Fairegarden November Roses


There has been light frost here in the Fairegarden, right on schedule at the end of October. That cold snap will often be followed by some of the most glorious days of fall, with backgrounds of brilliant foliage and skies so blue it brings tears of joyful gladness. These sorts of days bring out the last hoorah of the various roses dotted here and there. The hybrid musk, one of my favorite classes of rose, Rosa ‘Penelope’ blushes shyly from the corner of the shed.


Rosa ‘Moonlight’, another hybrid musk, this one trained as a smallish climber likes to throw out a few blooms well into winter. Some get the cryogenic treatment when a hard frost descends, encased in icy crystals. When that happens, it is hoped that these dreadful cucumber beetles will bite the dust.


Punches of red draw the eye amidst a still colorful backdrop. The miniature climbers, Rosa ‘Magic Dragon’ are trained on metal pillars on either side of the bench in the knot garden.


The climbing rose Rosa ‘Altissimo’ is braided up the rusty clothesline pole now repurposed as a staunch trellis.


Darker hued offspring of the Polyantha rose The Fairy, Rosa ‘Fairy Queen’ is a hardy lass, standing up well to the blasts of winter, flowers flash frozen ofttimes.


Climber Rosa ‘Madame Alfred Carriere’, one of the replacements for the oversized rose referred to in the earliest of posts here as Killer, click here to read about it, reigns atop the arbor. Unfortunately most blooms are at the top of this structure, too high for a stature-challenged gardener to sniff their sweet scent. An August cut-back spurred some blooms within nose reach, happily.


In a moment of temporary insanity, three grafted hybrid tea roses jumped into the cart at the big box store a few years ago. Planted in the inhospitable environs under the tall pine trees, with no extra water or care whatsoever, this tall drink of water, Rosa ‘Touch Of Class’ graces us with late blooms. Funny thing, I thought that I was buying Tropicana, as the tags were sort of mixed together on the display. Tropicana was my grandmother’s favorite rose. I believe she would like this one, as well.


To be honest, Touch Of Class is overshadowed at the moment by the stand of pink muhly grass, Muhlenbergia capillaris.


Rosa ‘Old Blush’ loves to bloom after the rest of the roses have closed up shop. It is also known as ‘Parsons’ Pink China’, ‘Old Blush China’, ‘Old China Monthly’, and is derived from Rosa chinensis. It is generally accepted as the first East Asian rose cultivar to reach Europe. It is recorded in Denmark in 1752 and England in 1793.


I believe Old Blush must has some maternal pride in the group of roses known as the Knockouts. The form and floriferousness is there. The color of Rosa ‘Blush Knockout’ is nearly identical.


Which brings us to the best performing rose grown here, the original Rosa ‘Knockout’. Seldom does any plant live up to the hype when it is first introduced. This one is the exception, so much so that it has become ubiquitous, planted at every gas station, bank and shopping center in town. Often it is the only plant besides mowed lawn in residential neighborhoods. I don’t care. It is fabulous, carefree and nearly always in bloom.


Besides, it plays well with others.

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Fairegarden November Roses

  1. Meta says:

    Enjoyed your roses. You have a beautiful rose garden. Also the Muhly grass is very special.

    Thanks Meta. The roses are scattered hither and yon, used more as shrubs than a dedicated rose garden. It works with this landscape style, sort of naturalistic.
    Frances

  2. cheryl says:

    Absolutely stunning Frances! Just what I needed on a rainy November morning. And I see the cotton candy grass is sooooooo yummy 🙂

    Thanks Cherly. I know just what you mean about pretty flower pictures being cheerful when the weather outside is anything but!
    Frances

  3. Frances, your roses are amazing. Such a nice reward to have in the garden in November. BTW you grow the best Muhly in 10 states ;~\ H.

    Thanks Helen. It is wonderful to have the fall rose blooms, all the sweeter for their fleeting beauty. Thanks about the muhly. It does seem to like it here.
    Frances

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Wow, I didn’t remember that you had so many roses Frances. They are all beauties. I just love climbing roses. I am trying one now, White Dawn. I hope she gives me fall blooms when she is established. We are having this glorious fall weather now too. The wind is trying to take the joy out of it though. What wind we have had.

    I hear you about the wind, Lisa. But for now it is a warm wind, which is wonderful. These are all the roses we grow, just the ones blooming now and the best photos of those. I do love climbing roses and have grown the White Dawn before (during my white garden phase). She is a fragrant beauty with good rebloom.
    Frances

  5. Breathtaking roses! I have Madame Alfred Carriere (blooms its head off in my garden) and just planted many hybrid musk roses this year. Hope mine will do as well as yours! The muhly grass is beautiful…makes me want to touch the screen to feel it !

    Thanks, Graceful Gardener. I adore the Madame and the hybrid musks are tough as old boots. We need that here, nothing gets coddled and our summers are hot and dry. The muhly is soft!
    Frances

  6. What a wonderful bouquet, Frances. I’ve learned that my garden has room for only one rose, the climber ‘New Dawn.’ It has been a solid performer for 24 years and has a few blooms going still (at the top of the arbor). I should be grateful, but I do hanker after variety like yours — especially variety of fragrance. Can you add a scratch-and-sniff feature to your blog?

    Thanks Helen. New Dawn is a winner, for sure. I wish the smell-o-vision could be part of the experience here. But I do stop and smell the roses often, the ones low enough for me to stick my nose into, that is.
    Frances

  7. 7aces/Darla says:

    I didn’t know you had so many roses. What nice pops of color for Autumn. I love my two double knockout roses, doesn’t matter to me that they are on every block like churches here in the south, lol.

    This isn’t all of them, either, Darla. I have some once bloomers that are gorgeous, too. I love those knockouts, they are such good performers.
    Frances

  8. Leslie says:

    Your roses are just lovely! I hope they last a bit longer for you and that the cucumber beetles do not.

    Thanks Leslie. I hope this last round of frost knocked those cucumber beetles to their graves!
    Frances

  9. Beautiful roses this November, Frances. That grass is always a visual treat.

    Thanks Donna. Both roses and muhly are having a good year.

  10. Goodness, you do have a lot of roses (and cucumber beetles) in bloom! I hope Jack Frost takes care of the beetles for you. We’ve had a fair few of them here this year too lurking in the herb beds. I’m really impressed your Muhly grass is still looking so vibrant too. Even though the Muhly grabs the eye first, ‘Touch of Class’ is still beautiful.

    Thanks CV. Yes, we do have lots of both, one good thing, one very bad! The muhly is a stage hog, thanks for noticing the rose.
    Frances

  11. Les says:

    Knock Outs are taking over our local landscapes as well, perhaps they will soon shove out any remaining Bradford Pears that have not split to death yet, or crowd out disease-ridden Red Tip Photinia. I have certainly sold my share of them, and often steer newbies to them and away from hybrid teas.

    They really are everywhere, aren’t they, Les? But better than those awful things you mention, by far.

  12. Gail says:

    Dear Frances, You can’t beat those knockouts for long bloom and trouble free gardening. I prefer the Knockout ‘Radsunny’ with its sweet rose fragrance. Although, one has to get close to catch the fragrance. What are we to do with those nasty cucumber bugs! That’s purely rhetorical~I am dispatching them to bug Hades. xxoogail

    Thanks Gail. I would love to add the yellow knockouts here. Maybe next year….
    xxxooo
    Frances

  13. Lola says:

    Your roses are gorgeous. Not much going on in my garden.. Company does distract..

    Thanks Lola. Flowers are nice but company is better.

  14. Here, Blush Knockout turns nearly white every summer and only gets color in fall which is shell pink. She is nothing like ‘Old Blush.’ Just goes to show how different everything is. If you are ever in Oklahoma and can stop by, I’ll give you cuttings of my girl ‘Tropicana’ which is thirty years old or so. She is a very strong version of the Hybrid Tea and was here before I met Bill again and married him. ‘Tropicana’ is grafted, but I think she is so strong she could live on her own roots. Something to consider. My roses are finished for the season, but I enjoyed looking at yours.~~Dee

    Thanks Dee, and thanks for the kind offer from your legendary Tropicana! I have never successfully grown a rose from cuttings, just cut pieces that had rooted by themselves, like Killer in the leafy gutter. I would dearly love to see your garden!
    Frances

  15. Kathleen says:

    so jealous ~ everything has been over for a month here.

    Sorry about that, Kathleen.

Comments are closed.