Sunrise At A South Carolina Seashore


It was breathtaking.


Running with the camera up the boardwalk in the darkness, shrouded by trees and shrubbery, the golden pink could be seen just beyond. We must hurry!


No time to stop and admire an artistic tableau of Welk shells bleaching in the intense lightness of being.


Almost there, heart racing, we hope it is not too late.


It is deserted. The wind is blowing the sand hard, stinging bare skin. It is slightly chilly.


Ahhh.


The blood pressure drops, the pulse rates slows, breathing is regular and deep, those negative ions are waving their wand of peacefulness.


Now to study those Welk shells more closely.

~~~

We wanted to share the sensation of experiencing a seashore sunrise with you. There is nothing like it. The location is on Johns Island, just outside of Charleston, South Carolina where we spent a lovely weekend with dear and longtime friends, whom we want to thank for their most generous hospitality. β™₯

Frances

This entry was posted in Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sunrise At A South Carolina Seashore

  1. Carol says:

    Gorgeous, and yes, heart-slowing. By chance did you go see the Angel Oak while there?

    Thanks Carol, it was wonderful and relaxing. We went to see the Angel Oak on our very first trip to Johns Island, 1989. It was magnificent! No photos, unfortunately, of that trip.
    Frances

  2. Les says:

    Seabrook or Kiawah?

    I was trying not to specify, Les, but let us say the more northern one. πŸ™‚
    Frances

    I was not meaning to pry, but in a former life I worked and lived at one and then the other. Your photos bring back memories, and I thank you.

    I hope my response did not sound like I thought that, Les. This was a private residence belonging to dear friends. I do not trust the internet, period. Having lived and worked there must have been a dream job!
    F

  3. Barbara H. says:

    Oh, thank you, Frances. It’s been too long. Since I can no longer drive to the Pacific, I need to establish a connection with the Gulf. Maybe in May… I can smell the air.

    Thanks Barbara, glad to help! I feel that the east coast has a whole different feeling to it, besides seeing sunrises rather than sunsets. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. gail says:

    Dear Frances, Spectacular! Just what was needed this morning…I can hear the waves and feel the sand under my feet. Perfect. xxoogail

    Thanks Gail. I am so glad to have caught the sunrise there, and will be revisiting these photos whenever I need a pick me up. πŸ™‚
    xxxooo
    Frances

  5. Randy Andrson says:

    Wonderful Frances! This winter has been so gray here in the Midwest,I’ve forgotten what a sunrise even looks like. Thank you once again for a wonderful blog!

    Thanks Randy, you are so sweet! The sunrise at the beach is way better than the one at my home, too. I will look at these photos are remember fondly… πŸ™‚
    Frances

  6. Valerie says:

    Looks heavenly Frances. V

    Thanks Valerie. It was wonderful. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  7. Rose says:

    Absolutely gorgeous, Frances! I remember on a trip to Florida some years ago getting up before dawn just to catch the sunrise over the ocean. Normally, vacations are for sleeping in, but it was worth every minute of lost sleep. Your photos are beautiful–thanks for sharing them with us.

    Thanks Rose. It is so easy to sleep in at the beach, I sleep like a baby there. After the sunrise was captured the first day, I was free to sleep in on subsequent mornings. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Holley says:

    Beautiful. Makes me a little homesick to see the ocean and beach. Now I’m going to have to plan a trip! All because of a sunrise.

    Thanks Holley. We have to travel a good distance to get to any beaches, but it is worth it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Ginger Goolsby says:

    What beautiful photos which bring forth lots of wonderful beachside memories. Thank you for sharing your trip since I probably won’t make it to the sea shore this year from land-locked East Tennessee.

    Thanks Ginger. I am sorry to hear you won’t get to see the beach this year. We will see it at least one more time on our yearly family get together. This was a good appetizer for it. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  10. Liz says:

    Hi Frances,

    Beautiful photos, I wish I lived near the coast; it’s such a magical place.

    Certainly good for the soul seeing that every morning.

    Hi Liz, thanks. I hope your soul was nourished by the ocean scenes. I love going to the shore, but would rather not live there. I am a mountain girl. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. I love the Welk shells on the edge of the boardwalk…gorgeous…as all of the photos are. Thanks for sharing!

    Thanks Sage Butterfly. I was taken by the artistic arrangement, too. Glad you enjoyed seeing the beach. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  12. Thanks for making me wish I was there.

    Thanks for reading, Susan. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. I missed making it to the seashore this year, so I’m enjoying the vicarious trip. Just beautiful!

    I hope you get to go to the shore sometime in the next few, MMD! Having photos helps bring back the memories. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  14. Lola says:

    Gorgeous. There is something calming about the ocean–the quietness, gentle waves lapping upon the shore. Slowing the mind & body down.

    Thanks Lola. The ocean is full of magic.
    Frances

  15. Sue Langley says:

    Early mornning whether at the beach or in the mountains is my favorite time of day. The light you get during sunrises and sets is so exceptional. I can tell that you ‘see’ it, Frances.

    Hi Sue, thanks for stopping by. Yes, I am a morning/sunrise person, too. I love sunsets, I love everything about the out of doors, but seeing the darkness fade away to brightness gives hope to every new day. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  16. Hi Frances,
    I enjoyed seeing your beautiful photos. I need to get myself to bed, and hopefully, your lovely sunrise will grace my dreams. Ever since our June of 2007 vacation to the Outer Banks of North Carolina, I’ve had more dreams of being on another beach vacation than having dreams of gardening. I did dream the other night that we’d moved, and I was trying to figure out where my gardens would be. I’m just glad it’s spring, and I get to garden for real.

    Happy spring to you!

    HI Sue, thanks. It sounds as though you are more than ready for spring and warm weather. The Outer Banks was our family vacation spot for many years, we still love it there. I hope your dreams were sweet ones! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. Sweetbay says:

    There is something very magical about the ocean, although I have never seen it at sunrise. I’m not a morning person although I wish I was.

    Thanks for stopping by, Sweetbay. Sunsets are good too, but I seldom see them with the situation of my garden. Maybe someday it will be a different position in the universe where I will be watching the outdoors from. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Aaahhhhhh, I can see it in my mind and feel it in my soul. Beautiful.

    Thanks Lisa. That is exactly the way I feel when looking at these shots, I am glad we can share the vision. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. I haven’t been to the beach for a couple years (or more) but I think you captured the joy of seeing the sun rise on the shoreline. Well done.

    Thanks Janet. You are so much closer than we are to the beach, you need to go, when you can find the time. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  20. Rely lovely shots Frances. I just got my first DSLR camera so I know how you feel, cant let a great photo opportunity go to waste.

    Thanks Sunny. Congratulations on your new camera! I know you will astonish us with your photos, you are such an artist. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. Shyrlene says:

    You can almost smell the salt water and hear the waves touch the beach! Thanks for sharing!! (..with a deep soul-cleansing sigh..)

    Thanks for coming along the boardwarlk, Shrylene. I am glad you enjoyed seeing the ocean sunrise. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  22. Alistair says:

    Simply. gorgeous.

    Thanks Alistair. πŸ™‚
    Frances

Comments are closed.