Itty Bitty Plants Prize


There is a place for a gardener to go when they have seen a new to them plant in a book, magazine, blog or real life garden and that plant is so obscure that a search of the almighty google only turns up one mention of it at one source. They must go to that source, of course.


And that source is often the home to more plants than anyone could possibly grow or know except for them, as is the case with Arrowhead Alpines. Because I love a good hunt and will go through several pages of google listings to find The One Place offering what I am looking for, that I can trust, from which to purchase said treasure, I have placed orders before from Arrowhead Alpines. I have bought specimens and collections from this fine outfit, and have been more than happy with the plants they have sent. Often this was the only US nursery offering what I was looking for at the time, as was the case with the Sanguisorba officinalis ‘Tanna’, shown above.


So it was when my friend Carol of May Dreams Gardens had a giveaway offer on her blog recently from this very same company, I jumped at the chance to win. And win, I did. Also fun was that the person sending the plants, representing Arrowhead Alpines was none other than my buddy, Joseph of Greensparrow Gardens. The prize was a collection of plants meant to be grown in a very small trough, in fact the name of the collection is Trough Garden Collection very small.


It just so happened that I have such a trough, just the right size, that was not planted to my vision. The above shot shows the offending plantings have been cleaned out, the soil replenished and the evergreen conifer from the collection already installed. The green glass ball is a remnant from a broken pond float.


This was such a fortuitous win, and the trough is now happy with the brand new, itty bitty residents. Included are: Chamaecyparis lawsoniana ‘Treasure Island’, Dianthus ‘Mini Mound’, Aster lichengensis, Veronica liewanensis and Sedum sempervivoides.


There were a couple of Sempervivums from a collection I had ordered a couple of years ago from yes, Arrowhead Alpines, the Sempervivum named forms collection, added to this little trough, as well. Sort of a welcome gift to the new plants. We hope you will be happy here at the Fairegarden. We will try our best to make you feel at home.

***
My utmost thanks go to Carol, Joseph and Arrowhead Alpines for these sweet littles!

Frances

This entry was posted in Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Itty Bitty Plants Prize

  1. Frances what a cute trough garden…good to know about another nursery offering hard to find plants…I often take many hours and go through many Google pages trying to find obscure plants..

    Hi Donna, thanks. It really came out nicely. I can highly recommend Arrowhead Alpines, even before winning this prize, I ordered from them with confidence and was never disappointed. Also, I am the type of person that cannot be paid to say things like that either.
    Frances

  2. Carol says:

    I couldn’t imagine a nicer trough for those itty bitty plants to put down roots in than yours, Frances. I know you will take good care of those special plants.

    Hi Carol, thanks so much for hosting this giveaway. I will take VERY good care of these plants. The trough I already had is so perfect, it’s like it was meant to be.
    Frances

  3. Gail says:

    Frances, They are perfect residents for Fairegarden and the trough you planted them in. The moss on the wall is wonderful. xoxogail

    Hi Gail, thanks. The trough looks so good already, it makes me smile every time I walk by it. Sweet little plants.
    xxxooo
    Frances

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I love seeing these little gems. I am going through a “phase” of collecting them. I will have to look at these sites. I am inspired by your collection of troughs.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. If you are collecting those littles, do check out Arrowhead Alpines. They have so many you will go cross-eyed looking at the listings!
    Frances

  5. After watching your trough gardens grow over the past 3 years, I think I’m finally ready to tackle one of my own! Hopefully it will be filled with wonderful plants like yours. Congratulations on the win!

    Hi Heather, thanks so much. The troughs are so fun to play in, it is true. I am planning on doing a detailed how to about making one later on. I have the materials already, just need to decide about the size and shape. Stay tuned!
    Frances

  6. Sandy Bridenbaugh says:

    Simply love the wall with the moss and your trough gardens. One thing I know for sure the Fairies should be very happy in your garden. You have inspired me to try one this year.

    Hi Sandy, thanks. I love the wall more and more as the moss fills in. The troughs make me happy. Good luck with your own, you will love it!
    Frances

  7. michaele says:

    It must have pleased all those involved in the contest that Fairegarden ended up being the winning destination for the plants. Their new home is a real eye catcher with its colorful sparkly adornments. Your line up of troughs is delightful…each one with its own personality.

    Hi Michaele, thanks for that, what a sweet thing to say. It does seem like fate sent those plants to my little trough, doesn’t it?
    Frances

  8. Layanee says:

    I love your collection of troughs against the wall. They do look good en masse don’t they? Congrats on the win. You are a lucky one.

    Hi Layanee, thanks. I am lucky sometimes, especially with these little trough plants from Arrowhead Alpines! There are a couple of other troughs in different spots in the garden. I wonder if they need to be moved with the rest?
    Frances

  9. Rose says:

    Looks like these cute little minis have found the perfect home! I love your collection of troughs.

    Hi Rose, thanks. The little plants look happy, so far. I will give them the best care possible. The troughs are fun, aren’t they?
    Frances

  10. vicki says:

    Love seeing your row of “littles” so nicely displayed. How creative you are!

    Hi Vicki, thanks. Arrowhead selected the plants well, all I had to do was plant them. I have never had that trough planted correctly. Now it is, thanks to this great collection.
    Frances

  11. Great win! Having your marble laden planter is a great showcase for those itty bitty plants. Super!!

    Hi Janet, thanks. I hope the marbles keep those devil squirrels from digging up the newly planted. So far, so good!
    Frances

  12. How fun! I’m so glad you won!~~Dee

    Hi Dee. Thanks, that is sweet of you to say so.
    Frances

  13. Oh Frances, what a gorgeous trough and so full of personality. I look forward to your “how to” lessons. I recently splurged and bought a trough planted with 6 different succulents as a birthday gift for my boss. I had temporarily put it on a plant stand on my patio to keep an eye on it. HA! as you would say. Yesterday I barely bumped it and over she went. The plants all survived but the trough is missing it’s fourth corner now. 😦
    Perhaps my son can patch it up enough for me to use it but a replacement seems impossible to find short of going 90 miles back to Piccadilly Farm. If you or any of your readers know a source in the Atlanta area I would be eternally grateful. Meanwhile, I dream on your amazing display.

    Hi Georgia, thanks. I know from experience that you can glue that trough corner back on. Get the kind of epoxy glue meant for concrete. It will have to be held in place tightly overnight, but should work. I have broken them before, too, and repaired them to go on and last for many years.
    Frances

  14. Congrats — it looks great! And thank you for the kind words about Arrowhead. It is a very special place, and I am very lucky to be working there!

    Hi Joseph, thanks for helping out with this. I do love Arrowhead, it, and you are very special indeed!
    Frances

  15. Lola says:

    Congratulations on the win. They will be very happy at Fairegarden. Love that wall.

    Hi Lola, thanks. I hope the plants are happy here, so far they seem to be settling in nicely with some new growth showing already!
    Frances

Comments are closed.