There Is A Frog…


There is a frog that lives in the pond. Everytime I walk up the steps to visit the water feature and have a general looksee around the area, he jumps off of the mossy rock into the water. I never actually see him, but hear the splash and see the water ripple.


It is out of the corner of my eye, movement so fast my mind can’t send the message to my brain fast enough to turn and watch it. I never have the camera with me, either, and wouldn’t be quick enough on the click to capture the image anyway. I can’t even see it with my eyes. But sometimes the camera sees things that I miss.


I can imagine that little frog leaping with fright into the safety of the water as the big, bungling human clomps around the area. Little does the frog know that it is time to clean out the leaves, twigs and debris from the pond, clean the pump filters and start the water running once again through the concrete frog at the end of the tubing. This task will require the donning of the neoprene waders and the Financier’s beat-up sneakers for the water is still quite cold and the rocks are slippery with algae and moss.


Yes, I have fallen down into the depths, several times. But it must be done, this cold and slimy job, for it is time. I can hear the frogs singing their *Spring is here!* song from the creek down the continuing sloping land across the street. It is a happy chorus and a signal, along with the leafing out of trees and shrubs and blooming of seasonal markers such as Forsythia and grape hyacinths. Early, late or right on schedule, there is no stopping it. The frogs know.

Frances

This entry was posted in Seasonal Chores. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to There Is A Frog…

  1. we are weeks away from cleaning up the pond area…the frogs that live here or visit get used to us coming and going. most allow me to visit with them and I can snap lots of pics I love to use in my posts…they seem to be the stars…although a few are generally frightened or upset all year that we are here…can’t wait for the pond to be open soon!

    Hi Donna, thanks for joining in here. I was thinking maybe if I set up the zoom camera a shot of the frog might get taken, but since it seems to be spring around here, there is no time for that kind of lollygagging. There is work to be done!
    Frances

  2. Lovely photos especially the mossy one. Our frogs have just spawned in our wildlife pool. (see my recent blog “Frog Chorus”)

    Hi Green Bench, thanks. I do love that chorus, pure music of the angels. Will check out your post as time allows.
    Frances

  3. Carol says:

    We would like video of you cleaning up the pond. Be careful!

    Thanks! HA, Carol, you and my family! I try to do the pond cleaning when no one is around, but did have to gear up to retrieve a toy that little LTB dropped into the pond depths last spring, so he saw me. And I did find the top in the mucky bottom, a miracle!
    Frances

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    The spring peepers are singing here too. No grape hyacinths blooming here yet. It is an exciting time of the year. Frogs are difficult to photograph. I would be too if there were so many predators out there looking for me.

    Hi Lisa, how wonderful! When the grape hyacinths open here, there is also the sound of bees buzzing that makes the whole hillside hum. Very musical, add in the bird song and it is quite a production.
    Frances

  5. Marcia says:

    The frogs appeared here in the pond up from the mud to sing their songs on March 1st! The weather turned cold soon after so they have been silent again. I expect that today in the 60ºs they will be back to their cavorting and soon will have covered lots of the surface with eggs. I enjoy reading your blog.

    Hi Marcia, thanks so much for those kind words. Hooray for your frogs! We had a cold snap, too, but I heard the chorus again yesterday as it warmed back up. I will keep a look out for eggs in my pond and avoid disturbing them.
    Frances

  6. Layanee says:

    Mine is frozen solid at this point but the frogs will be chirping soon. Don’t fall in this year.

    Hi Layanee, thanks for that sage advice. Spring is here, and soon to come to the more nothern gardens! Hooray!
    Frances

  7. I smiled to myself when looking at your photos today. Thinking how you must have to literally lie on the ground to get some of these shots – the muscari for instance. Now THAT would surely scare the frog away!

    Hi Heather, thanks for that insight. Yes, I do some contortions to get some of the shots, but since the whole garden is a steep slope, it is not as difficult as you might believe. For some of them, anyway. I am somewhat clumsy, though, scary to all!
    Frances

  8. My Kids Mom says:

    Maybe you should just start filming or snapping pics on your way to the pond, before your eyes can find a frog maybe your telephoto will see one.

    Full on spring here- I’ve been trying to snap photos, but the sunshine does not cooperate. Dreary, cloudy (but warm) days.

    Hi Jill, thanks, good idea. I have gotten some good hummingbird shots just pointing up into the trees and clicking before, so why not frog shots? It is sunny some days, cloudy some days, warm some days, cold some days, rainy some days…. typical Tennessee spring!
    Frances

  9. michaele says:

    Gorgeous shot of that vibrant chunk of moss. And I have to confess that I am puzzled about the picture with the great looking chairs…is that a fun miniature composition or are the chairs people sized? I feel silly for not being able to figure it out.
    I enjoyed an extra smile as I read your description of your pond cleaning garb. Some years back when I was shopping for waders in Walmart (I face yearly pond cleaning duty also), I found myself in a comical interlude. I felt I needed to try them on to check for size. Talk about clumsy…as I struggled to get them on , I toppled over in the process of pulling them up. Those suckers are heavy and I ended up as physically helpless as a turtle on its back. An employee actually had to come to my rescue! So, yes, I second the “be careful” from your other posters.

    Hi Micheale, thanks for adding to the conversation. The cleanout of the pond is something I dread each year, but am always so glad when it has been done. It is still undone here, by the way. I can imagine your difficulty in trying on waders, they are hard to get on, even in the privacy and space of your own home. As for the chairs, that is part of my fairy garden. A little teaser for a future post.
    Frances

    Thanks for easing my befuddlement about the picture of the chairs. It was the mushroom looking lamp post that had me questioning the scale!
    Hey, I’m just starting to wade into pinterest. I pinned one of your glass scupture pics and it has proved very popular with others. It has gotten 13 repins. I didn’t realize that if I pinned something for my board that it would go on their public page so I sincerely apologize if you feel unsettled that you didn’t have control over your own property. I’m sure there is a way around that public angle if I read their rules a little deeper. Please let me know if you would prefer I didn’t pin your pics. I totally respect your right to express a preference.

    No problem, Micheale, about the Pinterest. I put the photos up there originally myself, it brings people to my blog through the link. The only thing I would ever object to is if the link to the blog post from which the photo originated was changed or removed somehow. It is possible to do so and Pinterest needs to fix that. Have fun there, it is a way to relax and look at pretty stuff.
    Frances

  10. Sandy Bridenbaugh says:

    Thanks so much for sharing the beginning of Spring with us. Here in Oh. my spring flowers are up about 6 inches and the birds are starting to sing again. Love looking at the pictures of your garden. Again thanks for sharing. I am so ready for Spring……………

    Hi Sandy, thanks for those kind words. Spring is wonderful, no matter if the winter has been a horrid one or a mild one. The renewal of life in the garden is so heartening, filling us with hope.
    Frances

  11. Lona says:

    Your spring garden is looking so beautiful! I never have frogs or toads around here it seems because of all of the feral cats that hang around.

    Hi Lona, thanks. Things are moving right along here, it’s true. We have some wildlife that disrupts the pond, various predators upset the fish and froggies no end. At one time we put a netting of the pond for protection, but found the birds could not get a drink then.
    Frances

  12. We call them peepers and tell ourselves it is time to plant peas when the peepers peep. It happens in April here.

    Hi Kathy, thanks for joining in the conversation. We call them spring peepers, too. But the peas are already planted. There is always space to plant a few more, though. I hope to do so today, in fact.
    Frances

  13. Jane Carroll says:

    Frances…I love frogs…I used to play with them as a child…and always had warts! No frogs in my bubbling rock…but…I hear them singing in the trees…ever spring…ever spring…thanks for another lovely post…they make my day!

    Hi Jane, thanks so much for the sweet words, I do appreciate you. I don’t know that I have ever touched a frog, my mother warned me about warts, too! I do like to gaze upon them, and all the wildlife around here. And the song of spring is the purest music there is!
    Frances

  14. Yes, the frogs know! I look forward to that stage here. They go crazy–hopping all over the roads! Be careful cleaning out that pond!

    Hi Plant Postings, thanks for stopping by. I do love hearing the frogs, and imagine how very many there must be to make such a full sound! As for cleaning out the pond, I seem to be procrastinating, unsure of this crazy weather with ups and downs. It is full of leaves and algae and it is a wonder the pump is even running at all. The pump needs cleaning out at the very least. Maybe today!
    Frances

  15. Gail says:

    Frances, I want froggies in my garden~This year for sure! Your pond is wonderful and I do love the final photo of the ‘purrfectly’ spaced water drips! xoxogail ps Please be careful on that slope.

    Hi Gail, thanks. You do need froggies! They are so sweet, and the song they sing in spring is so heart lifting. I did end up cleaning out the pond and did not fall in, either!
    xxxooo
    Frances

  16. Barbarapc says:

    Mr. Froggie went a jumping and he did find
    A lady in her waders looking mighty fine, uh hmm, uh hmm.

    What a wonderful time to be outside in the garden, no matter what you’re doing. The muscari are darling. So looking forward to having my own blossoms in the garden.
    p.s. be careful with the slippery slime!

    Hi Barbara, you are so clever! Thanks for adding some class to the blog with your fine poetry/song. It is truly a wonderful time as the garden and wildlife wake up. I did clean out the pond today, and did not fall in. I was very, very careful. And lucky.
    Frances

  17. Pingback: Gotcha… « Fairegarden

  18. Pingback: They’re Back! « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.