Ready Or Not


Ready or not, here we come!


The flowers, that is. They are blooming ahead of schedule, some of them by several weeks. The witch hazel Diane, Hamamelis x intermedia ‘Diane’ is bewitching.


The earliest daffodil, perhaps Narcissus psuedonarcissus, is just dilly.


The snowdrops, Galanthus elwesii are snowing, if not dropping. (From Old House Gardens, this variety blooms earlier, does better in the South and is not easy to locate.)


The grocery primrose is primping.


The hellebores, Helleborus orientalis are anything but boring.


No, not boring at all.


The Crocus Queens are holding court in the knot garden, C. chrysantha ‘Gypsy Queen’ and C. chrysantha ‘Violet Queen’.


Down in the Fairelurie Garden, the tommies, Crocus tommasinianus ‘Roseus’ are ready….


…Ready and open for business. It’s a good thing, too. The honeybees showed up on the day of the grand opening. I guess all is as it should be then, pay no attention to the calendar.

Frances

This entry was posted in Seasonal Chores. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Ready Or Not

  1. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    We aren’t near as far ahead as your area is but we aren’t far behind. Snow drops are snowing. There are buds on all the hydrangea shrubs. The leaves on the butterfly bush only froze off one time and they have been out ever since. Crazy year. One for the books. Your witch hazel is gorgeous.

    Hi Lisa, thanks for adding in here. Crazy year, especially compared to the even crazier one, for us anyway, in 2011 with snowfall as though we were Chicago! I’ll take this milder winter anytime. I like seeing the bees.
    Frances

  2. Randy says:

    Frances,
    Our first daffodil opened yesterday. Counted 5 different crocuses blooming Saturday surely a record here. Your hellebores are beautimus.

    Thanks, Randy. That is great about your bulbs coming alive! Ready or not!
    Frances

  3. Gail says:

    Frances, Indeed Spring seems to have arrived in Tennessee. I have a few Tommies (I await for the hillside to open completely) witch hazel ‘Diane’ is blooming and the hellebores are holding court…Today promises to be warm and sunny….I will be in the garden, might be time to chop down those panicums! xoxogail

    Hooray for the sunshine and warmth of 2012, dear Gail. Along with boatloads of rain, the gardens should be primed and ready to go. Enjoy your day in the garden, my friend.
    xxxooo
    Frances

  4. Layanee says:

    I did notice the foliage of the snowdrops this morning. Some little bulbs are exposed. I must put a bit of compost over them. Love your blooms. It really is early isn’t it?

    Thanks Layanee. It seems early, but it is hard to know what is normal anymore. Glad to hear your bulbs are showing up, even if they need a blanket of compost. Mine sometimes push themselves out of the ground, too. Silly bulbs.
    Frances

  5. Leslie says:

    You are much further along than we are! Lovely flowers!

    Thanks Leslie. Our climates are so different, you in Northern California and be in SE TN, it is a wonder we can grow any of the same flowers.
    Frances

  6. Yep, between you and Randy Emmitt I am in crocus envy. This fall it will be the bulb I plant. Just a nice pop of color this time of year.

    Oh yes, Janet, plant them! Plant them far and wide, all kinds and every color! Nothing is so cheering as those earliest blooms.
    Frances

  7. Catherine says:

    You are way ahead of us! Lucky! I thought we were going to have an early spring, but then the snow showed up and we’ve been below normal since. I can not wait to see that many flowers in my garden.

    There is nothing more exciting than seeing these first few blooms of the new year. We could still get some winter, but with each passing day, it puts us closer to real spring. Yours will show up, too, I am sure, Catherine!
    Frances

  8. Sharon says:

    My Bulbs are all coming up and on the verge of blooming. My zone stayed at 7a, did your zone change any with the new map?

    Hooray for those early bulbs, Sharon. The new USDA map has me the same zone 7a, but not far south of us was bumped up to 7b. I do believe it is more about microclimates in each garden that affects what lives and when it blooms. I have the same exact type of daffodil in more shady areas that are just now out of the ground, while the sunnier spots are open.
    Frances

  9. Kari says:

    Beautiful photo! Iowa is definitely weeks behind, but at 50 degrees today, I will be more than ambitious in my garden. Thanks for a little added inspiration.

    Thanks Kari. Your temps sound like a perfect way to give those bulbs a nudge. This weather may be weird, but it sure feels good when the sun is shining.
    Frances

  10. Amazing to see so much in bloom…we are still in winter..we had a lull but in less than a few hours we are back to almost 2 ft of snow…I will enjoy your blooms until spring decides to visit us.

    Thanks, Donna. Wow, two feet of snow seems…well…normal for your area, I suppose. We haven’t had any snow to speak of at all, not even a dusting. So far. Mother Nature could still pull some scary tricks on us, she has done it before. Fingers crossed for things to progress as they should. It’s about all we can ask for.
    Frances

  11. You inspired me to go on patrol. We don’t have as much in bloom as you but there are a few weirdly early things. It feels like May should be just around the corner… but I’m afraid we might still get some winter between now and then!

    Thanks Kris, I hope the patrol yielded some pleasant surprises for you! There is plenty of winter left, but each warm, sunny day sure is appreciated by people and plants here.
    Frances

  12. RobinL says:

    My goodness Frances, everyone is having such an early spring! Our winter has been mild enough to still have pansies, but I haven’t noticed much else out there. But then again, we have also had endless rain that keeps me inside. I’d better go check for early bloomers! And will you do me a favor? Will you make note of my new blog address? My old one was deleted due to someone else’s fraud and my anger and determination has been unable to recover it. Thanks! http://lifeinrobinsnest.blogspot.com/

    Oh dear, what a terrible thing to have happen, Robin! I have fixed the link on my blogroll so it now goes to your new site, which is lovely, by the way. Spring seems to be coming along here, amidst more rain than I can ever remember. I hope you have some happy surprises waiting for you out in the garden, too.
    Frances

  13. Wow, you are really ahead with spring! We are still trying to melt some snow and always have to be braced for the next storm. I love seeing all the spring flowers emerging.

    Eileen

    Thanks Eileen. We have diligently been planting the earliest bloomers that we can find to have them cheer us during winter days. The warmer than last year, I don’t even know what to call normal, temps have brought things up quickly. Hang on, spring will get there, too!
    Frances

  14. Les says:

    A good friend called this weekend, “what should I do with all these bulbs coming up?”. To which I said “enjoy them when they bloom”.

    Good advice, Les. My family and friends ask me the same type of question, my answer is similar.
    Frances

  15. Shyrlene says:

    Nothing is more inspiring that flowers blooming ahead of schedule! Simply lovely! (There’s hope for us in Zone 5 – Spring can’t really be ‘that’ far away, right?)

    Thanks for visiting, Shyrlene. It is heartening to see these earliest of flowers. That is why I have made such an effort to find the very earliest bloomers to plant here. They, these bulbs and blossoms, seem so much more joyful when all around is grey and brown. Spring will come, right on schedule!
    Frances

  16. james says:

    Lovely flowers of spring.
    Beautiful!

    Thanks James.

  17. Rose says:

    It’s hard to believe it’s still January with all the blooms you have, Frances! If the bees have arrived, though, it must be time for spring. I love the delicate color of the viola–I hope she’ll be a candidate in next year’s beauty pageant!

    Thanks Rose. I have been adding very early bloomers here over the years to be able to enjoy flowers in February, Seeing them in January is awesome! I did add some of this type of viola to the edges of the knot garden in hopes of adding this gene to the volunteers. It will take a couple of years for it to show up, the fingers are crossed, for it is a beautiful color.
    Frances

  18. a strawberry patch says:

    In Mississippi, we have had daffodils, hyacinths, forsythia, and quince in full bloom for weeks now! Earliest I have ever seen!

    You are ahead of us then, Strawberry Patch. Forsythia is not even close, but those silly quinces have been blooming sporadically for several weeks. Hyacinths are getting close, we can see the colors inside the foliage.
    Frances

  19. Lola says:

    My, you have much more blooming than I. Snowflakes are blooming. I must be in a cold strip here. Or I’m not holding my mouth right. LOL

    Thanks Lola. I have been holding my mouth…er, planting specifically early bloomers to get flowers as early as possible. Certain varieties are much earlier than others. I miss them in winter and just can’t wait any longer than necessary.
    Frances

  20. No matter where we all are at this time of year we all tend to wander out in the garden IF we can. You are so fortunate to be where you are and see your gorgeous blossoms. this morning dh and I drove through Coker Creek on a sidetrip on our way from western Ny to Fla for the month of Feb. The tennessee backroads show a certain promise of spring. I fell in love with those winding roads. Happy Feb and thanks for giving us this spring preview.
    Ruthie

    That is a most beautiful area, Ruthie, and very winding roads! It is still winter here, for sure, with the greys and browns in the majority, but spring is stirring.
    Frances

Comments are closed.