Pink Muhly Grass Time


Looking like the swinging doors to your favorite wild west saloon, the pink muhly grass, Muhlenbergia capillaris that graces either side of the entrance to the knot garden says, “Come on in, pardner!”


Let’s back away a bit, to include more of the steps and the members of the pink muhly posse, the Rosa ‘Knockout’ and various Dianthus volunteers that are a springtime color echo to the pinky pink fizziness that comes in fall.


Funny thing about that fall bloom time, it seems to have shifted to a later date. The first story about the pink muhly grass was titled Muhly Grass-See You In September* with a silly clever tie in to the oldie but goodie song by that name. See the post by clicking here. But the grand opening of pink froth that moves deliciously in the slightest breeze has been rescheduled for October. Here it is, heading down the highway towards November and the pink muhly grass is still not fully opened.


But it’s getting there.


I wonder if there is a song called See You In October?

~~~
This is the 700th post for Fairegarden. It seems like only yesterday this wonderful journey began. Many thanks, kisses and hugs to you, dear readers for making it such a wonderful experience! ♥

Frances

This entry was posted in Plant Portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Pink Muhly Grass Time

  1. Meta says:

    Congrats on your 700th post and thanks for those beautiful photos of the Muhly Grass. I really enjoyed seeing them.

    Meta

    Thanks Meta. The pink muhly grass is worth waiting for, whenever it decides to open up and pink out.
    Frances

  2. Gail says:

    Frances, Congrats on the 700th post. There’s no better way to celebrate it then with your famous fairegarden muhly grass. It’s looking good~No, it’s looking great. Love each and every photo. xxoogail

    Thanks Gail. It was already scheduled, the pink muhly grass post, when I noticed it would be the 700th post. It was a happy coincidence.
    xxxooo
    Frances

  3. Carol says:

    Congrats on number 700! The day you decided to start a garden blog was a happy day for many of us who met you through your blog, we just didn’t know it at the time. Not sure what the garden blogosphere would be like without you, or what a fling would be like without you, and I’m glad I don’t have to imagine it.

    Love the muhly. It’s not hardy here, is it? I don’t think it is. But the sheffie mum might be (HINT)

    Thanks Carol. You know it was the bloom day that sucked me into the blogdom, right? All because of you, my friend. I don’t know if the muhly is hardy there, but have a friend in central PA zone 5 who grows it, sheltered, sunny in well draining soil. I am sure the sheffies would grow for you.
    Frances

  4. Congrats on 700 posts, F! You really do Muhly right!

    Thanks Helen. We are lucky with the way the property faces and the angle of the sun to have the muhly look as it does. And the zone 7a, of course.
    Frances

  5. 7aces/Darla says:

    700? Quite impressive! I love how the muly lights up this area.

    Thanks Darla. It does seem like a lot of posts, doesn’t it? So very enjoyable for me, though. The muhly is the star, for sure.
    Frances

  6. Wendy says:

    Just.. WOW!!

    Thanks Wendy!

  7. Rose says:

    Oh, I have been waiting for this! Your Muhly grass is, as always, spectacular! That froth of pink just makes your garden look magical, Frances. And congratulations on your 700th post! Your blog is one of the best, one I always enjoy reading, and I was so happy to meet you at the Chicago Fling (I’ll never forget that drive into the city:) . Looking forward to seeing you again in Asheville!

    Thanks Rose. I loved our time together in Chicago, too! Looking forward to seeing many friends in Asheville. We are working on it now.
    Frances

  8. Pure, pink, frothy gorgeousness! I love muhly whenever it shows.

    Thanks Dee. It is very frothy at the moment, looks like a good year!
    Frances

  9. Valerie says:

    I was so impressed with your Muhly grass last year that I went out and bought some. This year it is only about 1-1/2 foot tall and isn’t turning pink like yours. Planted it on a hill so drainage should be good but maybe not
    quite enough sun. Perhaps it is my Blue Ridge Mountain altitude. I’m disappointed. Any ideas?

    Thanks Valerie. I think your altitude is fine. If it wasn’t, it would not have returned. The siting is important, the more sun the better the show. It might take your plant another year or so to reach its full potential. Also, one plant doesn’t make the same statement as a mass planting. It took five years to get the driveway patch filled out enough to stop traffic. I just kept dividing the two purchased one gallon plants.
    Frances

    • Valerie says:

      I bought three one gallon plants last year. Is spring or fall the best time to divide the muhly?

      I would say fall, just be sure to water well whenever. It needs copious amounts of water to get established. Good luck!
      Frances

  10. Liz says:

    Hi,

    When you posted a week or two ago about it almost being time for them I went on a little quest to find some for myself… They don’t seem to be readily available at all here in the UK, although I can get seeds from a couple of sources (not many I might add). And we’re missing out on so much!!!!!!

    Beautifully amazing sight, no wonder you look forward to it so much; I know I do too via your blog!

    Hi Liz, thanks. Looking at the old post about see you in September, I see a comment from Sylvia in the UK who saw muhly growing there, so I think someone, somewhere has or had it. It needs excellent drainage, grows in nature at the beach, hence the common name, Gulf coast muhly.
    Frances

  11. 700 posts, wow!! That’s very cool. Glad to see your pink muhly is still there, even if it messed up your song!

    HA Jean, thanks. I will have to look for another theme song for the muhly.
    Frances

  12. I was waiting for this post, Frances! Fabulous as always!!! I planted several plants two years ago. They are very small, slow, and there is no pink! Too cool and too wet for them here, I guess.

    Thanks Tatyana, you are sweet to say that. The muhly enjoys a sunny and well drained spot, but it does take a while to get going. My large ones have been in the ground several years.
    Frances

  13. Leslie says:

    That is truly lovely! Congratulations on your 700th post!

    Thanks Leslie.

  14. Donna B. says:

    That’s SPECTACULAR! It’s like a mass of pink cotton candy…
    [I also believe that’s what drove me to Fairegarden in the first place, that famous Muhly!]
    Goodness, seven hundred posts! I only started reading since the middle of 2010 – but I went through EVERY back post! It didn’t seem like that many, mainly because I was enjoying myself far too much… hee hee!
    Here’s to another seven hundred!

    Thanks so much Donna, especially for going back to read the old posts. Most if not all of them are still relevant today, gardening is timeless! HA At about 150 a year, 3 posts a week, less than five years to reach that second 700, doable!
    Frances

  15. Layanee says:

    A beautiful grass and those photos show it off well. Congrats on 700. That is quite a milestone. Let’s hope for 10 times that more!

    Thanks Layanee. I will be happy to reach 1,000, less than two years from now. One at a time, one at a time…
    Frances

  16. Ah, there it is! I’ve been waiting for the annual Gulf muhly post from you, Frances. It never disappoints.

    Thanks so much Pam. You were a big help in getting me started blogging, so nice. The muhly is looking to have a good display this year.
    Frances

  17. Lola says:

    Oh my Ms. Frances. I do love that Pink Muhly. It does look like cotton candy. I do look forward to it’s beauty each yr. I really don’t know how long it’s been that I’ve followed you but has been a few yrs,
    Congratulations on the 700. I do enjoy reading your blog & I’ve learned a lot.
    Thank you.

    Thanks Lola. You have been a steady reader and commenter for a very long time. I do appreciate you!
    Frances

  18. Barbara H. says:

    Congratulations, dear Frances. I love all your posts and all your creativity but especially look forward to the Muhly grass. I haven’t had much luck with it but just yesterday found a small clump in my garden. I didn’t know it was the Pink Muhly when I moved it there from another spot, so I was thrilled. I have a large pot waiting to get past our lows in the 30s before I plant it – maybe in a day or two. The hard part will be deciding where to put it so it survives, thrives and is easily visible. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that inspiration will strike soon!

    Thanks Barbara, such kind words, I appreciate you! Good luck with your muhly, but remember that anything in a pot is two zones colder. We are at the northern edge for hardiness here, although I know of people farther north who can grow it in a sheltered but sunny site in the ground.
    Frances

  19. Barbarapc says:

    Frances – A great day for all of us – #700 and Muhly grass. Thanks for all your hard work. I can always count on learning something, considering something in another way, or perhaps in the middle of my snowy winter, just being able to dream of the gardening season ahead. Bless you.
    B.

    Thanks so much Barbara, such kind words. It’s always a good time to dream about gardening.
    Frances

  20. Alistair says:

    What an explosion of pink from the muhly grass, don’t think it would grow well here. Congratulations on your longevity. Carol Kings good with September, have to see if she can come up with something for October.

    Hi Alistair, thanks for visiting. I am not sure if the muhly grass would grow for you, but you have many beautiful grasses that will, most likely. I love Carol King, maybe we could ask her to write something about pink October grass! HA
    Frances

  21. As I said before, you have hooked me on Muhly grass! We have some occuring naturally in my front area….up by the street on the other side of the stand of pines. I added some up there….and more down by the water. Think next summer will be the full swing bloom.
    700 posts is pretty amazing!! Congrats.

    Thanks, Janet. I am so glad you are hooked! Lucky too, to have naturally occurring muhly. We have seen it growing wild under pines at the beach in South Carolina, that was where we first were blown away by the sea of pink in the setting sun. It was magnificent.
    Frances

  22. Your Muhly grass is a show-stopper, Frances! I really do need to get some for my yard. There is some over at the Teaching Gardens where our Master Gardeners meet…and I’ve admired it lately. It is really gorgeous. Congrats on so very many posts…you are so industrious!

    Hi Jan, thanks so much. It sounds like you are able to grow the pink muhly in your climate, lucky you!
    Frances

  23. sequoiagardens says:

    I first discovered you two years ago just as the muhly was being expectantly mentioned. And now your 700th! WOW… I’m not much younger than you and I stand at 240 posts – most of them much shorter than any of yours. I’m impressed. Congrats! 🙂

    Thanks Jack. 700 sounds like a lot, but I have enjoyed writing every word and adding every photo. Everyone is different, your posts, and gardens are wonderful!
    Frances

  24. Katherine says:

    HI there. I have just found your blog. I have a ton of pink muhly grass in their 4th year. The green came out beautifully this year in the spring. Most of the green has now turned brown. They are planted on a slope. They get plenty of sun, and they are on a drip irrigation system. Any ideas what would have caused the green to turn brown. They don’t appear to be dead, just brown. Thank you.

    Hi Katherine, thanks for visiting. You don’t say where you live, but brown muhly sounds like a bad thing. Drip irrigation can sometimes provide too much water at the surface. Here in zone 7a TN, I never water the muhly, even during times of extreme drought, like we are now experiencing. They need perfect drainage, growing in nature along the sandy shores of the Gulf of Mexico and up around Florida and the Carolinas, in pure sand. I don’t know what to tell you, but hope the brown is just temporary.
    Frances

    • Katherine says:

      Hi, and thank you. We are in Raleigh NC. They were so big and beautiful. Now big and brown:) I will take the irrigation off of them and see if this helps. Thank you for getting back to me. Katherine

      Good luck with your muhly, Katherine. They should not be brown now. I hope less water will help.

  25. Pingback: Do You Like Pink? « Fairegarden

  26. Pingback: Pink Muhly Grass-Muhlenbergia Capillaris | Fairegarden

Comments are closed.