So Much Promise


Buds, like babies, are so full of what is yet to be. There are no disappointments, only promises to be fulfilled. Opened flowers are wonderful, releasing fragrance, giving joy, but once blooming, the peak has passed. It is all downhill from there. Above: Helleborus x hybridus ‘Blue Lady’.


Petals of perfection, unfurling slowly, letting us savor what is to be before it is. Above: Narcissus ‘Little Gem’.


It is the prelude to the symphony as the musicians are warming up. Above: Muscari armeniacum.


Emerging tips tempt. Above: potted tulips from Walmart planted late winter of 2011.


Tightness loosens…. Above: Daphne odora ‘Aureomarginata’.


….Fresh-faced and blemish free. Above: Hydrangea quercifolia ‘Alison’.


Patiently we wait…. Above: Chaenomeles japonica.


….as Nature directs. Above: Heuchera ‘Tiramisu’ and H. ‘Stormy Seas’.


Excitement builds as changes are noted every day. Spring is coming. Soon! Above: Euphorbia ‘Blackbird’.

Frances

This entry was posted in Seasonal Chores. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to So Much Promise

  1. How wonderful – We are busy sweeping up our start of the Autumn leaves and here I get to enjoy all your beautiful buds! The ‘Blue lady’ Hellebore is stunning!

    Hi Christine, thanks. Autumn is wonderful too! I love all the seasons, truly, especially the one we are in at that moment.
    Frances

  2. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    “buds are like babies” made me smile this morning. They sure are and the anticipation about what is to come is so exciting. Here I am seeing crocus for the most part and a few daff buds. I can hardly wait.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. I am so glad to hear you are having some promise in your garden, as well!
    Frances

  3. Beautiful start to your spring / late winter garden. It sure did feel like spring, almost summer, yesterday! The pollinators sure were happy!

    Hi Karin, thanks. We had that same, almost summer weather here in Tennessee! A little scary but so wonderful to see and hear the bees buzzing on the hellebores.
    Frances

  4. Carol says:

    Buds are like the morning of a day… A lovely post.

    Hi Carol, thank you. Buds excite me with what their future holds, very much like the morning of a new day. Well said.
    Frances

  5. Julia Faiers says:

    Your buds are far more developed than ours in South West France. An unusual prolongued cold snap (the worst in 25 years) has stunted everything that should be coming in to flower now. The Muscari are nowhere to be seen, the daffodils and irises are poking up buds at ground level (instead of atop a beautiful strong stem) and the chaenomeles japonica is still resolutely spiky and bare. I hope we catch up soon. Thanks for sharing your lovely pictures.

    Thanks Julia. How awful about your cold snap. I hope the plants recover to bloom as they should, if even a little bit later. Weird weather here, too.
    Frances

  6. Layanee says:

    I thought so too until I woke up to snow this morning. Just a little setback.

    Hi Layanee, thanks for dropping by. I hope your snow is at least beautiful.
    Frances

  7. Julie says:

    What a lovely post! Sometimes, I almost adore buds more than the full bloom. It’s the anticipation, I think. Thank you for the dose of beauty this morning before I head to the greenhouse to schlep around with my seedling babies.

    Hi Julie, thanks. I feel that way, too. I love looking at the buds, especially when they first start to show some color.
    Frances

  8. michaele says:

    Julie took the words right out of my mouth. Your words and pictures were in perfect balance and have given my day a great start.

    Hi Michaele, thanks so much. There is something magical about buds, for sure.
    Frances

  9. Looks like spring to me. There are quite a few plants that I prefer in bud to in bloom, Physocarpus is one that comes readily to mind, the flowering quince is another, but I sympathize with that transcendent feel of anticipation. It’s always better to have something to look forward to with an idealized perfection, rather than having the thing itself, in all it’s mundane reality.

    Hi Barbara, thanks for joining in here. Like going to the prom, the actual event sometimes doesn’t meet the expectation. Flowers are wonderful, but buds are better, to me, anyway.
    Frances

  10. Frances such a wonderful promise of spring…your pictures are enchanting!

    Hi Donna, thanks. I am glad you enjoyed it.
    Frances

  11. sequoiagardens says:

    And here we are seeing the very first autumn colours, although it will be 8 weeks before it is ‘high season’… And this morning we commented on the slowness of the light. Enjoy the season of promise, Frances!

    Hi Jack, thanks for visiting, so nice to see you. Enjoy your early fall!
    Frances

  12. That Hellebore is gorgeous!!! What a great color. I love watching the plump buds, swelling over time, ready to pop. Spring is here, whether the calendar knows it or not.

    Hi Janet, thanks. This is the best that hellebore has ever done, about 4 years in the ground. It was a purchased one, not a seedling volunteer. I do love the color. It does seem like spring, doesn’t it?
    Frances

  13. Beautiful pictures! I have the same buds here in my plot and they are wonderful now but also full of promise for the future.

    Hi Green Bench, thanks. These buds make me smile, such a bright future! I am glad you also have your share of strong promises.
    Frances

  14. Kathy says:

    I loved that Blackbird euphorbia, but it didn’t make it through the winter for me.

    Hi Kathy, I am sorry to hear of the loss of Blackbird. Good drainage and zone 7 might be helping them here. I have lost several other Eurphorbias and really don’t know why some live and some do not. Adding more of what lives is the method used here.
    Frances

  15. Gail says:

    Lots of pretties my friend, but, that Daphne is very lovely. My favorite of the big box store purchases are the hyacinths! I will be getting them and tulips soon! xoxogail

    Hi Gail, thanks. The Daphne and witch hazels have really been emitting a lot of fragrance in these warmer temperatures. Love those hyacinths and the tulips have been better at returning, too.
    xxxooo
    Frances

  16. Too much Spring excitement, Frances! We won’t have any such sites for awhile (at least we shouldn’t). Given our mild winter weather this year, who knows?? Looks wonderful!

    Hi Shady, thanks. It is exciting, and a little early for us. Maybe you will be having a Southeast Tennessee spring in your neck of the woods this year!
    Frances

  17. How exciting, all of those beautiful buds! It is hard for me to believe now with snow on the ground that spring is around the corner. It should melt this weekend so maybe there are some surprises underneath.

    Eileen

    Hi Eileen, thanks. It is exciting to think that Spring is so close now! Your snow is lovely, I am sure, and the buds in your garden will be giving you great joy, soon!
    Frances

  18. sandy lawrence says:

    There’s a great article with photos on “Hardy Euphorbias for the Garden” on PlantFiles/Dave’s Garden, and your gorgeous ‘Blackbird’ is included. http://davesgarden.com/guides/articles/view/373/

    I have a weakness for black and brown flowers/plants. They make such wonderful foils for the other colors. We’d love to see a post on your black garden, Frances. Have you done one before, and I missed it?

    Hi Sandy, thanks. That article is a good one, and I am now growing many of those mentioned, including Helena’s Blush. I didn’t know it had variegated flowers. The black garden did get its own post. Here it is: Denizens Of The Dark. This post was written in July of 2010. As with all gardens, this bed continues to evolve and there have been some additions and some subtractions to it. I will write about it again this summer. Stay tuned!
    Frances

  19. Lona says:

    Hi Frances. Your garden is really waking up. How wonderful to be getting blooms already. It will be a while longer here and I can hardly wait. Your Daphne is so beautiful and the hellebore blooms are so pretty. Have a wonderful weekend.

    Hi Lona, thanks, nice to see you here. While a bit early, we normally begin the blooming process in February. It is so exciting! Your garden will be waking up soon, I hope. The Daphne is more fragrant than I ever remember it being this year with the warmer days. Yummy!
    Frances

Comments are closed.