Let’s All Go To Asheville


Let’s all go to Asheville, North Carolina in May 2012. Well, you can go to that city of famous mountain views, good eats and art on every corner anytime you want to, but there is fun to be had for Garden Bloggers from every corner of the globe during the next upcoming meetup/fling. Mark your calenders and save up your pennies, the official dates are May 18-20, 2012. There will be magical places to visit, including the teaser shot above from Wamboltopia.

march-22-2009-asheville-029-2
There will be a visit to a very large estate with extensive gardens and a world-class glass house, the Biltmore House Gardens.


There will be a visit to the North Carolina Arboretum, home to a first-rate Bonsai collection.


There will be a ride up to the mountaintop along Betsy’s Gap to a cultivated wild garden and a cozy cabin.


There will be art, to view and to purchase, some made of salvaged materials, like this magnificent bird seen at Christopher Mello’s studio. This particular piece may be sold already, probably is, but there will be plenty of things to gape at and covet.


There will be the very bestest ice cream in the whole wide world, supplied by The Hop, made with love by our very own Ashley, aka Mrs. Brokenbeat.


The committee, headed up by my dear friend Christopher of Outside Clyde is working hard to schedule the visits, food and fun. Information about the plans can be found at the official blog, found here. I suggest you bookmark it to have quick access. (Please direct any and all questions to Christopher. I am merely the Treasurer and List Maker, also in charge of getting ice cream to fling attendees.) Announcements will be made as the details are cemented into place. The hotel is ready for reservations, so book now to make sure you have a place to stay. The link to do so is on the blog mentioned above. There is also a facebook page to help keep everyone up to speed on the event. This is one that you won’t want to miss!

***
To read our posts about the previous blogger meetups in Austin, Texas, Chicago, Illinois, Buffalo, New York, Malvern England and Seattle, Washington, see the dedicated page on our sidebar or click here.

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings, Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Let’s All Go To Asheville

  1. Carol says:

    I am so excited. I can hardly wait for spring. Fling-time!

    Thanks Carol. I can’t wait to see you and everyone there!
    Frances

  2. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I do hope to be able to go to this one. Yay

    I hope so too, Lisa!

  3. Gail says:

    I can’t wait~Already made my hotel reservations. xxoogail

    Goody!

  4. I’m looking for to it and honored to be on the committee! H.

    Thanks, Helen. This promises to be great!

  5. Just think Frances, all the above and we will be going to gardens neither of us have ever seen.

    I am thinking about it alot, Christopher. Thanks for all of your hard work!

  6. Wendy says:

    *Excited squeal!* lol

    This one is actually within driving distance… just have to convince the MAN to lend me his credit card so I can book…lol!

    I’m really excited!! 🙂

    Squeals all around, Wendy. Driving makes it so much cheaper. This will be the first one within driving distance for me. More money to buy stuff!

  7. I am looking forward to it! This is close to me so I will be able to make it and I love Asheville! And, can’t wait to meet other garden bloggers in person!

    Wonderful, Karin! You will love meeting all of these wonderful folks.

  8. Frances, Asheville is one of my favorite places in the world and I loved your intro here. I can testify to the wonderfulness of the ice cream (traditional or vegan or sorbet) from The Hop! Looking forward to my first FLING; it’s always a pleasure to meet online friends in person. The Asheville area and gardens should be mind-blowingly awesome in May!

    Thanks Charlotte/Germaine. I can’t wait to met you!

  9. Sheila says:

    This is exciting! I adore Asheville and it’s only a few hours away. It would be wonderful to meet other garden bloggers!

    Very exciting, Sheila. Meeting the other garden bloggers is like meeting long lost family. We share so many of the same interests.

  10. gittan says:

    Hrm… I wonder if we could go there then… me and the Carpenter… That would have been great!!!!!!!!! But not impossible, we’ve been talking about going away for a longer trip… and we have some cellebrating (as being married for 25 years) that we’ve missed this year… I think I’ll show him this post and hear what he has to say about my suggestion? Who knows… perhaps we’ll be there with you! Wouldn’t that be great? =)
    Trippelkram gittan

    Dear Gittan, that would be so wonderful if you all could come!!!! My fingers are crossed that The Carpenter agrees.
    Quadruplekram
    Frances

    I told him on phone a little while ago and he sounded interested =) Keep your fingers crossed!!!!!!

    Oh wow, oh wow!!!! My fingers are all crossed, twice!

  11. that sounds like fun, I hope I can make it 🙂

    I hope so, too!

  12. Looking forward to seeing Asheville again and my blogger friends!

    Same here, Pam. Excitement builds!

  13. Vicki B says:

    Made the hotel reservation and started clearing the calendar. Can’t wait!

    Good deal, Vicki!

  14. Hooray. Sarah and I have our room, just have to figure out how we’ll get there. Flying is fast, but a road trip might make shopping more feasible. Heck, it’s a mere 13 hours away… To be confirmed.

    Hooray is right, Helen! We have made the drive from TN to Toronto several times. It is doable in one day, but will wipe you out. Better spend the night somewhere at least once, so you will be refreshed for garden visiting.

  15. Alison says:

    Still trying to make up my mind, it’s a long expensive trip.

    Sometimes folks share a room to cut the hotel expense in half. I have done it myself, in Seattle.

  16. I’m going to try my very hardest to make it. I’ve long wanted to see the Biltmore, and Asheville sounds like such a cool place! But even better than those would be seeing Christopher’s woods & garden.

    I hope you can make it, MMD. You have been to every one, and we have enjoyed seeing you there! Christopher’s mountainside is like nowhere else, worth the trip alone.
    Frances

  17. Debbie says:

    And there’s ice cream!

    HA, the best ice cream in the whole wide world! Ymmmmmm!

  18. Planning to be there! Glad this one is within driving distance. Looking forward to meeting folks in person.

    I can’t wait to meet you in person, Freda!

  19. I couldn’t make the one this year, but I’m hoping to go to the NC one. I’m already drooling over the photos of the glass house and the arboretum! Thanks for posting a little incentive 😉

    Hooray! I hope you can make it!

  20. Lisa says:

    It’s going to be a great time in Asheville during the Fling — Christopher and the rest of us on the committee are finalizing a great program. And plan on spending some extra time before and after, too! We’ll have lots of suggestions for side visits and excursions.

    Thanks for a great post, Frances!

    Thanks for all the efforts being made by the committe, Lisa! It will be a fabulous fling, I know.
    Frances

  21. Rose says:

    I’m so excited! I’ve been looking forward to this ever since I learned the 2012 Fling was going to be in Asheville. Thanks so much for posting this early. The calendar has been marked–no weddings or graduations or new grandbabies this year–so I have no excuses!

    That is great to hear, Rose. We need to have a reunion! Can’t wait to see you again.
    Frances

  22. Pingback: Well I’ve Never Been To Heaven… « Fairegarden

  23. Pingback: Ready To Fling « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.