The Dawning Of A New Day


Do not adjust your sets. The images you are about to see are purposefully dark, for it is still night here at the Fairegarden. We are tip-toeing gingerly around the garden paths, just barely able to see where to step. But the light will be coming along shortly, and with it all colors will be revealed. But for right now, the scene is shades of grey and brown.


Things are changing with each passing second. Almost imperceptibly, the paintings of the garden become more clear to the human eye, even as the camera eye, set on auto, tries to adjust for the lack of candlepower. The grainy portraits have a surreal quality, not quite in focus, mere suggestions of what really is.


The color palette is limited.


But certain shades shout out.


See me! Feel me, touch me, heal me. (Yes, it’s a link)


In full summer daylight, there is too much light, the light is too harsh, the rays too hot. It burns the lens perception to a white out. But now, now, with each passing moment changes, changes are taking place, so small but still moving forward.


Onward.


As the world comes into view…


…The hidden colors emerge from the shadows.


The garden becomes a brighter place, alive with buzzing.


More clearly we see, as focus improves with the light.


Welcome to a new day.

Frances

This entry was posted in before and after, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Dawning Of A New Day

  1. Susan says:

    Beautiful!!
    I never miss the sunrise–it’s so wonderfully quiet and peaceful. Just the birds, a grand cup of coffee and peace!

    Thanks Susan. We are such early risers here, it is always dark when we get up. I like to go outside and walk around the garden as soon as there is enough light to be able to see for footing, then watch the changes. It happens quickly, like magic, I was hoping to capture that.
    Frances

  2. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I love this time of the day. When the traffic isn’t as noisy, the calm before the storm so to speak. You can see which colors pick up the light best. Have a great weekend Frances.

    Thanks Lisa. I can tell by the timing of your comments that you are also an early bird, or maybe an early bird-watcher! HA You are so right about the quiet, every little sound is amplified. I love when it just becomes light enough for the birds to start talking to each other, over the constant sound of the crickets. You too have a great weekend.
    Frances

  3. Layanee says:

    Somehow I slept through sunrise here but I am happy to share yours. It is so quiet just before dawn isn’t it?

    Thanks for stopping by, Layanee. I love everything about that early time.
    Frances

  4. This is a nice time of day and a lovely progression of images, Frances. I too am up, but busy getting the hubby off to work. I rarely am outside at this time, but may favorite part of the morning is the birds singing before all else is awake and moving. There is such a calm and peace about.

    Thanks Donna. I didn’t used to go outside until it was lighter out in the mornings, but now enjoy going out even in pitch darkness and just listening. It is warm out then, even warmer than inside the house most days. Winter will be different, I will have to bundle up to go out. And will.
    Frances

  5. Linda says:

    Good Morning and thank you for the link to this epic Woodstock song, by the Who. Starts out low and builds up to a pleasant awakening…….much like the images that came from your camera…….enjoyed it so much, I shared it on FB! Life ROCKS!

    Thanks Linda, life does rock, especially considering the alternative! I appreciate your taking the time to click the link. That is one of my top ten all time faves.
    Frances

  6. Valerie says:

    I love to take my coffee outside in the early morning and just watch the day come alive. It is so peaceful then. V

    Me too, Valerie. I like to see the Earth wake up.
    Frances

  7. Ginger Goolsby says:

    What lovely pictures. The early morning is such a marvelous time. Question? I know you have written before, but I have forgotten – what is the lovely red-tipped grass?

    Thanks Ginger. The red tipped grass is Japanese blood grass, Imperata cylindrica ‘Rubra’.
    Frances

  8. commonweeder says:

    I love the dawn – although I am not often out to follow its arrival. Reminds me of high school when we sang ‘Hark hark the lark at Heavn’s gate sings, and Phoebus gi-ins to ri – ise” Beautiful. Right now I’m off to bring in anything flingable as we await Irene’s arrival.

    Thanks for adding to the conversation here, Pat. Stay safe as Irene comes barreling through!
    Frances

  9. goodtogrow says:

    Ah, a kindred spirit! Love this post!

    Thanks Liza. Glad to hear you enjoy the earliest of morning time as well.
    Frances

  10. Garden Sense says:

    What a great capture of the transformation of day break – each stage beautiful in its own right!

    Thanks! Glad you enjoyed the dawning here.
    Frances

  11. banner6 says:

    I was just thinking “Oh, I love that first dark shot, but I wish I could see those objects better” and Voila! There they were. Once again, you were way ahead of me. Thanks for this ingenious post. The next time I have insomnia, I will know what to do.

    Thanks Ricki, I am glad you were curious about the dark shots and that your curiosity was satisfied. I find blog reading to be excellent when one cannot sleep, too.
    Frances

  12. Lola says:

    Magnificent Frances. I use to be able to get up early in the a.m. I so enjoyed that time of the day with coffee in hand, going through my garden then sitting in swing to observe the activities of that special time.
    Thank you for memories enjoyed.

    Thanks Lola. I don’t really want to be up this early, waiting for the darkness to turn to light. Someday I might get to sleep a little later, but do love seeing the sunrise.
    Frances

  13. Wow, Frances, I am going to have to try this. I get up very early when it is still dark, going to have to take my camera out in this early morning light. Great post!

    Eileen

    Thanks Eileen. Many of the shots were too dark, but some were interesting. That was the inspiration for the post, to show the changes. Give it a try!
    Frances

  14. I enjoyed exploring the dawn of a new day with your garden. How different things look in different lights.

    Thanks Sage Butterfly. If I was better with the camera, there would be more postings using different light.
    Frances

  15. Alistair says:

    Frances, an interesting take on garden photography which works a treat. I have found that close ups of plants are hard to get wrong but my supposedly better camera which I purchased this year seems to find too much going on in the garden with long shots.

    Someone just told me that leaving a comment on my blog was a bit of a palaver as they have to manually add their name, email address and website each time. If you have to do this perhaps you can let me know when you have the time.

    Thanks Alistair. The long shots are indeed difficult, especially in the harsh light of summer here. Either there is not enough light and the flash wants to go off, of there is too much light and everything is washed out. Spring and fall are so much easier, but there are many things blooming now, and those butterflies that call out to my camera, too. As for your comment about the filling out of the form, most blogs require that, all wordpress ones do, but the computer should remember your info with a double click for each line. It is not what I would call a palaver, whatever the heck that is! HA
    Frances

  16. NHGarden says:

    I enjoyed your sequence of photos from dark to the light 🙂

    Thanks!

  17. Rose says:

    What a beautiful post, Frances! And such a beautiful way to begin a new day. Now that the days are getting shorter, I’m actually up to see the sunrise….some days:)

    Thanks Rose. Glad to hear you can see a few sunrises now. It is much cooler in the mornings as well, a blessing.
    Frances

  18. lynnekovan says:

    Lovely idea! Your garden is superb! Love the early morning shots with just a few colours peaking through!

    Hi Lynn, thanks. The garden is not at its peak of beauty right now, but the morning is still a wonderful time to be in it.
    Frances

Comments are closed.