Well I’ve Never Been To Heaven…*

October 18, 2009 Ashv 139 (2)
Well I’ve never been to heaven, but I’ve been to North Carolina.


Asheville, that is, about as close to heaven as it gets. Christopher of Outside Clyde, along with his minions have been scouting and scheming to make this Fifth Annual Garden Blogger’s Fling exceptional and memorable. (To get the flavor of previous flings from the Fairegarden point of view, begin by clicking here.


Each Fling venue has a flavor all its own, and the scoop on Asheville says it is an artist’s haven. Dotting the downtown area, where our hotel will provide easy walking to restaurants and points of interest in between scheduled visits to gardens beyond compare, are works of art that are both beautiful….


….As well as functional. Wife of offspring Brokenbeat, Ashley the Ninja Master of Ice Cream Making at The Hop, joins me on this amazing bench after a night of good food and liquid chocolate truffle, warming my hands as it cools to sipping temperature. Yes, there will be some of Ashley’s ice cream creations available at a couple of the group’s planned dining experiences, included in the registration fee. (Hot sipping chocolate can be had within walking distance of the hotel, yes.)

march-22-2009-asheville-011
There are places that are unique to Asheville on the agenda, including the famous and fabulous Biltmore Estate. We will be touring the gardens there, designed and built by Frederick Law Olmsted. There will be discounted vouchers for those wanting to tour inside the mansion offered to registrants.

October 18, 2009 Ashv 040 (2)
Along with the art is the view of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains from every vantage point. On our itinerary is a visit to the North Carolina Arboretum, nestled along the Blue Ridge Parkway. The timing is perfect for viewing the diverse wildflowers in bloom, and there will be information on these treasures by an expert in the field.


Christopher has put together a weekend filled with fun, flowers, food and even plant shopping at one of my most favorite of all nurseries, B.B. Barns. This is a place that I insist on visiting every single time we go to Asheville. Just ask my husband, The Financier, he will verify the veracity of that statement.


If you are a garden blogger and have not already signed up for this once in a lifetime event and think you don’t want to be left behind when the fun begins on May 18-21, 2012, now is the time to get your name on our list of attendees. The blog names of those who have already completed the registration process can be seen on the sidebar of the official blog for this event. Click on the above badge, also found on my sidebar and the sidebars of many other garden bloggers to find out the specific details. I hope to see you there!

(Previous post to push the procrastinators:)
Let’s All Go To Asheville

***

*“Never Been to Spain” was written by Hoyt Axton and recorded by Hoyt in 1971 in June. Three Dog Night recorded it in October of the same year. It was also covered by Cher, Elvis Presley, Ike and Tina Turner and Waylon Jennings, among others. Hoyt Axton was born in Oklahoma. I was also born in Oklahoma, FYI.

Well I never been to Spain
But I kinda like the music
Say the ladies are insane there
And they sure know how to use it
They don’t abuse it
Never gonna lose it
I can’t refuse it

Well I never been to England
But I kinda like the Beatles
Well, I headed for Las Vegas
Only made it out to Needles
Can you feel it
It must be real it
Feels so good
Oh, feels so good

Well I never been to heaven
But I been to Oklahoma
Well they tell me I was born there
But I really don’t remember
In Oklahoma, not Arizona
What does it matter
What does it matter

Well I never been to Spain
But I kinda like the music
Say the ladies are insane there
And they sure know how to use it
They don’t abuse it
Never gonna lose it
I can’t refuse it

Well I never been to heaven
But I been to Oklahoma
Well they tell me I was born there
But I really don’t remember
In Oklahoma, not Arizona
What does it matter
What does it matter

Frances

This entry was posted in Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Well I’ve Never Been To Heaven…*

  1. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I always like your little forays into the music album. A nice way to start the day. I am really looking forward to the Fling. What a gorgeous bench. I can’t wait to see the art as well as the gardens.

    Thanks Lisa. I am glad you appreciate the tunes that pop into my head while writing blog posts. Like a box of chocolates, you never know what you are going to get. I so look forward to seeing you again and showing off the beauty that is Asheville to one and all.
    Frances

  2. Carolyn Choi says:

    At the end of this post is a bunch of naked ladies, Frances! The nickname of my little town of Chapel Hill here in North Carolina is ” The Southern Part of Heaven ” 🙂 Can’t wait to see Asheville and the wonderful things planned for us.

    You had me scared there, Carolyn Gail! I had to check for some kind of added spam thingey. I have been to Chapel Hill, it is indeed heavenly. Looking forward to seeing you and everyone again and meeting some new friends, too.
    Frances

  3. Frances I will attest that you go to BB Barnes more than I do and while I don’t live close, I am certainly closer than you.

    Thanks for the back up, Christopher. I have the frequent buyer’s card to prove that BB Barnes gets my gardening dollars everytime I go to Asheville. I also know they are closed on Sundays, even on Mother’s Day, so plan appropriately. The heartache of locked doors is too much to bear…
    Frances

  4. Gail says:

    Frances, We are going to have such a fabulous time visiting all the gardens, nurseries and other sites Christopher and his minions have organized for the Fifth Fling. Can’t wait to see Asheville and all the garden bloggers. I shall be singing this song all morning…maybe even all day! xoxogail

    It is going to be great, Gail, really! There are worse songs to be singing than this little ditty…
    xxxooo
    Frances

  5. Layanee says:

    Oh, that was nice music for the beginning of the day. Mellow and fun. Asheville sounds like a fabulous place and I know there will be fabulous people there at Fling.

    Thanks Layanee, this is a good song and Asheville is a good place. This fling holds great promise, for sure. I can’t wait to see you and everyone again, and meet new folks, too.
    Frances

  6. Dee says:

    I signed up and sent in my check. Can’t wait to see everyone, and this year, I’m bringing Bill. It will be a kind of anniversary trip for us.

    Thanks Dee. That is cool about your husband coming. There are a few other spouses signed up as well. Asheville is a very romantic destination!
    Frances

  7. michaele says:

    Oh, WOW, that bench falls into the “to die for ” category…now, I realize that’s a little hyperbole but not by much. Darn, where is that winning powerball ticket when I need it. Could I ask if it’s in a public park or in front of a shop or fine hotel? In the first picture, I wondered about it’s scale and then my question was answered when I saw you and Ashley sitting on it.

    Thanks Micheale. There is art, including benches and such all over downtown Asheville. It is a fabulous city. The bench shown is on Patton Street downtown. I think it is in front of some businesses. Added: Google search shows it is in front of a Wachovia bank office. The reason Ashley and I had our photo taken with my camera was to show the scale. It was at night. It is a quite large piece of sculpture, and even more beautiful in person.
    Frances

  8. Lyn says:

    Frances, I enjoy your blog so much that I want to give you a Versatile Blogger Award. I’ve announced the award and linked to you on this post:

    http://theamateurweeder.blogspot.com.au/2012/02/surprise-from-becky.html

    Thanks so much Lyn. I have placed this fine badge with a link to you on my Awards page. That is how I handle awards and honors. I have written some facts about myself several times, the latest one was here: Scrappy Blogaversary. That one just about covered everything about me! HA
    Frances

  9. Carol says:

    I can hardly wait!

    Me too, Carol!

  10. I had planned to go, and I’m so disappointed that I can’t! My son is graduating from college here in Madison on May 19. Hope I can make it next year!

    Dang, Plant Postings! Oh well, that is a very important event, to be sure. Hope to see you next year, then.
    Frances

  11. DH and I just read this together, sitting on the couch. We are true blue Asheville fans and feel that you captured many of its charms here! And we can attest to the ice cream greatness of The Hop! Mmm!

    Thanks DP. Your posts about Asheville are spot on! Wish that you were able to attend. Maybe next fling, or another time when you come to Asheville, we can get together. For ice cream.
    Frances

  12. I really am looking forward to going, maybe as much for the art as the gardens. I hope we get some art shopping time!

    You will be extra happy, Donna, for one of the lunches, 12 Bones BBQ is being served in the River Arts district at the Curve Art Studio. There are also many art galleries downtown within walking distance to the hotel. Asheville is full of art of the highest caliber. I have heard the quality compared favorably to New York City!
    Frances

  13. Rose says:

    It definitely looks like heaven to me! So excited to see my name to go up on the Fling blogroll–makes the time seem even closer. Thanks for the memories of Hoyt Axton–loved his voice.

    Thanks Rose. Yes, your payment was received and verified! You are in! It won’t be long now…
    Frances

  14. Lee Nora says:

    Good Morning and THANK YOU! I love Three Dog Night!

    Glad you enjoyed it!

Comments are closed.