Wildflower Wednesday-June 2011


In the Fairegarden, planted with hopes that they will come…


(They being the pollinators),


(What planted being the native wildflowers to our area),


Are those flowers that are designed by nature to grow right here…


…Providing sustenance for the visitors that fly from bloom to bloom.


It is a symbiotic relationship between the three of us, plants, insects and humans.


It is a giant puzzle where the pieces fit snugly together around the curves to form a whole.


The umbrella is opened wide to include the tinkerings of humans…


…in the name of the pursuit of beauty.


But even in our designated National Wildlife Habitat, there are limits. Flick!

Please join in the sharing of wildflowers, native or not, in your garden or public spaces with my dear friend Gail of Clay And Limestone on the fourth Wednesday of each month.

Photo #1 Asclepias tuberosa
Photo #2 Asclepias tuberosa with Great Spangled Fritillary
Photo #3 Echinacea purpurea
PHoto #4 Echinacea purpurea with Bumblebee
PHoto #5 Echinacea purpurea ‘White Swan’
PHoto #6 Echinacea tennessensis seedling that has crossed with E. purpurea with small bee-type insect
PHoto #7 Echinacea tennessensis ‘Rocky Top’
PHoto #8 Echinacea ‘Hot Papaya’ long view towards the left slope
Photo #9 Echinacea ‘Hot Papaya’ mid-range view towards the right slope
Photo #10 Echinacea ‘Hot Papaya’ close up with unwelcome guest soon to be dispatched

Frances

This entry was posted in Wildflowers, wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Wildflower Wednesday-June 2011

  1. Barbara H. says:

    Ah, cruel fate. ‘Hot Papaya” twas such a lovely place to munch…

  2. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Echinacea has really captured the imagination of breeders. There are so many colors now. Fun, beautiful, tough and pollinator loving plants.

  3. Hard to choose ! just enjoyment! ((:- Thanks !

  4. Gail says:

    Hello my friend, Beautifully said in your always charming manner….and yes, there are some critters that do not get to munch on our flowers! Happy Wildflower Wednesday. xxoogail ps I can see the attraction of ‘Hot Papaya’ ~it’s really cool looking.

  5. sequoiagardens says:

    How lovely! Drool for Hot Papaya. What a deliciously monstrous flower, name ditto! And if there is time I must go find something to post for WFW… being mid-winter it won’t be fresh. And having this morning finished my end-of-term work on grades etc, it won’t be Wednesday either, I guess 😉

  6. p3chandan says:

    Wow! Spectacular blooms and photos!

  7. Lovely photos of lovely blooms

  8. Karina says:

    These are such beautiful captures of such lovely flowers which makes the pictures even more wonderful. May I ask what camera that you are using?

    Thanks so much for those kind words. I am a point and shoot on auto setting photographer, taking a hundred shots to get one decent one. Practice and learning to read the best light makes for the best photos. My camera is a Canon Powershot A720 IS.
    Frances

    • Karina says:

      Thanks for letting me know what camera you are using! All of your pictures look so perfect and professionally done! I’m still learning how to take nice pictures too, but it’s very hard. I love Canon’s cameras, they have great ones. Now I’m really convinced that one doesn’t need a big, heavy camera to take such lovely pics since I don’t like lugging it around. Thanks so much!

      My pleasure.

  9. Rose says:

    All these vibrant colors have done more to wake me up this morning than the first cup of coffee, Frances–gorgeous! Seeing the first butterflies and bees visiting the garden is always cause for delight, but I agree there are limits to which insects are welcome.

  10. Tammie says:

    pretty as can be!

  11. Les says:

    I just visited the garden of some friends, and it was awash in Coneflower, both the older reliable varieties and the newer ones, including Hot Papaya. They were growing it behind some Bagatelle Barberry and the colors worked really well together. If I can get myself some time to work with the photos, I should have pics up soon.

  12. I do like those Tennessee coneflowers. They’re such a neat variation on a well-known theme.

  13. Kris says:

    Stunning! Thank you so much for highlighting the glories of locally native plants. They are so very important.

    Your magical site always does my heart endless good. When I’m feeling angry or dejected, coming here soothes my soul. Thank you, Frances.

    Thanks for visiting, Kris. I am so happy that you find something that pleases you here. That is the goal and your words are so kind. Happy 4th!
    Frances

  14. Donalyn says:

    Followed your Pinterest pin – so many beauties here – some of them will be blooming in my gardens for the first time this year and I can’t wait!

    Thanks Donalyn. How exciting for you!
    Frances

Comments are closed.