Daylily Time-ing


There are a whole lotta daylilies, Hemerocallis cultivars, growing here in the Fairegarden. Shown above: H. ‘White Opal’


The list and photos of them can be seen by clicking on the sidebar Plants We Grow-Daylilies or here. Shown above: H. ‘Demetrius’


Using these wonderful, beautiful, tough as a donkey cart plants in the landscape design has proven trying. The colors have been considered when placing, or replacing over and over again, in the effort to make the most of what we’ve got. The heights have been duly noted and the shorties placed in the front. The thing not considered as it should have been is the time of bloom. Shown above: H. ‘Matt’


Daylilies are classified as early, mid-season or late blooming, with incremental groupings such as early-mid, etc. Most of what we are growing here are earlies. Shown above: H. ‘Golden Globes’


Ever eagerly awaiting the beginning of daylily sales at the local farms, we would visit about mid-June to be assured of a good selection of blooming plants from which to choose. Shown above: H. ‘Addie Branch Smith’


It was always more more about colors, trying to fill in gaps of whites and pinks or those with dark eyes, whatever a frenzied brain had decided we needed more of to complete the collection. Time of bloom was not considered, we bought what was blooming, to be sure what we were getting. Shown above: H. ‘Kabuki’


There is a flaw to that color coding method, a serious one. Having a group of daylilies planted side by side, cheek by jowl for a mass of brilliant flowers requires that they bloom together, at the same time period with some overlap. Shown above: a chance seedling, listed as H. ‘Red Baby’


Over the years, we did go visit the farms later and later, adding those July into August bloomers to the Fairegarden. But they are fewer in number, the lates, and are not being used effectively. Shown above: H. ‘Matthew Martin’


Maybe what is needed is a spreadsheet of some kind, with color coordination and height noted. Doesn’t that sound like a super task for the mid-winter doldrums that strike each January into February? Add it to the to do list right now! Shown above: H. ‘Royal Butterfly’

Frances

This entry was posted in Plant Portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Daylily Time-ing

  1. Larry says:

    Hi Frances…. love your daylilies… only lemon lily in bloom here so far but I do look forward to this season a lot. This year I have a few hundred of my own crosses that should bloom for the first time and am really looking forward to that! Your posts are always great fun to peruse…Larry

    Hi Larry, thanks. We have the lemon lily too, and love that early blooming. How exciting about your crosses! My crosses are blooming now, some of them and I was surprised that they all look alike, like the Daddy. The Mommy is a later bloomer, so maybe the ones that haven’t bloomed yet will look like her. A learning curve, for sure.
    Frances

  2. Melissa says:

    Wonderful daylilies. Ours aren’t yet in bloom. Budding like crazy but not opening yet. I may just have to add to my collection as I only have one color. Course thats what was planted here when we moved in. I love some of the colors you have. Thanks for having the names of each with the photo…..makes it easier.

    Hi Melissa, thanks. The daylilies can be addictive, like the orchids and hostas and well, you know… The variety offered now is amazing, with many that look quite similar. It is fun to shop for that one you don’t already have, my usual method. I really need to stop… HA
    Frances

  3. Thanks Frances,

    I do need some more early ones as I had noticed I had mostly mid blooming dayliles. I put in Eileen Clymer last fall and it is an extra early, very large bloom and a striking gold/yellow in the garden. Sandra Elizabeth is a late bloomer, tall, lemon yellow, just lovely. I could also add to late blooming. Your collection is better than a catalog, colors look more realistic.

    Eileen

    Those sound pretty, Eileen. If there was a Frances, I would buy it! The names do affect us, since there are so many from which to choose. I really plan to make a spreadsheet, this winter. Even now, I am moving them about since the time, height and color is right before my eyes instead of on paper. Thanks for the kind words, I do not adulterate the color in the photos, unlike those catalogs.
    Frances

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I always think I will do something like this during winter but end up doing it when it is so hot an miserable here. Now If I ever get my plant list up to date I would like to keep it so. How is that for a challenge?? I have only one late bloomer and it is because it is a rebloomer. I haven’t had luck with getting one to bloom late. It seems they come to me as a late bloomer then weather extremes usually coax it into mid summer blooms. Oh well, I like them any way.

    Hi Lisa, I know what you mean. I have lost track of who is where with so many impulse moves of the daylilies. Taking photos will help, then labeling the photos right away. They already have the dates imbedded so that will be a starting point. The really late ones are difficult, I have found. Reblooming is best, but only sufficient water will make that happen and we never have sufficient water around here during that time. Oh well, …
    Frances

  5. Raji says:

    Frances, your daylilies are beautiful, large flowers…I had planted some last year for the first time…I am hoping that thye will bloom soon..I see small buds..really small in size..I think mine needs more fertilizers(??)

    Hi Raji, thanks. The size of the bloom is genetic, fertilizer will give a stronger, healthier plant with more flowers, but shouldn’t affect the size. Maybe the ones you have are the smaller ones, or maybe they just need more time. Lots of sun and plentiful water also makes for healthier plants. Good luck!
    Frances

  6. Dee Nash says:

    Frances, I know what you mean. I don’t have very many early blooming ones. Mine are all mid-season and late. I just say it’s their show while they bloom, and then, once they’re done, I let them go. Pretty ones you have.~~Dee

    Thanks Dee. I am quick off the gun to the nearby farms, or use to be, that is why we have so many earlies. Now it seems the heights and timing are more important than colors, since we have every color anyway. I am trying not to buy any new ones this year, so far so good. But it is still early.
    Frances

  7. commonweeder says:

    Frances – what beautiful daylilies. I now have a Daylily Bank to save my husband mowing. This is the third year and it is filling out nicely with varieties that are mostly pale colors, pink and pale yellow, cream, with a couple of reds. A couple of Stella d’Oros are in there and I think I will dig that out and replace it. Probably half the names are lost, but I am going to try and map out what I can this year. Your record keeping is always such an inspiration. Thanks for the rabbit net tips. The rabbit was on the lawn again this morning, but the circle garden was wrapped in black netting.

    Hi Pat, thanks. A daylily bank is perfect to stabilize a hill. Trying to keep the names straight when many are similar in appearance, we have a bunch of reds that look the same, almost, can be difficult. Photos help. Good deal on those rabbits. They are eating my nastursiums every morning, leaves, flowers and all. At least I don’t have to worry about deadheading!
    Frances

  8. Leslie says:

    You and Dee inspire me to try to make my daylilies a bit happier…it looks beautiful at Fairegarden!

    Thanks Leslie. Do give them sun, water and rich soil, plenty of moisture. Dee does have some beauties!
    Frances

  9. My Kids Mom says:

    I think you can make a spreadsheet and have it all laid out just so… and then Mother Nature will tell those flowers to surprise you with an early or later bloom than normal, a shorter or taller plant than ever before, or a hybrid color you weren’t expecting. She doesn’t really like it when we try to predict her ways!

    You are so right, Jill. It happens just like that every year. Right now I am trying to adjust the plantings for height and color while the daylilies are blooming, but next year they could be different in some ways. Timing especially is the most variable thing.
    Frances

  10. The funny thing is, I bet you’ll make that spread sheet. You have some beautiful daylilies.

    I am going to try, MMD. Not sure why that is funny….HA. I have never made a spread sheet before, but it appeals to me on many levels. Maybe I can add where the heck they are planted in the garden, too. And a photo!
    Frances

  11. Carol says:

    It’s not easy to get timing of bloom right in a garden, Mother Nature sometimes plays tricks on us!

    You are exactly right, Carol. There is no fooling Mother Nature, but she can certainly fool us!
    Frances

  12. Lola says:

    Gorgeous Frances, I have a few but really want to add more. Most of mine came with the house–an orange y color. They look to be double.

    Thanks Lola. It sounds like you have a variation of the wild Hemerocallis fulva called Kwanso. We have it too, tall, later and double.
    Frances

  13. Golden Globes looks good enough to eat! (Yes, I know, the blooms are edible). I’ve been thinking about pulling a butterfly bush out of my cottage garden so that I can grow more plants away from the deer. I’ll bookmark your daylilies for the future!

    Hi Freda, yes, that sounds like a better use of precious space, unless you train the butterfly bush as a standard, then grow the daylilies underneath. We do that here.
    Frances

  14. Beauties, each and every one of them. I am not sure I could keep all of them straight from year to year….some are so similar in appearance. I do like a big stand of them in the garden, really puts forth a great show when all in bloom.

    Hi Janet, thanks. It is hard to keep them straight, especially when they are moved so frequently. Some here are quite similar, even with my carefully prepared page of photos with names. A mass planting looks best, of everything!
    Frances

  15. Lola says:

    Gorgeous Frances, I have a few but really want to add more. Most of mine came with the house–an orange y color. They look to be double.
    Add on—The orangy colored lily that came with the house has bloomed the same time as my “Double Talk” & a smaller new short yellow one that was purchased last fall & put in garden this Spring. I really need to add some early & late ones. Any suggestions?

    Lola, I am not sure about the ones that would be early or late for you, I would suggest you do some research with the American Daylily Society for your area, or local growers.
    Frances

  16. Jean says:

    Frances, This is like a preview of coming attractions for me. July is when the daylilies in my Maine garden really burst into bloom. This week, flower scapes have suddenly started to appear on many of the early bloomers, and I find myself walking around the garden every morning, peering closely at daylilies and counting flower scapes. Such delicious anticipation.

    Thanks for visiting, Jean. As the dalilies bud up is so exciting. Then, each day brings new flowers. Fun to check each morning for new ones opening. Delicious is the word!
    Frances

  17. Alistair says:

    Frances your Daylilies are looking great. We have a few in the garden from the days when we just planted stuff that looked good and never kept a record of their names unfortunately. Our ones are in bud at the moment and should start opening first week in July. I particularly like your H. ‘Demetrius’

    Hi Alistair, thanks. Whether the names are known or not, they are all so pretty. Demetrius is having the best year ever.
    Frances

  18. “Nature’s first green is gold/ her hardest hue to hold” — R. Frost. I love yellow. Nothing finer than yellow and white and blue.

    I love that poem, thanks Harold.

Comments are closed.