Glass Art of Seattle


The magic of colored glass as it catches the light adds much to a garden, as seen above in this bouquet of glass seen in the front of Denise Lane’s beautiful property during the Seattle Fling 2011.


The gardens of Seattle that opened their gates to a gaggle of garden bloggers agape at the sight of so much beauty were heavily glassed. This study in yellows was also planted in the Lane garden.


Nearly every space that we were allowed to wander had bits of glass art, used with a subtle touch to great effect. The crane is metal, but the cattail is glass, from the Lane garden. Sometimes we had to look very closely, or even touch the piece to tell if it was a living plant or work of art.

Small treasures were tucked amongst living flowers, requiring a second look to discern the real from the man-made. Again, seen in the Lane garden.


Colorful bowls were put into use as bird baths, as illustrated by this brilliant yellow blown piece seen in Shelaugh Tucker’s garden.


They were wonderful to behold. This one was showcased at Dragonfly Farms Nursery.


Ah, to see these swirls makes a heart swoon. This vignette was seen in the Dunn gardens.


The final destination of the whirlwind Seattle Fling was Dragonfly Farms Nursery. We were dragging by that time, nearly gardened out, but when we stepped off the bus, this is what greeted us. Energy was recharged by the sight of it and excitement grew as exploring was done at this fine establishment.


Much of the glass art here was the masterful work of glass artist, Barbara Sanderson. She was also the maker of several of the pieces seen in the other gardens we visited.


Each shape was more beautiful than the next and they were placed amongst the foliage and flowers to draw the eye.


If only we had traveled by car,…


…there would be some glass added to the Fairegarden. Alas, our suitcases and carryons were already overflowing with plants.


But mail order saved the day. It was so difficult to choose, but this mushroom is now proudly displayed along the wall behind the main house. To see more of Barbara’s work and perhaps fall in love with a piece or pieces you simply cannot live without, click here. It just might be that more of Barbara’s glass creations will be joining the mushroom, for after viewing the above photos, lust has been stirred again.

To view the rest of the posts about the Seattle Fling 2011:

Seattle Fling 2011-Overture

Lost Secret In The Bloedel Reserve

Semi Does Seattle

Art And Artful In Seattle-Birrell And Tucker Gardens

Art And Artful In Seattle-The Dunn Garden

Art Of Seattle 2011 Fling-Day 2

Seattle Fling 2011 Day 3-Onward

Seattle Fling 2011-Grand Finale

Frances

This entry was posted in Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Glass Art of Seattle

  1. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I can see why you were smitten with the glass. I just think of all of our limbs blowing down and the casualties I would have. It is beautiful in the garden. I really like your mushroom. I like that you have to really look to see that they aren’t actually growing in the garden when they are well placed.

    Thanks Lisa. The falling limbs here are a great concern, as well. The glass is attached to a copper pipe that can lifted off the stake to bring inside when a storm is brewing. It has been placed out from under the overhanging tree branches, but might be moved again to safer spot. I like it with the blood grass for now, and where the sun can backlight it, but a move is in its future, most likely.
    Frances

  2. Pingback: Seattle Fling 2011-Overture « Fairegarden

  3. Pingback: Lost Secret In The Bloedel Reserve « Fairegarden

  4. Pingback: Semi Does Seattle « Fairegarden

  5. Pingback: Art And Artful In Seattle-Birrell And Tucker Gardens « Fairegarden

  6. Pingback: Art And Artful In Seattle-The Dunn Gardens « Fairegarden

  7. sequoiagardens says:

    I am truly taken by what you’ve shown…. I’ve always wanted a garden area with ‘artificial’ colour and glass seems the perfect medium. Now to find local examples… 😉

    Hi Jack, thanks. The way the glass catches the light is breathtaking. I was thinking the same thing, looking for some local glassblower, but having a piece from Seattle makes it that much more special. Now to protect it from falling branches if it ever rains here again…
    Frances

  8. Thanks for sharing this, F, Seeing Barbara’s work was on top of my list if I was able to go to Seattle. I love her work and plan to get a piece for my garden, Helen’s Havenâ„¢. H.

    Thanks for visiting, Helen. Barbara had a basket of the most beautiful glass balls at the last event, to show the colors. Each was more wonderful than the next. Deciding which to get would be the hardest part. Let me know when you get some for your Haven, I want to see!
    Frances

  9. Gail says:

    Frances, The art work in the Seattle gardens we toured was wonderful~Vignettes and surprises around every corner. I loved Dragonfly Nursery and also wished I could take home art work~I liked the glass work and the metalwork also spoke to me! I can imagine too well~ almost any of the pieces you’ve shown in my garden! Love, love, love the mushroom~The fairegarden fairies must be thrilled, too. xoxogail

    Thanks Gail. I could have backed a moving van into Dragonfly Nursery and loaded it to the top! The plants and the art was all perfect. I may need more glass…
    xxxooo
    Frances

  10. Layanee says:

    The glass in Seattle was amazing. Your mushroom, divine! What a great memento.

    Thanks, Layaee. I loved seeing all the art there and especially the glass and speaking with Barbara Sanderson. I might have to make up a wish list for Christmas gifts from family to me! If they pooled their money… HA
    Frances

  11. Sue Lentell says:

    Your photos showed the elegance of the glass along with garden beauty. Thanks so much for this post. Sue

    Thanks, Sue, for those kind words. The glass art that we saw at the Seattle gardens was icing on the cake.
    Frances

  12. Nell Jean says:

    Stunning photos. Your glass mushroom is a marvelous dsiplay.

    I’ve been wondering how to incorporate a collection of glass fruit, both inherited and new, into the garden in a tasteful way. How to display a red glass tomato other than on a milk glass plate in a china cabinet is beyond me.

    Thanks Nell Jean, so nice to see you here. Your glass fruit sounds delightful. I am sure you will think of some way to display them to your liking. Something water permeable would be good, like a colander?
    Frances

  13. That’s so cool that you ordered some. It’s really neat. If I could have afforded it, I would have hauled or ordered tons of it!

    Thanks Jean. I couldn’t afford it but got something anyway. Will scrimp on food.
    Frances

  14. They were all beauties. The problem for me (and my budget) is how much greater they look in multiples. Hope your mushroom came with glass spores.

    They were, Helen. But you bring up the most painful part, needing several to achieve the look. That is why I got the mushroom, but indeed, babies would be welcome.
    Frances

  15. I thought the glass art was magical.

    It really did add a mystical touch to the gardens, didn’t it Dee?
    Frances

  16. Oh thank you Frances for a wonderful blog and pictures of my glass! And thanks to everyone for your kind comments too! It is difficult to have just one and I do warn my customers that the glass is just like potato chips! But most of my customers start with one and then add pieces and money, birthdays and special occasion gifting happens. My storefront has an area where you can build a wish list and send it to friends and family for gift giving ideas too. I hope this helps and it was wonderful to meet so many of you in person in our neck of the woods.
    Barbara

    It was my pleasure, Barbara! I will be buildling, good word!, my wish list for family gift giving. They have already been notified.
    Frances

  17. Lola says:

    Oh my what a tour. Love the glass art. It was a shame the car was not the means of transport. More goodies could have followed you home.

    Thanks, Lola. Maybe it was a good thing I didn’t have my car, for the pocketbook, anyway!
    Frances

  18. Amazingly beautiful! It must take some very talented individuals to plan this so thoughtfully. The colors, textures, and placements are perfect.

    They really are, Sage Butterfly. The placement was inspirational, perfectly placed.
    Frances

  19. very cool.. i’ve never used glass much in the garden – other than mirrors.

    Thanks for visiting, Jenn, nice to see you here. The glass was an epiphany for me, it would seem too fragile to be in the garden, but these pieces are thicker, as the artist explains in the next comment. Mirrors are cool, too!
    Frances

  20. Love those little darlings… they are enchanting! And so well placed. I need to find some!

    Thanks Carolyn. Good luck on your hunting and gathering!
    Frances

  21. Rose says:

    Ever since I saw an exhibition of Chihuly’s work at the Botanic Garden in Phoenix, I have fallen in love with glass art in the garden. These are such beautiful pieces! I love the photo of the small globe held by a hand, but the mushroom you chose for your own garden is just perfect, Frances. I will have to check out the artist’s website, but I’m afraid any investment made in glass art here would probably have to guarded by steel fencing to protect it from a wandering Golden Retriever.

    They are, Rose. I loved the globes, too, but the mushroom seemed best for my first piece. I hope there will be more. Ms. Sanderson explains about the thickness of the glass and dogs in the next comment. Falling branches from overhead or nearby trees would be my worry, however. I have brought the mushroom inside for this hurricane/tropical storm Lee event we are experiencing now. It is easy to lift off the stake and then replace.
    Frances

    • I make my glass sculptures extra thick so that they can withstand the elements year round and should weather most garden conditions for years. I have had three dogs in my garden since I began blowing glass with no dog related casualties to date. You can always place a piece of rebar in the ground and then place the copper stake and glass over the rebar so the sculptures will not fall over even if a dog runs by or wags their tail. I hope this helps and here’s a link to my website: http://www.glassgardensnw.com
      Barbara

      Thanks for clarifying the strength of the glass, Barbara. We would hate to see any of these exquisite works of art be damaged.
      Frances

  22. Rohrerbot says:

    Incredibly beautiful. I love glass art and when mixed into the landscape….perfection!

    Thanks Rohrebot. The glass in the gardens we saw in Seattle was beautifully placed and gorgeous.
    Frances

  23. Pingback: Art Of Seattle 2011 Fling-Day 2 « Fairegarden

  24. Pingback: Seattle Fling 2011 Day 3-Onward « Fairegarden

  25. Pingback: Leaves Of Substance « Fairegarden

  26. Pingback: Glass in the Garden « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.