Red, White And Blue For You


Calling all reds!


Nice!


Ah, yes.


Calling all whites!


Love the bee prop.


Calling all blues!


Oh, baby, baby!


Now for the groups…er, not quite blue there, sorry.


Yes!


Happy Birthday USA!


Each Fourth of July the little flag from my childhood is brought out to celebrate this happy day for all Americans. This flag is special, not only because it has been around since I was nine years old, but because it has forty-nine stars. You can count them, seven rows of seven. It was made in the very short time span after Alaska was granted statehood, January 3, 1959, but before Hawaii joined the union on August 21, 1959. Yes, I was alive way back then.

The plants:
Rudbeckia hirta ‘Cherry Brandy’, Hemerocallis ‘Not Rosie Meyer’, Zinnia ‘Red Spider’, Leucanthemum x superbum ‘Becky’, Veronicastrum virginicum, Commelina cyanea, Hydrangea macrophylla ‘Dooley’, Lilium ‘Excelsior with Crocosmia ‘Lucifer’ and Monarda didyma ‘Raspberry Wine’, Echinacea ‘White Swan’ with Crocosmia ‘Lucifer’ and Campanula persicifolia.

Frances

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Red, White And Blue For You

  1. Valerie says:

    Love your red, white and blue flower display. All gorgeous specimens. Happy 4th to you. V

    Thanks Valerie. Happy 4th back at ya!
    Frances

  2. Gail says:

    Frances, That is one cool flag. Happy Independence Day to you and thank you for the red, white and blue flowers to brighten the day and put me in the celebrating mood. Love the bees~Isn’t that carpenter bee a big guy! Now that I have seen the red zinnia I am wondering why oh why I didn’t order it! xxoogail

    Hi Gail, thanks and a Happy 4th back to you, my dear. Those carpenter bees are the bane of The Financier, they are making holes all over our garage deck, but I like them anyway. The zinnias are quite small, the flowers are smaller than a quarter, but they are cuties.
    xxxooo
    Frances

  3. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    You have some beautiful red, white, and blue flowers Frances. How nice that you have a special flag to commemorate our Independance Day. Happy 4th to you and yours.

    Thanks Lisa, Happy 4th to you all, too!
    Frances

  4. Carol says:

    Frances, A special flag, a special garden. Thanks for sharing both of them with us today.

    Thanks, Carol. Happy 4th to you!
    Frances

  5. So fun how many of your red, white and blue flowers actually look like fireworks! Happy July 4th!

    Thanks Karin. May your garden also be full of sparklers!
    Frances

  6. Layanee says:

    Right back at you Frances. Let the celebration continue.

    Thanks Layanee. The whole month of July seems a good time for celebration!
    Frances

  7. commonweeder says:

    What a childhood treasure! I do have red, white and blue flowers, but I’m going to have to think about firework flowers.

    Hi Pat, thanks. Festive flowers…a good thing!
    Frances

  8. Sue Lentell says:

    Awesome photos! Happy and safe 4th to you and your family! Sue

    Thanks Sue. I hope your holidays were the best ever!
    Frances

  9. Lola says:

    Beautiful, just the right colors for this special occasion. I hope you & family had a marvelous day.
    Great on the flag.

    Thanks Lola, I hope you had a great holiday as well.
    Frances

  10. I wouldn’t want any state to un-join but 49 does seem a neat number.

    I like your Rudbeckia. I tried to grow it once (though not one as interesting or as rich in colour as yours) but its roots got infested with aphids – I hadn’t realised before that this could happen – and haven’t come across it again, thankfully. I haven’t tried again – but maybe I should, they are have such cheerful flowers.

    Esther

    Hi Esther, thanks for visiting. 49 is exciting, 50 sort of dull, but nice and round, anyway. Your aphid problem on the roots of the Rudbeckia is something I have never heard of. Our conditions are so different, though. We are super hot, sunny and dry dry dry, aphids are rarely seen, and usually cobbled up by ladybugs right away when they do appear. I hope you can try again with the Rudbeckia, the pollinators love them so.
    Frances

  11. Karina says:

    All of the flowers are so lovely! Very cute theme of using the red, white, and blue colors to display the celebration of July 4th. Hope you had a great July 4th!

    Thanks!

  12. Super cute post Faire! I think it’s neat you have a flag with 49 stars. Imagine that. Also, I love your ‘Cherry Brandy.’ Mine bit the dust. Perhaps it was my fault.~~Dee

    Thanks Dee. Funny about the flag, isn’t it? Such a small window of time when those were made. Cherry Brandy is wonderful, but does seem to need extra water in this heat. They are only annuals here, but we hope for reseeding.
    Frances

  13. I am so glad to see you used true blue flowers and not some quasi-bluish purple flowers. Thank you for that.

    Thanks Kathy, I am glad you approve!
    Frances

  14. Love those truly red reds and blue blues. I also like the magenta Monarda.

    Thanks MMD. It was fun searching out the right colors in the garden to represent the holiday. Good thing we have some of every color!
    Frances

  15. Town Mouse says:

    Wow, your blues are truly impressive, enough to hold those 49 stars for sure…(You were alive then? Ha! My little sister was alive then…)

    Thanks Town Mouse. You are funny! I was more than alive, nearly an adult! Well, in my mind, anyway. HA
    Frances

Comments are closed.