Still Blooming For GBBD


On this Garden Bloggers Bloom Day, the brainchild of my friend Carol of May Dreams Gardens, for November 2011, there are still some blooms in the Fairegarden. Some things are just now beginning to bloom, in fact, one being Camellia sasanqua ‘Chansonette’. Nestled and protected under the tall pines and the not as tall but still fairly large Viburnum rhytidophylloides ‘Alleghany’, there are three of these weeping habit Camellias, their shiny leaves glistening as the dark pink flowers unfurl. The name Chansonette means Little Song, I have been told.


Growing in a purple container along the wall, somewhat protected by the warmth holding gravel path and the house, the cutting grown Salvia elegans ‘Golden Delicious’ has just started to bloom. It is so late, there will be little time to enjoy the stunning red flowers unless the cold subsides for a bit longer. One small plant is wintering over within the safety of the greenhouse/sunroom, to be used for cuttings in late winter to keep the tradition alive.


A handful of plants that normally bloom in the spring have sent out some scouts as the weather has been cold and rainy then warm and sunny. I am sorry to inform you, Ms. Dianthus, that winter has not come and gone and spring returned. But you are a welcome sight, anyway.


Another plant filed under totally confused about the season is Cornus sanguinea ‘Arctic Sun’.


Grown primarily not for flowers, not for leaves but for the brilliant winter stems, the two Cornus planted on either side of the weeping blue atlas cedar behind the mailbox are totally covered in blooms. Normally the flowers arrive in late spring, followed by berries. It is doubtful there will be berries from these, who will pollinate them in this cold weather? Still pretty, though.


Really? If not for the Fading Faire foliage of the background plants, by looking at the blooms on this lavender, one might mistake this for a spring time capture.


A few Verbena bonariensis are still sending out new florets. A good thing in case any pollinators show up hungry on a warmer, sunny day.


The frost makes things beautiful, like these grocery mums. They are scrawny but keep coming back each year with a few blooms.


More grocery mums. These have been in the ground so long that I finally got around to dividing them last year. Since they are down at the curb by the street, I hardly every pay them any mind. Until November.


It has been the best year ever for the returning even though wintered over in the ground Dahlia ‘Gallery Cobra’. But now it’s time for it to be going,…


…Going,…


…Gone. See you next year, we hope. But don’t be too sad, dear readers.


It is still pink muhly grass time. There will be another couple of months of goodness from the Muhlenbergia capillaris before the winter cut-down.

Frances

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Bloom Days. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Still Blooming For GBBD

  1. Christine says:

    The Camellia is beautiful, the lavender is gorgeous and the lone little dianthus is delightful. But my favourite is the muhly grass. A stunning show given the weather!

    Thanks Christine. I have to admit, the muhly is my fave right now, as well.

  2. Marisa says:

    Lovely images, and the muhly grass provides a stunning finale. I’m trying my luck with dahlias for the first time this year, so fingers crossed. Yours look like they have been wonderful over summer, and we are just heading into ours here now. Happy GBBD.

    Happy GBBD to you, too, Marisa, and thanks. Good luck with your dahlias. I have found the Gallery series, which are shorter and with smaller blooms, to be the easiest here. Enjoy your summer!
    Frances

  3. catmint says:

    the light behind the grass makes it looks luminous – wonderful wonderful photo.

    Hi Catmint, thanks!

  4. Gail says:

    Frances, A nice showing for November! The camellia is especially beautiful and wowzer on the cornus! Love the going, going, gone dahlia photos! Once this rain stops, I’ll see if there is anything left in my garden! Happy GBBD. xxoogail

    Thanks Gail. Cold weather is coming, so they say, anyway! Rain is good. The Cornus stems are the most wonderful color of coral with blotches of red and yellow mixed in. It is a dwarf, too, four feet tall. If I could find more of these, they would be all over my garden. Or in one big drift!
    xxxooo
    Frances

  5. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    What gorgeous color you still have in the garden Frances. I love that vignette with the lavender in it. Beautiful! Happy GBBD.

    Thanks Lisa. Even without flowers, the garden still looks good. I love that batch of lavender, it grows better than anywhere else on the property. Happy GBBD to you!
    Frances

  6. Really lovely photos and the blooms are just beautiful.
    Cher

    Thanks, Cher!

  7. My Kids Mom says:

    We haven’t yet had a freeze in my Atlanta burb, but I know it’ll be soon. Meanwhile I have quite a few blooms still optimistic about their lifetimes. Plus, I’ve discovered that I have a bunch of daffodil leaves up, already 8-10″ tall. I’ll try to smother them with fallen leaves, but I expect our spring foliage will be very yellowed this year.

    It looks like you are going to get some stormy weather, Jill, batten down the hatches! Don’t worry about the daffs, I have some showing as well. They stop growing when the weather gets really cold and know when to pick it up in late winter. Leaves are a good idea, though.
    Frances

  8. Leslie says:

    I’m so glad we talked about the sasanquas the other day or I might have missed mine! I hope your mistaken bloomers realize the errors of their ways and save some energy for spring. Happy Bloom Day!

    Thanks, Leslie. Too bad the Camellias aren’t out in the open more so they can be seen, but that is probably why they do so well, with that protection. I don’t know what will happen to the Cornus, but since we don’t grow it for the blooms or even berries it doesn’t matter. The others should bloom on schedule. HappyGGBD!
    Frances

  9. 7aces/Darla says:

    That lavender did throw me for a second. It’s so pretty and I know it smells divine. You did have a great season with the Dahlias…fingers crossed for a repeat performance next year!

    Thanks Darla. I take a lot of photos from that position of that lavender, only the background plants change. I do love that scent. Thanks for the Dahlia good luck. My fingers and toes are crossed, too.
    Frances

  10. Peggy Hill says:

    Beautiful pictures! Thanks for sharing. It has been a weird year for blooms. I saw rhododendron blooming at the nursery a couple weeks ago, and they were not the reblooming type.

    Thanks, Peggy. We have a couple of rhodies that bloom in the fall if there is ample rain. It spoils the blooms for spring, though, sad to say.
    Francew

  11. It’s funny, but my Cornus sanguinea did the same thing this fall. I think they went sort of dormant during the heat & drought of summer and the fall blooming is a reaction to the stress. The Dianthus and lavender always have a good rebloom in fall here, so I’m not surprised yours look so good. Camelli-ahhhh!

    I agree, MMD. Stress related blooming with the ample rainfall we got from Irene. That tropical storm was a godsend, but confused some of the plants, I believe.
    Frances

  12. Alison says:

    It was the photos in your blog last fall that convinced me I needed pink muhly grass in my garden. I am really loving all the posts you’ve done recently that include them. I am hoping mine thrives like yours has. I would love a pink river.

    Thanks so much, Alison. May your muhly become that pink river soon!
    Frances

  13. Rose says:

    It’s understandable that these plants are a bit confused, if your weather has been anything like ours. The lavender is amazing, and the camellias and dahlias lovely. But you know my favorite–the pink Muhly looks even more spectacular now than a month ago, if that is possible!

    Thanks Rose. It sounds like we have shared in the crazy weather pattern. The plants don’t know what to do! The lavender is a stalwart and the muhly is having the best year ever. You are right, it looks better now, as it fades to purple then when it first opened.
    Frances

  14. Julie says:

    Oh my goodness, the muhly grass photo is stunning! Love the light! I adore the stonework by your lavender–my lavender is also a bit confused and producing adorable flowers in our zone 7b garden. Look forward to exploring more of your Faire Garden!

    Thanks Julie and welcome. Sometimes the light is just right on the muhly, which I can see from the window over my kitchen sink. When it looks like that, I run for the camera! Glad to hear your lavender is blooming, as well. These flowers should not affect the spring-time bloom either. I do hope you enjoy your exploring here!
    Frances

  15. what lovely photos – I love your little lavender vignette, and the muhly grass

    Thanks AA. The lavender is a favorite spot here year around, fall into winter is when the muhly grass shines and it is having a fun time of it.
    Frances

  16. I also love that lavender vignette, and your muhly grass (not mushy grass, as AutoCorrect wanted to say) as always is to die for.

    Thanks Helen. Muhly can be mushy, although that is usually later in the winter. HA The lavender is sweet, both in scent and in looks.
    Frances

  17. Carol says:

    A more than Faire showing for bloom day. Your garden is always full of treats.

    Thanks for hosting the bloom day, Carol. As you know, to join in the fun on bloom day was the reason I began blogging.
    Frances

  18. Scott Weber says:

    Beautiful post…love the pics of the frosted mums! Oh…and that Muhly shot is MAGICAL!

    Thanks Scott. I love when there is that sparkly sugar coating on the garden after a frost. The muhly is having a good year.
    Frances

Comments are closed.