September Bloom Day-Just The Facts, Ma’am


It is time once again for the Bloom Day Parade. The fifteenth (or close to it) of each month the blogdom comes together to show what is blooming in their gardens, thanks to the wonderful idea of Carol of May Dreams Gardens. So, rather than bore you with a lot of chatter, it will be just the facts, er names, ma’am. Volunteer morning glory, Ipomoea tricolor.


Ironweed, Vernonia lettermannii from saved seed


Rosa ‘Blush Knockout’


New England aster, Symphyotrichum novae-angliae (formerly Aster novae-angliae) with Euphorbia ‘Ascot Rainbow’.


Zinnia from a mixed packet, Z. ‘Giants of California’


Achillea millefolium ‘Paprika’


Persicaria amplexicaulis ‘Firetail’


Dahlia ‘Gallery Cobra’


Aster novae-angliae, pink form


Clematis stans


Perilla frutescens var. purpurascens


Rudbeckia triloba ‘Red Sport’


Pentas lanceolata


Cuphea lanceolata ‘Purple Passion’ volunteer


Salvia greggii ‘Desert Blaze’


Cosmos sulphureum ‘Bright Lights’ from saved seed


Purple hyacinth bean, Dolichos lablab


Toad lily, Tricyrtis ‘Empress’


Dicliptera suberecta


Gulf Coast Muhly Grass, Muhlenbergia capillaris, coming soon!

And there you have it, ala Joe Friday (Jack Webb) of the radio, then early days of television, program Dragnet. His actual phrase was, “All we want, (or know) are the facts, ma’am.” A popular recording by Stan Freberg that spoofed the serious Sargeant Friday used the now famous phrase “I just want to get the facts, ma’am.” That phrase entered the collective memory and exists still today, shortened to what is used in this blog post title.

Frances

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Bloom Days. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to September Bloom Day-Just The Facts, Ma’am

  1. Sue says:

    The toadlily is certainly showy! I like the ant too!

    Thanks Sue. That is a brand new plant here, although the ant is not. I have never grown them before, and have high hopes for them.
    Frances

  2. Randy Emmitt says:

    Frances,
    Looks like you do aster pretty well! We have one Meg brought from her house it grows 6ft tall and is just opening, the others barely survive here. Toadlilies are not so good yet, but they surprize us about every year, your looks pretty good. Extra blankets last night huh…

    Thanks Randy. The asters do love it here, many are pulled as weeds, the common white ones of various leaf types. Some are allowed to add to the fall mix. There is a tataricus, the species of Jindai that is well over 6 ft tall, in bud. That Tricyrtis is brand spankin’ new. We shall see if it becomes an incredible shrinking plant or not. I switched pajamas to stay warm! HA
    Frances

  3. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    There is a lot blooming in your garden this month Frances. I love toad lilies. Most of mine aren’t blooming yet. I don’t get them all watered. Not usually a problem but this year it is. Asters are something I don’t have much luck with. I think they are so cheerful. Happy GBBD.

    Hi Lisa, thanks and happy GBBD to you. The toadlily is brand new, I have never grown them before but admire the flowers and heard that hummers visit them. The asters are weeds here, like the goldenrod, the little white flowered ones anyway. Blue ones have been added to help raise the color level. The pink was a surprise, a pleasant one.
    Frances

  4. Les says:

    Well, that title coincidence was indeed odd. Happy GBBD!

    It was, Les, wasn’t it? Talk about great minds… Happy day GBBD to you!
    Frances

  5. Rose says:

    Lots of beauties still enjoying your garden, Frances! I love the way the morning glories glow, and I am definitely full of toad lily envy now:) Thanks for setting us straight on the actual Dragnet phrase. Is it almost time for the Muhly show?

    Thanks Rose. I was surprised about the phrase, but glad I did the research to get the real story about it. I remember watching that show, in black and white, of course, but was just a little kid. The muhly is beginning to bloom, yes. It will be a few weeks before it is the pink haze. I will post about, maybe. HA
    Frances

  6. Andrea says:

    That’s a lot of blooms, i’ve just seen somewhere the unopened toad lily which i found lovely, maybe it was here too in your older posts. Now at that stage it is more gorgeous! I haven’t seen it yet in person.

    Thanks Andrea. My toad lily is brand new, this is its first showing on the blog. I hope to add more to the mix if this one does well. They are pretty, aren’t they?
    Frances

  7. Catherine says:

    Beautiful September show you have going on there!

    Thanks Catherine. All that rain we had certainly perked up the garden, thank goodness.
    Frances

  8. Scott says:

    Lovely post…that Vernonia is AMAZING! I can’t wait to see the Muhly in bloom soon!!!

    Thanks Scott. The Vernonia is a wonderful fall bloomer, with such striking jewel-tone purple brushes, it should be in every garden. The Muhly is coming soon.
    Frances

  9. easygardener says:

    Lovely pictures – I cannot resist Ipomoea and love the fact that they have self sown themselves in my garden. They are tender annuals here. Mind you the last two hard winters have reduced their numbers which makes the few who survived even more appreciated!

    Thanks Denise. I love the morning glories too, they are annuals here as well. Most are pulled, but we wouldn’t want to be without them. Love the true blues the best.
    Frances

  10. linniew says:

    Great shot of that morning glory bloom! My other favorite is the Purple Passion volunteer AND the stone work behind it. (LOVE stone in the garden.) I’ll be looking up the Cuphea, new to me.

    Thanks! We love rocks in the garden. That wall is a very old cinderblock wall topped with native Tennessee stone to dress it up a bit. The Cuphea was from seeds from Baker Creek.
    Frances

  11. Liz says:

    Hi,

    Beautiful photos! I’m looking forward to your Muhly grass 🙂

    Hi Liz, thanks. I am looking forward to the muhly grass, as well. Soon.
    Frances

  12. Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful!

    Thanks Karin.

  13. What strikes me is the color of most of your September blooms, reds & purples. Your Euphorbia looks a lot like my Daphne ‘Silver Edge’. If I can find a shorter, well-behaved ex-aster, I’ll plant it near mine to copy your great pairing.

    Hi MMD, thanks for visiting. We also have plenty of yellows here, but the photos did not come out as well. HA Let me know when you find that short blue aster! I have bought Purple Dome to replace those species New Englands, but didn’t have the heart to dig them out when they are blooming so nicely.
    Frances

  14. Carol says:

    I enjoyed “just the blooms ma’am”. A lovely, lovely showing for bloom day. Thank you for joining in, as always.
    (I can’t wait for my little seedling ironweed to get big enough to flower. What a pleasure that will be to see in my garden in early fall.)

    Thanks Carol. You are going to love your ironweed. Be sure and save seeds, or do what I did and cut the dried seed heads off in winter and lay them down on some bare earth and wait for babies.
    Frances

  15. Interesting Clematis Frances…..don’t think I have seen that shaped bloom before. I am in love with Ironweed after seeing so much of it as we drove across country. Had some in Virginia but didn’t do well with salt water… 😦
    That Purple Passion Cuphea is a gorgeous color!!

    Thanks Janet. This Clemmie came from seeds from Chuck B. in San Francisco via Christopher in North Carolina who had germinated them. The flowers just keep coming and are a gorgeous blue. I cannot get a decent photo of them. The ironweed in the surrounding hills here is having the best year ever! Do give it a try.
    Frances

  16. My Tricyrtis does great in the dry shade, which I think would be helpful in your climate. I love the aster and euphorbia together. It is difficult for me to find one that is hardy in a cool zone 5.

    If you want to read a wordy GBBD, go to my blog!

    Happy GBBD!
    Julie

    Thanks for visiting Julie. I am smitten with the Tricyrtis and we have plenty of dry and some shade here, getting more shade all the time as trees have grown larger. I will swing by for your words as time allows!
    Frances

  17. Cathy says:

    Everything is gorgeous! And your photographs are splendid.

    The combination of New England asters and euphorbia is wonderful. (Is that E. mellifera aka Honey Spurge?) I developed a new respect for sprurge after reading about it in Nancy Ondra’s perennial book.

    I’m jealous of your Purple Passion volunteer. Why are all my volunteers weeds LOL??? And those pink asters also have me turning shades of green. Just as someone accidentally “weeded” my liriope, the same persoin accidentally “weeded” most of the asters in my main perennial bed, leaving just the “wild” [Translation: weed] asters to take over. (She was helping to take care of the garden while we were away on vacation.) No more vacays in July for us!

    Thanks Kathy, glad you enjoyed this post. The Euphorbia is a hybrid cultivar, I don’t know the parents, but it is certainly a good one. Nan Ondra’s books are wonderful, she is very talented as both a writer and a gardener. I have to laugh at the weeding of the asters, we have been doing that for years here. Vacation time is tough for the gardens, we just let it fend and hope for the best. Xeric plantings are a must.
    Frances

  18. Good parade! I like that euphorbia. I had a few back in 2007, but they were short-lived for me.

    Thanks Freda. I am keeping an eye on the Euphorbia, it was new last fall. Here’s hoping it lasts a few more years.
    Frances

  19. Shyrlene says:

    You totally hooked me with the post phrasing … then I stayed for the parade of blooms! Beautiful – great variety.

    Thanks Shyrlene. I am glad you stayed for the whole parade.
    Frances

Comments are closed.