Sea Of Blue


The Fairegarden loves the concept *Sea Of* (insert your choice here). Right now the seas are composed of shades of blue, like the Veronica umbrosa ‘Georgia Blue’, a groundcover planted in the angel corner, at the end of the middle terrace pathway.


The blue grape hyacinths that were inherited with the property are everywhere, seeds scatted by the wind and bulbs transplanted by human and four legged diggers. Perhaps these are Muscari armeniacum, maybe M. neglectum, it doesn’t really matter, they are a large body of water planting that gets better with each passing year.


After seeing the greys and browns of winter give way to the early yellow daffodils, the complementary blue is just the thing to welcome one into the garden.


Small in stature, providing a soothing carpet to the emerging flowers and foliage, the Viola ‘Penny Marlies’ that was planted last fall is fulfilling its destiny.


Another pioneer is the sky blue Vinca minor. It provides a service by keeping the bare ground covered and weed seeding to a minimum. Other plants and shrubs have no problem growing up through the evergreen dark, shiny elliptical leaves.


There is a showier Vinca, V. minor ‘Illumination’ that is slightly less aggressive. It plays well with others.


The blue lakes enhance their neighbors. Fritillaria uva-vulpis along the long wall behind the main house is happy for the Muscari company.


Others are happy as well.

Frances

This entry was posted in Plant Portrait, wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Sea Of Blue

  1. fairegarden says:

    Please enjoy the seas of blue at the Fairegarden. Yesterday an inadvertant button click produced an email to subscribers to this blog, (thank you, thank you!) with a weird error message. It was not spam and we had not been taken over by aliens, I can assure you. Please forgive that mistake, and accept my apology for any confusion it may have caused. It shouldn’t happen again, but never say never. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. Eileen says:

    Frances, what a lovely scene of the early flowers, especially those hyacinths! We are so slow here this year with very little blooming. I’m getting anxious for some color.

    Eileen

    Thanks, Eileen. The blue grape hyacinths are a joy to behold, their sheer numbers is astounding, sometimes flowering with the bulb completely out of the ground from overcrowding. I hope you get some color soon!
    Frances

  3. Layanee says:

    You could never be ‘blue’ with flowers of that hue. I am waiting for blues here but this morning it is quite cold. I will satisfy that blue urge by coming back to visit your garden.

    HA Layanee, good one! Thanks for stopping by for a blue fix until your own seas part. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Love love love your blues, Frances! I believe I have that same Veronica but it’s not blooming yet…but my Vinca minor is, and I enjoy that, too. Gorgeous photos…looks like you could get lost in all that blue;-)

    Back to say I think my Veronica is V.austriaca–not umbrosa. Its greenery is out and spreading about but it hasn’t yet flowered here.

    Hi Jan, thanks. The Veronica is a name change since I last posted about it, used to be V. peduncularis, and still is according to Mobot. But Dave’s garden, who I have found to be most current in all this change of taxonomy says umbrosa, so I went with that. I really cannot keep up. Good deal on your Veronica!
    Frances

  5. gail says:

    Frances, The bee nectaring on the hyacinth warms my heart on this chilly morning. The stairs with the waterfall of blue is spectacular. Note to self, order more hyacinths! I have a small sea of Georgia Blue and noticed that it’s spreading just a little (yippee). Isn’t Spring wonderful! xxoogail

    Hi Gail, that makes me smile to think of the bee warming your heart, I know how much you adore those pollinators! The grape hyacinths are wonderful and really make the garden colorful as it transitions from early to mid season. I wouldn’t be without them. The Veronica was quite slow to establish and really suffers when our summers are extra dry. Spring is great!
    xxxooo
    Frances

  6. Barbara H. says:

    So glad to hear it was just an error yesterday and not a takeover! Lovely seas/sees, Frances. I especially love the steps flanked by the Muscari.

    Thanks Barbara. I tried to catch the error, it was only a couple of seconds before I rescheduled the post, but whatever generates the email to subscribers, and on facebook is faster than I! The blue borders on the stairs make me smile, too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. Frances, Anyone listening to me Ohhh!ing at your pictures might wonder if the living room had become the loving room. What a perfect blast of blue. Just lovely.

    Helen, that is the funniest thing ever! Thanks for making me chuckle to myself the rest of the day! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Your river of blue is magnificent Frances. What beauties it lures to your garden too. Have a great weekend.

    Thanks, Lisa. The view from inside the addition is breathtaking right now, and we have only just begun. You too enjoy the weekend. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Diana says:

    Wow you don’t have to go to the ocean to see wave after wave of blue colour. I imagined myself walking down the steps on photo No.3.

    Thanks Diana. We do love the ocean, and the blue flowers too. I would love to see you walking down those steps! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Hi Frances – a sea of blue for sure! We are Just Now receiving a “sea of white!” πŸ˜‰ I posted a photo – but it’s still coming down “like crazy!” ha. Glad I didn’t rake off my leaves!

    Hi Shady, oh no! I hope this is your last sea of white! May the rest of your seas by blue. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Valerie says:

    Oh so pretty. Love blue in the garden. V
    ps. I checked your post yesterday and there was nothing there. Was I missing something?

    Thanks Valerie. You didn’t miss anything with that post yesterday. As I tried to expain in the first comment on this post, I accidentally hit the publish button instead of the save button on a rough draft. I quickly rescheduled it as it was not even half finished or ready, but the email to subscribers had already been generated. Those wordpress fairies are too quick for me. I am sorry for any confusion.
    Frances

  12. Leslie says:

    That is simply lovely. I wish I had room for similar seas!

    Thanks Leslie. You might be happy with ponds. Like you are experiencing right now!
    Frances

  13. Always a sucker for blue. I have grown v.georgia blue in the past, it has a nice subtle blue flower, it seems I had problems with it getting leggy.

    Hi Greg, thanks for visiting. I believe your expectations of Georgie Blue must be higher than mine. If they get leggy that means they will fall over and root. It is a big jumbled mess out there in my garden, I like it like that. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. The yellows of spring need the blues, and the blues need the yellows. It’s a perfect spring symphony on your hillside.

    Hi MMD, thanks for adding that. The blues and yellows, and pinks and oranges and reds all need each other. Don’t forget the white, that ties it all together. Those candytuft can be useful. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  15. Benjamin says:

    So, sea of agony work for you? See of disillusion? Sea of much work to be done in the garden? πŸ™‚

    Oh Benjamin, your sourness makes me laugh out loud! It must take so much energy to be so grouchy! The work accomplished over the years here has been a labor or love, and continues to be as I get older and have to figure out ways to maintain it with less effort. It is the journey, not the destination that matters. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Marguerite says:

    Frances, like so many others I’m enraptured with your steps flanked by the sea of muscari. I’ve just made yet another note to myself to plant muscari on a pathway I’m concocting.

    Thanks Marguerite. The muscari make the perfect pathway planting. They reproduce so quickly, they plant themselves in places I would never have though of, all for the better. If the lanky foliage bothers you, plant them among other groundcovers.
    Frances

  17. Nicole says:

    Just beautiful, you are so lucky to have such a lovely walk into your garden. esp love the bi-color pansies.

    Hi Nicole, thanks. If I was a smart aleck, which I sometimes can be, I would say luck had nothing to do with it! I laid every rock, planted every plant and have been tweaking the garden to look the way it does for many years. But we are lucky in our climate to be able to grow the diversity of plants we do, so I must return to being a humble gardener. And polite blogger. HA πŸ™‚
    ps., just fooling around, hope you don’t mind!
    Frances

  18. Leanne says:

    Oh that looks beautiful!!!

    You have motivated me to plant more – I can as Autumn here.

    Love Leanne

    Thanks Leanne. How fortunate that you can plant the bulbs now, and get to see them in real time here in bloom! Cool! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. Janet says:

    I love the different blues you have in your landscape. I planted some Muscari in our front yard. Would be lovely if it spread as yours did.

    Thanks Janet. I hope yours spread like these do. I have some Valerie Finnis muscari, very pale blue that are so pretty, but just not as prolific as these old timers. I have methodically spread these and the daffs, and lots of other stuff over the years. Now they know the script and do it themselves! HA πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. Liz says:

    Hi,
    Lovely photos, I do wish I had a sea of anything right now. My garden generally isn’t mature enough for any seas, but perhaps one day it will be πŸ™‚

    Hi Liz, thanks. It does take time for any plantings to fill in. My garden is now 11 years old, and I work on it ceaselessly. When I am not working on it, I am thinking about it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. Absolutely gorgeous…but I am enamored with the photo of the steps with the grape hyacinths and moss! I keep coming back to look at it.

    Thanks Karin. That view is part of what I see from inside the house in our main sitting room. It has gotten a lot of thought and attention to make it pleasing. When the muscari are blooming might be my favorite time to view it. πŸ™‚
    Frances</em

    >

  22. Lola says:

    Oh Frances, I love the blue/yellow with a pop of red in the background. It all looks so yummy. I must try to plant more for flowers.
    I just planted 3 new lilies that I got last Fall. I put them in my relatively new bed that I call my Rose Garden. 2 roses started it all.

    Hi Lola, thanks. Your new bed sounds wonderful. Roses and lilies, a perfect match! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  23. Nell Jean says:

    Fun post. Love the streams of muscari. I have Pinkbells blooming, even bluebells won’t cooperate for me.

    Any weed that has a blue blossom gets to remain here. Right now the entire firebreak around the field next to my garden has blue toadflax blooming.

    Thanks Nell Jean. I love the sound of Pinkbells, but don’t know which plant or bulb you are referring to? I do love the toadflax! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  24. Pam/Digging says:

    I love that 3rd picture from the top, Frances. Had to stop and stare at it for several minutes.

    Thanks Pam. Anything that slows down the blog reading is a good thing, in my book. Glad you enjoyed it. Perhaps someday you will be able to see it in person. The photos do not do the garden justice, especially right now. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  25. Rose says:

    Simply beautiful, Frances! I especially love that photo of the steps with the sea of hyacinths around it. This reminds me of the river of salvia at the Lurie Garden; Fairegarden should be on the list of “must-see” gardens as well!

    Thanks Rose. The river of blue at the Lurie was a breathtaking vista. My own Fairelurie has hopes of achieving that look on a much smaller scale this year. I would love for you to see my garden, come on down! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. Oh I wish I was as blue as you! Simply gorgeous!

    Thanks Helen! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. Signe says:

    Love this blue seas of flowers. Looks like it is spring in your area.

    Hi Signe, thanks. It is indeed spring here in southeast Tennessee, there is no turning back now! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  28. Les says:

    If you are going to have a sea of anything, at least it is blue and appropriate. You have me rethinking Muscari in my garden.

    Hi Les, thanks for visiting. We do love a sea of blue, but also love seas of other colors and plants. En masse plantings are part of the vision, difficult to pull off when one is a plant collector and wants one of everything. Rethink Muscari? Only one thought there, you need it and lots of it! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  29. Cindy, MCOK says:

    The Muscari are gorgeous! No wonder you’re singing the (praises of the) blues!

    Thanks Cindy. The blues are what stands out in the garden at present, making me the opposite of blue. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  30. So very beautiful. The third photo, Frances, is as good as any in a magazine like Fine Gardening.~~Dee

    Thanks Dee, you are too sweet. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  31. Pingback: Summertime Blues | Fairegarden

Comments are closed.