Sedum ‘October Daphne’


Like little fleshy frisbees…


…that change colors with the seasons,…

february-22-2009-012-2
…it emerges diminutive in late winter…


…growing, growing, growing through the flipping of the calendar…


…ever onward.


With leaves like bits of precious jewelry, flowers the color of a seaside sunset,…


…it is a mathematical marvel…


…Of ruby-rimmed turquoise discs.


It is a star of the garden.


It cannot be caged.


As the lowering light descends into the darkness of winter, it explodes into cascading color before fading to near-nothingness, waiting to begin again.

***

The subject is Sedum sieboldii ‘October Daphne’. It is assumed that the name originates from the spring blooming, sweet scented shrub Daphne ssp. (A post was written about the type we grow, Daphne odora aureomarginata that can be read by clicking here.)

This small in stature sedum is best planted at the edge of pathways or in a raised container for better viewing. Allowing it to spill over edges, trail gracefully down a slope or poke through an appalling chain link fence will show off the round blue/green/grey leaves outlined in shades of pinot noir to best advantage. Cold weather brings out the best in the fall foliage as the pink, yellow and orange rivals the most brilliant of the changing deciduous trees and shrubs. The flowers are merely an afterthought, although welcomed by the little pollinators.

Hardiness zones: 3-10
Habit: Semi evergreen, groundcover
Growth Rate: Slow
Size: 6 to 10 inches; 24 inch spread
Site Requirements: Sun to partial shade; well-drained soil
Form: Mounding, fountain-like, radiating from a center crown
Foliage: Forms a perfect, circular mound of arching stems covered with fleshy, round, blue-green foliage edged with a deep pink line; turns pink in winter
Flower: Flat heads of pink flowers on 8 inch stems in fall
Comments: Good drought tolerance, good for containers, bees and butterflies love it
Propagation: Stem or root cuttings

Sedum (some may call this by a newer name but I stubbornly refuse to do so) sieboldii ‘October Daphne’ is a worthy resident for any garden. Do give it a try.

Frances

This entry was posted in Plant Portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sedum ‘October Daphne’

  1. Gail says:

    Frances, Loved this clever post. Sedum sieboldii ‘October Daphne’ is a lovely plant….I must find her a sunny well draining spot at C and L. xxoogail

    Thanks Gail. This sedume is a winner, perfect for containers, but also at the edge of pathways. The one featured is in a shady spot.
    xxxooo
    Frances

  2. Layanee says:

    That one is a must have for the garden. Looks good in all seasons. I do love its symmetry.

    Thanks Layanee. It really is a very fine plant and needs some good P.R.!
    Frances

  3. hope6309 says:

    I love the sedum at different seasons. Mine seems to limp along. Any tips?

    Hi Hope, lovely name!, thanks for visiting. The only trouble that I could see anyone having with this sedum is insufficient drainage. It never gets watered here and we can have serious drought in summer. Perhaps move yours to a drier spot?
    Frances

  4. Wendy says:

    Oh my ! This one is just GORGEOUS!! I am going to have to find somewhere to get some cuttings or plants! 🙂

    Thanks Wendy. You will only ever need to buy one plant, then keep taking cuttings.
    Frances

  5. Beautiful photos that complement this plants lovely texture and color so well! I bought two of these a few years ago and planted them in planters on my back patio. And I have become a huge fan…they are always full of surprises and are so lovely!

    Thanks Sage Butterfly. I am so glad you also have these sedums. They are lovely all the time, but I walk right past them, until fall when the buds start showing. Then the color change happens and my heart sings with joy!
    Frances

  6. What a neat plant! I think I should get one for a container next year. As it’s hardy to Zone 3, it can live in the container all year. How perfect. Great shot of the goldfinch. I always scare mine away before I can get a shot.

    It is, MMD, you need this! Thanks about the bird shot. It was taken from inside the house, through the dirty glass sliders. That is the only way I can photograph most of the birds. I really should clean those windows, it is almost bird season!
    Frances

  7. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    A beauty for sure Frances. I would love to grow a daphne. They say they are hardy to zone 5 but I never see them for sale around here. Hmmmmm.

    Thanks Lisa. I got my Daphne at Home Depot. I don’t remember where the Sedum was purchased and it may have not even had a tag. Thinking K Mart back when Martha was in charge of the plants.
    Frances

  8. I have this as well and it’s one of my fall favorites. Your prose and photos are lovely, Frances. Like Layanee, I love its symmetry the best.

    Thanks Kylee. I am so glad you also have this wonderful Sedum. It needs to be more commonly offered and grown.
    Frances

  9. Rose says:

    Your poetic praise of this plant is well-deserved, Frances. I’ve always admired this plant in the garden centers and keep thinking where I might put it. But I didn’t realize its foliage changed color–one more reason I should definitely find a place for it in my garden.

    Thanks Rose. I am thrilled to hear that you have this Sedum available for purchase. Do give it a try!
    Frances

  10. Nice sedum! I’m embracing more varieties, but can only use the groundcover types around deer. Inside the fence, I can grow any of them. Putting more and more in containers, too.

    Thanks Freda. This sedum has so much to offer, it is worth placing in your most protected spot.
    Frances

Comments are closed.