April The First


Do you remember the first time you saw the movie Jaws?


Was it in a dark theatre, with the sounds amplified to the perfect scary pitch?


Do you remember the first scene, where the girl is swimming at night with her boyfriend, enticing him to join her far from the shoreline?


Then the music changes the carefree tone of the film. Duh duhnt, duh duhnt, duh duhnt…


It was a masterpiece of storytelling, a best selling novel by Peter Benchley transformed with precision by Steven Spielberg into a visual adventure.


It was released to the market during the peak of vacation beach season, June 20, 1975.


There was controversy, it would hurt the seaside tourism industry some said.


Word of mouth from the brave initial viewers had everyone standing in line to be scared out of the water.


The pacing, the acting, the props, the ocean, the sandy beach, all were just right.


Then the good guys, a mixed group of very fine fellows with acting skills above and beyond, go after the shark in a boat.


And the point dear readers, of this little excursion down memory lane, really does have a garden theme. For when we noticed the emerging spikes of Lilium ‘Black Beauty’, there was one thought that lept immediately to mind, that we were going to need, not a bigger boat, but bigger stakes, to hold this monster.

Happy April The First from Fairegarden!

The cast:
1. Fritillaria meleagris
2. Anemone sylvestris ‘Madonna’
3. Dicentra spectabilis ‘Valentine’
4. Athyrium niponicum var. pictum
5. Epimedium sulphureum
6. Narcissus ‘Lorikeet’
7. Viola ‘Antique Shades’
8. Hyacinths
9. Heuchera ‘Citronelle’
10. Helleborus orientale and Kitty
11. Lilium ‘Black Beauty’

Frances

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to April The First

  1. Eileen says:

    I remember the movie very well! The blooms are delightful.

    Eileen

    Thanks Eileen. Happy April! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. Carol says:

    Loved this, Frances!

    Thanks Carol. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. Nicely done, Frances! I remember the movie all too well. Even today, I think of it as I enter the water and I’m a huge ocean fan. But it changed me forever…just like gardening did. H.

    Thanks Helen. I used to go way out in the ocean, relaxing on a floatie, before that movie. Now, stay close to the shore. Gardening does change us, for the better! Happy April! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Gail says:

    Dear Frances, Now that’s a movie cast worthy of a Golden Globe and Oscars! As quickly as that movie embedded itself in my unconscious for every beach visit there after~So did “Candy Gram” and “Land shark”!

    Love the hyacinths together and the epimedium is so lovely. Next yr the leaves get trimmed on mine!

    Have a fantastic weekend. xxoogail

    Thanks Gail. Candy Gram was brilliant, wasn’t it? Like the Hellebores, the Epimedium foliage needs pruning. Like me, you have learned that the hard way. Happy April! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. Melissa says:

    What a great post Frances. I love it. And the cast list is just out of this world.

    Thanks Melissa, glad you enjoyed it. Happy April! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. I was too young to go see the movie in the theater, but I did see the actual shark at Universal Studios in California. While watching movies, I often recognize actors and try to name or place them. I thought that Heuchera looked familiar. ‘Citronelle’ is such a good one.

    Thanks for visiting, MMD. You are but a child! We saw the same at Universal when we lived in California. It was fun but sort of took away the scariness to see how it was really done. Citronelle is a true movie star. Happy April! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I sure remember this movie. It was so scary. Even now that music is used in any reference to cause terror. Ha.. Happy April 1.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. I knew you would. The music has become iconic, you are right. Happy April! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Janet says:

    I planted 6 Lilies this winter and so far only one has emerged…think the voles got the others? That is my Jaws creature from below…dunnndunndunn dunnn

    Hi Janet, I agree!!! Those voles are terrifying! It might be that your lilies have not yet emerged. Sometimes they are late, while others of the same sort are well up. I wouldn’t panic just yet. Happy April! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Darla says:

    Oh boy do I ever remember that movie…my kids don’t find it the least bit scary….your photos are beautiful as usual.

    Hi Darla, thanks for that. It might be one of those *You had to be there* things. It was pretty dang scary in the theatre, when you didn’t know what was going to happen next. Happy April! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Barbara H. says:

    I only saw previews – that was enough for me. I was avidly following your buildup to – THE CAT!!! (My young black cat is definitely Jaws in my garden – unfortunately…). But no, this cat looks too peacefully meditative – oh, it’s a plant you are talking about. And it’s one you want – not even a weed! Boy, I need that cup of coffee – not on the same page at all. See you later, alligator.

    Hi Barbara, the previews and buzz about Jaws when it was first released was really something. Kitty is good in the garden, chasing voles and mice. He does occasionally nibble on grasses to keep his digestion running smoothly is all. He has been known to dig, though. Sorry to have mislead you! I understand how lack of coffee can affect the brain. Happy April anyway! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. Yes, I remember it very well. It scared me so much that I didn’t want to swim in the ocean or lake for a long time. Your spring blooms are just stunning! Such amazing photography as always!

    Thanks, Karin. It was scary at the time!
    Frances

  12. LOL, Francis. Who are you trying to fool? Everybody knows you need a “bigger garden”! πŸ˜‰

    HA Steve, thanks. Yes, a bigger garden and MORE plants! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. commonweeder says:

    These blooms are even more exciting than the movie. Especially to someone who is gazing out at a newly white landscape.

    Wow, Pat, thanks! I am sorry about your sea of white, may it change to green shortly! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. Sharon Parker says:

    Very clever! Loved all the spring blooms and seeing your kitty enjoying the garden, too!

    Thanks Sharon. Kitty loves to be near me in the garden, whether I am working or taking photos.
    Frances

  15. Rose says:

    You are a master storyteller, Frances! I was too scared to see the movie in the theatre, but you had me hooked from the first line here, and the photos kept me going. I have faith that you’ll be able to tame the “monster”:)

    Hi Rose, thanks, you are too kind. It was very scary at that time, and was all the talk that summer. I need to devise a tower of some sort for this lily, it is a beautiful giant. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. joey says:

    Stunning cast and beautiful photography, Frances. Happy April gardening πŸ™‚

    Thanks Joey, happy April to you! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Lola says:

    Oh my, a scary wait for the next encounter. But all’s well.

    Don’t be scared Lola, these are friendly beasts! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. Your garden is looking so wonderful and colorful this spring!

    Thanks Kai!
    Frances

  19. James A-S says:

    My overriding memory of the first few minutes of Jaws is that I was freezing cold having just ridden a motorcycle from the west country wearing loafers and a woefully inadequate coat.
    In January.
    Il faut souffrir pour etre belle in those days. Although I doubt my companion was that impressed by the shivering or the goose pimples.

    How romantic of you, James! I am sorry you were inadequately dressed, your poor date. Jaws in January would not be quite as scary, methinks. πŸ™‚
    Frances

Comments are closed.