garden blog meetups! πŸ™‚
    xxxooo
    Frances

  21. Janet says:

    I think there is a place for both (or is it all three, I haven’t done Twitter). I like FB for quick interaction, but like reading blogs for the story.

    Hi Janet, thanks for the opinion! I expected there to be some defense of the social media, after all it is so tremendously popular. I use them too, Facebook is more my level and fun, but it is not as satisfying to me as the blog writing and reading. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. Rose says:

    Amen, Frances! Facebook is fine for connecting with family and friends, especially those you don’t see very often. But that’s it for me. When I posted something on my “wall” a few weeks ago, a friend commented that she had been wondering where I had been. Well, I’m one of those who thinks most people really don’t care what I had for dinner or that I cleaned out a closet today. And I don’t Twitter at all–I don’t really need to know what everyone is doing at all times of the day. I’d much prefer reading and writing blogs–Facebook is like reading the even shorter version of Cliff Notes of a great novel!

    Hi Rose, you and I are on the same page, it sounds like. I like seeing what my family is up to, and the latest flavor on offer at The Hop ice cream shop in Asheville. But I am old fashioned and enjoy really reading the blogs and looking at the photos and imagining the gardens described. To each his or her own! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Barbara H. says:

    Blogs are so much more interesting to me. My internal radar really resists Facebook. Karin’s interesting tidbit that Facebook owns photos you post is a scary thing, if true. I’d never heard that before – just didn’t like the privacy issues.

    And of the blogs, yours is one of my favorites! Keep on posting – I think you’ll always have readers!

    Hi Barbara, thanks so much for those kind words. I put my watermark on the photos I post on Facebook, just to keep them associated with me. There are certainly privacy issues that no amount of special settings can address. Be warned whatever you put up there that it could come back to haunt you. I am glad there were not camera phones and postings when I was young and wild! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. Valerie says:

    I like Facebook where I can keep up with what is going on with my grandchildren and my children, but when it comes to gardening I love the blogs. Keep up the good work Frances. I have learned so much from you.

    Thanks, Valerie, that is one of the most important reasons I blog, to share things that have been learned the hard way! I agree about keeping up with family and faraway friends on Facebook. It has its place, but cannot replace garden blogs in my heart. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. Marguerite says:

    Hi Frances, obviously I’m far behind the times because blogs are new to me! If anything I find that blogs replaced magazines in my house. I can now get the gardening information I want at the tip of my fingers instead of paying huge amounts of money for magazines that show the same container plantings over and over. Ironically I used Facebook when it first came out and quickly lost interest. Twitter doesn’t contain any real information, it just feels like self promotion and I can’t be bothered. That said I love old fashioned books, I don’t text and rarely use a cell phone so perhaps I’m in the minority.

    Hi Marguerite, how wonderful for you to recently have discovered the garden blogs! I remember the thrill of finding a new post by my favorites. Your way is good, books are important as are the old ways of doing things. But I feel the next generation and those to come will live a vastly different type of existence that we are now. Maybe people have always felt that way, since the only thing constant is change. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. My Kids Mom says:

    Please stick around! I love seeing your garden and reading your prose. My week (and my gardens) wouldn’t be the same without you!

    Thanks Jill, you are very sweet to say those things. I am not going away, for a while yet anyway. I like that the posts, 600+!, are going to be out there for people to read and discover long after I am gone, so wordpress tells me anyway. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. Balisha says:

    I searched the internet for things to read about people’s experiences in gardening and came across some gardening blogs. This has changed my life. I have learned so much from other gardeners. It’s part of my day…Balisha

    Hi Balisha, I think it is life changing when one who loves gardening discovers the garden blogs. It certainly changed my life for the better! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  28. Phyllis says:

    You are 100% correct!

    My opinion of Twitter is that it’s just plain stupid. Who cares if you just went to the bathroom…do I need to know that? And FB – I opened an account only because I thought it would help me in my job search, which it did not. I am forcing myself to visit FB infrequently because some of my friends insist on using it. It is not a way to communicate at all, but make you feel as though you are. And texting is a whole other story. Why would you text, which takes as long, if not longer than, calling somebody???

    I love blogs. I LOVE pictures of gardens and farm animals and quilts – all of which I’m interested in. I love to read the stories that people write. You can actually hear the personalities coming through.

    I don’t think it’s an age thing as much as getting caught up in the latest craze. Between my blog, emails and phone calls, my family and most friends can keep in touch with what I’m doing and how I am.

  29. Jen says:

    I had thought blogs dying out was only a rumor, a bad one spread by devotee`s of FB, and twitter. Now I know for sure it is.

    I wholeheartedly agree with you Francis, and long live garden blogging.

    The world will change, with or without us, but that doesn’t mean we need to ignore FB, and twitter. There will always be something new for those with short term concentration spans. That’s life.

    I use FB, and Twitter, but I make it work for me. Blogging will always be my one true love..I’ve not been bloggging quite as long as you, just since the summer of 2008, but that’s eons in blogging time.

    Jen @ Muddy Boot Dreams

  30. Facebook and Twitter are merely tools in a person’s communications kit. They can be used for personal reasons (though I don’t CARE if your baby puked on you, honestly) or for business purposes–sharing information about something you’re selling, something you’re working on, a cause you care about, other people’s businesses. This morning, I updated the book events page on my blog, then sent a Facebook note/tweet about that. I also wrote a promotional announcement for a fellow author who is doing a signing and has terrible support from her publisher, so I and others are stepping up to help her promote the event via FB and Twitter as well as my blog (on Sunday). So I use these quite a bit, and I am also paid to do the social media work for a client. As a freelancer, who makes a living from words, I find this extra bit of income every month quite useful.
    Blogs are a place to share longer thoughts, have discussions, share photos…and I can’t see them dying out any time soon. As you know, Frances, it takes a lot of work to keep up a blog, and sometimes people don’t realize that when they start, and they fall by the wayside. I know several blogs I promoted last year are now gone for one reason or another, which is how it goes. And most of us have ebbs and flows in our posting times, because we have other things going on. But that’s all good.
    On the subject of Blotanical, I confess to having been sadly absent there of late. I pop in once in a while, but the site is so cumbersome to load on my less-than-speedy-highspeed, & really, I don’t need to be friends with every single person in the blogosphere. I’m utterly thrilled to see lots of new blog-faces there, but as for personally having time to read them all–not so much. One does need to work, and oh yeah, tend our gardens, too. πŸ™‚

  31. Alistair says:

    Hello Frances, I have been messing about with my gardening blog for five years now. Ok its not a work of art but I don’t half love this blogging thing. For me blogging is so up there in the world of technology. I signed up to facebook about a year ago, only because someone told me that it was a way in which to promote my site. Well my daughter and grandson came across it, I swear I could hear them laughing from 350 miles away. As for twitter, sorry not for this old guy either. I have to say since finding all these other bloggers five months ago, my enthusiasm has increased enormously, even the garden which I have never fallen out of love with is even more intense. Enjoyed your post enormously.

  32. Who could you possibly offend?

    Blogging is dead – makes a good, controversial headline. The small print said, younger people (working with kids) prefer FB and Twitter. But the grandparents are blogging more! We know that, even tho there are no grand children in this house ;~)

    One of the non-garden bloggers closed comments. He only wants to talk to his readers on Twitter. Non-Twits are not impressed.

  33. patientgardener says:

    I completely agree. I use twitter alot but for keeping up with gardening friends and also blog regularly but that is about as you say sharing more than 140 characters. I wont use facebook on principle as it has caused my family alot of unnecessary unhappiness. I think there is room for both medium

  34. Nell Jean says:

    Here’s how I see it: A good blog post is like a pleasurable meal; Facebook is fast food and twitter is gum.

  35. commonweeder says:

    Garden Rant and Kathy at Cold Climate Gardening were the first blogs I found. I thought I want to be part of that group – and I soon found Fairegarden. It is the friendship and exchange of information that I found on blogs that I treasure – and that is not to be found on Facebook or Twitter.

  36. ricki says:

    I am the 36th person to comment on this post. ‘Nuff said?

  37. Amen to that. Kudos..

  38. I don’t have time for Twitter or Facebook as I’m not interested in what folks do every second of the day. I’d rather spend my time in the garden, watching and photographing nature, and then posting it on my blog. I do it for myself, not necessarily for everyone to read. It’s my journal of what happened when. I looked back the other day to see when I saw the chipmunk for the first time last year and could then compare it to the date I saw him this year. I love to view blogs of others (when I have time), just to see the interesting photos and info they post. I do agree with Jodi about Blotanical, it is getting huge and it is hard to keep up with everyone. I’ve tried participating again in the past couple of weeks by helping new comers get started. Not sure how long that will last as the weather is getting nicer and I want to be outside more. Your post was very interesting to read, as were the comments. Garden blogs will survive as long as there are bloggers like you (and me) and the other friends I’ve made that make it interesting to read posts. Have a great day.

  39. Social media is fine for a synopsis of what’s going on, but there’s no depth. No substance. I agree, social media just can’t replace the breadth and depth of content that can be unearthed in a well written blog post!

  40. Great topic and it is interesting to hear your thoughts.

    I deleted my Twitter account last year, even with 3,000 followers. I just hated it for so many reasons. Even more, I hated getting so many commercial tweets. It was like driving down the highway and having billboards jump out in front of me all the time! (my crazy analogy)

    I recently joined Facebook and am being careful there to keep the numbers down — mostly to bloggers whose blogs that I read and who are also on Facebook. I like the interaction with friends on topics that aren’t necessarily what I want to put on the blog.

    I’ve slowed down my blogging for different personal reasons, but continue to enjoy sharing what I think a reader will enjoy…. and going to other blogs to see what’s going on.

    That said, I’m not commenting as much as I used to because I was spending TOO MUCH time doing that rather than attending to things at home that needed my attention.

    Good topic!

  41. Patsi says:

    Agree about Facebook/Twitter being for quick interaction. It’s disappointing when
    mostly what you read is the same people hating their jobs and what they feed their cat today. It gets old quick.
    I post garden/nature pictures once in awhile and that’s about it.

    I hope Garden blogs are here to stay.

  42. Jess says:

    Yep, well said.

  43. Benjamin says:

    There are too many blogs. I can’t keep up with even the ones I enjoy, by people I enjoy. It’s insane. It’s a chore. It shouldn’t be. They also all start to sound the same. I suppose the one advantage to Twitter or Facebook is you get less, so it’s faster, you can connect quicker. I personally hate Twitter, not enough, and blogs are too time consuming (but some blogs one must relish in, anyway). Facebook? An ok mediary? I don’t know. I’ve been starting and stopping a post on this for weeks, scared I’ll come off as a curmudgeon, but something is really upsetting me with the state of garden blogs, and to a lesser degree the gaming on Blotanical.

  44. Holley says:

    I don’t ‘do’ Facebook or Twitter, and I wondered if I was missing something. Thanks for letting me know I’m not! Thanks for an interesting post.

  45. catmint says:

    thanks for raising this fascinating topic that affects our lives so much. Blogging is a wonderful activity – but it is hard sometimes prioritizing things – e.g to blog, to garden, read and comment on other blogs or do non virtual socializing. I have tried facebook twice but prefer to pursue the specific interest in nature and gardening blogs and communicate with friends and family more directly. And twitter is not appealing – I can’t bear or understand all the multi tasking involved, seems to me this must interfere with thinking and mindfulness.

  46. Victoria says:

    I love Facebook and Twitter, both for different reasons, but I love my blog – and other people’s blogs too. I’ve never quite understood why, when someone invents a new media, they are so insistent that it should instantly supplant the old.
    It’s a bit like saying that because we have television, we don’t need books any more. Or that because we have email, we don’t need telephones.
    It’s nonsense, of course – the reason these things are there is to facilitate communication, not to control or limit it.
    People may be amused by reading my very occasional tweets, and they may be interested to see who my friends and family are on Facebook. But I feel that it is by reading my blog that they will really get to know me. Would I ever have got to know you, Frances, if it hadn’t been for your wonderful blog? I think that says it all…
    Love and hugs, Victoria xxooxx

  47. Jake says:

    I agree with you. I have both but prefer to have my blog for everyone else. I just may not have a lot to say from January until about now. I’m back for the season! Lol.

  48. Discus says:

    I use most of the facilities “Web 2.0” throws at me; I quite often use twitter, facebook and even location-aware apps like foursquare quite regularly.

    But much like reading a gardening book is often preferable to a magazine or TV show (or even online), the greater depth of a longer blog post is far more interesting than “quickie” posts on twitter, facebook et al. I’m quite a fan of the idea that anyone in the world can self-publish their thoughts and ideas – at whatever length they feel is right! Of course, I do tend to be very enthusiastic at learning and am willing to put in a lot of time; a lot of people can’t do one thing for more than 10 seconds these days!

    I also find the intrinsically more “dialogue”-based communication of forums great; it’s simple to canvas a lot of opinion/expertise quickly, and you can always seek clarification. Imagine if you could do that with a book!

    Books have their own flaws. Sometimes they’re just too big to be comfortably read. They go out of date. They can be punishingly expensive. But electronic publishing changes this; it becomes easy to “reprint” the book – just change the outdated information and everyone’s “copy” is instantly up to date again. They’re usually free. I often like to revisit and re-edit content as I learn more; sometimes I’ll do it as a new post, but often I think having “static pages” on particular topics is very useful.

    Blogs will be here for a long time!

  49. Suzanne says:

    I agree, Francis! I have come to enjoy Facebook quite a lot, and have actually reconnected with some very dear old friends through it. I have a lot of photos of my old roses and other garden plants on my FB page. However, a few years ago I found author Susan Wittig Albert’s Lifescapes blog, and through some of the links on her page, found many gardening blogs in the Austin, Texas area, such as Central Texas Gardener (a great gardening show on Austin’s PBS channel that I can watch online), Digging, Soul of the Garden, and Rock Rose. I am in Fort Worth in north central Texas, but a lot of their information and plants work for me. Then, having two good friends in middle Tennessee and northeast Georgia, I started trying to locate gardening blogs in those states. That is when I found your Fairegarden, along with Clay and Limestone and In the Garden. I love reading all the gardening blogs, in several different parts of the country, and seeing the beautiful photos and getting ideas for my own small gardening efforts. Some of them, like your blog, are downright inspiring. So I stand with you in your wish/hope that blogs don’t go away anytime soon!

  50. fairegarden says:

    Thanks everyone for all these interesting comments! I usually answer each comment, but my computer crashed so I will be unable to do so for this post. I hope to be back to normal soon, and am reading every single comment, so keep ’em coming! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  51. Kim says:

    I agree! What I love most about blogs is that they are for writers! And having a love of reading – I love reading blogs! I’ve learned so much from you and I appreciate you sharing your garden with all of us.

  52. You’re right, Frances. I am on Facebook, but my true love is garden (and a couple of others) blogging! πŸ™‚

  53. Eileen says:

    Hi Frances,

    I have been working on the internet since it began with my job and then recently with my blog. Blogs are declining according to recent statistics and social media is exploding. I am on Facebook with my friends and family and registered for Twitter but have not done much.

    I am also a grandmother and enjoy keeping up with my grandchildren and what is happening now. I am confident we will all remain important in this society if we become part of it.

    Eileen

  54. Sue Langley says:

    Frances, I am relatively new to both blogging and Facebook. I joined FB to see photos of my son’s wedding and must say it’s the fastest way to keep up with our far flung family. I don’t usually post on FB what I’m eating (maybe something I enjoyed cooking), when I sleep or brush my teeth, but it’s sort of like a quick newsletter for me. I also have a page for my Examiner column.

    I enjoy reading blogs for the same reasons you say, because HGTV let me down and I wanted more gardening options to read than the National magazines. Blogging, starting last summer for me, has also been a way of personal expression that is very enjoyable. I’m always surprised and delighted when I get comments!

    Twitter was useful for many during the recent tsunami, both in contacting family there and giving instant updates to the network news, I noticed. Fascinating.

  55. Catherine says:

    I totally agree. I was the same as you as far as finding others that share my obsession, I mean hobby. There really isn’t much in the way of gardening on tv and garden magazines just aren’t the same as reading what a real person has to say about what they’ve learned about gardening or what they are doing in their garden.

  56. ryan says:

    I’ve read some of the same type of things, and I find that when the media talks about blogs, that they aren’t really talking about garden blogs, that garden blogs kind of have their own thing going apart from all the trends. Like I remember reading recently that the trend in blogs was to have photos and text, as if that was some kind of new trend, and meanwhile I could’t think of a single garden blog that hadn’t always had photos and text. I don’t pay much attention to what the media has to say about gardening (how many times have they called that dead too) so I guess it makes sense that I dismiss what they say about blogging too. After 2+ years of blogging, I’m glad to see how many other blogs are still going strong and of course glad to see the Fairegarden among them.

  57. Les says:

    I can’t say anything better than what has already been said, but amen sister!

  58. Tammi says:

    I agree wholeheartedly! I wrote a post on my blog about this very same thing. I am on FB and enjoy it, but blogging is something totally different.

Comments are closed.